More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.51

Awesome74.37%
Worth A Look: 13.56%
Average: 4.32%
Pretty Bad: 4.47%
Total Crap: 3.28%

30 reviews, 491 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Peter Sobczynski

Purge, The: Anarchy by Rob Gonsalves

Raid 2, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fault in Our Stars, The by Rob Gonsalves

Dumb and Dumber To by Brett Gallman

Space Mutiny by Jaycie

subscribe to this feed


American Beauty
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Here's a surprise: a deserving Best Picture winner."
5 stars

Where is the beauty in a discarded plastic bag tossed around in the wind? That's the central image in 'American Beauty,' a forceful and morose drama about a suburban family cracking apart. As it happens, there is considerable beauty in that plastic bag as it swoops and dances; it's also a useful symbolic tool.

The movie's hero, Lester Burnham (Kevin Spacey), is himself something of a plastic bag thrown around by fate, unwanted and empty. A magazine writer stuck in a loveless marriage, Lester decides one day to drop out of it all, and suddenly the plastic bag no longer looks empty -- it can be filled, it now has potential.

American Beauty is narrated by Lester from beyond the grave; he's detached and ironic as he tells us about his impending downfall, and nobody is better at this detachment than Kevin Spacey. It fits him perfectly -- he has always seemed like a man who knows something you don't but is keeping it to himself, for his own private amusement. Here, though, he adds an almost Buddhist contentment: being detached from things that don't matter isn't so bad, and Lester's life has not mattered in a very long time. In death, he sees the sad comedy in everything he'd thought so important; the irony is that he dies soon after his new contentment.

Lester's wife Carolyn (Annette Bening in a bravely unsympathetic turn) is a driven careerist, an edgy woman determined to succeed as a real-estate agent. She spends her days prettying up vacant homes and showing them to disinterested clients: she, too, is trying to see the beauty in emptiness. Their daughter Jane (Thora Birch) is a typically disaffected teen, mortally embarrassed by her "pathetic" parents; she hangs out with blonde cheerleader Angela (Mena Suvari, a talent to watch), a cynical wannabe-model who catches Lester's yearning eye. Lester becomes obsessed with Angela, giving himself over to florid rose-petaled fantasies of her; he devotes himself to working out and getting high with Jane's boyfriend Ricky (Wes Bentley).

There's some satirical flavor in the sight of middle-class baby boomers regressing to adolescence (Carolyn, for her part, has a fling with rival real-estate hotshot Peter Gallagher and develops a gun fetish), but American Beauty is not a satire. Thematically, we've been on this turf before, in the tales of Raymond Carver and in recent films like The Ice Storm and Happiness. Yet the filmmakers -- writer Alan Ball, first-time director Sam Mendes (who comes from the theater) -- don't invite us to sneer at the suffering of their characters. The movie's point isn't that suburban families are miserable under their Brady-bunch facade; we knew that. It's more about wanting to return to a point in life when everything seemed possible, not realizing that everything still is possible if only we loosen our grip on things we can't have, and learn to appreciate the grace of everyday, mundane things.

Sound a little highfalutin? It is, a little. American Beauty sometimes teeters on the edge of adolescent romantic jive, and occasionally falls into it, as when Ricky shows Jane his video footage of that plastic bag and gushes about how all the beauty in the world hurts him. And the whodunit aspect of the climax -- who killed Lester and why? -- feels tacked on, as if the ending were once more ambiguous before the studio imposed a clear-cut resolution. (I've since learned that the film did indeed have a different ending originally.)

But really, what Ricky says about the plastic bag doesn't matter, and the identity of Lester's assassin doesn't matter. These are just details, and despite its flaws (and beauty without flaw, as Ricky points out, is just ordinary), "American Beauty" is a small classic. Like that plastic bag, it's an elusive and allusive work of art that won't be pinned down easily; whether you see it as empty, and what you choose to put into it, is up to you.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1852&reviewer=416
originally posted: 12/30/06 11:47:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/04/14 xwbyutpilc USA 3 stars
8/22/14 vbenhxgjif USA 3 stars
7/31/14 bmwpayize USA 5 stars
4/26/14 ynvjpstgjz USA 5 stars
11/28/13 Amy I thought it worked too hard at being cerebral. 4 stars
10/29/13 Ja Nevertheless I liked it 4 stars
9/04/13 Meghan Malicoat Amazing movie, beautifully done. 5 stars
7/22/13 gtfuaxflot USA 3 stars
12/09/12 Simon Spacey is iconic here. Artful direction, purposeful acting, loaded topical themes 5 stars
12/05/12 Delbert Overrated. 2 stars
9/30/12 VLTampa I loved the charectors in this. Bought this when it first came out 4 stars
1/27/12 C.M. Chan Overrated 1 stars
10/12/11 sonu want to see this movie 5 stars
9/06/11 sylvia jastrzebski def. a movie to see more then once - great story ! 5 stars
7/03/11 Jennifer B pretty good 4 stars
6/08/11 Harry Sra No words to describe the beauty of this movie! 5 stars
11/11/10 Lundon Bond amazing and nothing has been made that is like it and nothing ever will 5 stars
10/10/10 Dymphna Kahl The story & especially the music wunderbar, ausgezeichnet ( excellent). 5 stars
9/27/10 Jennifer kimberly love it 5 stars
6/19/10 Heather it kept me on my toes almost haunting 5 stars
2/18/10 art THIS WAS MENA SUVARI"S BEST,her WORST WAS THE MYsteries of Pittsburg! 4 stars
1/17/10 Jeff Wilder Effective 5 stars
1/04/10 Nick Brilliant but pretty dark stuff 5 stars
12/30/09 Dane Youssef The greatest film ever made in this humble man's opinion. Haunting, soul-opening 5 stars
11/16/09 Josh Just like the title describes, this movie was in fact beautiful in every way 5 stars
10/26/09 art ANY FILM with MENA SUVARI TAKING A BATH,can't be ALL THAT BAD! 3 stars
10/23/09 Rachel I really could not stand this movie. 1 stars
2/14/09 Lester Burnham Fantastic! Loved it! 5 stars
1/21/09 kiki great for freudian analysis 4 stars
1/08/09 Shaun Wallner Wonderful story. 5 stars
12/03/08 Jimmy dark 5 stars
11/08/08 Abby Meyer Horrible message! 1 stars
10/31/08 tiffany pettey one of the best psychological thrillers and good 5 stars
9/14/08 Samantha Pruitt depressing yet funny, pretty deep 4 stars
8/15/08 Melissa This was a very sad movie to me 3 stars
6/03/08 PAUL SHORTT REVELS IN IT'S MEAN-SPIRITED SARCASM AND IT'S CHAMPIONING OF SELF-INTEREST 1 stars
3/06/08 Nicholas Plowman A remarkable debut that will never go out of fashion, a true classic 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies A true classic 5 stars
3/02/08 Jackie Pure brilliance 5 stars
11/17/07 Paul Crutchfield Good movie, G-13. 4 stars
10/24/07 Ivana Mann A pathetic Grand Guignol exercise in first-grade existentialism for the retarded.Hype=gyp! 1 stars
8/23/07 kitty_cute Is apart of real life in society now 3 stars
7/17/07 fools♫gold Could'vebeenjust as lovingly lovely as "The Chumscrubber" if there was anything surprising. 4 stars
6/11/07 Alex Its just one's man's view of his life--unrealistic and yet so possible--the stuff of dreams 4 stars
4/28/07 Dark Enchantress great tragic movie! 5 stars
4/18/07 Tracey Chambers great movie. kevin spacey is cool. 5 stars
4/08/07 Mike Great film! Kinda weird but I surprisingly loved it 5 stars
3/18/07 mb Not For Me ... Corrupt Story 1 stars
3/02/07 CBoz A long-winded, cliche view of Suburbia, dispite Spacey's efforts 2 stars
2/06/07 Lorianne Excellent 5 stars
1/25/07 Matt Okay, but all those Oscars? It must have been a shit year at the movies. 3 stars
1/04/07 Ronin A movie pretending a little too much to be deep, still catching. 4 stars
12/02/06 Paul To all the people who hate this film... what were you watching? It's a masterpiece! 5 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini boring, dull, etc. 2 stars
10/01/06 Malisa the plot was a little boring, but had a funny sex scene and great acting. 4 stars
10/01/06 Beau great acting, great storyline and funny sex scene. Great masterpeice and an enjoyable film 4 stars
9/22/06 Good Films I thought it was the fakest portrayal of suburban life I seen. Spacey kissed in the rain. 2 stars
9/20/06 loui most amazing film i have ever seen... 5 stars
9/01/06 Mr Bayg Good movie, but promotes pedophilia. Sucks butt. Crap. 5 stars
7/15/06 Drew Francis This is a must see 5 stars
6/26/06 MP Bartley Spacey is amazing...film and obvious plot machinations less so. 4 stars
6/05/06 Jon I LUV SECKS 5 stars
5/04/06 Christopher Lindstrom It makes you feel and think...not for everyone 4 stars
3/31/06 Stewart Morally corrupt and hateful characters abound in this gloriously overrated trash. 1 stars
2/20/06 Major Bludd Amazing movie 5 stars
1/26/06 Mr. Durden One of the best movies of its decade. 5 stars
1/13/06 cooler overrated pretensious garbage.Mendes trying to be Kubrick.What a joke.Spacey rules though 1 stars
12/27/05 JD SIMPLY ...PERFECT.11/10 nothing does it like this. best movie ive ever seen. mak me cry 5 stars
12/23/05 cody a best picture winner, good acting, good story, and even good directing, but little slow 4 stars
11/24/05 John Dog Brilliant movie. 5 stars
11/22/05 Kurtis J. Beard Brilliant. That is all. 5 stars
11/18/05 Robert Braunfeld Brilliant mix of feelings & emotions 5 stars
11/17/05 MrsVoorheesBabyBoy A thought provoking movie 4 stars
11/05/05 JamesCole American Poopy. Monumentally overrated pretentious swill. 2 stars
10/24/05 Shamus Conveys message in the worst manner, and it's not even that deep a message. 2 stars
10/10/05 P toya Maybe a Marxist state better?. 18 year old Wes too wise for his age. 1 stars
10/07/05 Johnny Shut up, you guys! It's a classic. 5 stars
9/27/05 Daveman Too smug and pretentious for words, fantastic score though. 2 stars
9/25/05 D Buckley eh... I suppose 4 stars
9/13/05 ray mero Liked this movie, but absolutely loved Ball's follow-up: Six Feet Under 4 stars
9/08/05 paki_munda a mainstream version of "safe." disappointing! 4 stars
9/06/05 Dinkus McGorn An art film for people who undersand nothing about art. 1 stars
8/20/05 TheOthersFan Artsy fartsy depiction of a man who replaces his personal relationships with pot 3 stars
8/12/05 Moobur Total cliche. 3 stars
7/27/05 Ivy def seen better! 2 stars
5/27/05 Lord Haw Haw Build straw men, burn them. Yippee. 2 stars
5/18/05 Doug McC this movie went above and beyond my expectations 5 stars
5/08/05 Bluto Spacey and Cooper are great 5 stars
5/07/05 Michelle Gerardot great in every way 5 stars
5/05/05 Cindy Lovell Excellent any way you look at it 5 stars
5/02/05 MeredithL Great movie! Sharp, sophisticated 5 stars
4/13/05 Indrid Cold Not quite a classic, but very very good. 5 stars
3/24/05 Michael Lloyd funny, beautiful and brilliant 5 stars
3/23/05 Alice Colwell loved it 5 stars
2/18/05 Margot Copeland In My collection 5 stars
2/07/05 eworm Must see....it's a good reflection on life. 5 stars
2/01/05 Wendy S. Mind Blowing! 5 stars
1/30/05 dana hammell very interesting twists and turns 5 stars
1/26/05 PaulBryant it's a classic, what can you say 5 stars
1/02/05 Terry V great movie...a must see!! 5 stars
12/19/04 Matt F. One of the only films of the last 10 years to win best picture and deserve it 5 stars
11/23/04 James2002 People say that this movie reflect the middle class life in US. I am notsure whether it i 4 stars
10/22/04 mani wow, 5 stars
10/20/04 Helen Bradley Wierd great acting and script 5 stars
10/14/04 Desperado A movie that moved me possibly more than any other Absolute Perfection one of the best ever 5 stars
8/23/04 Snickerdoodle WOW, I saw this movie in an English class and would love to see it again. 5 stars
8/16/04 Peter James Spacy may actually be better then his riveting performance in The Usual Suspects 5 stars
8/13/04 Elena This movie actually did change my life, clicheed but true 5 stars
7/27/04 Paul Carone You didn't like it? Look closer... 5 stars
7/20/04 AlaskanReviewer An American Classic! 5 stars
7/20/04 N. Christopher Bell This movie bored me. 3 stars
7/14/04 Daveman Mr. Sommersby here thinks the 'burbs is an "engaging delight", nuff said. 4 stars
7/08/04 Denise Duspiva not a fast moving story but good 4 stars
7/07/04 nigger is was so special to me.. i cried when i seen the parer bag 5 stars
7/01/04 Phillip i want a deprogrammer to make me forget this horrid ..MOVIE! 1 stars
6/21/04 Rock Hound Totally objectionable, except for Suvari, a fine Viagra substitute. 3 stars
6/15/04 Daz Meh, nothing special, I fell asleep. Borrrring. 3 stars
6/11/04 T. Maj Like suburbia, boring and unoriginal 2 stars
5/16/04 ggrmpf it's so puritan at the end! 1 stars
5/13/04  Shaun Rose Great movie, Hate that kid with the fucking plastic bag 5 stars
5/09/04 DM I want more where this came from. 5 stars
5/07/04 Ross Perverse yearning 1 stars
5/01/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it They shoot, they score!! 5 stars
4/27/04 Ryan Mena Suvari is fucking hot! 4 stars
4/15/04 gordon purcell Beautiful, deep and multilayered-strongly written characters, well directed 5 stars
4/15/04 Charlene Javier Excellent. Enough said. 5 stars
4/12/04 Hilarium Here we go again, Sommersby being the contrarian. 5 stars
4/11/04 Peter Loved this film 5 stars
4/11/04 Monster W. Kung 'Not since Titanic'! That was in 1997, this in 1999; Sommersby, put down the crack pipe. 3 stars
4/11/04 Amerigo Vespukey Regressing to adolescence is not an interesting storyline. Fatalistic/moralistic turd-pie 1 stars
4/02/04 Sian Williams Josh Komen is Fukn hot~! 5 stars
3/29/04 I love Joel There is just no film like it 5 stars
3/24/04 Lord Haw Haw Am I the only one who didn't like this thing? Build straw men, burn them. Yippee. 2 stars
3/20/04 Marcia Scurfield Ya gotta love those midlife crisis movies! 5 stars
3/17/04 Seija Anderson Amazing. I can watch it over and over and never get sick of it. 5 stars
2/19/04 MP Bartley Weird.I'll watch it one week and love it, watch it the next and be bored. Spacey rules. 4 stars
1/28/04 john bale Best film about American life since "Kill a Mockingbird". A cinema classic. Spacey excells 5 stars
1/24/04 Elena Disguised, perhaps by its mediocre setting, American Beauty is the most original film ever. 5 stars
12/30/03 Michael E Just watched it again for 4th time - It still keeps getting better 5 stars
12/29/03 JimmyC Excellent 5 stars
12/06/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) The best screenplay of all time. 5 stars
11/27/03 he a great film 5 stars
11/23/03 Mary Spacey, I like. This movie was rediculous. 2 stars
11/23/03 smartmusician Unmissable, Spectacular. My favorite film ***** 5 stars
11/08/03 Zeemin and Holly depressing, wierd, funny when he says "I rule" 5 stars
10/21/03 Carrie One of the most philosophical and thought-provoking movies ever created. 5 stars
10/12/03 Darryl This is, without a doubt, one of the worst movies ever made. Pointless. 1 stars
9/17/03 Neil Forster Would you like smiley sauce with that? 5 stars
9/08/03 Tiffany This movie makes no sense. The characters play good but there is no point in watching this. 2 stars
9/08/03 Kyle Yeah, Spacey is a great actor, but this was DUMB! STUPID! DUMB! STUPID! DUMB! STUPID! DUMB! 1 stars
8/14/03 Jeannie Karlsen This movie is amasing! Kevin Spacy is one of the finest actors of our time! 5 stars
8/11/03 Cherie The most wonderful movie I've ever seen. 5 stars
8/06/03 Lester Burnham Look at me jerking off in the shower. This will be the high point of my day. 5 stars
7/31/03 omar "surfur" youssef One of the finest pictures ever made. Brilliant from beginning to end. 5 stars
7/30/03 Jake I totally agree with Ryan F. this movie is artsy unrealistic and gay. 2 stars
7/24/03 Muzza RED everywhere its a comspiracy!!! 5 stars
7/02/03 Jonesey A wonderful movie, cynical and honest at the same time, touching without being sentimental. 5 stars
5/21/03 Ryan F. As far from a masterpiece as you can get. Overrated, unmoving, and tasteless. 2 stars
5/18/03 George Jung The greatest film of the modern era. 5 stars
5/06/03 King of the Kebabs One of the most pretentious films ever made. Spacey does zilch to warrant an Oscar 1 stars
4/28/03 Megan Heathcote This movie portrays what a life is supposed to be like, this film shows the real life!! 5 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik A masterpiece. 5 stars
4/08/03 Mystique I like this movie! 5 stars
4/01/03 Rebecca Stereotyped Contrived Characters 2 stars
3/14/03 scott lihou are those menas breasts you see when kevin spacey is about to fuck her? or a body double? 5 stars
3/12/03 Butterball Cenobite well-crafted, bitter satire of suburbia; but overly cynical and not always true 3 stars
3/10/03 Jack Sommersby Overrated, overstated, and obvious. Spacey, though, is superb. 2 stars
3/02/03 cinkcool yep 5 stars
2/20/03 Ultron A highly overrated film. 3 stars
2/10/03 Kevin Spacey If anyone needs me, I'll be in the shower jerking off. 1 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones Overrated schlock. Kevin Spacey did nothing worthy of an Oscar. What a joke. 2 stars
1/21/03 dan Phony, pretentious trash. Glorifies the worst tendencies of 70s butt-rock culture 1 stars
1/07/03 Kyle ...who are you? Stop rating movies with my name. 5 stars
1/06/03 Bob Dong Fan-Fucking-Tastic, Kev is a star 5 stars
1/02/03 Sam Potter Extremely unique, beautifully acted, filmed, written and directed. 4 stars
1/02/03 Jon A great screenplay performed and produced impeccably. 5 stars
11/27/02 patrick touching. 4 stars
11/26/02 Quentin Beck It really shows how fake films can be. Totally unrealistic stereotypical garbage. 1 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Best Film of 1999. 5 stars
11/12/02 Didn'tReallyLikeAmericanBeauty It was OK, esp the rising action to the climax, but the dialogue sucked and ... 3 stars
10/29/02 Charles Tatum This wins Best Picture, yet people still complain about Hollywood product 5 stars
10/21/02 Chiend For those who get their kicks wallowing in the misery of others. 1 stars
10/20/02 Paul very overrated 2 stars
10/06/02 Zargo 82%...? some people are confused... 5 stars
9/09/02 Movie guy A GOOD FLM 5 stars
9/01/02 Robbie Banfitch when you have such an emotional reaction to a movie you know its got a lot goin for it 5 stars
8/28/02 Bob MacBryce Brilliant 5 stars
7/29/02 Jon One of the best screenplays ever, capped with excellent performances all around. 5 stars
7/24/02 TheChronic you cant' dislike this movie, I wanted to but it's too well done, thru and thru. 5 stars
7/12/02 KMG Wes Bentley's film about the plastic bag in the breeze made me cry 4 stars
7/10/02 Film Guy Wow what a great movie. It's a little depressing in the end, but still wow 5 stars
7/08/02 Girl 9 Extremely OVERRATED 3 stars
6/28/02 erick best film ive seen in a long fuckin time! i saw it, and imediatly watched again, I LOVED IT 5 stars
6/18/02 Film Dude Pretty fuckin thought provoking... 5 stars
6/14/02 Pips stud SUKS 5 stars
6/01/02 The Conscience Objector The Best Movie I Have Ever Seen, Kevin Spacy is awesome, excellent writing 5 stars
6/01/02 doug Ranks right up there with 'Requiem For A Dream' 5 stars
5/31/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi mmmm....very very good, a truly beautiful movie, mena was fabulous, as well as wes & thora 5 stars
5/28/02 Phuong "Andre" "Me-Me-Me" Nguyen top flaming notch except for Mena shitty Suvari 5 stars
5/25/02 Charles Tatum A definitely different film 4 stars
5/19/02 Jon Artus Strangely compelling. Mena Suvari topless. 'Nuff Said. 5 stars
5/17/02 Darlene Groetz The movie in which Mena Suvari became a zombie of the tragic wands. 2 stars
4/22/02 Shams Huque Occasionally hilarious. Very well made. Excellent actors 4 stars
4/12/02 Movie Expert Biggest problem with American Beauty is that the movie has a boring script 3 stars
4/05/02 Harris Best film of all time! Amazing performances. 5 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand I had to see it a couple times to really appreciate it...spacey's best performance 4 stars
3/05/02 Jenny Tullwartz Unintentional farce- so it ain't PC to seduce young girl - get murdered by wife instead! 2 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee Slighly overracted (mainly Annette Benning) but overall a story very well told. 4 stars
3/02/02 Sam Tuthill Best movie ever (tied with Memento) 5 stars
3/01/02 Chowie Beautiful, kevin spacey is creepy though, mena is so WAY out of his league 5 stars
2/27/02 Bart Shore Loved it at home and in the theatre. 5 stars
2/24/02 lizzietizzie anyone who didnt like this is most likely white trash... 5 stars
2/23/02 Shrike American bullshit revealed in all its beauty... 5 stars
2/21/02 luda hoe elliot and tyler: please do society a favor and kill yourselves 5 stars
1/14/02 Flick Chick entertaining - disturbing, but entertaining. 4 stars
12/20/01 Jessica My FAV MOVIE! read the script- I have seen it over 15 times, 5 stars
12/11/01 slappy jacks andrew carden should be shot! this film is dazzling a perfect portrait of american truth 5 stars
11/30/01 Jeff Wilson I live in the suburbia.... The first film to portray it down to a tee 5 stars
11/21/01 daniboy a masterpiece. every single shot 5 stars
11/14/01 Allyson Archer Honest and yet disturbing but awesome 5 stars
11/12/01 Andrew Robinson Brilliant 5 stars
9/23/01 Adam If you're not a middle-aged man (I am) you won't understand much of this film. 5 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean So far the best I've seen Spacey. The pot dealer rocked! 5 stars
8/31/01 spaceworm Best empty bag in a movie ever. 5 stars
8/30/01 Henry Ginsberg Kevin Spacey definately deserved the best actor oscar.His performance was perfect. 5 stars
8/23/01 Stonedog Celluloid window into human behaviour. A real beauty. 5 stars
8/20/01 4907 Total nonsense. Just exagerated characters doing stupid things. NOT REALISTIC! 2 stars
8/16/01 christina paciolla a beautiful classic american film 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Perfect. Story, plot, characters, music compostion, emotion...everything. A masterpiece. 5 stars
8/01/01 Vixor the best movie ever made. i loved it 5 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg All round great movie . 5 stars
7/18/01 Stu Another Spacy spectatular. 5 stars
7/10/01 M Beautiful 5 stars
7/09/01 Caligula a fake, phony, smug and superficial piece of shit 1 stars
7/09/01 Roy Smith Beautifully made but basically lefty and soulless. 5 stars
7/06/01 Craig Blanchard One word.... PATHETIC! 2 stars
7/04/01 jim dyer kevin spacey rocks 5 stars
6/26/01 Lars Pettersson A true masterpiece. The best film since Cinema Paradiso! Kevin Spacey rules!!! 5 stars
5/22/01 St. Louis Rams Fan 4 Life Masterpiece, cinematography was excellent 5 stars
5/05/01 Dennis O'connor Really good movie... Refreshing depth in "A.B." 5 stars
5/05/01 drag freakin the best actually a movie without the bombs and guns crap. 5 stars
5/02/01 kevin peters Best movie of the year 5 stars
5/01/01 Darren Linn Amazing 5 stars
4/28/01 The Jedi Droid Loved it, 5 stars
4/18/01 fred was great... could have done without the tit scenes though... the neighbor was hot too.. ha 5 stars
4/16/01 Tam One of the best films I've ever seen. Ricky's character steals every scene. 5 stars
4/09/01 ChErRyRiPe This movie was touching and revealed what true beauty is 5 stars
4/05/01 Hawkeye I saw it 3 times in the theater and still want to watch it again. It's really that good. 5 stars
4/04/01 spin.hs grrreat !!! 5 stars
3/30/01 Richard Wright Anyone who doesn't like this film is SAD. It is a bit too preoccupied with sex tho.. 5 stars
3/20/01 TNT-6 Very good, but the "bad" scene was artsy crap (and not deep AT ALL). 4 stars
3/18/01 Chinky Zach tits baby 5 stars
2/28/01 Ticiana Maria Ramos de Castro I thought it was better 4 stars
2/16/01 JT Alderman Amazing! A Definite Must! 5 stars
2/13/01 Jake Quite simply one of the best. 5 stars
2/12/01 LOOBER It's good but not all that. Not the best film of the year 3 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi My mother hated it. My mother is a JOKE!! 5 stars
2/07/01 m Finnally a deserving oscar-winner. Great script. 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Great movie!!! Spacey is the man! 5 stars
2/04/01 Sour Girl I left the theater in a daze...six viewings later my head was still spinning 5 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman Lester Burbank has just become my own personal hero. 5 stars
1/21/01 James Quinn Iused to be just like the kid and now I'm Spacey. I mean ... I could really relate! 5 stars
1/15/01 Action freak Excellent movie 5 stars
1/02/01 Emily my favorite movie. of all. 5 stars
1/01/01 Dwight McClusky Such a great film, I can't recommend it more highly 5 stars
12/28/00 TomServo mbvk 5 stars
12/17/00 Tom Kevin Spacey certainly deserved the oscar! 5 stars
12/17/00 john rock 5 stars
12/09/00 ali moonandsun11@hotmail.com 5 stars
12/08/00 Tdis72 Kevin Spacey is the bomb! The best movie I've seen in a long time! 5 stars
12/03/00 scott wahls those who were offended were merely looking into a mirror and were frightened! loved it! 5 stars
11/29/00 SP not your typical suburban drama and thank goodness for that 5 stars
11/29/00 Cristopher Revilla great movie with a good message 5 stars
11/18/00 bob mitchell kevin s. gave a good version of a man giving up and going with the flow.a-1 mid-life crises 5 stars
11/15/00 Vito Corleone well writtem, great cast, witty and sour 5 stars
11/13/00 Mikey Great message, entertaining. 5 stars
11/03/00 john linton roberson Truly sad, truly beautiful;a nearly perfect film. 5 stars
11/03/00 Trina one to watch over and over 5 stars
10/27/00 JC23 Along with "Three Kings" and "Bringing out the dead" the best of 1999 5 stars
10/24/00 Clarance FANTASTIC DEPITCION OF LIFE AND IT'S CYNICAL IDEALS! 5 stars
10/13/00 Ant This is quite a brilliant film. The acting, screenplay and directing is superb 5 stars
10/09/00 TRIPPYSC39 It wasn't the best movie I have seen but not bad. It was a tad bit overrated though 3 stars
10/07/00 Bender Its laughable when it tries to be series, but its still entertaining. 4 stars
10/02/00 Madoc69 Solid moive but not the year best that goes to Three Kings 4 stars
9/22/00 White Rabbit I cannot put into words how beautiful this film is 5 stars
9/14/00 PJ overrated, but still pretty good, especially Benning 4 stars
9/10/00 MIKE IT WAS FUN. 5 stars
9/09/00 Jed Overrated and NOT the best movie of 1999 by any means but not bad at all. 4 stars
9/09/00 neilb its all been said already 5 stars
9/08/00 Tdis72 One of my favorites of all time. Kevin Spacey is the shit! My favorite actor for life! 5 stars
9/06/00 Melis for me? tremendously sad. brilliant performances all around 4 stars
8/12/00 Justin One of the best movies EVER, certainly the best of 1999, brilliant and spacey rocks!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/08/00 Rob It was very good... I loved it. 5 stars
8/07/00 Viling The best film I've seen in quite a whi;e 5 stars
8/07/00 Jed CPB does have a taste just a disagreeable one. Great film but not the best of 1999. 4 stars
8/02/00 k.j.tomko Awesome. 5 stars
8/02/00 IBDN Desreving of its best picture award 5 stars
8/02/00 courte This film is absolutely amazing. 5 stars
8/01/00 perverted pixie CPB you have no taste! This film is magnificent, and much funnier than I'd expected. 5 stars
7/28/00 Tommy Boy Yeah, it was fun to watch, but for satire see FIGHT CLUB 4 stars
7/21/00 Lester The best! 5 stars
7/17/00 Ken Hands down the best movie of all time. Look Closer. 5 stars
7/16/00 matt cool 5 stars
7/16/00 Tim great movie..kevin spacey is awesome as a bad ass 5 stars
7/11/00 Jami The film is amazing.I don't care what any of you fucking idiots think.The best of 99 5 stars
7/05/00 Bruce Not the best of 99', but still a great movie 5 stars
6/29/00 PJ great acting, pretty good movie, but jeeze overated, people think its the second coming, ok 4 stars
6/24/00 Lester Burnham This movie kicked ass! 5 stars
6/21/00 Visc This film deserved all of it's praise and more 5 stars
6/17/00 Roger Clemente I'm glad I'm not the only who noticed the incredible size of Mena and Thora's nipples. 5 stars
6/13/00 Jommy Jomes It's excellent.Fuck you all. 5 stars
6/13/00 DAVID A great great movie but just a tad overrated!!! 4 stars
6/10/00 Bender American Loonies. Overlong, but pretty good Comedy-drama. 4 stars
6/01/00 Jed It almost (but not quite) desreved all of its hype. 4 stars
5/26/00 fire-n-ice it was good but kinda confusing in the end does anyone know who killed him? 4 stars
5/16/00 LoonyGoon Probably my favorite movie ever. Always puts me in a good mood. 5 stars
5/16/00 Monday Morning Way above average but after all the buildup was expecting more 4 stars
5/15/00 PJ Good one greensweater, "made you think" come on, the movie was real good but overrated 4 stars
5/12/00 LINA CANTIN WOW.. WOT CAN I SAY.. DA BEST MOVIE IVE SEEN... MAKES U THINK DONT IT !!! IT AWED ME ... 5 stars
5/12/00 greensweater Reminded me of Three's Company at the end 4 stars
5/05/00 Alan Stuart The filmmakers meant well but tried to do too much. Not all risks succeed. 2 stars
4/25/00 John Lyons Wonderful movie! Loved Annette Bening & Kevin Spacey. 5 stars
4/14/00 Lisa The Best Movie I have ever seen. It rocks 5 stars
4/09/00 EMagGaRony one of the best movies i've ever seen... kevin spacey and wes bentley kick ass 5 stars
4/07/00 Daria Brilliant movie. 5 stars
4/06/00 Girl9 Great writing, wonderful acting, VERY overrated! 3 stars
4/04/00 Clara bet movie in years 5 stars
4/03/00 PJ Not exactly the best movie of the year, Magnolia gets that one, ending a little contrived 4 stars
4/02/00 Captain Highcrime Careful guys, it can happen to you too. 4 stars
4/02/00 Kim Olsen It made me wonder about my own life and the life of others 5 stars
3/31/00 Iax I loved this movie it was possibly the best film ever created, it was a gorgeous film 5 stars
3/31/00 steve I am glad this won best picture 5 stars
3/30/00 escherIV This film is art. Art at its best. 5 stars
3/29/00 TIGGER Oh my god! Kevin and Annette were fabulous.As well as Mena and Thora and Wes. 5 stars
3/28/00 Lame-Oh magnifique, dude! 5 stars
3/27/00 kate newbould "superb..." 5 stars
3/26/00 ryan great 5 stars
3/25/00 Piz The origininality of the script makes it better than what it was cinematically, it's good. 4 stars
3/24/00 Lesley i thought it a bit slow but otherwise great 4 stars
3/23/00 bronwyn sharp disturbing,poignant,witty.it examines a way of life so ordinary and extraordinary. 5 stars
3/19/00 Ricky I think I'm in love with an American Beauty. 5 stars
3/19/00 Mr Glute Sublime majesty. The best film I've seen for many years. Unmissable. Seriously, go see this 5 stars
3/17/00 JRG I loved it. If that's what a mid-life crises is, I can't 'til I have one. 5 stars
3/16/00 Justine Briggs This movie will win best picture 5 stars
3/16/00 Richard Wright excellent 5 stars
3/15/00 Chloe Sesta Jacobs FANTASTIC! Kevin Spacey at his best. 5 stars
3/13/00 Ed This is a mezmerizing movie, it should win best picture 5 stars
3/11/00 Kate Weaver Stunning movie. Could see it again and again. 5 stars
3/06/00 Andi Randell Memserising - story, photography, acting!! 5 stars
3/06/00 ALIaS whod have thought it possible to cover nearly ever human neurosis in 2 hours:a masterpiece 5 stars
3/05/00 vic flawless and heartbreaking 5 stars
3/05/00 Doug Ledingham Brillant beyond all words to describe it 5 stars
3/04/00 Drusilla Kewl film. 4 stars
3/04/00 Froggirl Kick ass! Awsome acting, humor, great camera work, it had it all. It will win Oscars 5 stars
3/02/00 k.tomkowski Excellent, funny at times, touching and tender. Will win a few Oscars. 5 stars
3/01/00 nathan best film of the last 10 years 5 stars
2/29/00 Rachem Best written film I've ever seen... Kevin Spacey is a god among men. 5 stars
2/28/00 Kevin Cho, movie-buff The greatest film of this year - fantastically written, you can't hate it. 5 stars
2/27/00 "Persnickety "Jenn this movie is nothing short of a work of art, truly amazing, fantastic, bravo kevin! 5 stars
2/27/00 JimBob real dark humor, psycho- analysis advised for all characters in this film 4 stars
2/25/00 bullit17 Amazing performances all-around. Just a great, intelligent, engaging movie. 5 stars
2/22/00 Marc Best fucking movie I've ever seen in my life. The most real and intelligent film ever made 5 stars
2/22/00 Obi Wan Oscars here we come!!! Kevin Spacey is "Da Man" . . .Can I give 7 Stars? 5 stars
2/21/00 Melissa Amazing that the Academy recognized a film as good as this one. 5 stars
2/21/00 Pearl Best movie I've seen so far extremely inteligent,kevin spacey is brilliant 5 stars
2/16/00 Neil Austin Has a plastic bag every been so good? 5 stars
2/14/00 k.tomkowski Superb directing and soundtrack, but is America only twisted ? 5 stars
2/14/00 Michael Drew Over-rated; a sad reflection on American beauty 3 stars
2/14/00 "Persnickety "Jenn this is a true work of art, Bravo kevin! 5 stars
2/12/00 Skye Chapman too true. wonderful! 5 stars
2/12/00 Daniel Hodgson One of the best films in 20 years spacey is amazing Again!! 5 stars
2/10/00 Danny & Sharon This movie kicks butt 10/10 5 stars
2/08/00 Andi Randell Kev you've got it!! 5 stars
2/06/00 Richard Wright Amazing acting, superb comedy, brilliant script.,Simply put, an outstanding film. 5 stars
2/06/00 Josh Spacey is GOD 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski BRILLIANT!! My $7 was so not wasted, for a change. :-) 5 stars
2/04/00 macknife Shakespeare and Bobby Darin Rule!!..Thanx, American Beauty!! 5 stars
2/02/00 Matthew Smith One of the great films of the year, no questions asked. 5 stars
2/02/00 Joel Harwood Excellent i laugh so hard none stop people may think it is depressing but i don't think so 5 stars
1/31/00 Stu Beautiful and moving, not a wasted frame. Spacey was superb. 5 stars
1/31/00 barbara h At least the best film in recent years for me. 5 stars
1/30/00 Úna Stays with you 5 stars
1/27/00 Mic I saw this movie a month ago at a special screening. One of the (if not THE) best of 1999. 5 stars
1/22/00 MAXOMENOS This movie blew me away and opened my eyes. It kept me captivated and was full of surprises 5 stars
1/10/00 Ken Spacey can be anyone he damn well pleases. 5 stars
1/10/00 mclennan perhaps you don't know have a clue why this film rates so well. You will someday. 5 stars
1/10/00 Linda Poignant...more true than words can say 5 stars
1/09/00 Mic Stunning. Spacey is brilliant. 5 stars
1/06/00 Gregory i loved this movie 5 stars
1/01/00 Tyson Stewart Kevin Spacey is excellent. The screenplay is very witty. Some things don't work at all. 4 stars
12/20/99 Kendra the best social commentary of the 90's 5 stars
12/16/99 Ezra Xenos Kevin Spacey is absolutely brilliant, he alone makes this movie terrific. 5 stars
12/13/99 Beno I am Lester this is my story. 5 stars
12/12/99 Obi Wan This movie had it all...loved it the second time even more!! 5 stars
12/04/99 The King of the Bros Makes me wanna have a mid-life crisis! 5 stars
12/02/99 Bozo Worth it for Wes Bentley only; rest was predictable 4 stars
11/28/99 Ryan Phillipe gets hit by a car and it Rules!!! So enigmatic so gellatenous, It rains it bellows like a sad defeated lemer on the graksnor? 5 stars
11/28/99 Gloris So sad so real 5 stars
11/23/99 George Nedelchev A work of genius and it is hard to point out who exactly he is. A work of geniuses. 5 stars
11/22/99 mard if clinton was not president this could be a docu movie of his suburban life 5 stars
11/21/99 Pavlova27 The reality of surburbia, not what it's all cracked up to be. Excellent film!! 5 stars
11/19/99 bishopj@pumpkinsfan.com If Spacey doesn't recieve an Oscar, I'm writing my Congressman. 4 stars
11/17/99 The Buffy Chick Whoa Baby!!! 5 stars
11/17/99 Heather Satirical look at the downside of the American Dream, funny movie 5 stars
11/17/99 seldom scene a perfect movie about an imperfect world 5 stars
11/15/99 John The best of the year. 5 stars
11/14/99 Starry Knight One of the best flicks I've EVER seen 5 stars
11/09/99 Beth Lee great film 5 stars
11/09/99 richardthe one of the few movies that doesn't feel like youv'e seen it all before 5 stars
11/08/99 Mickey More Brilliant, inspiring, hilariously twisted. Brilliantly acted down to the smallest parts. 5 stars
11/07/99 Podbrey beauty hurts (hell, life couldn't be easy could it?) 5 stars
11/07/99 Kevin Cho - Movie Junkie An absolutely BRILLANT movie - humorous, wonderful, emotional - Simply OSCAR worthy 5 stars
11/06/99 Emu Gnorfly Ozzie and Harriet melds into Pulp Fiction, set in the Twilight Zone 5 stars
11/05/99 Jonathan Pinkerton This defines Oscar worthy performances 5 stars
11/03/99 Jqirish A tragedy that left me feeling good about life 5 stars
11/01/99 Magus Entire philosophies would be well placed if they were fonuded on this movie 5 stars
10/30/99 Biter Amazing as hell, I don't think I've ever seen such a powerful and shattering film. Superb 5 stars
10/30/99 Mary Louise Matheson Best movie I've seen in years. 5 stars
10/27/99 Daniel Some of you need to Look Closer.. 5 stars
10/27/99 pipeman Excellent, excellent film. Don't miss it. 5 stars
10/26/99 Leslie It was totally different than I expected, and a little scary. 4 stars
10/25/99 jillian george y2k is all about drilling the US subconscious this is the pinical thus far cious 5 stars
10/17/99 Kate Incredible performances by all. My favorite movie so far this year! 5 stars
10/17/99 Hawkboy THIS MOVIE IS SUPER-DUPER! I LOVE THE MOLE! I really wanna fuck him, too. 5 stars
10/15/99 Tom Let's not get carried away, entertaining yes, but fucking awesome - no. 3 stars
10/15/99 Elijah Wonderful, wonder piece of work. One of the top 5 movies of the year. 5 stars
10/15/99 The Movie Man I can't believe so many of you missed the point!!! 4 stars
10/14/99 Sam Phillips Just saw it. One of the movies that has changed my outlook on life. 5 stars
10/14/99 GDB Look at Hawkboy trying to be cutting edge....how cute. 5 stars
10/13/99 the Grinch Hawk, fuck you. You have no integrity as a reviewer, but it was funny at least. 5 stars
10/13/99 C.A.T.M. 1,000 times better than the incredible word of mouth! 5 stars
10/12/99 Josh Heavy! 5 stars
10/12/99 George great movie, you might live next to these kind of people, but don't know it-maybe it's YOU 5 stars
10/12/99 Jon so far my favorite movie of the yeargreat movie 5 stars
10/12/99 ZuG This was so amazing, the artistry of it all just captivated me. 5 stars
10/12/99 Russell Burlingame One of the 3 best movies of the year 5 stars
10/12/99 Maxx one of the best flicks i've ever seen 5 stars
10/12/99 Alexis Well it's nice to know that someone has a more fucked up life than mine. 4 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy not bad. 5 stars
10/11/99 Sam Astounding. The ending is not exactly unexpected, but still shocking in its visuals. 5 stars
10/11/99 me cool flick 4 stars
10/11/99 Dax One of the year's best - after Sixth Sense, Blair Witch, and Matrix in my opinion 4 stars
10/10/99 Michelle It was pretty fucking great! Great review ADogg 5 stars
10/10/99 Sam Gonzalez this movie was beautiful... 5 stars
10/10/99 John First movie I've seen in a long time that the audience spontanouesly cheered for. See it! 5 stars
10/09/99 stephanie hairston a wonderful work of art that makes you take a step back and look closer at your own life 5 stars
10/08/99 Biter "American Beauty" shines with scathing wit and heartbreaking honesty. A triumph 5 stars
10/07/99 SJKelley Two days later, the film's characters still resonate. Just short of Oscar-worthy. 4 stars
10/07/99 Spankasaurus very insightful movie....and it gave me an erection too 5 stars
10/07/99 Glitter Berry There IS so much beauty in the world...Changes your whole perspective of the world 5 stars
10/05/99 matricaria this one's gonna haunt me for the rest of my life 5 stars
10/05/99 Obi Wan Off Da Hook!! Kevin Spacey is da shit!!! A Must See!! 5 stars
10/05/99 Haden A great film, don't miss it 5 stars
10/04/99 Sam Solidly acted and beautifully shot 5 stars
10/04/99 annie A MASTERPIECE!!! Kevin Spacey is brilliant! 5 stars
10/04/99 entropy Well rounded, great acting, excelent plot. 5 stars
10/04/99 Suzanne But so many people just don't get it - Intellectually crippled America wants Runaway Bride. 5 stars
10/04/99 enlightened Grinch ,the last part of your review sees the Light. 5 stars
10/03/99 Katie Amazing all around 5 stars
10/03/99 Matt One of the Greatest Movies EVER 5 stars
10/02/99 Rubik Please go see it so Hollywood will make more movies like this one. 5 stars
10/02/99 Z best movie in a long, long time 5 stars
10/02/99 Stephanie Kishi Kick Ass movie! 5 stars
10/01/99 brittspie BELIEVE THE HYPE!!! This is an incredible film. 5 stars
10/01/99 Hugh G. Rection 5 stars...just to see that hottie's boobs..ok, time to go to the shower 5 stars
10/01/99 majawat wow 5 stars
9/30/99 Colin Makes you laugh and think at the same time. What better qualities can you ask from a film? 5 stars
9/30/99 John Bittel Best of 99! 5 stars
9/29/99 Jeff Awesome movie. Captures the zeitgeist well. 5 stars
9/29/99 Rob A flawed but otherwise a-ok essay on beauty & fear. 4 stars
9/29/99 Jen M. Absolutely wonderful. Best film I've seen in a long time 5 stars
9/29/99 Chris Glorious. Painful. Hilarious. Spacey and Benning are both outstanding. 5 stars
9/29/99 Bill Freckman Modern America in a "Nutshell" 5 stars
9/28/99 Ami the Wonderbread This movie with fuck with your mind and your soul, and question your reality 5 stars
9/28/99 the Grinch Superfly nailed it. Best frikkin film of the year, easily! 5 stars
9/28/99 jenn "Blu Smrf" this is the coolest, best movie i have seen in nearly a year, maybe life! it rocks! 5 stars
9/26/99 Hob Gadling personally touching and visually moving 5 stars
9/26/99 Malbert Best movie I've seen this year 5 stars
9/26/99 kev Truly one of the best things put on celluloid!! 5 stars
9/25/99 Matthew Briggs practically perfect in every way 5 stars
9/25/99 ProfJim Not a single false note. Kevin Spacey (who is a god) shows it is never too late to wake up 5 stars
9/23/99 sydney absolutely, positively perfect! 5 stars
9/23/99 Timbo Ryan Philippe is not in this movie 5 stars
9/23/99 Blubberbot Great film. That's all that needs to be said. 5 stars
9/22/99 www.outermost.net A great movie - A great Script - Great Acting -- The only movie you HAVE to see this year! 5 stars
9/21/99 Steve Reed writing, direction, acting, cinematography — perfection, 5 stars
9/19/99 Jason Nordwick Kevin Space is wonderful. The story and symbolism are superb. Mena Suvari is hella cute. 5 stars
9/19/99 Mr Showbiz Pencil Kevin Spacey in now as a Best Actor nominee. 5 stars
9/18/99 Harry Lime An amazing movie. Sheer poetry on film. SEE THIS MOVIE! 5 stars
9/18/99 Ratso Speaking as a man who lives in a Suburban Hell, thank you for making this movie. 5 stars
9/16/99 Jeff Michels One could hate it for the heavy handed symbolism, but it works and comes out a classic 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Sep-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Jan-2000 (MA)


Directed by
  Sam Mendes

Written by
  Alan Ball

Cast
  Kevin Spacey
  Annette Bening
  Thora Birch
  Wes Bentley
  Mena Suvari
  Scott Bakula
  Chris Cooper
  Sam Robards



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast