More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4

Awesome44.78%
Worth A Look: 31.34%
Average: 2.99%
Pretty Bad: 20.9%
Total Crap: 0%

5 reviews, 37 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Get Real
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Simon says 'Get Real.'"
2 stars

I had long been defending this gay pablum as a target of the MPAA to plead faugh against queer cinema based on Roger Ebert’s review, where he stood up claiming that there was no language or nudity to constitute an R rating.

However, finally having seen Get Real for myself, based on the MPAA’s foul language standard, the movie more than meets its max with “fucks” and “shits,” not to mention brief buttock nudity as well. Regardless of that or not, I hardly see the determining rating attracting or scaring away any business. Ben Silverstone is a gay high schooler despondent of the likelihood of his finding love and affection in his adolescent years, so takes up quickies and fishing for guys in a public bathroom. One catch happens to be his crush, the school’s key quarterback (Brad Gorton), who’s on-again/off-again homosexual and interested in Silverstone. Any intermediary action takes place with Silverstone’s “fag hag” (Charlotte Brittain), a rotund ditz who can’t seem to pass her driver’s test. And they all blah-blah-blah all the way home with rudimentary homophobia issues skimmed rather than analyzed. Patrick Wilde’s screenplay and Simon Shore’s direction all aim for the feel-good lightheartedness of a heterosexual romantic comedy, perhaps, but regardless of the sexual preference of the characters, we have to feel some sort of connection to root for their success or even care, but that isn’t an option with the leads — or any of the characters — in Get Real. Trite replaces the notion of lighthearted, and it’s a quickly tiresome unromantic soap with superficial treatment or interest in the filmmakers’ points-of-view, not to forget the poor development, as well, of the parent figures. The inane, unresolved ending doesn’t let anyone off the hook early either.

[Redeemable.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1835&reviewer=172
originally posted: 08/31/02 18:55:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/15/07 dandz nice cinematography, great chemistry between ben and brad, i love everything in it! 5 stars
2/27/05 Miriam Bravo this movie is awesome, cannot stop watching it. Brad Gorton is Sex on Legs 5 stars
2/22/05 Captain Craig A really tastful, heartwarming gay themed move..all too true 5 stars
10/03/04 Daveman Sentimantally glosses over the issues that is so earnestly raises. 2 stars
9/05/04 DM How the fuck did this get an R? 4 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt An excellent, touching, funny coming of age film! 5 stars
3/17/04 Brody Amazingly True 5 stars
1/05/04 cwlg420 Great! Sweet and powerful... 5 stars
1/18/02 Tomper non-gay here,was this real??sex-addiction or true love??more on relationship w/o sex for me 2 stars
9/29/01 hugo peralta I think its justly the best picture about the topic 4 stars
8/27/01 katie Thoroughly enjoyed it! Funny yet serious. 5 stars
12/05/00 Boy In The Desinger Bubble Bought the DVD and found the movie entertaining! 4 stars
11/27/00 Pete The *BEST* gay film out there 5 stars
9/17/00 fernando not better than "Beautiful thing", but a great film anyway 4 stars
8/17/00 neil bartlett only the brits make great gay themed movies 5 stars
8/01/00 William Burton I would have liked this movie better, if it concentrated on John rather than Steven. 3 stars
5/04/00 ry A true romance story with some upredictable twists... the comedy keeps you on your feet. 5 stars
5/01/00 Nuthouse N Poignant and remarkable. Stays with you for days. 5 stars
4/26/00 Robert L. Griffith Awakened long-dormant feelings of adolescence. Absolutely wonderful! 5 stars
4/25/00 Jorge Herrera It's a really good picture, a new view into gay issues. Definitively Fucking Awesome. 5 stars
4/21/00 HllywdChk Highly recommended! 5 stars
4/02/00 Tera Great movie, just as good as beautiful thing and funnier 5 stars
3/17/00 Glenn DiDomenico Fantastic/ Ben Silverstone was wonderful & lovely 5 stars
3/14/00 brentley A good movie for straight people to watch to see what it's like to grow up gay. 5 stars
3/10/00 Chad This movie portrays a lifestyle often misunderstood. I really liked it! Two thumbs up! 5 stars
10/11/99 Laura Albrittton I loved this movie! 5 stars
9/21/99 Tedd A. This movie is truly touching and has such an authentic feel to it. Wonderful. Ben was great 5 stars
7/19/99 Greg Ben is a gem. 5 stars
7/05/99 ivan Wonderful! A+ 5 stars
6/15/99 Tom Funny and truly moving, with terrific acting. Everything a good movie should be. 5 stars
6/13/99 Duane This movie is the next Beatiful Thing. I have seen it 6 Times 5 stars
6/03/99 brentley Very funny movie. The entire theater was roaring with laughter throughout the movie. 4 stars
6/03/99 Heather Sensitive, uncontrived, funny movie 4 stars
5/29/99 Joe very funny, very moving, very real 4 stars
5/28/99 Aaron Plot and dialogue sometimes predictible and unrealistic, but worth seeing nonetheless. 4 stars
5/27/99 darren A decent film that had potential to be so much more... 4 stars
5/10/99 Mr Showbiz The meesage is important; this after-school-special-like film isn't. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Apr-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Feb-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast