More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.19

Awesome66.36%
Worth A Look: 14.55%
Average: 2.73%
Pretty Bad: 4.55%
Total Crap: 11.82%

4 reviews, 86 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Wizard of Oz, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"The Wizard of Oz deserves all the praise and recognition it recieves."
5 stars

L. Frank Baum's classic children's story comes to life in what is most likely the world's most beloved film. It has earned that distinction by charming generation after generation, thanks to numerous re-releases and annual TV broadcasts. It's one of those movies that has transcended the medium of cinema, and has become a welcome part of American culture. Everyone probably has at least one memory of watching The Wizard of Oz as a small kid, with parents and popcorn surrounding you. Completely cynic-proof, this is a movie you can truly love.

Who doesn't know the story of Dorothy and how her house lands in Muchkinville? Were you one of the kids who was terrified of the flying monkeys? (I was.) The Cowardly Lion has all the best punchlines, but the Tin Man and Scarecrow get to be the brave ones. The wonderful songs that were just this close to being way too corny. The bottom line is that this film has a wonderful and simple message and it's just a totally entertaining adventure movie as well.

As we all know: Following a nasty tornado, Dorothy Gale wakes up to find herself in Oz. She is greeted by the Munchkins and Glinda the Good Witch, who explains how our heroine can return home: She must reach the Emerald City and ask for help from the great and powerful Oz. With her terrier Toto close behind, she begins her journey down the Yellow Brick Road. Unfortunately, there's the evil witch who just HATES Dorothy. (Well, Dot DID kill her sister and STILL got the fancy ruby slippers!) Along the way, she meets the Scarecrow, the Tin Man, and the Cowardly Lion. Each has something they also lack, so they hope to ask Oz for a little help as well. After quite a few scrapes and one case of drug overdose (I didn't really understand the poppy field scene until I was older) they all arrive in Oz's court, when they are charged with a task in exchange for their wishes: Steal the broom from the Wicked Witch of the West!

Of course, we all know how it turns out: The witch has a bad time around water, Oz is a big fake, and our heroes all had what they thought they lacked ALL ALONG! (I still get misty when Dorothy listens to the Tin Man's heart.) The reason this is the ultimate classic? It's sweet, but not too sappy. It's a LITTLE scary, but also brilliantly colorful. The characters are sweet, and the villains are UGLY. The songs are not only perfect, but they actually integrate well with the plot! (How novel.) The stark contrast between the black-and-white Kansas in the beginning, compared with the explosion of colors and sounds in Oz is a wonderful technique. And a personal favorite of mine: How each of Dorothy's heroes were actually real guys, only enhanced through her dreams.

This movie speaks to kids especially. Dorothy is bored living on her farm. The nasty lady down the road wants to KILL her dog! AND everything is black and white. But after all her excitement and fun in Oz, all she really wants is to just get home to her family. Apparently, it's the kind of message families have been thrilled with for over 70 years now.

When a movie is cherished for as many years as this one is, there's probably good reason. Not only is it a really entertaining and sweet movie for any age, but it also brings us back to our early movie memories, when it was a thrill to stay up late, and when you'd hide your eyes when those monkeys showed up.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=182&reviewer=128
originally posted: 04/02/00 18:02:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/26/15 stanley welles campy fairy tale that is strangely heavy-handed 2 stars
1/30/11 Linda J A film you can never get tired of. Judy Garland was one of my father's favorite actresses. 5 stars
9/08/10 John Lutz A wounderful fantasy for children as well as grownups who enjoy a break from reality. 5 stars
9/28/09 HC Really!? this movie is considered on of the best films of all time, that and the godfather 5 stars
2/22/09 PAUL SHORTT ONE OF THE MOST ENDURING MUSICAL FANTASIES OF ALL TIME 5 stars
1/15/09 Anonymous. this movie is great but most people already know that :] 5 stars
10/20/08 Monster A Go-Go This movie is OZ-some! A timeless classic you can't help watching again and again. 5 stars
11/02/07 hank3395 its a classic everyone knows it even the reviewer 5 stars
10/20/07 Pauline Burns A Classic! I grew up watching, and I still watch it with my kids. 5 stars
10/05/07 Eddy I don't understand someone not loving this film and those few are in the minority! 5 stars
10/25/06 David Pollastrini great make-up 5 stars
9/12/06 David Cohen A wonderful film (the book was better, but that's to be expected) 5 stars
9/07/06 Heather Gauze It is a great children movie that every child should see. It is just wonderful! 4 stars
1/20/06 Michael Warm movie with a sweet Dorthy and others but it left me empty. 2 stars
1/15/06 Quigley for a 1930s film, they sure knew how to make a movie that is still so visually arresting. 5 stars
12/23/05 cody a classic movie children and adults young at heart ,a movie for all generations to see 4 stars
12/11/05 chris great film 5 stars
8/22/05 R.W. Welch There's a reason everybody knows nearly every line in this movie. 5 stars
7/18/05 Shawna I love this movie it is classic. This will be pass on to children for years to come. 5 stars
4/10/05 dwarzel Read the books--al 14 of them--for a better look at an OZ that ISN'T just a dream. 3 stars
2/22/05 axe Oz is so widely loved, the voices of dissent sound shrill and unreasonable 5 stars
11/19/04 Khalecia It sucked! 1 stars
9/20/04 Valerie A must see for everyone. Simply put, it's "A Classic". 4 stars
8/12/04 caitlin well good and cute 4 stars
7/23/04 Lord Durvok 2 "roxy" is a mental retard who deserves to die. 5 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj Good film for children; creepy for adults 3 stars
5/15/04 Sean Scanlan Wonderful musical 5 stars
3/18/04 Ina The movie is jaw-droppingly beautiful 5 stars
2/17/04 Mr. Blonde I really do not need to see annoying little munchkins hopping around and dancing. 2 stars
1/05/04 Jennifer I adore this this film!!! The direction is amazing, and Judy is my hero!!! :) 5 stars
12/10/03 Samuel CRAZY! make sure your on acid before you watch it!!! 2 stars
11/03/03 lacey novak very good movie...my fav. when i was a kid! 5 stars
10/26/03 Two-G - horror_blood2 (aka Double G) What I meant by scary is freaky fucking little perverted midgets running around Should be R 1 stars
9/27/03 joshua aleshire this movie is a master piece 5 stars
9/20/03 George Freshley An Amazing Film!!! 5 stars
9/17/03 A.L.R..S I think this movie is the greatest movie ever made! 5 stars
8/19/03 Spock_Enterprise we're off to see the wizard!!! 5 stars
8/09/03 Double G scary 1 stars
7/31/03 futurama rocks this movie is soooooooo YUCK 1 stars
6/02/03 me frog one of the best films in the whole damn world end of story 5 stars
5/06/03 Allstar-rio Whenever I watch this great American film, I always feel like a little child again. 5 stars
4/22/03 maureen Bernard the best movie ever 5 stars
4/16/03 Zach Pinkline Jones- Bet a million you're in prison. Enjoying your internet access? 5 stars
1/28/03 Pinkline Jones Rather have a pap smear with a chainsaw. Bowel-filling 1 stars
1/17/03 mans0n stands the test of time for a reason, its great! i wish they made them like this still 5 stars
1/03/03 rotten s. milk A classic. 5 stars
12/31/02 John Aster Habig a movie for anyone who feels out of place or insecure in their natural abilities 5 stars
12/12/02 Actress known as Angelina Jolie, Ashley Judd, and Charlize Theron A good time has come for a remake of this. I 'd make an excellent wicked witch of the west! 5 stars
10/25/02 Ben Krake This mit sound degrating but I'm 17 years old and I still watch that movie! It rules! 5 stars
7/04/02 rogers that was the best movie ever wow! 5 stars
4/11/02 adam wolfe It's the BEST movie ever, and you're stupid to think otherwise!!! 5 stars
4/03/02 Butterbean One of the very few old movies I enjoy watching 5 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand This is the first movie I ever saw...23 years later...still awesome 5 stars
3/01/02 Chowie ifulook@daendofdatinmansceneucanseeamidgethanginghimself! 5 stars
1/11/02 kelly Loved i am a big fan of ray Bolgers . and i belive everyone deserves a little time oz time 5 stars
11/02/01 Andrew Carden It's A Classic, It Started The New Generation Of Color Movies. 5 stars
8/23/01 Babybelle Pure enchantment and deep insight.Will never be bored with it. 5 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg I'm asuming this sort of stuff apeals to small children .I'm far to synical to enjoy it . 4 stars
7/16/01 SuperLad Ive seen trhis movie so many times and Im still not sick of it . 5 stars
6/16/01 Bada Bing Crosby Part of the consciousness of the entire planet, not for nothing either 5 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Visually pleasing, playful, and undemanding...not bad at all. 5 stars
1/15/01 Skip One of the best movies of all time. 5 stars
12/16/00 David Demoreski BEAUTIFUL SONGS, SETS, COSTUMES AND A PERFECT CAST!! BY FAR, THE BEST FAMILY FILM EVER!!!!! 5 stars
10/16/00 movie chick Pure movie magic! 5 stars
10/16/00 TIM PS... QUIT TRYING TO BE CUTE AND FUNNY.... 5 stars
10/15/00 Jed Good classic film not exactly the best but far from the worst. 4 stars
9/07/00 Gray Judy Garland was great in this. No! I'm not gay! The flying monkeys remind me of the royals 5 stars
6/02/00 Wafer watch this shit with pink floyd's dark side album. It's crazy 5 stars
4/10/00 Myself Puh-LEEZE! What a cheesy, crappy movie! 1 stars
4/03/00 bullit17 How can ANYONE with half a heart and a respect for the classics not love this? 5 stars
4/03/00 a friend of Dorothy a definite classic 5 stars
1/20/00 Jedi15 Overrated and boring piece of SHIT! Munchkins suck big hairy cock! See the sequel instead. 1 stars
11/04/99 ps "I loved it as a kid, but those monkeys freaked me!" 4 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy Boring. 2 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: **** (out of ****) Category: "Excellent" 5 stars
4/10/99 Michael Grimm It's classic. Dorothy on speed!!!!! 5 stars
1/02/99 Oscar Goldman Great film. Would be worth the money if I hadn't already seen it on TV 500 times. 5 stars
12/22/98 Movie Geezer Simply put...a great timeless film 5 stars
11/28/98 ShadowStar© Should've brought my Pink Floyd CD 4 stars
11/17/98 Tom Ripley My favorite. And, hey, it's got FLYING MONKEYS! 5 stars
11/13/98 Jules My dad loves it and for once I agree. 5 stars
11/06/98 Lord Of The Dunce It was fine for it's time, but really is it worth a rerelease? Semi. 3 stars
11/06/98 davebo classic story, digitally remastered, but where the Pink Floyd sndtrk? :) 5 stars
10/04/98 spork-girl why does everyone say this is for kids? it's on acid. it's for druggies. MIDGETS! 5 stars
9/01/98 Mister Whoopee A classic tale, done extremely well for the time. But pretty much for kids. 4 stars
8/15/98 {{{OZ}}} The midget hanging himself in the background is an urban myth. Ok? 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Aug-1939
  DVD: 25-Oct-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Mar-1940




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast