More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.59

Awesome: 13.83%
Worth A Look: 12.77%
Average: 13.83%
Pretty Bad37.23%
Total Crap: 22.34%

6 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Runaway Bride
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Reunion Ruins Theory"
2 stars

Runaway Bride (**) – Earlier this year I said that Julia Roberts should be committed to doing nothing but romantic comedies. After seeing Runaway Bride, I’ll amend that statement minorly by changing it to “good romantic comedies”. Choosing my second movie the other night was relegated to playing catch up from previous week’s releases that I had missed. Both Runaway Bride and Inspector Gadget were starting at the same time and I chose Bride due to the negative feedback I’d heard and frankly, I was in the mood for something a little more on the adult side. Looks like I made the wrong choice.

Beware a movie that has to consistently remind its audience why they came to see it in the first place. And if you’re not sure what I mean by that - let me count the ways. (1) There’s a haggle for money with price quotes ending with Richard Gere agreeing by saying “Done”. (2) Gere gets a clothing store worker to give Julia whatever she requires no matter what the cost is. (3) Gere loses control of a hammer while eating seafood (Must have been a slippery little sucker) (4) Gere has trouble driving a car while Julia knows exactly what the problem is. It’s like they’re doing an homage to Pretty Woman while holding up signs and screaming to the audience. Hey – dumb asses – don’t you remember? We were the team that made Pretty Woman. I’m all for family reunions in the movies (I loved Fierce Creatures, the Fish Called Wanda reunion) – but while Runaway Bride got back the two stars, a lot of supporting players, and its director, it left the script home alone and while it’s no doubt getting’ beaten by a drunken fire-setting Macaulay Culkin, it can’t get much worse. For the first half hour of this film, I sat there straight-faced. Not a single laugh or chuckle. Not even a smile. I was dumbfounded. And when I’m dumbfounded, much in the style of Mystery Science Theater 3000 (a moment of silence for its upcoming passing), I start coming up with witty repartee to put in my review to keep myself awake. For a while, my only attention was focused on the film’s soundtrack which seemed to be bringing back classic 80’s music more frequently than The Wedding Singer, opening its titles with U2’s I Still Haven’t Found What I’ve Been Looking For and following Gere’s quest for the Runaway Bride with the Hall and Oates tune, Maneater. Subtle. Almost nothing was working for me in this movie and even Garry Marshall can be counted on for a few decent laughs early on before he waves the sentimental wand. There was nothing going on here – practically screaming out for the 1 ½ star rating I was waiting to deliver – but I found a few nuggets to cling onto during its final 30 minutes, which is a long time coming. Julia Roberts does actually deliver a fine performance of this thinly written character. Richard Gere well is Richard Gere. And for my money he can’t match Hugh Grant in Notting Hill anymore than Grant could take Gere’s place in An Officer and a Gentleman. Hector Elizondo has some welcome moments late in the proceedings and gets the film’s best line late in the film. Too late in the film and too bad. A movie like Runaway Bride makes me think I should have given Notting Hill 3 ½ stars despite some of the quibbles I had late in the film, quibbles which seem minor compared to a travesty like this. Pretty Woman I never felt was a great film, but I did enjoy it very much and thought it was one of Gere’s few good performances.

Julia has continued to do romantic comedies and two of her best movies period – the aforementioned Notting Hill and My Best Friend’s Wedding, which actually made my Ten Best List in 1997. The people involved with Runaway Bride should rent those two films, along with Pretty Woman, and realize why Runaway Bride doesn’t work.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1822&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/16/00 10:29:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/03/11 Yvette My friend dragged me to the theater to see this and I wasn't impressed. 2 stars
7/04/10 PAUL SHORTT SLICK ROMANTIC COMEDY WITH ENGAGING PERFORMANCES 3 stars
4/03/09 Dane Youssef Impossible to swallow, believe or care about. Patronizing crap for the dumbest of women. 1 stars
2/18/08 Pamela White very true how women change thinking men want thaem to. 5 stars
12/22/05 cody a good story and good acting, everything else stunk bad and julia's worst movie yet 2 stars
10/01/05 Michael Candy-covered poisin in a nice package 3 stars
6/27/05 Doremimi Wow. Two-plus hours of my life that I can never get back. Can I sue? 2 stars
12/05/04 Kristina Williams Why women love Julia the HORSEFACE is beyond me. 1 stars
8/19/04 courtney i agree with butterbean on making a Pretty Woman 2 but still a great movie with a great end 4 stars
7/05/04 Emma Stewart quite a goood film but more of a 'chic flick' 4 stars
4/26/04 Maria Evans Loved the film, just great made me laugh loads at ike 5 stars
6/17/03 Erin Stupid. love Julia Roberts but this made me wonder why. doesn't compare to pretty woman 2 stars
3/21/03 Jack Sommersby Charming performances and good dialogue can't rescue mediocre story. 2 stars
8/08/02 I Can't Swim The day Julia retires, movies will automatically improve drastically 1 stars
6/12/02 hilarydsur worth a look 4 stars
4/28/02 Butterbean They made a shit movie instead of making a Pretty Woman 2. 2 stars
3/25/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) They shoulda just called this "The Julia Roberts Story". Or just watch A&E's Bio. same crap 2 stars
1/25/02 Carla Metzger Bearable until Maggie Crapenter runs out on one wedding too many 2 stars
1/06/02 Andrew Carden The First 10 Minutes Spoils You, and Afterwards, It Comes Tumbling Down. 2 stars
11/12/01 daniboy worse movie ever 1 stars
11/12/01 Gracy Lionheart UGH!!! I had to fight falling asleep. Stereotypical Julia Roberts movie...ugh. 1 stars
10/09/01 Jill I loved it! It is sweet and not afraid to show it! We need more light-hearted movies todayi 5 stars
6/26/01 Tzila Seewald CUTE! 4 stars
3/26/01 rafiy issa rafiy78@usa.net 5 stars
3/08/01 Sanja I want back wasted time of my life! 1 stars
3/01/01 Stephen It was AWESOME. 5 stars
12/28/00 Turtle Richard Gere's best movie I've seen. 5 stars
8/25/00 Terrie Smith Not nearly as good as 1990's "Pretty Woman"; charisma between the two is not there. 3 stars
6/09/00 Fishsticks Flat, moderately charming and decidely fluffy rom-com. 2 stars
4/04/00 yankee Roberts can't act, support is o.k., too predicted. snake dance was the best part 3 stars
3/16/00 fire-n-ice good if you have nothing else to watch 4 stars
3/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Gere & Roberts fall in love all over again. Who gives a rat's ass? 2 stars
2/29/00 Jed Well this better than some of the other richard gere films out there. 4 stars
12/10/99 Paul A feel good comedy 5 stars
10/27/99 Katherine I have LOVED so much this movie ! So romantic 5 stars
10/06/99 JIZMO CHEF ADOGG IS BEING TOO KIND IN HIS REVIEW!! DRECK AT ITS NASTIEST. 1 stars
10/04/99 Lindsey This was a cute movie, I only went because my friends were going, but it turned out good!!! 4 stars
9/21/99 Britt A feel good movie with some predicted laughs." 4 stars
9/20/99 Weird Andy Voight kicks ass. A first rate...oh, I thought this was a review for Runaway TRAIN. Sorry. 2 stars
9/05/99 voyant The fun, lighthearted fluff it's meant to be. 4 stars
9/03/99 godsdog Lame-ass, predictable humor. Follow-the-template writing. Paint by numbers, anyone? 3 stars
9/02/99 PhilmPhreak It pisses me off that I paid money to see this - oh wait, I snuck in - still sucked 2 stars
8/27/99 Meepos Seriously lacking integrity. Typical Garry Marshall syrup. 1 stars
8/22/99 funky chick not as good as notting hill 3 stars
8/14/99 JimBob Wouldnt I like to be the reason she has a headboard headache?!?!!!? 5 stars
8/14/99 Deanna You wanted maybe Anna Karenina? getthefuckoutta here!! Eye Candy and Charming 'Nuf for me 4 stars
8/12/99 Ryan The best movie I've seen this year! 5 stars
8/11/99 Vampyre9mm I would have liked it better if Julia Roberts was a hooker again. I want my money back. 2 stars
8/10/99 Jill Predictable and unrealistic 2 stars
8/05/99 Ken Gelineau Julia Roberts makes a better whore than a wife. Maybe that is why she keeps running away f 2 stars
8/05/99 Lauren Alvarez I really liked the movie. I thought it was funny! 5 stars
8/03/99 Jenn (Chuck) this movie was so adorable. Julia Roberts and Richard Gere are so cute together! I love it! 5 stars
8/02/99 Weird Andy Pretty people falling in love. Where's my 9mm? 2 stars
8/01/99 Laura Its a sweet and funny movie, not nearly as good as pretty woman, but still worth seeing. 4 stars
8/01/99 Malbert A little disappointing, but there were some good parts 3 stars
8/01/99 jenn "Blu Smrf" this is a must see for any romance lovers out there, take your dates to this movie!!! 5 stars
8/01/99 buddy not that bad, love that Julia. 4 stars
7/31/99 bucky do not let your sappy hallmark lovin' girlfriend drag you to this , its worse than the last 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jul-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Aug-1999 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast