More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.72

Awesome: 4.03%
Worth A Look: 20.16%
Average36.29%
Pretty Bad: 22.58%
Total Crap: 16.94%

4 reviews, 100 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Star Trek: Insurrection
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Franchise Reaches a New Low"
2 stars

Star Trek: Insurrection (**) - The next worse thing to sitting through a comedy without laughs is the torture of wading through a science-fiction film with no sustaining interest. Itís now a toss-up as to what is the worst of the Star Trek series - the underwritten, missed opportunity of Generations or the latest installment with the same cast.

Since the film is an odd number, the Trekkies of America immediately have low expectations and their woes are justified (even if I think Part III is the third best out of nine). The main problem with the last three films starring the Next Generation cast is that they have the feel of a two-part cliffhanger on the television show. This new film feels like a weak one-part episode. And never has a Star Trek film felt so long. At only 103 minutes (the shortest Trek film) itís an exercise in watching the ticking hand on your watch. The movieís main plot point is the moral issue of moving a race of 600 people from a Fountain of Youth colony. But the problem with these group of people is that they are so uninteresting. Their home is like Pleasantville on Prozac. None of them seem that happy and we never really get to know them and their thoughts on living forever. Maybe they are just bored - like the audience. Also the logic of the film isnít consistent. The Fountain of Youth colony is a result from the effect of the planetís rings. If thatís true, then why canít others enjoy what the planet has to offer on some other part of the planet. It makes the 600 seem life selfish bastards. Screw Ďem. I was half rooting for the villains - just to keep myself awake. But even they arenít that interesting and so many possibilities for wicked satire is missed in the script. Just look at the villains, who have to continually get facelifts in order to survive. Or the reality of living forever in an isolated community.

Thereís nothing here to keep the audience in the game except the usually top notch special effects and always Oscar-worthy Makeup jobs. Seeing this film makes you appreciate the multiple plot lines, interesting villains, and just plain action of First Contact which I only gave 2 Ĺ stars because I also had problems with that filmís pacing as well. After witnessing the Insurrection, perhaps I was too harsh on it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=183&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/17/00 05:07:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

5/27/13 Jeff Wilder Entertaining enough. A tad underpraised. 4 stars
5/17/09 Sam Should've been titled "Star Trek: Wrath of Riker." Wobbly, but oddly satisfying. 4 stars
2/08/09 KingNeutron Easily the WORST movie in the whole Trek series. 1 stars
7/22/08 the dork knight So bad, it's painful 1 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday Decent, but not as good as First Contact. 3 stars
8/15/06 Indrid Cold Once again a ST movie suffers from the "nothing more than a good episode" problem. 3 stars
8/11/05 ES Why do the aliens always look like guys in rubber suits? 1 stars
6/08/05 Drew Peltier Another ok Star Trek movie 3 stars
10/07/04 Valerie If you liked the TV show, you'd like this. 4 stars
6/14/04 PR Oh this was crap. This is start Trek, not spaceballs (too much comedy for SCI-FI) 3 stars
4/24/04 Easter Lemming 2 3/4 - Average Film That Should Have Been Better 3 stars
12/17/03 Tim Triangle The smug people on the paradise planet were way too annoying to care about some good action 4 stars
2/22/03 alien assassin Berman is to Star Trek what John Nathan Turner was to Dr. Who 3 stars
2/19/03 Matthew Jones Not too bad; nice to see Troi and Riker back together. 4 stars
2/14/03 Brian Jacobson the most underrated star trek film 4 stars
1/21/03 Eric This silly, preachy entry is REALLY boring compared to First Contact. 2 stars
12/10/02 Zefram Mann Somebody get a rifle and put this franchise out of its misery. 2 stars
12/04/02 Rippedjeans Nothing but a lost television episode thrown up on the silver screen 1 stars
11/26/02 Down with Berman This thing was like a really retarded 2 hour episode - like all TNG movies, but worse. 1 stars
11/23/02 Charles Tatum Strong entry 4 stars
10/18/02 Red Shirt Guy A sub-par episode, but the Riker Joystick maneuver killed it!! 2 stars
8/30/02 M4SQUER4DE Boring. Stupid. Full of plot holes. The characters look ridiculous most of the time... 1 stars
8/19/02 P.Rodriguez Pretty Disapointing, but leaves the way for a more exicting future ST movie 2 stars
2/27/02 Shrike Didn't love it, didn't mind it 3 stars
2/23/02 Mark Lloyd Only good part was the 1min space battle for the FX, that's it! 1 stars
1/05/02 elizaveta pretty good, pretty fun 4 stars
12/16/01 Kenneth E. Carper The only thing that sucks more dick than this movie is TLsmooth & Avenger Girl! PURE SHIT!! 1 stars
10/15/01 Andrew Carden The Ending Was Good, but The Rest Was Unexciting and Boring. 2 stars
10/13/01 lukas very boring!pretty bad! 2 stars
8/02/01 KC Au Not as awful as "First Contact" but that's not a compliment either!! 2 stars
8/01/01 TLsmooth For the love of god, stop making faggy trek movie or I will kill myself. 1 stars
7/15/01 Rampage I've seen better on Red Dwarf 2 stars
6/01/01 Roy Smith Stupid, poorly thought out, and embarrasing. 2 stars
5/18/01 Chris Bower I never thought a Trek film could be worse than ST:V, until this one... 1 stars
4/11/01 Emperor Matthew I This just plain sucked! 1 stars
4/05/01 Hawkeye A few funny scenes save this from sucking all ass. Spare yourself and watch First Contact. 2 stars
2/28/01 Steve in Prague teen movie ii is Avenger girls lesbian clit licking lover 4 stars
2/04/01 Avenger Girl All trekkies need to get a life..grow up this is shite 1 stars
1/03/01 fifu this seemed more like a good episode 3 stars
12/13/00 Emperor Websterus This was nothing but a rip-off of STIII, which was far superior. 1 stars
11/02/00 viking I'm getting sick of "Star Trek" spinoffs. Bring back "Dr. Who" and "Blakes Seven" !!! 3 stars
10/09/00 Ground Zero not bad, but ST: First Contact rules! 3 stars
5/26/00 Add Worth seeing just for Riker's "Were through running from these bastards" scene. Rest suxs!! 3 stars
5/03/00 P.Rodriguez Most people think this movie is average, but in reality it builds for a great sequel. 4 stars
3/09/00 Mr. Kramitall A perfectly good ST movie, yet Hawkboy's review had to ruin it for me. 3 stars
2/21/00 Nessus C-A-M-P-Y, the curse of the odd numbers lives on 2 stars
2/14/00 Will better than the usual 'time travel' bullshit they use for ST movies. 4 stars
1/19/00 Jedi15 I hate Jonathan Frakes. 2 stars
1/10/00 John Markham Overblown T.V. episode. 3 stars
12/18/99 SID Hawkboy's review sucks, cause he's biased. This movie is underrated. 4 stars
10/24/99 Scarface Good movie well directed and fun and interesting 4 stars
10/07/99 sophia962 Disappointing. Script weak and plot weaker. Piller and Berman phoned it in. 3 stars
10/03/99 Joe Schmoe it was okay. needs more improvement. 3 stars
6/28/99 Ah Dooey not too bad, Agsmith's review is great. Could use a better plot. Same old, same old 3 stars
6/11/99 JDC a slight step up in some areas, but Trek has a long way to go to be respectable again 3 stars
5/10/99 Arkansas Jon The storyline is not that gripping, but the characters develop - some. and good effects too 3 stars
4/16/99 Mr. Kramitall not too bad 3 stars
4/02/99 The Incredible Sulk I agree with Agsmith's review, not Hawkboy's. 3 stars
3/30/99 youngm_sisko Not as cool as First Contact 4 stars
3/23/99 Sean Dannenfeldt Was there a movie here? All I saw was a string of cheap jokes and special effects. 1 stars
3/20/99 Dee Dee Oh, puh-lease. It wasn't that bad, and not that good either. 3 stars. 3 stars
3/18/99 Scott Stipe Man, it just sucked 1 stars
3/10/99 Oggy Anyone who is smarter than Beef (below) and Hawkboy's review knows that it deserves 3 stars 3 stars
3/07/99 Beef shitty, terrible, unenlightening 1 stars
3/06/99 Mike Rotch ST: Voyager's Dark Frontier was a great movie. See ST: First Contact. 3 stars
3/04/99 buddyblunt blow it to hell 1 stars
3/03/99 Kenda It was tight. 4 stars
2/26/99 JeanLucStubing@startrekmail.com Star Trek Voyager: Dark Frontier was a better movie. 3 stars
2/22/99 Jeff HOUN Typical Star Trek movie basics, nothing really spectacular, expected much more 3 stars
2/14/99 Xuxana Smith I love Jon Frakes as Riker, not a director. See ST: Generations. 4 stars
2/10/99 Kari Great effects; good plot; loved the Troi/Riker thang (woo-hoo!) 4 stars
2/02/99 Jacques Strap Yo, I'm no Trekker, but this movie is great. 'Cept for the same old cast. 4 stars
1/31/99 Dexter It wouldn't have been *as* disappointing, if they'd called Star Trek: Cranky Camp-Out 2 stars
1/21/99 Angus I sure hope they didn't pay the writers too much for this mind numbing incongruous pablum 2 stars
1/21/99 Timothy Hata enjoyable but could of been a 2parter for tng 5 stars
1/20/99 William Gates Better than that piece of shit called First Contact 3 stars
1/19/99 Odd Pieman Not as good as the last, but better than Generations. No Kirk! Die you fat bastard! Die! 4 stars
1/14/99 Melody Shanahan-Kluth Not bad...typical odd number ST film..last one was better 3 stars
1/06/99 E Trek at its most bland. Silly movie feels stitched together from other trek movies. 2 stars
1/03/99 Negative Creep suffers from the Star Trek Odd Number curse. I compare this to Part 5. 1 stars
1/03/99 Dasha No First Contact, but I still enjoyed it a lot 5 stars
1/02/99 Fat Joe Not Bad...like the TV show, nothing great though. 4 stars
1/02/99 Oscar Goldman Location shooting was a plus. Same lifeless characters and mediocre writing. 3 stars
1/01/99 dennis marks jr beginning drags 4 stars
12/29/98 thEnd Wart gets a zit? Peuberty in space... how wonderful... 3 stars
12/29/98 Hugh Jass Stewart is too professorish to be believable. TNG was an overrated show. 4 more of these? 1 stars
12/27/98 Clint Beastwood Shatner, Nimoy, Kelley did it best. TV series magic was never reproduced on big screen. 2 stars
12/26/98 Karandago Star Trek meets X-Files where the hell did they come up with this crap? 1 stars
12/25/98 Cage Could've been done in a one hour episode... Not bad, not great. 3 stars
12/24/98 Lou Pine, Jr. Post Borg letdown with lower stakes and the appeal of a two-part series episode. Not bad. 4 stars
12/23/98 Cartman's Symphatizer Not your average Trek show. Kick ass! 5 stars
12/23/98 Brent Like a long episode. Trek fans will enjoy it more, non-fans less. 3 stars
12/20/98 Mr Showbiz Boldly goes straight down the tubes. 3 stars
12/14/98 16 in. of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls The "Trek Movie Curse" (all odd # films suck) is broken. Awesome flick! 5 stars
12/14/98 Lucy B. More like an episode than a movie but thoroughly entertaining and a real treat for TNG fans 4 stars
12/12/98 Scat Man Lighter story, fun characters, and many chuckles. I wish Data brought his emotions chip. 4 stars
12/12/98 Johny No First Contact, but fine entertainment 4 stars
11/25/98 Vanessa Just because it isn't released yet, doesn't mean he didn't see it. Knock down patrol. 1 stars
11/07/98 Goddess Dionysus It's not out yet, why just average? Not fair so here is my boost! 5 stars
10/19/98 Aint-It-Cool This film is tired (but not terrible), uninspired, and just plain boring. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Dec-1998 (PG)
  DVD: 07-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Dec-1998 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast