More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.46

Awesome31.86%
Worth A Look: 28.32%
Average: 13.72%
Pretty Bad: 5.75%
Total Crap: 20.35%

14 reviews, 142 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Charlie's Angels
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"So stupid, so derivative, so blatantly sexist....SO WHAT?"
4 stars

Let me get this straight. People are actually BASHING this movie because it's STUPID? Um, call me clueless but I think that may indeed be the whole POINT. Compared to all those other atrocious 'TV-show movies' we've been treated to over the past few years, Charlie's Angels is a truly entertaining breath of fresh air...with tons of great music...and explosions...and wonderful wonderful cleavage.

Finally, someone figured out the only real way to make a movie from a cheesy old TV show...laugh at it! To say that Charlie's Angels is one of the best of the TV series-based feature films is perhaps damning this entertaining movie with faint praise. Aside from the witty Brady Bunch Movie and its sequel, and the original Addams Family film, here's what moviegoers have been subjected to recently:

The Avengers - Now who was THIS movie supposed to appeal to? The most important demographic (teens, of course) would justifiably have NO interest in the characters, and the adult fans of the old series would be insulted by the sheer stupidity of the screenplay. That, and Sean Connery gives perhaps his most humiliating performance ever. That alone makes this movie unforgivable.

The Mod Squad - Again I ask...WHO would actually PAY to see this movie in a theater? I cannot figure out the intended market of this one, but it is quite simply one of the worst movies of the past ten years. Don't producers realize that lots of people (OK, some) are actually intelligent and can occasionally see that these movies are hollow and transparent facades? There's nothing intelligent in the screenplay, the cast is second-rate, and the ONLY reason this movie ever got a 'green-light' is due to something called Name Recognition. Producers expect that you'll wander mindlessly into the cinema, solely because the words MOD SQUAD are familiar to you.

Sgt. Bilko - Good star (Steve Martin), quality director (Jonathyn Lynn). So what went wrong? You'll be too disinterested to care. While this one isn't nearly as awful as the preceding pair, it's a fairly limp and lazy little comedy.

The Beverly Hillbillies - If I were to tell you that the sitcom is funnier than this movie, would you consider that me being complimentary? This movie is the cinematic equivalent of a clogged toilet. Just atrocious.

Mission: Impossible 1 & 2 - Entertaining in spots, but a bit too dry, wordy and self-important for me. I like my action movies a bit more loose, a la Indiana Jones.

Car 54, Where Are You? - I wont even lower myself to discuss this movie.

So you see what I'm getting at. This time around, the series is Charlie's Angels, a mindless little piece of guns and cleavage fluff that was a huge hit in the mid-70's. And where most TV adaptations are simply content to trot out the old familiar characters, this movie offers all kinds of modern-style mayhem.

Our Angels for the new millenium are Natalie (the ever-vibrant Cameron Diaz), Dylan (the suddenly buxom Drew Barrymore) and Alex (the intense Lucy Liu). Once again, the trio receive their orders by the unseen Charlie and his liaison Bosley (the underused but always welcome Bill Murray). The bare-bones espionage plot very closely resembles the story lines from the earlier series, as if everyone involved knew what the main attraction was; no need to let too much plot get in the way of the dropkicks and the push-up bras.

Their initial mission is to rescue a young software magnate (the wacky Sam Rockwell) and retrieve his secret codes. You know, typical Mission: Impossible/James Bond stuff. The requisite actions scenes and double-crosses are everywhere, but pretty soon you begin to notice something - This movie has a real sense of fun to it. Pretty strange, since Charlie's Angels was reported to be a TOUGH shoot, what with over ten writers getting involved in addition to reported spat between Murray and Liu. Chalk it up to first-time director McG's sense of vision. His stylistic direction single-handedly saves this from being a ponderous retread.

OK, but what about those Angels? In a word - Oh..My..God. Obviously aware of the 'jiggle-factor' that was so important to the original series, our three heroines have set their weapons to STUN! Diaz is the sexiest, especially when she gets funky and breaks out her crazy dance moves. (One of the movie's best scenes features Diaz going "old-school" on Soul Train.) If any modern actress truly lights up the screen, it's Cameron Diaz and her 1000-watt smile.

No less lovely is Drew (yes, still Gertie from E.T.) Barrymore, who seems to have recently discovered the power of her cleavage. As the movie's producer, Drew of course got to have the one true romantic scene in the movie, but she's as earthy and sweet as she always is, even when she's beating the snot out of people.

As the third Angel, Lucy Liu gets to cut loose and play a bit. Her roles in Ally McBeal and Shanghai Noon didn't give her many opportunities to smile, so it's great to see her getting some laughs this time around. A scene of Alex dominating a classroom of computer engineers is priceless.

It's tough to bash any movie that has this sort of tone. Not one scene in the movie is meant to be taken the least bit seriously, and that lack of sincerity is what makes the movie work. The kinetic action scenes are reminiscient of The Matrix and Mission: Impossible, and that's no accident. But while the Mission films are so stately and pseudo-sincere, Charlie's Angels kicks the whole genre on its head, and the three stars seem confident that the audience is in on the joke. It's ironic that a movie as silly as this one would earn such high marks for respecting its audience. I guarantee that this movie could have been another Mod Squad with a different director and stars.

Familiar faces are sprinkled throughout, and while none of them offer anything truly memorable, it's always nice to see people like Tim Curry, Matt LeBlanc, Luke Wlson and Kelly Lynch getting some work. Barrymore's sweetie, Tom Green, shows up for a few scenes and does nothing at all funny. The one standout in the supporting cast is the mysterious Crispin Glover, who steals every scene he's in, yet his character has no dialogue at all!

The action scenes alone make this movie worth seeing. Set to a heart-thumping techno beat, the fights and chases are half John Woo and half Victoria's Secret. While cynics would point to the sheer preposterousness of the whole movie, others would simply sit back and enjoy the ride. Intermittently clever, without being a LOL comedy, Charlie's Angels is repeatedly rescued by the three lead actresses. They seem to be having a ball, and if you're willing to check your brain at the door for a few hours, you'll probably have a great time too.

While most of the movies borne from TV shows had no real built-in market, Charlie's Angels should hit paydirt with this combination; the guys like action, karate chops and beautiful women, and the women in the audience are treated to three unapologetic (and ass-kicking) heroines who also have some surprisingly human sides to them as well. Everybody wins...especially all you die-hard cleavage fans out there.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1819&reviewer=128
originally posted: 12/09/00 12:39:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell fun imo 4 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King Don't waste your time watching it. 1 stars
5/11/08 drydock54321 not too good 2 stars
12/06/07 no one must kill one 1 stars
4/10/07 bluelights Lucy Liu is beautiful 5 stars
3/20/07 dude really stupid 1 stars
3/19/07 Austin Wertman STUPID 1 stars
3/07/07 johnnyfog Sam Rockwell is pretty cool, but I wanted those bitches to die 2 stars
2/17/07 David Pollastrini didn't think much of it 3 stars
10/30/06 paula Who would give this movie a half of a star, A STUPID man named ROGER EBERT 5 stars
10/08/06 isis cool movie! 4 stars
6/06/06 Anthony Feor One of the greatest pairs of action stars 5 stars
6/05/06 chris cameron diaz is a babe, especially in those spiderman panties 5 stars
5/26/06 William Goss Fun doesn't come more shameless. 4 stars
9/28/05 Jonathon Holmes dumb, but fun 4 stars
3/03/05 Laurie Le Blanc I thought Drew Barrymore and Crispin Glover made the movie worth watching. 3 stars
12/23/04 Jason Kaul This is what it would look like if MTV played action movies instead of music videos. 3 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams Cameron Diaz needs to EAT. Skinny bitch 1 stars
10/23/04 Asif Ali Memon well its nice movie I watched it 5 or 6 times.I really enjoyed and waiting for new part. 5 stars
8/01/04 DM Scary - This movie got made. Scarier - It made enough money to warrant a sequel. 1 stars
6/12/04 DJ ERIC 88 one of my fave movies! Full Throttle was better though! 4 stars
12/30/03 suck my cock fuck you nazi punx! 2 stars
12/26/03 vkvashisth movie full of wonder but i see only drews 4 stars
12/23/03 Luke How can you like this! shiet 1 stars
12/08/03 lilcutie a good film 4 stars
11/28/03 john painful in its stupidity - tries so hard to be exiting that turns out rather dull 1 stars
11/25/03 Thiago Cool. Cameron and Drew are perfect; Lucy is ok. Fun movie. 4 stars
10/29/03 Vicki Not so bad it's good; just REALLY, REALLY painfully awful. 1 stars
9/06/03 Dimitri Aubert Can they make a movie any worse? The sequel maybe will be! 1 stars
9/02/03 Kitty B. only good part-bill murray 1 stars
7/15/03 Lil' Angel baby Great moovie! I luved it SO much 5 stars
7/11/03 Eloise make it stop, please make it stop!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/10/03 a girl The movie was cool 3 stars
6/29/03 john one of the greatest films ever made 5 stars
6/16/03 Lush Try not to be bothered by the film's brainlessness and you'll find that you'll enjoy it. 3 stars
5/29/03 leon %%0qwe OH THE MISERY......... OH THE MISERY ...OH MISERY.....NO MORE!....NO SEQUAL PLEASE!!!AHHHHH 1 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'Fos!) AAAHHH! THE cheesiest shit ever: awful directing, script, action scenes.I agree w/ Ken 100% 1 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby Charmless actresses; ho-hum action; and a wasteland of failed gags. 1 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Fun, Fun, Fun. 4 stars
9/30/02 Flick Chick the movie sucked, but Drew's cleavage looked so good, almost converted me into lesbianism 1 stars
9/08/02 jimbo The film is a laugh 5 stars
8/08/02 J Not a bad movie but the anime film "Burn Up!" was better & Curry was wasted. 3 stars
6/20/02 Ken My brain hurts. 1 stars
6/16/02 Jim Three hotties, no plotties 3 stars
5/15/02 Blake The 3 girls were hot and kicked butt 5 stars
4/15/02 Film Guy Hot Ass women. Stupid ass movie. 1 stars
4/06/02 spacecowboy loved the Angels...woooo go Angels.... 5 stars
4/05/02 Michael Pham its good 5 stars
4/05/02 Edfink Lombardo Complete shit 1 stars
3/31/02 Jeremy its ggggggreat 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee Ms. Diaz shaking her ass in the camera was nice, but the rest of the film is atroucious. 1 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Fun. Cute. Plot is slow and predictable. 3 stars
2/10/02 hhjj ranks with movies like crouching tiger,hannibal,unbreakable,pearlharbor,andscarymovie. 1 stars
1/31/02 Kirsten Abercrombie Wrong angel does nude scene - to see prettier butt than Drew's all I need is a mirror. 4 stars
1/27/02 Rosie Finch amusing melodrama, but Natalie should reallly study birds &learn what a pygmy nuthatch is! 4 stars
1/16/02 David A. Alex was not convincing as a dominatrix--she didn't have the buns for it. 3 stars
12/31/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) One of the cheesiest movies ever. Only watch for sexy chicks...and Bill Murray & Tom Green. 2 stars
12/22/01 mnour oh oh 3 stars
12/10/01 dominik Duprelle Not much to hate, just lightweight, lip-glossed sillyness with Lucy Liu and my girl drew... 3 stars
12/04/01 Andrew Carden Fun Movie, Enjoyable Performances, but The Movie Is A Major Rip-Off Of The TV Show. 3 stars
11/28/01 hilary this movie kicks ass 5 stars
11/13/01 Tam Kick-ass! Female viewers can admire girl-power stunts while guys can ogle Lucy & Cameron. 4 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix The girls are sexy, the movie is garbage. 2 stars
9/06/01 Butterbean Watchable movie for college frat boys with action scenes done in a cheezy manner 3 stars
8/15/01 hilary awesome 5 stars
8/10/01 E-Funk Stupid fun with great effects, action, and beautiful women. It's supposed to be cheesy! 5 stars
8/10/01 Mr. Hat Except for 3 choice pieces of ass, this is one of the cheesiest movies I've ever seen. 2 stars
8/07/01 ted v. the story is crap, but it was a lot of fun!!! 3 stars
8/06/01 badfish Barely watchable 2 stars
8/04/01 sarah Its about boobs & stupid & desperate women 1 stars
7/07/01 Simeon Briggs Atrocious, sub-matrix, unoriginal, giggly in an irritating way, burn all copies 1 stars
5/28/01 ntwrage What the fuck were they thinking making this movie. Its retarded! 1 stars
5/26/01 Connoisseur this was a movie...?!? 1 stars
5/23/01 I love movies I'm getting REALLY sick of MATRIX-worshipping directors (Tom Green was not funny) 2 stars
5/19/01 XX The 'movie' SUCKSSSSS way too much to decribe. Don't waste your rental $ or your 1.5 hrs. 1 stars
4/23/01 X It was fun, not insulting and silly. Perfect for Saturday morning. Enjoyed Lui alot 4 stars
4/23/01 joh yeah Tom Green! 5 stars
4/11/01 Gary This is a really good film, although boring at parts and a little confusing. 4 stars
4/10/01 Monday Morning Fluffy fun. 4 stars
3/27/01 Mia This movie was worth seeing! 5 stars
3/15/01 Adam Voorhees Awesome Hamilton, totally awesome. Lighten up and love this no brainer! 5 stars
2/23/01 yUp Typical modern flick - chicks beating up men. 2 stars
2/18/01 perverted pixie I want to live in Crispin Glover's pants... 5 stars
2/13/01 Richard Wright The client was blown away.. but I wasn't. Fast camerawork can't disguise a shoddy script. 2 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Again, EAT ME!! If you're too uptight to dig this for what it is, just go ahead and die!! 5 stars
2/03/01 brentley Lucy kicks ass! 4 stars
1/31/01 Kerry-Ann Wonderful, great action,the comedy timing is great! Fun all-around movie!! 4 stars
1/29/01 Nic From a fan of the TV show, this movie was EXCELLENT! 5 stars
1/27/01 Hamad great 5 stars
1/22/01 Diego Romero You know it sucks 1 stars
1/15/01 Yoshi This is a great, fun movie, go drew! 5 stars
1/14/01 Avenger Girl Give me the original anyday. Dont even think about seeing this movie 1 stars
1/06/01 fifu come on 1 stars
1/06/01 Kealoha Who says only 007 can be a ass-kicking babe and still funny!!?! 5 stars
12/11/00 irwin Possibly the worse kind of Hollywood money grab - one that thinks it's actually good. HAHA 1 stars
12/10/00 Sexton Hardcastle Dude! Sweet! That was very fun, no particular part that I could refer to,I enjoyed it all 5 stars
12/10/00 T.Smith Lucy Liu is one ugly bitch. She made this movie suck won ton 1 stars
12/09/00 Viking Not as bad as it sounds !!!! 4 stars
12/09/00 Fathom Menace This brings women back about 30 years. Morons will make this a $90Mil Flick!! 1 stars
12/08/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Hey cutie, don't shoot, just sit on my face and I'll surrender. 1 stars
12/08/00 Erika yeah it was about the worst movie I have ever seen, which is really sad because I LOVE Drew 1 stars
12/05/00 Matthew Bratley Ok so it's not Shakespeare but it's so much fun 4 stars
12/05/00 William Bell Anyone who doesn't enjoy this movie is an ass-hole. I mean it. 5 stars
12/04/00 Susie Wickedly entertaining 5 stars
12/04/00 Bob Nice T&A for the Brain-Dead 1 stars
11/26/00 FrayLo An entertaining movie that should NOT be taken seriously...all in good fun. 5 stars
11/24/00 HIgh School Janitor Bob THAT WAS FUN ! and it was a thinking movie...made me think of how to get into Lucy's pants 5 stars
11/21/00 The Bill Head This is one of the worst movies of all time!!Sure, the three are nice to look..but come on! 1 stars
11/20/00 popo Lucy Liu was amazing and not to mention, fionne 5 stars
11/19/00 Leon Trotsky <sniff>...is that...cheese? Not terribly bright, but a lot of fun. 4 stars
11/19/00 Bob Fugate Great movie for people who don't like to think 1 stars
11/18/00 YelloMiata@AOL.COM All of the women I know, who have seen it, love it. It's NOT just a guy flick. 5 stars
11/18/00 Edward A Leonard Boring, I mean nice T&A, although it would have been nice to SEE some :), but too corny 2 stars
11/15/00 MiS^DeMeAnOr I loved it! Absolutely hilarious! 5 stars
11/13/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Tongue-in-cheek romp with outstanding action sequences and likeable heroines. 5 stars
11/13/00 poetchuck Good fun and action 4 stars
11/10/00 The Bomb 69 true fun, not much of a plot but I laughed throughout 5 stars
11/10/00 Ground Zero should have been called Charlie's Chicks (LOL) 3 stars
11/08/00 Spetters Great entertainment. I saw this in a cinema and even they laughed! 5 stars
11/08/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Stupid movie for stupid minds. 1 stars
11/08/00 Caleb Toby kick ass 5 stars
11/08/00 Ty Yes, it lacks a plot, but who cares? You'll be laughing to hard to notice! 5 stars
11/07/00 Olivia Finally an action movie where the girls aren't afaid to break a nail!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/07/00 Wendy A. Unfortunately, I was disappointed! I thought the movie would have been more entertaining. 3 stars
11/07/00 Tony cheesy ripoff of way too many other action movies 2 stars
11/07/00 Dead President Be sure to shoot yourself before letting the ball-and-chain drag you to this dog! 1 stars
11/07/00 Kimbo It prove that women can be beautifual, have fun and kick ass. 5 stars
11/06/00 DV Fight scenes and spec effects: 5; acting & plot: 1 2 stars
11/06/00 Elspeth Shell-Moyer I loved this movie. And I am in fact a girl. It didn't need a plot. It was so funny. 5 stars
11/05/00 strider3700 this movie was no academy award winner, but I loved every minute. Can't wait for a sequel 5 stars
11/05/00 rob g great flick! 5 stars
11/05/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble The original Angels would have been just as cool, they are still beautiful. 3 stars
11/05/00 Greyjack Cheesy goodness at its best. And it had one of my favorite lines--"My muffins!" 4 stars
11/04/00 TruckGirl didn't expect to laugh so hard.... 5 stars
11/04/00 Michael DLT A wondrous congruence of style, laughs, casting (Tim Curry AND Crispin Glover) + hot ladies 5 stars
11/04/00 Caleb Toby A kick ass time ! some hot ladies proving it's cool to walk quietly and carry big bosom. 5 stars
11/04/00 Blaise God, this is a funny satire... really really fun in a dirty kinda way. 5 stars
11/04/00 Dan Cameron Lucy and Drew are perfect casting, tho Murray held it back a bit. Stupid fun. 3 stars
11/04/00 Keven Irwin It mad me so hourny 5 stars
11/03/00 Alberto The plot is more then more than made up for by the numerous shots of Cameron Diaz chest. 3 stars
11/02/00 Russell Boracci mindless, tasteless, painful watching, even the chicks stink 1 stars
11/02/00 Jared Haworth A guilty pleasure if there ever was one! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Nov-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Nov-2000 (M)


Directed by
  McG

Written by
  Ryan Rowe
  Ed Solomon
  John August

Cast
  Drew Barrymore
  Cameron Diaz
  Lucy Liu
  Bill Murray
  Tim Curry
  Sam Rockwell



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast