More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.77

Awesome: 13.68%
Worth A Look: 23.08%
Average: 12.82%
Pretty Bad27.35%
Total Crap: 23.08%

5 reviews, 87 user ratings



You've Got Mail
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by DarkHorse

"Cute as a button... ends with a THUD"
2 stars

What exactly is a "Chick Flick?" What requirements must be met in order for a movie to be able to wave the proud banner of being a chick flick? If these questions have been eating at your brain like a starving boll weevil, rejoice! The Horse has arrived to once and for all end all those nagging questions about perhaps one of the most fascinating and complex movie genres in existence.

To demonstrate I will need a volunteer... Ok, you with the big ears and ponytails. You'll do fine. Now, my assistant, Rip Taylor, will demonstrate the effects that the chick flick has on your brain. See him running around tossing confetti and basically acting like a jackass? You think thatís funny? Of course you do. Because your mind has been transformed into a huge lump of sugar, spice and everything nice. You are probably even starting to believe that maybe, just maybe, a guy like the one Tom Hanks plays in "You've Got Mail" is actually out there... Well, your wrong. Now get the fuck off my stage.

Here endeth the lesson...

You've Got Mail is a prime example of what every chick flick aspires to be: Vapid and Predictable. The story involves Miss Perfect (Meg Ryan) and Mr. Wonderful (Tom Hanks) meeting over America Online and finding out that (surprise!) they are absolutely perfect for each other. But wait, it goes much deeper than that. Miss Perfect owns a quaint little bookstore that is being run out of business by a Barnes and Noble-ish bookstore that just opened down the street. Here is the kicker: Mr. Perfect is the guy that is running her out of business! So they are smitten online and in real life they are at each otherís throats. Now isn't that a really original idea?

WRONG!

This is a remake of a movie called "The Shop Around The Corner." The only difference is that they corresponded by letters in the original and not by AOL. The original wasn't really all that good either but it did have Jimmy Stewart and that counts for A LOT.

Now, I could go into all sorts of details about how Tom Hanks really plays a super guy and how Meg Ryan is just so cute (and intelligent too!), but I won't. If you haven't already figured all that out, and how it will end, you are already suffering from Meg Ryan Syndrome (MRS) and should consult with a surgeon immediately to have the huge clump of sugar removed from your brain.

Tom Hanks is charming, Meg Ryan is cute. If that is all you are looking for in a movie then have at it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=185&reviewer=167
originally posted: 05/16/00 21:19:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/07/17 Suzanne one of my favorites; LOVE Meg and Tom together 5 stars
1/23/11 justjen Hate! When Meg learns Tom has been deceiving her, why isn't she furious? I sure would be. 2 stars
1/09/11 Pamela White cute, predictable and good when your on the couch sick 3 stars
10/23/09 the dork knight thoroughly uncreative, dull and pointless. 1 stars
3/24/09 erina movies is reallly dumb. Stupid stupid boring movie Watch shop around the corner. 1 stars
3/28/08 Renzo Jjust another corny chick flick 2 stars
12/26/07 Lily Ponds Its one big ad for big business killing small. It made me sick. 1 stars
12/23/07 MarŪa Aurora I simply love it!!! So much fun, and such a sweet movie. 5 stars
5/02/07 Tiffany i really liked it. 4 stars
1/19/07 MARGARET PESKOFF I THOUGHT THIS MOVIE TO BE VERY ENTERTAINING 5 stars
9/12/06 Charles Tatum Hanks is fine, Ryan is annoying, the film is predictable 3 stars
9/04/06 michelebspy Short lived comedy. Hello, the dial up went out of style a long time ago 3 stars
3/31/06 Amy Allen I thought it was a very good movie 4 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Sleepless in Seattle Version 2.0 BORE!!! 3 stars
1/07/06 Jin Nearly unwatchable. Total cornball and fluff. Painful dialogue 2 stars
12/28/05 asf it's genius. sorry. 5 stars
8/31/05 ES Sleepless in Seattle two, as if we needed a sequel to the blandest romance ever 1 stars
11/22/04 Pablo Gimenez Great romance and also a definetly realistic situation where business are unethical 5 stars
11/01/04 DJ Shut the fuck up WWWOOO fucktard, this was a funny movie NOW WHAT COCKFUCK!!?? 4 stars
8/07/04 conor great awful 2 stars
7/26/04 Melissa Feels like watching a romantic classic 4 stars
6/13/04 John so far fetched it's neever believable for one moment 1 stars
3/17/04 Nevz I thought it was good 4 stars
1/02/04 beautie total crappppp!!!! 1 stars
11/06/03 Monster W. Kung "will be a classic one day"... BWHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! 1 stars
9/08/03 Amanda will be a classic one day. Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks are always great together 5 stars
7/19/03 R.W. Welch Well enough done but once you get the premise you know exactly where its going. 3 stars
7/09/03 natasha_theobald I can't believe how bad it really is - hard to watch them do this 2 stars
5/17/03 George Jung Formulated crap. Did anyone actually expect a good movie when they entered the theater? 3 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby Overly calculated, contextually empty, and just plain uninvolving. 1 stars
3/02/03 Goku's Girl Haven't seen the movie, but I heard Sean Schemmel is in it, - is he??? 5 stars
10/26/02 British Meg Fan This was so good!! MR at her best. I can't wait for In The Cut...a whole change for Meg... 5 stars
5/13/02 Dark Baron Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan?! Again?!! Even if they were emailing dirty talk and porn ..... 2 stars
11/27/01 KMG Shiiiiiit! Meg Ryan is a fucking mop-headed princess! 1 stars
9/23/01 Monster W. Kung They use AOL, 'nuff said. 2 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Meg Ryan being cute..but this time, she wasn't annoying. It was a good movie 4 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Really fun. Even better than the first "Shop Around The Corner." 4 stars
7/09/01 J I wanted to like this I REALLY WANTED TO LIKE THIS! But it just wasn't funny. 2 stars
6/20/01 Elvisfan Egregious actors in a sap-fest. Enjoyed my last sunburn alot more 1 stars
6/12/01 Jake What was I thinking when I went to see this? Too cutesy, like Ryan. 2 stars
6/01/01 ny152uk2001 A modern day classic 5 stars
5/12/01 The Moorhen Not bad - could have been better. 3 stars
4/09/01 Gary Good movie. Hanks and Ryan go great together. 5 stars
2/22/01 Steve in Prague will Tom Hanks please DIE..overrated actor 1 stars
1/13/01 Avenger Girl Not as good as I thought it would be. Boring in parts 3 stars
12/27/00 Turtle Funny and charming. A fantastic movie! 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla i hate this piece of shit, tom, meg, wake up!!!! 1 stars
11/05/00 Gray Weak plot, weak characters and Tom Hanks -the most overrated actor EVER. Shit. 1 stars
9/03/00 Sentimental Mike This is the ultimate movie for a Romantic. It's beautiful from beginning to end 5 stars
8/28/00 Mr Durden Good, but unoriginal 4 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy Date movies make me vomit. Next time, I'll just get her drunk. 1 stars
10/07/99 sophia962 Tom Hanks. All you need to know. 5 stars
7/24/99 Hagbard Celine Meg Ryan, that sleazy whore! I'd rather spend a couple of hours looking at net porn. 1 stars
7/11/99 Keith Unfortunately, the chemistry between Hanks and Ryan was not toxic enough to kill them! 1 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg NOT AGAIN! 1 stars
6/29/99 hum its hanks and ryan.its kind of a remake of shop around the corner.its what you expect 4 stars
6/05/99 kmk am I the only one who thinks no way she falls in love with that guy??? 2 stars
6/02/99 Tristynn Loved it..almost as good as sleepless..a great romantic movie.. 4 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson I've been to worse date flicks 3 stars
3/07/99 malin it was like I thought.. but OK! You must love Meg Ryan... 4 stars
3/03/99 Sandra "The movie is deffidently watchable,that's about it!" 4 stars
3/03/99 Rachel decent, but I thought Posey could have more convincingly played Hanks' daughter! 4 stars
3/02/99 M Cocolis a little slow, but okay... 3 stars
3/02/99 Goombah Insipid 2 stars
2/27/99 Kenda Literally, the most boring movie I have EVER seen. 1 stars
2/24/99 Melissa Anne Very Charming! 4 stars
2/22/99 Jeff HOUN YUK, movie dragged ALOT, this could have been done a helluva lot better, borderline sucks 2 stars
1/24/99 Hannah Better than Seattle (not saying much). I did enjoy it, though. 4 stars
1/19/99 Mark Hannig Good date movie, take your significant other with. Very much a feel good movie. 4 stars
1/17/99 amos pretty boring....thats all i got to say about it 2 stars
1/13/99 Bob Do ya think they could write an original story. 3 stars
1/11/99 Jaime The dynamic-duo of Tom and Meg didnt shine as bright as "Sleepless"...boring! 3 stars
1/10/99 twisted barbie cute...a little too cute 2 stars
1/10/99 Suzz fun flick 4 stars
1/10/99 Chris Tom and Meg make a good couple 5 stars
1/08/99 JC Good movie, but unrealistic 4 stars
1/06/99 Sarah Roebuck I thought great they finally got together but, totally unrealistic in our world sigh!! 4 stars
1/06/99 E So cute it's prone to cause nausea. 1 stars
1/05/99 JLB Thouroughly enjoyable, though not cutting edge (it's not intended to be) 5 stars
1/03/99 Dasha Quite enjoyable, but definitely not worth my $10. 3 stars
1/02/99 MFGIT A 90-min ad for AOL starring Hanks/Ryan? Truly the world is as Sodom. 1 stars
1/01/99 Jack Ripper Meg Ryan's bitchiness never fails to come through. Trust me, I've met her. 1 stars
12/30/98 Jules You've got shite. 3 stars
12/29/98 Schizofrenic Oh My God! You got mail! You Bastard! Great comedy. Better than that Roxbury movie. 4 stars
12/28/98 The Dude A very great romatic comedy. Hanks is at his highest right now with this and" RYAN." 5 stars
12/20/98 Mr Showbiz The most satisfying collaboration yet from the super-cute superstars 4 stars
12/12/98 Kirgo Entertaining if you like this kinda crap 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Dec-1998 (PG)
  DVD: 07-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-1998 (PG)


Directed by
  Nora Ephron

Written by
  Delia Ephron
  Nora Ephron

Cast
  Tom Hanks
  Meg Ryan
  Greg Kinnear
  David Chappelle
  Parker Posey
  Michael Palin



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast