More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.68

Awesome84.03%
Worth A Look: 9.03%
Average: 1.39%
Pretty Bad: 2.08%
Total Crap: 3.47%

5 reviews, 114 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Casablanca
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by JonnyAngel

"This is one of the best movies of all time?"
5 stars

Hell YEAH! With an immensely talented cast, a competent director, one helluva script, and a whole lot of luck, Casablanca evolved from just another big studio assembly line production, into quite possibly, the best film ever!

Set in French Morocco during World War 2, Casablanca provides the perfect backdrop for an intriguing story and memorable cast of characters.

Actors own this movie.

Every performance is dead on, led by Humphrey Bogart as Rick, the American owner of the most popular nightclub in town, cleverly named “Rick’s."

Bogart is the Michael Jordan of cinema. I almost got in a fist fight with my girlfriend’s mom when she said, “Yeah, he’s good, but he can’t act.” Bullshit! Bogart can act, and it’s a travesty he didn’t receive a shiny bald statue for his work in this film. His Rick is a cynical S.O.B. He doesn’t,“stick his neck out for nobody,” and you can’t help but love the guy. His character is strong, yet understated. He’s got attitude, but he doesn’t have to prove it all the time by bashing someone’s head in with a rock. Language is his weapon of choice, and he can banter with the best of them. The guy's a stud of the highest pedigree. His only pleasure in life is running his nightclub. Yeah, he’s got women, lots of them, but like Snoop said, he “don’t love them hoes.”

But that all changes when “she” walks in. “She” is Ingrid Bergman, in the performance of her career. She plays Ilsa, the only woman Rick has ever loved. She disappeared without explanation years ago in Paris, and now, with a husband, she reenters his life. The initial meeting is quite a shock for both of them. Needless to say, he’s pretty pissed at her.

To make things more complicated, her husband is Victor Laszlow, the outspoken leader of an underground Nazi resistance, and one of the few men Rick respects. Laszlow needs Rick’s help to get two papers of transit so he and Ilsa can escape to the States. Rick just might have two such papers, but he also still has feelings for Ilsa, and it turns out, she for him.

That’s the basic plot, but what makes this movie truly great is, EVERYTHING!

The supporting cast is the best ever assembled in any film.

Claude Rains steals the show as French army Captain Louis Renault. He gets a generous portion of the numerous classic lines, and is the source of much of the film’s humor.
Peter Lorre plays the weird, creepy guy better than anybody, and it’s too bad he doesn’t have a bigger part.
Conrad Veidt is chilling as Nazi Major Heinrich Strasser, who is determined to stop Laszlow.
Laszlow himself is played to perfection by the underrated Paul Henreid.
I can’t forget to mention the terrific Sydney Greenstreet as competing nightclub owner, Ferrari. And, of course, the also brilliant (I’m running out of adjectives!!) Dooley Wilson as the piano player Sam.
Dammit, they're all so good.

The actors had a lot to work with, though. The writing is top notch, and the dialogue cuts through the air like Freddy Krueger through teenyboppers. That in itself is somewhat of a surprise, considering the script passed through so many hands as it was written and rewritten.
The ending hadn’t even been decided on until it was almost time to shoot it, but you’d never know; the whole production is flawless. There’s nothing extraneous, just a tight, well paced, jewel of a movie.

They really don’t make them like this anymore (the lousy bastards).

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1833&reviewer=89
originally posted: 12/10/99 16:05:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell good film kinda sad tho 4 stars
4/27/16 Ken Nothing's boring about this movie. It's a classic. 5 stars
4/12/15 sjskskdk best film 5 stars
2/19/15 yulfiana not romantic 2 stars
2/12/15 lucas poll shit doesn't deserve in top 50 1 stars
2/11/15 kenika the WORST film ever made! 1 stars
1/28/15 McKenzie Payne This movie is the greatest ever! 5 stars
1/07/15 Robert Tschinkel Who doesn't love Casablanca. Ingrid Bergman is one of the most beautiful actresses ever. 5 stars
1/05/15 thomas LOL 1 stars
9/17/12 VLTampa For people who haven't gotton over a lost love. YUCK 1 stars
9/16/12 cindy madson fantastic 5 stars
6/25/12 Vic Baker one of my Top 2 5 stars
3/31/12 keith miron Overrated ! but it still has some moments 2 stars
3/02/12 stanley welles well executed, brilliantly played out 5 stars
10/18/11 C.M. Chan The best of the best 5 stars
9/09/11 Scot Dee All time classic 5 stars
8/21/11 Lawrence Mercer One of the best films ever made. 5 stars
8/10/11 WENDY Easily one on the best movies ever and it was peter lorre in it, briefly 5 stars
4/18/11 Dorothy Rozdilsky Awesome film, Claude Rains is a great actor, I love him 4 stars
3/23/11 Jeff Wilder Not dated at all. Emotionally touching as ever. Bogie's fantastic. 5 stars
3/14/11 Katie Fogle A classic! I'd definitely recommend it! 5 stars
2/23/11 D.M. Lanham Like any other great movie, only more so. 5 stars
6/01/10 User Name Casablanca is a movie qouter's ace-in-the-hole. 5 stars
4/05/09 Alfonso Turnage Loved the story, but I thought I 4 stars
1/09/09 Shaun Wallner Awesome Story! 5 stars
11/23/08 George Play it Sam 5 stars
8/26/08 aanantha rajan awesome, piece of reality film 5 stars
7/09/08 Quigley A great film with something for everyone. Essential viewing for every fan of the movies. 5 stars
5/30/08 PAUL SHORTT AN OUSTANDING STORY OF CONVERSION AND SACRIFICE 5 stars
2/17/08 S Peacock This film was sooo boring I thought it would never end-there was no real climax to it 1 stars
1/26/08 proper amateur film critic One of the most outstanding entertainment experiences of cinema history 5 stars
12/19/07 Pamela White worth watching 4 stars
10/15/07 fools♫gold No seriously, this is good. 5 stars
9/20/07 Lisa K A classic! 5 stars
7/29/07 David B & W movie+Smoke filled room+Bergman=The most beautiful face ever to hit the silver screen 5 stars
1/18/07 Oliver Klozov Decent. Don't know if it's the best movie ever made; I haven't SEEN every movie ever made. 4 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog Claude Rains is as cool as Bogey. 5 stars
12/22/06 R.W.Welch Best script. Best cast. As good as they get. 5 stars
10/17/06 Isaac Baranoff Essential. View it. Now. 5 stars
9/24/06 Matthew Norgard It's not "Nazi-occupied French Morocco" you dimwit. Have you seen the movie? 5 stars
8/23/06 David Cohen Set a standard for how good a movie can be 5 stars
6/30/06 MP Bartley If there is such a thing as a perfect film, this would be it. 5 stars
6/08/06 Peggy Doty THIS WAS A GOOD MOVIE FOR ITS TIME 5 stars
5/12/06 SpyV A near-perfect film, even if part of the plot isn't logical. Every character is memorable. 5 stars
5/03/06 Ashley Hinz Likeable film. Sad, but worth watching. 4 stars
3/18/06 Elizabeth A classic - can't go wrong 5 stars
3/08/06 Carolyn Rathburn Wonderful old classic 5 stars
10/10/05 jay very good movie, however i think that michael curitz held back a little with this one.. 5 stars
7/08/05 John MacKendrick Not the "greatest movie ever made", but an excellent story. 5 stars
7/03/05 Eddie Great Movie 5 stars
6/07/05 Ann simple amazing 5 stars
5/22/05 Desperado An excellent film, in my opinion one of the greatest there ever will be 5 stars
4/09/05 Larry Weisberg THE best film EVER made. 5 stars
2/22/05 Captain Craig Made with real actors, real directors, real writers, when Hollly. knew how to make films. 5 stars
1/19/05 t-1000 goodness, this is good! 5 stars
10/25/04 UMER a great movie-quite overrated though-ROMAN HOLIDAY was better 5 stars
10/15/04 Daniel must be watched more than once, i didn't think much of it the 1st time, now i love it 5 stars
9/26/04 TGFTS unbeatable film of that era and genre in my opinion!brilliant! 5 stars
8/29/04 Conor Crockford great 5 stars
7/02/04 Dan Flinter The greatest 5 stars
6/27/04 Alan More quotable lines than most other movies combined. Best movie ever. 5 stars
6/14/04 dfc The best of the best. Buy the restored 2-disc set, it looks like it was filmed yesterday. 5 stars
6/11/04 T. Maj Best movie ever--but Ilsa should've gone off with Renault 5 stars
5/02/04 MiKe For an old crappy film, the storyline held my attention. 4 stars
3/20/04 Ray We´ll always have Casablanca 5 stars
2/17/04 Mr. Blonde Just great. Lush photography and fantastic performances; we'll always have Casablanca. 5 stars
2/16/04 carmen basallo one of the most well-written films 5 stars
1/25/04 John Ames Not thrilled about love stories, but this is good. 4 stars
11/22/03 ross hendrick YOU MUST REMEMBER THIS 5 stars
11/07/03 Capt' Fox Classic romancic powerful characters, powerful actors, film noir like never before or since 5 stars
9/17/03 Alan More memorable lines than most other movies combined. The best movie of all time. 5 stars
8/16/03 moses best movie ever?FUck No. That title goes to the ten commandments. THE TEN COMMANDMENTS! 4 stars
8/09/03 Will Green This film is fucking amazing. If you don't like it, suck my balls 5 stars
5/20/03 Lin Rainey best b/w cinematography ever. Claude Raines is great 5 stars
3/13/03 Russell Perhaps the greatest American film ever made. 5 stars
1/11/03 Desperado The best script ever written, perfect acting, the best end line in a movie. Icredible. 5 stars
11/24/02 Kyle I acknowledge this is a classic, but has just never done it for me! 3 stars
10/30/02 Patrick fantastic 5 stars
10/29/02 Charles Tatum How can anyone not like this romance? 5 stars
9/18/02 paul tew Depressing 2 stars
5/20/02 Erin Excellent - an all time classic 5 stars
4/02/02 lauren mccreight one of the best ever!! 5 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand This movie is not one of my favs...maybe too out of time for me...I don't know 3 stars
2/21/02 Shanna This movie is awesome! 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Great film. Great characters. 4 stars
12/28/01 LawHog24 Picture Ronald Reagan in Bogart's role. Now thank God the studio changed its mind. See it!! 5 stars
8/31/01 Hooker with a Penis great atmosphere... just imagine the era... occupation, clandestine action, and immigrants 5 stars
8/21/01 Monster W. Kung So much atmosphere, such well written characters. A true classic. 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk One of the best films ever made. Bogart is the coolest. 5 stars
5/29/01 svtbruno a true classic...amazing 5 stars
2/26/01 meg its good,i guess...i still don't understand all the fuss. 4 stars
1/25/01 L.Lippold Great!!! 5 stars
1/08/01 wachtrhein i wont say awesome, but certainly, its an excellent time period film. 4 stars
12/04/00 Fred The GREATEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME, as time goes by... 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin an instant masterpiece 5 stars
11/11/00 Rahul Kothari the Classic of all times 5 stars
9/27/00 Timothy L Green this movie rocked for its time. nothing like MIB, or Independence day, but a total classic 5 stars
9/24/00 Devon My favorite film of all time - no contest! 5 stars
9/05/00 David O'Connell The best movie ever made. Period. 5 stars
7/19/00 Terrie Smith A real gem. Bergman is gorgeous; Rains steals the film. 5 stars
6/28/00 perverted pixie You can play it again and again, Sam! 5 stars
6/10/00 Sarah Launivan Now, here's geat cimema. The greatest movie ever made. Even Gone With the Wind can't beat 5 stars
5/05/00 matt This isn't a film. It's like they put cameras in real-life situations and let it role. 5 stars
3/23/00 Richard Wright Its an old cliche, but: They don't make them like this anymore. Pure poetry in motion. 5 stars
11/29/99 Mic No comment required. 5 stars
11/19/99 Tyson Stewart Great movie! Bogart is excellent! Good entertaining story! 5 stars
10/28/99 Candace Bailey Dubs this is the type of film i could watch over and over again and not get tired of.. i love it 5 stars
10/19/99 JonnyAngel I love this movie! 5 stars
10/12/99 little jerry Classic Hollywood but 2nd greatest ever?!Fred C. Dobbs has a stronger claim. 4 stars
8/14/99 Deanna Long You must be careful there are vultures, vultures everywhere. 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: **** (out of ****) Category: "Excellent" 5 stars
4/23/99 lucas jackson This movie was an outstanding display of great acting,shit it was great all around 5 stars
4/09/99 GothamDK The best movie to grace the silver screen. Bogie's lines still give me goosebumps! 5 stars
3/14/99 Christina C. Humphrey, a love that can not be- a classic. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Nov-1942 (PG-13)
  DVD: 05-Oct-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Mar-1943 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast