More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.46

Awesome31.86%
Worth A Look: 28.32%
Average: 13.72%
Pretty Bad: 5.75%
Total Crap: 20.35%

14 reviews, 142 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Charlie's Angels
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"No word suits it better than fun."
4 stars

The key to making Charlie’s Angels work for you is all in the mindset. I don’t quite know what I was expecting before I saw the movie, but I admit I was somewhat disappointed with the publicity stills where they all seem to be so posed, artificial and overly campy. With each successive photo, the trio of bodice young women –Drew Barrymore, Lucy Liu and Cameron Diaz—continued growing more and more chic. More and more ridiculous. And then came the movie.

The opening sequence is an elaborate long shot that focuses on the boarding of a plan, the meeting of two questionable characters, the detection of a bomb and the subsequent riddance of it along with the carrier and one of the Angels in disguise as LL Cool J in a loud orange dashiki.

To no surprise, the other two Angels are down below, waiting to finish the mission. Then we get the party-rock-‘n-rolling opening credits sequence and are properly introduced to our modern angels, Dylan (Barrymore), Alex (Liu) and Natalie (Diaz) –and, of course, Bosley (Bill Murray).

However modern, judging from the accouterment of everyone, the setting and lingo all tends to be stuck back in the ‘70s. The Angels’ new mission is to find the kidnapped tech-big wig Eric Knox (Sam Rockwell), who looks like a younger, nerdier Austin Powers. With the development of a new gadget in the wrong hands, possibly the competitor in tech development (run by a sleazy Tim Curry), the goods must be found, or –oh no! the world could be in danger!!!

The story and mystery itself is no hard piece of detective work, but it’s the fun along the way that counts most here. It’s as simple as Mission: Impossible II, or the first, The Avengers, Inspector Gadget, The Mod Squad, The Adventures of Rocky and Bullwinkle, and Wild Wild West (but way too simple as compared to The Fugitive or Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me), but what makes it so conducive, is it gives us what we want –and it’s a whole lot of fun.

There’s a great mixture of tongue-in-cheek/self-referential humor, slapstick, action, stunts, and bodies to get you into it. Charlie’s Angels is another case of not taking itself too seriously, and therefore without imposing on the audience, it flows real well. The action is a mix of The Matrix with a dash of visual style as seen in The Cell. Like The Cell, which was directed by Tarsem Singh, Charlie’s Angels was also directed by a former music-video director, McG. Singh’s vision and arrangement seemed less video minded, but more stylistically inclined, whereas McG treats it all as if it were one long dance and music fest, making sure to incorporate plenty of pop songs along the way.

But don’t take that as a bad sign, because that’s what makes it what it is. The action was great and nicely choreographed. If I were ever to make an action movie, this is much the way, visually, that I would do it, especially the first fight scene between the Angels and "the Thin Man" (Crispin Glover). Charlie’s Angels is very involving in the sense that you really like the tune it’s playing to, and want to get into it even further. Like playing a certain song on repeat.

I was only a little kid when the re-runs were on for the show, and I honestly don’t remember anything about it. No worries, for if you have no background with this, the movie nicely gives an introduction and factitious "normal" lives for the ladies to live. The cast is par excellence and nicely divvied to three of today’s hotter and enjoyable female leads. Barrymore is cute and joyful. Her red winish hair and hip wardrobe have her as the sensible brains of the crew. Barrymore's character is probably the least developed, but the she and the character never forget to emanate her strong appeal. Liu is the brainiac and technical wizard, but none look as sleek and poised as she does. Liu still resembles something from her dominatrix role in Payback, but in both instances, these roles seem far too easy for her. I’d really like to see a challenge along the lines of her skillfulness like in Ally McBeal, because stuff like Shanghai Noon isn’t cutting it. Diaz also looks great –maybe the best in her career yet. She’s a happy ditz, cheerful and exuberant all the way, and she too is a joy to watch as she is dressed in the skimpiest, choicest clothing (I loved the Spider Man underware!). The three girls are like bait for some soft-core teasing –it’s really quite amusing.

Murray was fun, limitedly so, but for the time he was there, he was a kick. Rockwell had a bigger part than expected, and he too knows how to have fun with the goofy material. Matt LeBlanc, Tom Green and Luke Wilson also surface when needed for some unique supporting roles.

McG makes sure to positively pump up the energy and make this into a spectacle show. He has a keen eye for what looks good, whether it’s the production design, clothing, his actors, the action, etc., but his employed camerawork, and the cinematography by Russell Carpenter is very impressive. Through the compositions and long shots, skilled effects (never overdone), and smooth editing, McG warrants himself some compliments, but it also proves that this isn’t just some slap-together budget piece, but rather a movie that was nicely composed from all angles. It was better than I thought it would be. I can’t say much for his name, but it gives me something to look forward to.

So for now it seems as though the video directors aren’t doing so bad. Singh is probably my favorite, but both McG and Spike Jonze (Being John Malkovich) both have shown some signs of serious proficiency in the filmmaking business. McG’s is the least cinematic as far as all the corners go (story is a big issue, but this is all in fun anyway) as juxtaposed with the other two, but that leaves a large possibility and lots of hope for whatever is next. (The story is co-written by John August, who penned last year’s "hip," but rockin’ Go. Also written by Ryan Rowe and Ed Solomon.)

Final Verdict: A-.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1819&reviewer=172
originally posted: 11/04/00 06:35:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell fun imo 4 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King Don't waste your time watching it. 1 stars
5/11/08 drydock54321 not too good 2 stars
12/06/07 no one must kill one 1 stars
4/10/07 bluelights Lucy Liu is beautiful 5 stars
3/20/07 dude really stupid 1 stars
3/19/07 Austin Wertman STUPID 1 stars
3/07/07 johnnyfog Sam Rockwell is pretty cool, but I wanted those bitches to die 2 stars
2/17/07 David Pollastrini didn't think much of it 3 stars
10/30/06 paula Who would give this movie a half of a star, A STUPID man named ROGER EBERT 5 stars
10/08/06 isis cool movie! 4 stars
6/06/06 Anthony Feor One of the greatest pairs of action stars 5 stars
6/05/06 chris cameron diaz is a babe, especially in those spiderman panties 5 stars
5/26/06 William Goss Fun doesn't come more shameless. 4 stars
9/28/05 Jonathon Holmes dumb, but fun 4 stars
3/03/05 Laurie Le Blanc I thought Drew Barrymore and Crispin Glover made the movie worth watching. 3 stars
12/23/04 Jason Kaul This is what it would look like if MTV played action movies instead of music videos. 3 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams Cameron Diaz needs to EAT. Skinny bitch 1 stars
10/23/04 Asif Ali Memon well its nice movie I watched it 5 or 6 times.I really enjoyed and waiting for new part. 5 stars
8/01/04 DM Scary - This movie got made. Scarier - It made enough money to warrant a sequel. 1 stars
6/12/04 DJ ERIC 88 one of my fave movies! Full Throttle was better though! 4 stars
12/30/03 suck my cock fuck you nazi punx! 2 stars
12/26/03 vkvashisth movie full of wonder but i see only drews 4 stars
12/23/03 Luke How can you like this! shiet 1 stars
12/08/03 lilcutie a good film 4 stars
11/28/03 john painful in its stupidity - tries so hard to be exiting that turns out rather dull 1 stars
11/25/03 Thiago Cool. Cameron and Drew are perfect; Lucy is ok. Fun movie. 4 stars
10/29/03 Vicki Not so bad it's good; just REALLY, REALLY painfully awful. 1 stars
9/06/03 Dimitri Aubert Can they make a movie any worse? The sequel maybe will be! 1 stars
9/02/03 Kitty B. only good part-bill murray 1 stars
7/15/03 Lil' Angel baby Great moovie! I luved it SO much 5 stars
7/11/03 Eloise make it stop, please make it stop!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/10/03 a girl The movie was cool 3 stars
6/29/03 john one of the greatest films ever made 5 stars
6/16/03 Lush Try not to be bothered by the film's brainlessness and you'll find that you'll enjoy it. 3 stars
5/29/03 leon %%0qwe OH THE MISERY......... OH THE MISERY ...OH MISERY.....NO MORE!....NO SEQUAL PLEASE!!!AHHHHH 1 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'Fos!) AAAHHH! THE cheesiest shit ever: awful directing, script, action scenes.I agree w/ Ken 100% 1 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby Charmless actresses; ho-hum action; and a wasteland of failed gags. 1 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Fun, Fun, Fun. 4 stars
9/30/02 Flick Chick the movie sucked, but Drew's cleavage looked so good, almost converted me into lesbianism 1 stars
9/08/02 jimbo The film is a laugh 5 stars
8/08/02 J Not a bad movie but the anime film "Burn Up!" was better & Curry was wasted. 3 stars
6/20/02 Ken My brain hurts. 1 stars
6/16/02 Jim Three hotties, no plotties 3 stars
5/15/02 Blake The 3 girls were hot and kicked butt 5 stars
4/15/02 Film Guy Hot Ass women. Stupid ass movie. 1 stars
4/06/02 spacecowboy loved the Angels...woooo go Angels.... 5 stars
4/05/02 Michael Pham its good 5 stars
4/05/02 Edfink Lombardo Complete shit 1 stars
3/31/02 Jeremy its ggggggreat 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee Ms. Diaz shaking her ass in the camera was nice, but the rest of the film is atroucious. 1 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Fun. Cute. Plot is slow and predictable. 3 stars
2/10/02 hhjj ranks with movies like crouching tiger,hannibal,unbreakable,pearlharbor,andscarymovie. 1 stars
1/31/02 Kirsten Abercrombie Wrong angel does nude scene - to see prettier butt than Drew's all I need is a mirror. 4 stars
1/27/02 Rosie Finch amusing melodrama, but Natalie should reallly study birds &learn what a pygmy nuthatch is! 4 stars
1/16/02 David A. Alex was not convincing as a dominatrix--she didn't have the buns for it. 3 stars
12/31/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) One of the cheesiest movies ever. Only watch for sexy chicks...and Bill Murray & Tom Green. 2 stars
12/22/01 mnour oh oh 3 stars
12/10/01 dominik Duprelle Not much to hate, just lightweight, lip-glossed sillyness with Lucy Liu and my girl drew... 3 stars
12/04/01 Andrew Carden Fun Movie, Enjoyable Performances, but The Movie Is A Major Rip-Off Of The TV Show. 3 stars
11/28/01 hilary this movie kicks ass 5 stars
11/13/01 Tam Kick-ass! Female viewers can admire girl-power stunts while guys can ogle Lucy & Cameron. 4 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix The girls are sexy, the movie is garbage. 2 stars
9/06/01 Butterbean Watchable movie for college frat boys with action scenes done in a cheezy manner 3 stars
8/15/01 hilary awesome 5 stars
8/10/01 E-Funk Stupid fun with great effects, action, and beautiful women. It's supposed to be cheesy! 5 stars
8/10/01 Mr. Hat Except for 3 choice pieces of ass, this is one of the cheesiest movies I've ever seen. 2 stars
8/07/01 ted v. the story is crap, but it was a lot of fun!!! 3 stars
8/06/01 badfish Barely watchable 2 stars
8/04/01 sarah Its about boobs & stupid & desperate women 1 stars
7/07/01 Simeon Briggs Atrocious, sub-matrix, unoriginal, giggly in an irritating way, burn all copies 1 stars
5/28/01 ntwrage What the fuck were they thinking making this movie. Its retarded! 1 stars
5/26/01 Connoisseur this was a movie...?!? 1 stars
5/23/01 I love movies I'm getting REALLY sick of MATRIX-worshipping directors (Tom Green was not funny) 2 stars
5/19/01 XX The 'movie' SUCKSSSSS way too much to decribe. Don't waste your rental $ or your 1.5 hrs. 1 stars
4/23/01 X It was fun, not insulting and silly. Perfect for Saturday morning. Enjoyed Lui alot 4 stars
4/23/01 joh yeah Tom Green! 5 stars
4/11/01 Gary This is a really good film, although boring at parts and a little confusing. 4 stars
4/10/01 Monday Morning Fluffy fun. 4 stars
3/27/01 Mia This movie was worth seeing! 5 stars
3/15/01 Adam Voorhees Awesome Hamilton, totally awesome. Lighten up and love this no brainer! 5 stars
2/23/01 yUp Typical modern flick - chicks beating up men. 2 stars
2/18/01 perverted pixie I want to live in Crispin Glover's pants... 5 stars
2/13/01 Richard Wright The client was blown away.. but I wasn't. Fast camerawork can't disguise a shoddy script. 2 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Again, EAT ME!! If you're too uptight to dig this for what it is, just go ahead and die!! 5 stars
2/03/01 brentley Lucy kicks ass! 4 stars
1/31/01 Kerry-Ann Wonderful, great action,the comedy timing is great! Fun all-around movie!! 4 stars
1/29/01 Nic From a fan of the TV show, this movie was EXCELLENT! 5 stars
1/27/01 Hamad great 5 stars
1/22/01 Diego Romero You know it sucks 1 stars
1/15/01 Yoshi This is a great, fun movie, go drew! 5 stars
1/14/01 Avenger Girl Give me the original anyday. Dont even think about seeing this movie 1 stars
1/06/01 fifu come on 1 stars
1/06/01 Kealoha Who says only 007 can be a ass-kicking babe and still funny!!?! 5 stars
12/11/00 irwin Possibly the worse kind of Hollywood money grab - one that thinks it's actually good. HAHA 1 stars
12/10/00 Sexton Hardcastle Dude! Sweet! That was very fun, no particular part that I could refer to,I enjoyed it all 5 stars
12/10/00 T.Smith Lucy Liu is one ugly bitch. She made this movie suck won ton 1 stars
12/09/00 Viking Not as bad as it sounds !!!! 4 stars
12/09/00 Fathom Menace This brings women back about 30 years. Morons will make this a $90Mil Flick!! 1 stars
12/08/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Hey cutie, don't shoot, just sit on my face and I'll surrender. 1 stars
12/08/00 Erika yeah it was about the worst movie I have ever seen, which is really sad because I LOVE Drew 1 stars
12/05/00 Matthew Bratley Ok so it's not Shakespeare but it's so much fun 4 stars
12/05/00 William Bell Anyone who doesn't enjoy this movie is an ass-hole. I mean it. 5 stars
12/04/00 Susie Wickedly entertaining 5 stars
12/04/00 Bob Nice T&A for the Brain-Dead 1 stars
11/26/00 FrayLo An entertaining movie that should NOT be taken seriously...all in good fun. 5 stars
11/24/00 HIgh School Janitor Bob THAT WAS FUN ! and it was a thinking movie...made me think of how to get into Lucy's pants 5 stars
11/21/00 The Bill Head This is one of the worst movies of all time!!Sure, the three are nice to look..but come on! 1 stars
11/20/00 popo Lucy Liu was amazing and not to mention, fionne 5 stars
11/19/00 Leon Trotsky <sniff>...is that...cheese? Not terribly bright, but a lot of fun. 4 stars
11/19/00 Bob Fugate Great movie for people who don't like to think 1 stars
11/18/00 YelloMiata@AOL.COM All of the women I know, who have seen it, love it. It's NOT just a guy flick. 5 stars
11/18/00 Edward A Leonard Boring, I mean nice T&A, although it would have been nice to SEE some :), but too corny 2 stars
11/15/00 MiS^DeMeAnOr I loved it! Absolutely hilarious! 5 stars
11/13/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Tongue-in-cheek romp with outstanding action sequences and likeable heroines. 5 stars
11/13/00 poetchuck Good fun and action 4 stars
11/10/00 The Bomb 69 true fun, not much of a plot but I laughed throughout 5 stars
11/10/00 Ground Zero should have been called Charlie's Chicks (LOL) 3 stars
11/08/00 Spetters Great entertainment. I saw this in a cinema and even they laughed! 5 stars
11/08/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Stupid movie for stupid minds. 1 stars
11/08/00 Caleb Toby kick ass 5 stars
11/08/00 Ty Yes, it lacks a plot, but who cares? You'll be laughing to hard to notice! 5 stars
11/07/00 Olivia Finally an action movie where the girls aren't afaid to break a nail!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/07/00 Wendy A. Unfortunately, I was disappointed! I thought the movie would have been more entertaining. 3 stars
11/07/00 Tony cheesy ripoff of way too many other action movies 2 stars
11/07/00 Dead President Be sure to shoot yourself before letting the ball-and-chain drag you to this dog! 1 stars
11/07/00 Kimbo It prove that women can be beautifual, have fun and kick ass. 5 stars
11/06/00 DV Fight scenes and spec effects: 5; acting & plot: 1 2 stars
11/06/00 Elspeth Shell-Moyer I loved this movie. And I am in fact a girl. It didn't need a plot. It was so funny. 5 stars
11/05/00 strider3700 this movie was no academy award winner, but I loved every minute. Can't wait for a sequel 5 stars
11/05/00 rob g great flick! 5 stars
11/05/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble The original Angels would have been just as cool, they are still beautiful. 3 stars
11/05/00 Greyjack Cheesy goodness at its best. And it had one of my favorite lines--"My muffins!" 4 stars
11/04/00 TruckGirl didn't expect to laugh so hard.... 5 stars
11/04/00 Michael DLT A wondrous congruence of style, laughs, casting (Tim Curry AND Crispin Glover) + hot ladies 5 stars
11/04/00 Caleb Toby A kick ass time ! some hot ladies proving it's cool to walk quietly and carry big bosom. 5 stars
11/04/00 Blaise God, this is a funny satire... really really fun in a dirty kinda way. 5 stars
11/04/00 Dan Cameron Lucy and Drew are perfect casting, tho Murray held it back a bit. Stupid fun. 3 stars
11/04/00 Keven Irwin It mad me so hourny 5 stars
11/03/00 Alberto The plot is more then more than made up for by the numerous shots of Cameron Diaz chest. 3 stars
11/02/00 Russell Boracci mindless, tasteless, painful watching, even the chicks stink 1 stars
11/02/00 Jared Haworth A guilty pleasure if there ever was one! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Nov-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Nov-2000 (M)


Directed by
  McG

Written by
  Ryan Rowe
  Ed Solomon
  John August

Cast
  Drew Barrymore
  Cameron Diaz
  Lucy Liu
  Bill Murray
  Tim Curry
  Sam Rockwell



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast