More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4

Awesome44.78%
Worth A Look: 31.34%
Average: 2.99%
Pretty Bad: 20.9%
Total Crap: 0%

5 reviews, 37 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Get Real
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Drama Queens"
2 stars

I didn't find much of interest in this coming-out story. It's been popular with festival audiences but it's bland fare, of little consequence unless it encourages (male) teenagers struggling with their sexuality.

Steven Carter (Ben Silverstone) is a 16 year old gay British school boy, frustrated at having to conceal his sexuality from his family and school mates. His frustration increases when the object of his lust - straight-acting, popular all-rounder student John Dixon (Brad Gorton) - unexpectedly returns his attentions… but only in private. Get Real has all the staple ingredients of the coming out genre - the funny, female confidante (the talented Charlotte Brittain, criminally wasted here), bullying at school, parents finding out etc. - but they're just cliches here, employed without freshness. While Steven is blessedly free of angst, the tortured self-obsessed John more than makes up for it. Silverstone is comfortable in the lead role, and quite funny when Patrick Wilde's screenplay (based on his stage-play "What's Wrong With Angry") allows it. But the film's chief incidents are either unremarkable or unbelievable, and the background characters (the concerned but intuitive mother, the dimwitted bully) too thinly-sketched to be interesting. An exception is one of Steven's fellow editors on the school journal, but I left at the end before I could catch her name in the credits.

Track down Beautiful Thing, a similarly-themed film from 1996, instead.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1835&reviewer=104
originally posted: 03/15/00 14:20:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/15/07 dandz nice cinematography, great chemistry between ben and brad, i love everything in it! 5 stars
2/27/05 Miriam Bravo this movie is awesome, cannot stop watching it. Brad Gorton is Sex on Legs 5 stars
2/22/05 Captain Craig A really tastful, heartwarming gay themed move..all too true 5 stars
10/03/04 Daveman Sentimantally glosses over the issues that is so earnestly raises. 2 stars
9/05/04 DM How the fuck did this get an R? 4 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt An excellent, touching, funny coming of age film! 5 stars
3/17/04 Brody Amazingly True 5 stars
1/05/04 cwlg420 Great! Sweet and powerful... 5 stars
1/18/02 Tomper non-gay here,was this real??sex-addiction or true love??more on relationship w/o sex for me 2 stars
9/29/01 hugo peralta I think its justly the best picture about the topic 4 stars
8/27/01 katie Thoroughly enjoyed it! Funny yet serious. 5 stars
12/05/00 Boy In The Desinger Bubble Bought the DVD and found the movie entertaining! 4 stars
11/27/00 Pete The *BEST* gay film out there 5 stars
9/17/00 fernando not better than "Beautiful thing", but a great film anyway 4 stars
8/17/00 neil bartlett only the brits make great gay themed movies 5 stars
8/01/00 William Burton I would have liked this movie better, if it concentrated on John rather than Steven. 3 stars
5/04/00 ry A true romance story with some upredictable twists... the comedy keeps you on your feet. 5 stars
5/01/00 Nuthouse N Poignant and remarkable. Stays with you for days. 5 stars
4/26/00 Robert L. Griffith Awakened long-dormant feelings of adolescence. Absolutely wonderful! 5 stars
4/25/00 Jorge Herrera It's a really good picture, a new view into gay issues. Definitively Fucking Awesome. 5 stars
4/21/00 HllywdChk Highly recommended! 5 stars
4/02/00 Tera Great movie, just as good as beautiful thing and funnier 5 stars
3/17/00 Glenn DiDomenico Fantastic/ Ben Silverstone was wonderful & lovely 5 stars
3/14/00 brentley A good movie for straight people to watch to see what it's like to grow up gay. 5 stars
3/10/00 Chad This movie portrays a lifestyle often misunderstood. I really liked it! Two thumbs up! 5 stars
10/11/99 Laura Albrittton I loved this movie! 5 stars
9/21/99 Tedd A. This movie is truly touching and has such an authentic feel to it. Wonderful. Ben was great 5 stars
7/19/99 Greg Ben is a gem. 5 stars
7/05/99 ivan Wonderful! A+ 5 stars
6/15/99 Tom Funny and truly moving, with terrific acting. Everything a good movie should be. 5 stars
6/13/99 Duane This movie is the next Beatiful Thing. I have seen it 6 Times 5 stars
6/03/99 brentley Very funny movie. The entire theater was roaring with laughter throughout the movie. 4 stars
6/03/99 Heather Sensitive, uncontrived, funny movie 4 stars
5/29/99 Joe very funny, very moving, very real 4 stars
5/28/99 Aaron Plot and dialogue sometimes predictible and unrealistic, but worth seeing nonetheless. 4 stars
5/27/99 darren A decent film that had potential to be so much more... 4 stars
5/10/99 Mr Showbiz The meesage is important; this after-school-special-like film isn't. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Apr-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Feb-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast