More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.68

Awesome84.03%
Worth A Look: 9.03%
Average: 1.39%
Pretty Bad: 2.08%
Total Crap: 3.47%

5 reviews, 114 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Casablanca
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"This one will never age"
5 stars

I guess nobody back then in the Warner Brothers Studios in 1942 ever thought that they were making a terrific movie that would go beyond the ages, or should I say two (at least from my knowledge). And how could they, back then they were churning out flicks like if they were pancakes. But at any rate, two of them –Casablanca and The Maltese Falcon- would go and make history, especially Casablanca, which was and still is a cinematic phenomenon which gave birth to a number of clichés and standards, and still rages on today.

During the early part of World War II, the town of Casablanca in French Morocco is the launching pad for several European refugees fleeing from the Nazi invasion to get to Lisbon, which is the final scaling point in order to get to America. Casablanca is also the home of café owner and cynical bastard Rick Blaine (Humphrey Bogart) whom gets the whopper of his life when an old flame called Ilsa Lund (Ingrid Bergman) lands in his café along with her husband Victor Lazlo (Paul Henreid), a French resistance leader of Czechoslovakian origin who is fleeing from Nazi persecution. Rick is friends with Captain Renault (Claude Rains) whom has received a guest in the form of German SS Major Heinrich Strasser (Conrad Veidt) whom is determined to bring Lazlo down.

This film can be easily considered as your average Hollywood romantic schmaltz, and it has all the ingredients for it: Two well-casted actors that have actual chemistry on screen and cinematically belong to each other, plus some great music by the renowned Max Steiner, and of course, the theme song which becomes synonymous with the movie, “As Time Goes By.” For those who have seen the best of this formula (Titanic) and the worst (Pearl Harbor), it may not come as a surprise, but it does since little film is in fact the one that literally came up with all this shit, and is the film that made it work the best. As someone would say “Imitators will come and go but none will ever match the original.” The reason it works best is due to the fact that Director Michael Curtiz applied restraint in several key moments of the film, when to turn it on and when to turn it off but always keeping the film at a certain fast pace. The production design is also remarkable: great cinematography by Arthur Edeson, well arranged sets and the most spectacular visual effects ever (especially for that time) that even fooled people like me to this day; just watch the climaxing airport scene and tell me later if you thought for a moment that background and those people were not actually for real… Yep, I thought the same thing.

The story based on the Joan Allison/Murray Burnett play, and adapted by Howard Koch and Brothers Julius and Philip Epstein, is quite a solid one. Sure, there are themes that have pretty much are gone and over like the WWII scenario and the whole patriotic rah-rah whenever shown in the movie (like the scene in which Lazlo encourages all to sing “the Marseille” against the German’s own anthem) ends up being a little preposterous. But under that surface a different story appears; apart from the romance, the moral values of courage and doing the right thing are imminently present even to this day, and its forever symbolized in the sacrifice of Rick and Ilsa’s love, which makes it one of the big highlights of the movie.

But the major highlight is the casting, the performances, and the dialogue. There are very few movies that display so much acting talent at once and fit their roles impressively. Humphrey Bogart as Rick Blaine is a godsend, period. The guy kicks ass, he’s a cynical fucker that you can’t help but love him. His dialogue is just the stuff of legends and I can’t think of no one else delivering such lines like “Here’s looking at you kid,” or “I stick my neck out for nobody.” It’s just the stuff of legends, and if it weren’t for the equally strong supporting cast, he would’ve easily walked off with the entire movie. Ingrid Bergman is HOT!!! And I don’t mean HOT as in having boobs and butt like Pamela Anderson, I mean HOT that she IS a very beautiful woman on her own and delivers a fine performance as the troubled Ilsa, showing several ranges of emotion and therefore coming out very believable. Paul Henreid is great as Victor Lazlo, but more memorable are the remaining supporting characters like Claude Rains as Captain Renault, a mirror-image on the problems that were marring France itself at that time. And of course, the unforgettable Sydney Greenstreet as black-marketer king Ferrari and Peter Lorre as the human smuggler or “coyote” Ugarte.

In the end, this is one of the finest films ever made and hard to believe that a film like this was laid together by accident. Casablanca took entertainment to a whole new level, and even today several films have regurgitated the same formula over and over, but will never come close. Words don’t make it justice; you got to see it for yourself. 5-5

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1833&reviewer=235
originally posted: 10/03/04 04:32:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell good film kinda sad tho 4 stars
4/27/16 Ken Nothing's boring about this movie. It's a classic. 5 stars
4/12/15 sjskskdk best film 5 stars
2/19/15 yulfiana not romantic 2 stars
2/12/15 lucas poll shit doesn't deserve in top 50 1 stars
2/11/15 kenika the WORST film ever made! 1 stars
1/28/15 McKenzie Payne This movie is the greatest ever! 5 stars
1/07/15 Robert Tschinkel Who doesn't love Casablanca. Ingrid Bergman is one of the most beautiful actresses ever. 5 stars
1/05/15 thomas LOL 1 stars
9/17/12 VLTampa For people who haven't gotton over a lost love. YUCK 1 stars
9/16/12 cindy madson fantastic 5 stars
6/25/12 Vic Baker one of my Top 2 5 stars
3/31/12 keith miron Overrated ! but it still has some moments 2 stars
3/02/12 stanley welles well executed, brilliantly played out 5 stars
10/18/11 C.M. Chan The best of the best 5 stars
9/09/11 Scot Dee All time classic 5 stars
8/21/11 Lawrence Mercer One of the best films ever made. 5 stars
8/10/11 WENDY Easily one on the best movies ever and it was peter lorre in it, briefly 5 stars
4/18/11 Dorothy Rozdilsky Awesome film, Claude Rains is a great actor, I love him 4 stars
3/23/11 Jeff Wilder Not dated at all. Emotionally touching as ever. Bogie's fantastic. 5 stars
3/14/11 Katie Fogle A classic! I'd definitely recommend it! 5 stars
2/23/11 D.M. Lanham Like any other great movie, only more so. 5 stars
6/01/10 User Name Casablanca is a movie qouter's ace-in-the-hole. 5 stars
4/05/09 Alfonso Turnage Loved the story, but I thought I 4 stars
1/09/09 Shaun Wallner Awesome Story! 5 stars
11/23/08 George Play it Sam 5 stars
8/26/08 aanantha rajan awesome, piece of reality film 5 stars
7/09/08 Quigley A great film with something for everyone. Essential viewing for every fan of the movies. 5 stars
5/30/08 PAUL SHORTT AN OUSTANDING STORY OF CONVERSION AND SACRIFICE 5 stars
2/17/08 S Peacock This film was sooo boring I thought it would never end-there was no real climax to it 1 stars
1/26/08 proper amateur film critic One of the most outstanding entertainment experiences of cinema history 5 stars
12/19/07 Pamela White worth watching 4 stars
10/15/07 fools♫gold No seriously, this is good. 5 stars
9/20/07 Lisa K A classic! 5 stars
7/29/07 David B & W movie+Smoke filled room+Bergman=The most beautiful face ever to hit the silver screen 5 stars
1/18/07 Oliver Klozov Decent. Don't know if it's the best movie ever made; I haven't SEEN every movie ever made. 4 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog Claude Rains is as cool as Bogey. 5 stars
12/22/06 R.W.Welch Best script. Best cast. As good as they get. 5 stars
10/17/06 Isaac Baranoff Essential. View it. Now. 5 stars
9/24/06 Matthew Norgard It's not "Nazi-occupied French Morocco" you dimwit. Have you seen the movie? 5 stars
8/23/06 David Cohen Set a standard for how good a movie can be 5 stars
6/30/06 MP Bartley If there is such a thing as a perfect film, this would be it. 5 stars
6/08/06 Peggy Doty THIS WAS A GOOD MOVIE FOR ITS TIME 5 stars
5/12/06 SpyV A near-perfect film, even if part of the plot isn't logical. Every character is memorable. 5 stars
5/03/06 Ashley Hinz Likeable film. Sad, but worth watching. 4 stars
3/18/06 Elizabeth A classic - can't go wrong 5 stars
3/08/06 Carolyn Rathburn Wonderful old classic 5 stars
10/10/05 jay very good movie, however i think that michael curitz held back a little with this one.. 5 stars
7/08/05 John MacKendrick Not the "greatest movie ever made", but an excellent story. 5 stars
7/03/05 Eddie Great Movie 5 stars
6/07/05 Ann simple amazing 5 stars
5/22/05 Desperado An excellent film, in my opinion one of the greatest there ever will be 5 stars
4/09/05 Larry Weisberg THE best film EVER made. 5 stars
2/22/05 Captain Craig Made with real actors, real directors, real writers, when Hollly. knew how to make films. 5 stars
1/19/05 t-1000 goodness, this is good! 5 stars
10/25/04 UMER a great movie-quite overrated though-ROMAN HOLIDAY was better 5 stars
10/15/04 Daniel must be watched more than once, i didn't think much of it the 1st time, now i love it 5 stars
9/26/04 TGFTS unbeatable film of that era and genre in my opinion!brilliant! 5 stars
8/29/04 Conor Crockford great 5 stars
7/02/04 Dan Flinter The greatest 5 stars
6/27/04 Alan More quotable lines than most other movies combined. Best movie ever. 5 stars
6/14/04 dfc The best of the best. Buy the restored 2-disc set, it looks like it was filmed yesterday. 5 stars
6/11/04 T. Maj Best movie ever--but Ilsa should've gone off with Renault 5 stars
5/02/04 MiKe For an old crappy film, the storyline held my attention. 4 stars
3/20/04 Ray We´ll always have Casablanca 5 stars
2/17/04 Mr. Blonde Just great. Lush photography and fantastic performances; we'll always have Casablanca. 5 stars
2/16/04 carmen basallo one of the most well-written films 5 stars
1/25/04 John Ames Not thrilled about love stories, but this is good. 4 stars
11/22/03 ross hendrick YOU MUST REMEMBER THIS 5 stars
11/07/03 Capt' Fox Classic romancic powerful characters, powerful actors, film noir like never before or since 5 stars
9/17/03 Alan More memorable lines than most other movies combined. The best movie of all time. 5 stars
8/16/03 moses best movie ever?FUck No. That title goes to the ten commandments. THE TEN COMMANDMENTS! 4 stars
8/09/03 Will Green This film is fucking amazing. If you don't like it, suck my balls 5 stars
5/20/03 Lin Rainey best b/w cinematography ever. Claude Raines is great 5 stars
3/13/03 Russell Perhaps the greatest American film ever made. 5 stars
1/11/03 Desperado The best script ever written, perfect acting, the best end line in a movie. Icredible. 5 stars
11/24/02 Kyle I acknowledge this is a classic, but has just never done it for me! 3 stars
10/30/02 Patrick fantastic 5 stars
10/29/02 Charles Tatum How can anyone not like this romance? 5 stars
9/18/02 paul tew Depressing 2 stars
5/20/02 Erin Excellent - an all time classic 5 stars
4/02/02 lauren mccreight one of the best ever!! 5 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand This movie is not one of my favs...maybe too out of time for me...I don't know 3 stars
2/21/02 Shanna This movie is awesome! 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Great film. Great characters. 4 stars
12/28/01 LawHog24 Picture Ronald Reagan in Bogart's role. Now thank God the studio changed its mind. See it!! 5 stars
8/31/01 Hooker with a Penis great atmosphere... just imagine the era... occupation, clandestine action, and immigrants 5 stars
8/21/01 Monster W. Kung So much atmosphere, such well written characters. A true classic. 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk One of the best films ever made. Bogart is the coolest. 5 stars
5/29/01 svtbruno a true classic...amazing 5 stars
2/26/01 meg its good,i guess...i still don't understand all the fuss. 4 stars
1/25/01 L.Lippold Great!!! 5 stars
1/08/01 wachtrhein i wont say awesome, but certainly, its an excellent time period film. 4 stars
12/04/00 Fred The GREATEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME, as time goes by... 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin an instant masterpiece 5 stars
11/11/00 Rahul Kothari the Classic of all times 5 stars
9/27/00 Timothy L Green this movie rocked for its time. nothing like MIB, or Independence day, but a total classic 5 stars
9/24/00 Devon My favorite film of all time - no contest! 5 stars
9/05/00 David O'Connell The best movie ever made. Period. 5 stars
7/19/00 Terrie Smith A real gem. Bergman is gorgeous; Rains steals the film. 5 stars
6/28/00 perverted pixie You can play it again and again, Sam! 5 stars
6/10/00 Sarah Launivan Now, here's geat cimema. The greatest movie ever made. Even Gone With the Wind can't beat 5 stars
5/05/00 matt This isn't a film. It's like they put cameras in real-life situations and let it role. 5 stars
3/23/00 Richard Wright Its an old cliche, but: They don't make them like this anymore. Pure poetry in motion. 5 stars
11/29/99 Mic No comment required. 5 stars
11/19/99 Tyson Stewart Great movie! Bogart is excellent! Good entertaining story! 5 stars
10/28/99 Candace Bailey Dubs this is the type of film i could watch over and over again and not get tired of.. i love it 5 stars
10/19/99 JonnyAngel I love this movie! 5 stars
10/12/99 little jerry Classic Hollywood but 2nd greatest ever?!Fred C. Dobbs has a stronger claim. 4 stars
8/14/99 Deanna Long You must be careful there are vultures, vultures everywhere. 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: **** (out of ****) Category: "Excellent" 5 stars
4/23/99 lucas jackson This movie was an outstanding display of great acting,shit it was great all around 5 stars
4/09/99 GothamDK The best movie to grace the silver screen. Bogie's lines still give me goosebumps! 5 stars
3/14/99 Christina C. Humphrey, a love that can not be- a classic. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Nov-1942 (PG-13)
  DVD: 05-Oct-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Mar-1943 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast