More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.33

Awesome: 3.95%
Worth A Look: 15.79%
Average: 25%
Pretty Bad: 19.74%
Total Crap35.53%

6 reviews, 40 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Nutty Professor 2: The Klumps
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"A fat flop."
1 stars

“The Nutty Professor 2: The Klumps” is an insipid, tasteless and tactless sequel to the 1996 smash.

Five years later, the visual effects are less impressive, Murphy’s caricatures are less developed, less focused, less funny and less tolerable. The idea was to center more of the movie around the entire family, so we get problems such as Sherman’s father’s impotency, or the grandmother’s horny and erratic behavior. But in the end, it ends up feeling no more like it was about the family than was the first. Their predicaments are far less notable, and their impact on you from the first (in which they were only in two scenes) tends to overpower, or outweigh their avoirdupois here. The sequel emphasizes the crude grossness far more than the first and piles on the perversion more than before, too. (I.e.: Sherman has developed a fountain of youth formula, but when his wicked alter-ego toys with it; it is administered to a hamster, and then transmutates into a giant beast and anally rapes Larry Miller. Naturally the movie doesn’t let go of this “possible” source for humor. The only funny exchange: “Mommy, look, it’s the hamster’s bitch.”) The changes tend to make the movie sag and droop, much like the grandmother’s breasts, but all the increased weight makes no correlation to an increase of laughs, because that is the only diet that has been taken here — a diet from laughs. Murphy is obviously back to the doldrums from prior to his original stint as Sherman Klump, as if that has not been completely obvious lately.

With the plumpy Janet Jackson.

Final Verdict: F.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1818&reviewer=172
originally posted: 06/03/01 10:38:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/22/08 the dork knight stopped watching when the fat chick started farting 1 stars
10/30/07 Joy I thought it was funny! My girl Janet is in it, so it couldn't be bad! 4 stars
6/02/07 arrow'ed ANTIFUNNY 1 stars
3/09/07 meth-man completely stupid, nothing funny about it. retarded movie! 1 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Weird! But still quite funny. 2 stars
2/14/07 johnnyfog Wow. That's a lot of fart jokes. 1 stars
10/03/06 Rhodri James Classic, blew me away, don't know what the others are talking about! 4 stars
12/23/05 ALDO Eddie murphy should go back to the 80's . these days his not funny 1 stars
7/15/05 tony Funny but if I wanted that much toilet humor, i would of took a dump and taken a picture! 1 stars
6/02/05 Chris NOT AT ALL FUNNY!!! 1 stars
3/27/04 Littlepurch. Well I liked it. Maybe I'm a disturbed humanb being but it made me laugh. 4 stars
10/07/03 Monster W. Kung Atrocious, pathetic, insulting. The bottom of the cinematic barrel. 1 stars
5/27/03 mr. Pink Truly awful. Comedy at it's most uncomedic, irritating and horrible 1 stars
5/13/03 Jon Lyrik One of the most shockingly bad sequels ever made. 1 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby News flash: Flatuence jokes aren't funny. 1 stars
11/29/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Bad Sequel, Bad Baaad Sequel. 2 stars
10/01/01 Andrew Carden Pretty Funny, Janet Jackson Is Very Good. 4 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean I liked seeing sherman's family, but the story went haywire. 3 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa There are some mushy parts too early in the movie for no reason,but there R some okay jokes 3 stars
6/13/01 donald There are some laughs, but it is not as funny as the first 2 stars
3/30/01 BART the first one was better 3 stars
1/08/01 the?girl i laughed, i gotta admit it. (cheeaaaap) 2 stars
12/23/00 viking a film for degenerates !!! 2 stars
12/11/00 travis morrison must see [janet jaskon] 5 stars
12/03/00 AJAY VERMA I WAS WANKING WHEN I SAW JANET BIG BREASTS? 1 stars
12/02/00 The Evil Penguin good, but not as good as the orignal 3 stars
11/14/00 The EVIL Penguin Hilarious, but the original's still better. 4 stars
11/04/00 Bryce Weber Worst sequel ever made it was imbarrassing to be in the theatre 1 stars
8/26/00 Joe Levy My brother Mikey leaves big clumps of shit on the floor of my house. Oh, the movie stunk!! 2 stars
8/09/00 PJ Some funny moments, but wow what a performance by Murphy! 3 stars
8/06/00 Krystal Very entertaining, Murphy is extremely talented!! 4 stars
8/04/00 skeletor CRAP 1 stars
8/02/00 Captain Highcrime Funniet part: seeing a matinee full of <10 yr. olds be rushed out of theater by parents. 3 stars
8/02/00 k.j.tomko not funny and tasteless 2 stars
8/01/00 Coda I couldn't understand what he was saying. No one I knew could. Weak sauce. Mumble. Burp. 2 stars
8/01/00 QUENTIN CONGRESS TRIPLE GREENLIGHT! FUNNIER THAN THE FIRST "NUTTY"! 5 stars
8/01/00 Mortis Beyond bad. Was this suppose to be funny, well it wasn't! 1 stars
7/31/00 **~**Persnickety**~** not as good as the first but still full of laughs! 5 stars
7/30/00 Darren Shea Overly sentimental, and far too raunchy for PG-13, but still has some good laughs. 3 stars
7/29/00 Jokko Murphy works very hard, but the flick just ain't funny. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jul-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 07-Feb-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Dec-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Peter Segal

Written by
  Chris Weitz
  Paul Weitz

Cast
  Eddie Murphy
  John Ales
  Janet Jackson
  Anna Maria Horsford
  Larry Miller



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast