More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.91

Awesome: 24.05%
Worth A Look56.96%
Average: 8.86%
Pretty Bad: 5.7%
Total Crap: 4.43%

11 reviews, 92 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Erin Brockovich
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Larger than Life"
4 stars

In Erin Brockovich, Julia Roberts charms a small-time lawyer (Albert Finney) into employing her, a disullisioned boyfriend (Aaron Eckhart) to stay with her, a giant law firm into using her resources, and over 600 people to sign a law suit against the multinational company thatís poisoning their water supply. I was charmed by Erin from the beginning, and stayed with her all the way.

Brockovichís an inspiring woman, a hero, and Roberts is perfectly cast. Itís a star turn, but Brockovich deserves a larger-than-life star to play her. This is a single mother who fought to get a job as a lowly assistant in a small law firm. Her
investigation into some medical reports in a real estate file led to the exposure of a major corporate cover-up and one of the largest payouts in American legal history.

Julia Roberts transfixes as Brockovich. Susannah Grantís script is slick and intelligent, with sharp dialogue, and avoids the flaws of a lot of films about real-life people and events. This is no static story of a life, frozen on film. Our picture of
Brockovich emerges from her actions (getting her job, investigating the water-poisoning, rallying people for the lawsuit) and continues to evolve as the effect of those actions snowballs.

This is new territory for director Steven Soderbergh, but he succeeds in telling a gripping legal story without ever having to show the final court proceedings. Heís reduced the story to its human components: the overworked lawyer (Finney in fine
form), the embittered and sick townsfolk, the disgruntled ex-employees who contact Brockovich with information. But most of all - and best of all - heís given us an inspiring portrait of Brockovich herself.

Soderbergh and Grant let the facts of their story speak for themselves, and Roberts gives those facts a human, winning face.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1821&reviewer=104
originally posted: 05/09/00 21:22:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell soild flick JULIA IS GREAT 4 stars
7/31/09 Ulla I love Julia...but why does she portray Erin as a slutty dresser? It makes women look bad 2 stars
2/09/09 Samantha Pruitt great acting, Julia Roberts really shines in this! 5 stars
11/17/08 Sol Not the most exciting, but somehow deserves the awards it's got. 4 stars
5/16/08 PAUL SHORTT A BIG, BRASH, BOLD SOCIAL FILM ISSUE THAT EXPLODES WITH A GOOD PERFORMANCE 3 stars
2/08/07 David Pollastrini RIP Ed Masry 4 stars
11/30/06 jenna i think that this was an awesome movie and julia roberts is an inspiring actress and woman. 5 stars
10/02/06 Jeremy Davies Great movie, was pleasantly surprised. Best performance by Julia Roberts 4 stars
6/05/06 Jess Bloody Awesome! 5 stars
10/19/05 Sinead Kane One of the best films every made 5 stars
8/26/05 Michael Liked it a lot ... too much swearing though 5 stars
7/28/05 Wc IT PARALYZE ME! 5 stars
2/02/05 Steve Michaud Roberts won an Oscar for this? Over Ellen Burstyn in "Requiem for a Dream"? What a sham. 4 stars
12/17/04 Ken Cenerelli Slow in parts but otherwise a worthy oscar winner. 4 stars
12/12/04 Charlene Javier Julia deserves every bit of that Oscar! 5 stars
12/08/04 frosty Something to chew on. 4 stars
12/06/04 Julie The moral tone of this film is disgusting. 1 stars
9/27/04 Edelyn Baja very nice movie. 5 stars
4/06/04 Agent Sands I get tired of the cocky Brockovich monologues, but all otherwise is excellent. 4 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser One of the best true-life dramas I have ever seen! Julia is excellent!!! 5 stars
11/01/03 Tell Shit Like Shit Is Decent fable. Too bad the previews made her seem like Erin Blockhead Bitch! 4 stars
10/06/03 John Bale Fiesty Roberts uses her obvious physical assets to advantage in a fine performance 4 stars
8/06/03 Sarrah Smith awesome! i made it into my thesis. 5 stars
7/27/03 Mr. Hat I'd have sex with Julia Roberts! I think Finney & Soderbergh did well, if a bit Hollywood. 4 stars
6/27/03 cochese Julia Roberts is among the top ten most annoying people in the world. This movie SUCKS. 1 stars
5/31/03 ReptilesNi Marg Helenberger would've made a better Erin. Julia's range is extremely limited. 3 stars
2/11/03 Pinkline Jones Very good film - Roberts' Oscar thoroughly deserved 4 stars
12/28/02 Rayna Kuzio Great movie!! Definately will buy for my collection! 5 stars
11/26/02 R.W. Welch Finney is priceless and Roberts effective though the pic drags in spots. 4 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Julia's Best Performance is still Notting Hill. 4 stars
11/08/02 Tell Shit Like Shit Is Decent fable. Too bad the previews made her seem like Erin Blockhead Bitch! 4 stars
9/26/02 snowconehead lies, lies, and more wonderbra lies 2 stars
4/12/02 Sara Goldfarb's Red Dress Hey Jules, Mr Ed wants his teeth back.. 1 stars
3/27/02 Chris Ņ° Oh, What a great movie. I had a smile on my face the whole time. 5 stars
1/24/02 Geo7654 Julia Roberts is stunning.........to look at, but the plot is just isn't interesting enough 3 stars
1/17/02 carmen lafuente a very good film 5 stars
1/14/02 Flick Chick i agree with travis - and i was so unintrigued, even i was starting to like her hooties. 3 stars
1/06/02 Andrew Carden The Direction and Production Is Very Unique, but It's Too Serious. 3 stars
12/31/01 adil moutanabbi Erin just made the woman figure a true pair of breasts, totally missfit in that domain . 3 stars
12/02/01 travis r. sorensen OVERRATED!!!!!!!!-but julia roberts has nice hooties 3 stars
10/31/01 ss good 4 stars
10/22/01 P.Rodriguez U Gotta Love Her Mams. Decent Movie Also. 4 stars
9/09/01 Gary Good dialogue, but standard fare overall. Julia was great, but Linney shudda got the Oscar. 3 stars
8/31/01 spaceworm Biker boyfriend far more authentic than Julia's chest. 3 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson Is this supposed to be a hero? Ambulance chasing slut? 1 stars
4/28/01 nayana Das good movie 4 stars
4/13/01 Piz One of those "Ive seen this one before" type of films, where everyone root for the underdog 4 stars
4/09/01 Gary Good movie. I loved Roberts in it, but I liked her in Stepmom better. 5 stars
3/27/01 Kaarina Hautaniemi Now it is time for Julia Roberts to get that glamorous Oscar-statue. Good work! 5 stars
3/23/01 Neil Labute If Julia Roberts wins best actress, it ll be a fucking joke. 3 stars
3/21/01 Jake Silkwood, anyone? 1 stars
3/07/01 Mike steve how did you make traffic? 1 stars
2/21/01 Elvisfan Decent, solid movie but not Oscar worthy for anyone involved 3 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Julia hasn't had a better role before or since, and she plays it like she knows it. 4 stars
2/13/01 Egg36 Dull story, but Julia Roberts is great eye-candy. 2 stars
2/06/01 Doug An amazing film and Julie deserves an Oscar 5 stars
1/29/01 Nic Like usual, Julia Roberts puts on a superb performance. But, then, when hasn't she?! 5 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 Hey Julia, Nice tits!!!! Standard film, but excellent perf by the tits. 3 stars
1/04/01 stacey james fuckin brilliant movie and bite my ass all those who dont agree 5 stars
10/27/00 bob mitchell superb casting for the story line. 5 stars
9/11/00 Terrie Smith Well written by Grant; good direction by Soderbergh. Let's not forget Julia either. 4 stars
8/29/00 Monday Morning I don't know about an Oscar but Julia's body deserves some kind of award. Great movie too. 4 stars
8/18/00 Girl 9 A little long but well done nonetheless. Some good acting for Julia Roberts 4 stars
7/13/00 Tom I never thought I would say this: Julia Roberts gives an excellent performance. 4 stars
7/12/00 Linda Hilarious but serious 5 stars
5/12/00 Dasha I'll never underesimate Julia Roberts again. Wow, she rocks here. 4 stars
4/21/00 Matthew Smith Julia roberts gives one of her best performances to date 5 stars
4/19/00 Sara GREAT!! 5 stars
4/13/00 punkass Someday all average films will be this good. A step down for Soderbergh 3 stars
4/10/00 lazt good story,great performances..see it. 5 stars
4/10/00 Richard Wright This had a very intelligent plot and some great dialogue. And no slushy music!!! YEAH!! 4 stars
4/10/00 kohawk I'd rather take a shotgun blast in the face than see this flick 1 stars
4/07/00 Mr C Excellent, witty, and entertaining 5 stars
4/07/00 Tim Julia Roberts was funny as hell in this movie and was believable 5 stars
4/02/00 Chef ADogg Nice cleavage. Bonus points for anchoring them with a decent movie. 4 stars
4/02/00 Captain Highcrime Impressive adaptation of what could've easily become TV movie fare. 4 stars
3/29/00 LC Did anyone else think of Silkwood while watching this film? Bigger boobs in this one though 4 stars
3/25/00 Chartsy Aaron Eckhart, where have you been all my life? 4 stars
3/24/00 Wafer Julia Roberts was great but it was a little long 4 stars
3/23/00 Chuckie I didnt know that one dirt poor woman could afford so many boob revealing outfits. 3 stars
3/23/00 Jenifer The movie gives struggling,single moms the hope for a better life for their children 5 stars
3/23/00 Movie Freek Despise Julia Roberts, but she gives the performance of the year in this terrific film! 5 stars
3/22/00 Joel Harwood JULIA ROBERTS GETS BETTER THAN EVER 5 stars
3/21/00 JonnyAngel a nice surprise 4 stars
3/21/00 El Tigre I am not a Julia Roberts fan, but I think she is great in this very entertaining smart film 5 stars
3/21/00 Paige Much better than I expected. Definitely worth seeing. 4 stars
3/21/00 Justine Briggs I thought the movie was great, very enjoyable. 5 stars
3/21/00 Bart Entertaining. Julia is a Star not an Actress. Pretty woman goes "trailer park." 4 stars
3/20/00 Louis Pretty good, a little bit long 4 stars
3/19/00 "Persnickety "Jenn pretty damn good, you rock julia! 5 stars
3/19/00 Malbert Another wonderful movie for Julia Roberts, I wasn't expecting to love it as much as I did 5 stars
3/19/00 Mr Glute If you've waited for Julia to do something interesting, she's finally done it. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Mar-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Apr-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast