More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.32

Awesome63.75%
Worth A Look: 20.77%
Average: 3.83%
Pretty Bad: 6.74%
Total Crap: 4.92%

23 reviews, 411 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hobbit, The: The Battle of the Five Armies by Peter Sobczynski

Strong Man, The by Jay Seaver

Top Five by Jay Seaver

Zero Motivation by Jay Seaver

Exodus: Gods and Kings by Peter Sobczynski

Imitation Game, The by Peter Sobczynski

It Follows by Jay Seaver

Sea Fog (Haemoo) by Jay Seaver

Men, Women & Children by Daniel Kelly

Best of Me, The by Jaycie

subscribe to this feed


Sixth Sense, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Its pleasures go beyond the twist ending."
5 stars

Now here's the movie I wanted 'The Blair Witch Project' to be. True, 'The Sixth Sense' isn't in the class of horror heavyweights like 'Halloween'; it's more of a respectable middleweight, but it packs a wallop when it decides to let fly.

This may be a case of a movie betrayed by its own trailer: Spookily photographed and edited, the trailer nonetheless suggested Mercury Rising meets The Shining -- a little boy sees ghosts, and here's Bruce Willis to the rescue! -- and the little boy in question, one Haley Joel Osment, seemed stiff and stilted in his too-whispery delivery. This was going to be a turkey, no doubt about it.

Well, there's a lot to be said for going into a movie with low expectations. Aside from a couple of unnecessary scenes, The Sixth Sense is a low-key triumph of mood and menace; the most shocking thing about it is how hushed and intimate it is, how softly and quietly it goes about its business of creeping us out. The movie is all of a piece, which is probably why the scenes in the trailer, ripped out of context, feel a bit cheesy. In context, the quietly fear-stricken performance of 11-year-old Osment, as the haunted Cole Sear, works beautifully. It works even better after you've seen the film and put the pieces together -- about which, more later.

Cole is scared to death almost all the way through the movie, as well he should be: Dead people who don't know they're dead are visiting him, and he doesn't know what they want from him. Enter child psychiatrist Malcolm Crowe (Willis), who gently tries to prod the boy into revealing his secret. For a while, we're not sure whether Cole is actually seeing ghosts, or is just a lonely little boy acting out in the wake of his parents' divorce. Writer-director M. Night Shyamalan gives us an early exchange between Cole and Malcolm that speaks volumes: Malcolm guesses that the watch Cole is wearing was given to him by his (absent) father, and Cole shakes his head and says solemnly, "He forgot it in his drawer. It doesn't work."

Malcolm is drawn to Cole because of an earlier incident -- a former child patient, now grown, who freaked out and became violent. Cole reminds Malcolm of that patient, and the doctor sees Cole as his chance for redemption. The heart of The Sixth Sense is in soft-spoken conversations between Malcolm and Cole, as well as between Cole and his frazzled but loving mom (the excellent Toni Collette). There is no cheesy subplot in which Malcolm and Cole's mom become romantically involved, even though Malcolm's own marriage seems to be in trouble; you know a guy's working too hard when the wife he's ignoring is Olivia Williams (Rushmore).

Shyamalan, working with cinematographer Tak Fujimoto (The Silence of the Lambs), takes time on the mood and atmosphere -- the possibility of the uncanny in mundane settings. (There's also a hidden-video-camera bit more disturbing than anything in Blair Witch.) There are swipes here and there -- a Poltergeist nod, for example -- but the movie lays realistic groundwork for the supernatural events to come. And when they come, they are all the more unsettling for being rather matter-of-fact.

'The Sixth Sense' also, as you may have heard by now, boasts a nice curveball ending; I liked it the other few times I've seen it before, but I didn't see it coming here. (Among other things, you realize why Cole whispers throughout the movie.) The best curveball the movie throws, though, is that it dares to be small-scale, quiet, and low-tech in a shrill era for horror.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1862&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/14/07 14:19:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/31/13 Seth DeRoule Gave me nightmare's as a kid 4 stars
11/14/10 S. West An absolutely fantastic film with a brilliant plot and superb acting. 5 stars
10/27/10 millersxing a powerful film that deals with grief and loss and the imprint left on the living 5 stars
12/29/09 Chad Dillon Cooper Light weight movie for light weight moviegoers. 2 stars
10/19/09 gal from oz i had a dream where i got hit by a car and then...wait... Am i dead? Makes u think 5 stars
10/18/09 Chad Dillon Cooper Very mild movie with a twist you see coming a mile away. 2 stars
8/13/09 Jeff Wilder Entertaining. But take the twist out and there's not much left. 3 stars
1/09/09 Samantha Pruitt awesome movie awesome twist! Still creeps me out, fun to watch over and over again! 5 stars
10/25/08 Gloria D. saw this a third time and still scared me, I loved it 5 stars
8/28/08 michael thomas pretty cool movie, worth seeing again and even again 4 stars
8/03/08 Shaun Wallner Bruce Willis rocked this film! 5 stars
7/22/08 Catalina Khalaj Worth watching for the way in which it explores the depths of human mental torment. 5 stars
6/07/08 John M Awesome movie, Willis and kid do a great job of giving me the creeps 5 stars
5/27/08 PAUL SHORTT PHENOMENALLY CREEPY AND CONSPICUOSLY NONEXPLOITATIVE 4 stars
12/06/07 Pamela White Bruce has a soft side sorta but plot is suspenseful and great ending 5 stars
6/26/07 Teddy Duchamp The AFI voted this as one of the 100 greatest films of all time. I can see why 5 stars
5/27/07 fools♫gold As short as Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, and almost as entertaining. 4 stars
5/13/07 Raging Bull One of the most disturbing movies ever made, but it's also very moving 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega They should make horror movies of our time like this. 5 stars
1/15/07 Gloria Dornin I loved it, guessed it before end, but would watch it again 5 stars
1/03/07 JarJar the Bink Bink good movie with scary twist that gives u the chills wen the temperature go's down 5 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini Brilliant, with a great twist 5 stars
10/28/06 Quigley Very good acting, creepy, amazing direction; but it didn't quite shock me like "The Others" 5 stars
10/03/06 Kornel Golota Fantastic website... Good resources for learning, easy to follow... Keep up the good work!! 2 stars
9/15/06 Svjatoslav Romanenko Thanks. Great great site. Very well designed! Your site is very interesting and useful. Tha 2 stars
8/30/06 David Cohen I never thought I would enjoy watching Bruce WIllis 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist M. Knight Shamma-lamma-ding dong's best piece, It was decently scary!! 4 stars
7/22/06 e.b useless diarrhea 1 stars
6/26/06 MP Bartley A great ghost story and an even beter tragic story of loss, fear and love at its heart. 4 stars
5/19/06 chienne The ONLY film I've liked Bruce Willis in, spectacular! 5 stars
5/04/06 ES Brilliant 5 stars
4/21/06 Becky Bullshit to anyone who said they knew before the end about Willis. Great movie. 5 stars
4/10/06 Dillon Absolutely terrific. Thrilling and emotionally impacting. 5 stars
3/23/06 giles flowitt-hill hilarious movie .....lets play with my dad's shotgun hahahahaha 5 stars
3/20/06 Jason B "it almost non-existently examines the supernatural like it promises"? Irony Muskewitz? 4 stars
1/16/06 ronald possibly the greatest thriller of all time,better than Seven 5 stars
12/30/05 harry one of my favourite movies of all time 5 stars
12/23/05 Leila This movie was so awesome definetely scary great ending. kinda sad 5 stars
11/23/05 Jonathon Holmes one of-if not-the best thillers of the 90s 5 stars
11/02/05 cooler My favourite thriller of all time.Beautifully directed and acted 5 stars
9/20/05 Attila The Hun (watched it with Cleopatra and Aristotle) A must-see for aeveryone, alive or dead! 3 stars
9/13/05 ray mero Predictable. Knew Willis was a dead man, because no smirk. 1 stars
9/08/05 paki_munda creepy and brilliant 5 stars
8/29/05 Eden Shyamalan's only good film - and its amazing 5 stars
8/28/05 Tom Burns A very creepy movie. The ending is a big shocker. 5 stars
8/28/05 chimun what the hell with HALEY?!He is sooooooooo great!!! 5 stars
8/17/05 ES what a film= seeit at least once 5 stars
8/15/05 Christine Hosie superior horror film unexpected twist at end 5 stars
8/08/05 *Jena Marie* Must see! It's interesting and it keeps ya interested. You won't get bored. Good movie/plot 5 stars
7/27/05 Ivy def a thumbs UP!! 4 stars
7/17/05 christie absolutely incredible, great acting great story awsome endingloved it 5 stars
6/11/05 Rock-Steady Awesome 5 stars
6/10/05 Indrid Cold Reasonably creepy and well done, but nowhere near the classic people seem to think it is. 4 stars
5/21/05 hl great movie 5 stars
5/19/05 wendy rogers This is the BEST movie ever! If you have not seen it..you should be ashamed of yourself 5 stars
5/18/05 Doug McC captivating and extreamly well done - you won't regret seeing it 5 stars
5/15/05 Graeme Awesome twist, as everyone knows, although the movie tricks the viewer 5 stars
5/07/05 Amy Riggsby Creepy movie, but really good. 5 stars
5/02/05 MeredithL Perfection! Smart and thrilling! 5 stars
4/29/05 Valerie Furr Best movie I have seen in a long time. Dramatic ending 5 stars
4/20/05 jellosheriff Really good movie that you want to watch again 4 stars
4/11/05 Ann Lemire Great Movie 5 stars
4/04/05 Littlepurch Saw it for first time in bout 7 years and loved it just as much as back then. Superb cast!! 5 stars
3/25/05 indrid cold Somewhat overrated. It's basically a two hour Twilight Zone. 4 stars
3/23/05 Sharon Sharen amazing 5 stars
3/17/05 Alice Colwell great movie 5 stars
2/26/05 Stephanie Great movie.... loved the final twist 4 stars
2/25/05 zoe hunter i loved this movie 5 stars
2/20/05 David Siegel A fine study in script writing. 5 stars
2/17/05 Jay Fuit I loved this movie, I give it 20 stars! 5 stars
2/12/05 craig varney great suspense never thought of the out come 5 stars
2/08/05 dema bruce should stick with Die Hard movies. I ve seen mooore dead people ! lame. 3 stars
2/02/05 Weeez Kinda toungue and cheek.. the kid cant act.. I dont care what they say!! 2 stars
2/01/05 Mary Anne Good but would have liked it better if I hadn't guessed the ending 5 mins after it started. 4 stars
1/21/05 i see dead peaple too one of the best 5 stars
1/08/05 Jacko What a load of fucking bollocks!!!! 1 stars
9/06/04 the bride Anthony G, if I ever find out who you are... I'll beat you to death. This film is brilliant 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton Wow what an ending. 5 stars
8/30/04 Peter James Has the best ending of 1999, although Fight Club comes in at a close second 5 stars
8/19/04 Peter B. Great story with great ending! 5 stars
8/16/04 Dallas Moye Spellbinding 4 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G If you think this movie is good then you are a fucking idiot with a small penis 1 stars
7/25/04 Katie This movie is great! I LOVE Haley and M.Night! You guys rock! 5 stars
7/25/04 Rebecca Cottrell Not sure if it as good now that I know the twist but at the time.... 4 stars
7/20/04 AlaskanReviewer Wonderfully unpredictable (for me) ending 5 stars
6/25/04 Karen Stockdale Unusually for a thriller, it improves upon repeated viewing. The boy is an amazing actor! 5 stars
6/10/04 sammie!!! IT SUX...just get over it and make another movie, about dead people. GO DEAD PEEPS!!!!!!!! 1 stars
6/02/04 epictetus Great movie! 5 stars
5/15/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it Any movie that makes Bruce Willis look good has got to be great! 5 stars
3/31/04 sansho An (unoriginal) surprise ending does not a great film make; see Carnival of Souls. 3 stars
3/31/04 true review - correct review everytime very boring film with pretty good acting by the kid, otherwise prepare for a snooze 2 stars
3/31/04 Laura Ward Best twist ending! I was totally blind sided! Great case of the Creeps! 4 stars
3/27/04 michowl Terrific! A little Hitchcockian twist on the side. Must see. 5 stars
3/27/04 Darlene Wright Great Movie! 5 stars
3/26/04 Kimberly Kay Crellin One of My top 5!! 5 stars
3/21/04 Constance Swearingen Awesome movie with a total shock, twist at the end. Watch again after knowing the ending. 5 stars
3/20/04 Marcia Scurfield This movie really had me going to the very end--what a shocker! 5 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. It was cool but, cant wait till... "DIE HARD 4"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/17/04 Jamy Williamson Excellent twist to the movie 4 stars
3/17/04 Seija Anderson It scared me, and I loved it! 5 stars
3/01/04 Phyllis Joy Worth watching over & over & over! 5 stars
2/19/04 MP Bartley It's great because of the unexpected emotional kick, rather than the twist. 4 stars
2/09/04 john bale A clever plot with excellent cast including Willis in a new format and Osment excells 5 stars
1/22/04 American Slasher Goddess One of the most overrated horror movies ever. 1 stars
12/15/03 Kung Jerker Great the first time, but has little re-wiev value. 4 stars
12/11/03 Zondi Ronnie I could not get the drift of the movie by watching it once, so I had to watch it again. 4 stars
12/06/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) Slightly overrated, but a pretty auspicious debut for Shyamalan. 4 stars
11/30/03 john watch it if for some reason you don't know the twist yet - the 2nd time around it's tedious 2 stars
11/22/03 ross hendrick hearthwarming 5 stars
10/24/03 Kae Creative script, I don't like BW but HJO really did this movie justice, hes a great actor! 5 stars
9/25/03 Katherine One of the very best films ever made! 5 stars
9/22/03 Darryl Didn't think I would like it, since BW is the star, but I was pleasantly surprised. 4 stars
8/28/03 francis Extremely good - but how could Willis not have realised? 5 stars
8/13/03 It's just me I love this movie! M. Night is really good. And Haley Joel Osment has talent! 5 stars
7/31/03 AJ Final The Best Ending in History 5 stars
7/28/03 Boomer Haley was robbed of his Oscar. 5 stars
7/06/03 Stefan Halka I see a big time overrated and dull film, and a not so special child actor. 3 stars
7/04/03 T3 Good Movie. Makes you think. Glad that's over. 5 stars
6/12/03 JonBenet Ramsey's Ghost It shouldn't surprise anybody that I saw this one! 3 stars
6/10/03 John Bale Intelligent script, restrained SFX makes this the best supernatural film for years 5 stars
5/06/03 King of the Kebabs I see ripped off cinemagoers. One of the most insipid child actors ever. 1 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Still creepy. 5 stars
3/07/03 DIRTY HARRY WITH MAGNUM FORCE HARRY NEEDS TO AIM AT BRUCE WILLIS JUST FOR TARGET PRACTICE...BCOS WILLIS SUCKS BIG TIME!! 2 stars
3/02/03 JH Coverse Had me on the edge of my seat. Very enjoyable movie. 4 stars
2/03/03 Turtle Very good, quite creepy, and great ending. But Shyamalan's Signs blows this outta the water 4 stars
1/23/03 Pinkline Jones I see Ripped Off People and Bad Actors - Give it Up Brucey! 1 stars
12/28/02 Rayna Kuzio WOW! 5 stars
11/10/02 Jeanne masterly crafted 5 stars
11/09/02 Stevo If you predict the twist (and I did so it can't be that hard), this film is nothing. 2 stars
10/17/02 Charles Tatum Ignore the backlash, still a great film 5 stars
9/22/02 Giulio Perini STUNNING BEAUTIFUL ART!! 5 stars
8/23/02 sarah it was pretty cool considering some of the scenes. 5 stars
8/19/02 jurassiraptor Good movie, but I am the only one who predicted the ending right away? 4 stars
8/14/02 Ramblin' Wreck Can you say "Masterpiece"??? 5 stars
8/12/02 Michael Carruthers I see a masterpiece... 5 stars
8/10/02 Jake I want Haley Joel osment's head on a stick, he overacts every frickin' time! UGH!! 2 stars
8/07/02 Obi Wan Don't know why Haley wasn't able to pick up his Oscar, they put it on his tab. He'll get 1 5 stars
7/22/02 Abbas Asghar a m shocked after watching this movie .. it takes me in the state of insanity 5 stars
7/20/02 ! Osment amazing hot prospect... And a great movie. Amazing end! 5 stars
7/12/02 KMG It's decent....depressing, but decent 4 stars
6/22/02 Bart I was bored until the twist. Suddenly it was a new movie for me. Weird. 4 stars
6/01/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi i really loved this film the first time, because of all the suspence, but afta...... 4 stars
5/25/02 Charles Tatum Scariest film of the last five years 5 stars
5/24/02 Dark Barøn Ending kept me stunned and conviced to see it again. 5 stars
5/15/02 Stud SUSPENSEFUL!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/30/02 R.W. Welch The mmost ingenious plot line in some time, drags a bit in the middle. 4 stars
4/24/02 Danielle Ophelia If this isn't already a classic, it's gonna be. Osment was flawless. 5 stars
4/19/02 hilary total crap 1 stars
4/10/02 The Grinch Excellent! Scary without being gorey. Realistic. Great ending. 5 stars
3/31/02 Teresa Good twist ending. Needs a second viewing. Scary. 5 stars
3/20/02 Ben Barka Overrated. Pointlessly slow in many scenes, and the brat is annoying. 2 stars
3/14/02 Rockitman007 This is a great thriller. Hitchcock would be proud! 5 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand The first time I saw it...I didn't get the hype...but now I do...it's a good movie 4 stars
2/25/02 Butterbean Hmmm...A bit overrated, but its worth a look 4 stars
2/23/02 Shrike Willis does well in stylish chiller 4 stars
1/17/02 David A. More Science Fiction than horror, but good. The end got me by surprise. 4 stars
1/05/02 Magnum Craphole Good thriller, and for once Willis was used well. 4 stars
11/30/01 Cookie Cutter Enjoyable movie. 4 stars
10/16/01 BenTheRehabBoy the "sixth Sense" lives up to this movies hype. Willis is a dickwad 1 stars
10/09/01 Andrew Carden It Starts Out Great, But It Just Gets Older By The Scene. 3 stars
10/04/01 Phoenix Very scary and well acted. Haley Joel Osment is a excellent child actor. Great ending. 5 stars
9/16/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Kinda freaky, and it's cool except for cheesy-ass scenes between Haley and his mom. 4 stars
8/29/01 Gary Overrated, but beautifully crafted and well performed, yet quite hollow and emotionless. 3 stars
8/22/01 bdf20 great ending..very well put together film 5 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson The ending totally surprised me. The kid was good. 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk It was the shit...the good shit...in every way possible. 5 stars
7/31/01 BIG G lil will FUCKING SUCKS GOAT BALLS 1 stars
7/28/01 Steve A little too slow for me, but nice ending! Only worth watching if watched more than once 4 stars
7/23/01 anusface too bad bruce willis isn't really dead! I fucking hate that bald faggot! 1 stars
7/21/01 gus haley joel osment rulz 5 stars
7/10/01 TLsmooth The Sex Sense is one of my favorite pornos. 5 stars
7/06/01 Craig Blanchard Horror movie? Don't think so. Mildy entertaining?Yes.That kid can act. At least there's 1 4 stars
7/01/01 chels oh my god i dont think i have ever seen such a crap movie!! 1 stars
6/25/01 What's movies got to do with it? I see Indian Directors. 5 stars
6/09/01 Turtle Oh--my--gosh! This is actually a horror movie worth watching! One of the few that exist. 4 stars
6/04/01 Ben Donnelly A fantastic movie 5 stars
5/31/01 Ben Donnelly One of the best movies of all time. Bruce Willis played the part brilliantly 5 stars
5/30/01 crazylikeafox Well crafted movie but the twist is telegraphed early on. 4 stars
5/23/01 cinkcool Very shocking. I jeld my breath when it hit me. 5 stars
5/08/01 Rodney Muterspaw a great movie that makes you think.... 5 stars
4/25/01 J Normally I'm OK with Indie. But its good to see hollywood beat indie for once. (SS vs. BW) 5 stars
4/10/01 muneer78 Low key moviw with a killer ending. 5 stars
3/12/01 Jon Cotleur The best-directed film since Interview with the Vampire. 5 stars
3/08/01 Mart Dawg This movie just sucked, the plot sucked,that little kid sucked, what else can i say 1 stars
2/25/01 INCUBATOR Cut tha crap outta here 1 stars
2/24/01 Marie Good Movie. Funny in places. 5 stars
2/19/01 Dr. Fell I wipe my ass with this overly predictable film 1 stars
2/17/01 jk what a piece of crap my mum is scarier than that fuckin shit 1 stars
2/14/01 Lee A wishy washy movie that tried to be clever but fucked up 1 stars
2/13/01 Jake What all thrillers wish they could be 5 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Oh God, y'all can EAT ME!!! This movie rocks on every level!!! See it or else!!! 5 stars
2/01/01 Vivien Leung i only liked the ending... not really that scary or spooky 4 stars
1/16/01 Nut The always smirking Bruce Willis blows through another faux-sentimental crap movie. 1 stars
1/14/01 Matt69 the ending blew me away. 4 stars
1/13/01 Avenger Girl great movie,although time seems to stand still its suspenseful. 5 stars
12/31/00 Jennifer Complete rip off of Stir of Echos. Shamalamadingdong doesn't deserve the hype he recieves. 1 stars
12/29/00 sarah Best film of all time. I loved it. Well worth watching!! 5 stars
12/28/00 Turtle It'll scare you for sure. And that big twist was just shocking. I had to watch it twice. 5 stars
12/25/00 mer I almost dozed off 2 stars
12/20/00 Jaymie T. Smith is right - see 'Stir of Echos" it is much better than this 1 stars
12/15/00 lees i love this movie very much 5 stars
12/15/00 gorzek A great movie up until the nonsensical "big twist." What the hell was THAT? 2 stars
12/10/00 T.Smith Stir of Echos was everything this movie was hyped up to be 1 stars
11/29/00 SP tense and interesting, the twist made a very good thing great 5 stars
11/29/00 Cristopher Revilla one of the best films, Haley Joel Osment rocks, see it!!! 5 stars
11/21/00 Tdis72 Very good movie. Bruce Willis was great and Haley Joel Osment is a promising kid-actor! 5 stars
11/09/00 viking The best spooky film I've seen in a long time 5 stars
10/29/00 Mitja Podgajski at this moment I can say: this is the world best thriller! 5 stars
10/04/00 Elvisfan Osment and Colette were brilliant; the movie alot less so 3 stars
9/18/00 Paul Watch "Stir of echos" similar plot but better in EVERY way 1 stars
9/06/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Brilliant movie, brilliant director. Shame Oscar ignored this movie!! 5 stars
9/02/00 Rosalie Coleman I wanted to grab that boy and hug and protect him. I loved it, tugged at my heart. 5 stars
8/25/00 The King of the Bros I see dumb people. 1 stars
8/07/00 lulany Excellent! A must see. Best enjoyed if you haven't heard too much though. 5 stars
7/29/00 Jinx Stop letting DAVID vote twice. He didn't explain anything. Great Film. 5 stars
6/27/00 DAVID OVERRATED OVERRATED OVERRATED OVERRATED 3 stars
6/13/00 DAVID Probally the most overrated movie of the late 90's 2 stars
6/12/00 Micah S. This time the masses were actually right. Sorry intellectual snobs. email me dignan@hotmail 5 stars
6/07/00 TERRIE SMITH Osment is very good; Willis is boring and the ending was great 4 stars
6/01/00 PJ This movie was absolutely terrifying, wonderful, beautiful, scary as hell, and just perfect 5 stars
5/25/00 Jason Cooke This movie got played up too much. 4 stars
5/21/00 mellemel I was on the edge of my chair the three times I saw it! 5 stars
5/20/00 Steve Kelley The featured reviewer is not so clever - watch it again and enjoy HOW it works. 5 stars
5/16/00 Mydaho Movies like this one are why you watch creepy thrillers! 5 stars
5/15/00 Tracy Haley Joel Osment should have won the Oscar. 5 stars
5/12/00 Jorge M. Very good movie! 5 stars
5/12/00 LINA CANTIN TOTAL CRAP 1 stars
5/11/00 Bruce Not scary, but very well acted and directed 4 stars
5/07/00 David Rogers Predictable and not scary. The acting sucked. Go watch Jaws, Holloween, and Alligator. 3 stars
4/28/00 fire-n-ice scared the crap out of me at times....supriseing ending 5 stars
4/25/00 John Lyons Makes me think Bruce Willis might have a chance at an Oscar some day. 5 stars
4/22/00 seldom scene way overrated and obvious who the ghosts are. 2 stars
4/16/00 Jed Suprisingly the best "popular" movie of summer of '99 5 stars
4/14/00 Gingerwoman American Beauty deserved it's Oscars but so did this movie. Osmet should have won BestActor 5 stars
4/12/00 Overflow Bitch One of the single best films of its kind, EVER !! 5 stars
4/09/00 EMagGaRony somewhat overrated, but still a great movie... 5 stars
4/03/00 Wyatt Earp Oooh Frightners for Yuppies 2 stars
3/26/00 MICHAEL SKY-EAGLE SMITH makes you think.makes you wanna piss on yourself 5 stars
3/25/00 TJ St John Not scary but well acted and well written 4 stars
3/24/00 Lesley slow and hipocritical 4 stars
3/09/00 Mr. Kramitall The hell with The Haunting... this movie is great! 5 stars
3/01/00 Mic If the trailers didn't reveal that Cole could see the dead, the twist would've been harder. 4 stars
2/29/00 Bueller Well directed. Why does this film work? Three words...Haley Joel Osment. Simply incredible. 5 stars
2/19/00 steve layne Entertaining, creepy and maybe the best twist ever put in a movie before. 4 stars
2/16/00 Richard Wright A pretty dull film,One good twist does not make a great movie. Overrated,to say the least. 3 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski To hell with "Blair Witch", already. THIS, my friends, is terror... 5 stars
1/29/00 puppyboy434@aol.com intellegent well-acted thought provoking it rocks 5 stars
1/28/00 anita ujcic complex plot, good acting 5 stars
1/26/00 Ellie Worth it just to see Ex NKOTB star Donnie Wahlberg at the beginning 5 stars
1/17/00 k.tomkowski Shows how much unhappiness is around us, and always was. 5 stars
1/03/00 sarah awesome 5 stars
12/20/99 Andrew Domo Haley Joel Osment is phenomenal. He's the best child actor. 5 stars
12/16/99 David A brilliant film with a fantastic twist at the end. 5 stars
12/14/99 Truth Man Chelsea Mannix is to movie reviewing as Hitler was to public relations 5 stars
12/12/99 Tyson Stewart Great terror and best twist in a film since Mrs. Bates was Norman! 4 stars
12/09/99 Mandy Carter A very emotional film. 5 stars
12/06/99 DAVID GREAT 5 stars
12/06/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Pretty good movie , it shouldn't disappoint. 5 stars
12/05/99 levon stasse WEE WILLIE GREAT STUFF LOVELY ENDIND 5 stars
12/02/99 Libby It was so interesting and at the end your just like wow i get it! 5 stars
11/30/99 Ryan Phillipe got hit by a car and it rules Wow what a no holds barred mindblowing movie. It will set a new standard in its genre. WOW! 5 stars
11/29/99 Mic For many of those who guessed the ending, I think the marketers were partly to blame... 4 stars
11/28/99 ashley campbell it was a pretty good movie 4 stars
11/28/99 Joel Harwood I almost shit my self ive seen it 4 times 5 stars
11/26/99 Swaroop Not what I expected. Excellent!!! 5 stars
11/26/99 dtgfgi it was worth a look 1 stars
11/21/99 David Wages Perfect 5 stars
11/19/99 bishopj@pumpkinsfan.com Stop glorifying this movie. Only average, ending easily picked up on way before it occured. 3 stars
11/17/99 T. Nguyen Not as good as I expected it to be. Willis sucked. 4 stars
11/16/99 phil brock good movie 5 stars
11/16/99 gnomical one of the most intelligent, heartfelt, well acted ghost movies *ever* 5 stars
11/14/99 Krissy This is exactly what I love in a horror film: some gore and damn scary plot. 5 stars
11/09/99 Ricardo Tamez Haley Joel Osment deserves the OSCAR 5 stars
11/08/99 Max Kline Boring crap. The ending can be seen in "Jacob's Ladder" and "Dead & Buried." Better movies! 2 stars
11/08/99 Taryn Excellent. Has a real twist 4 stars
11/08/99 Samantha W Good movie not as deep as expected worth seeing. 4 stars
11/07/99 Kevin Cho - Movie Junkie A great movie - simply riveting, MUST see! Ending rivals Usual Suspects, which is greatest. 5 stars
11/05/99 Mike One of those movies you appreciate after you have seen it 4 stars
11/04/99 Kookiez It's the bestest thriller film i've seen in ages 5 stars
11/04/99 Damian Mueller Unbelievable.. Litterally 4 stars
11/04/99 Tom Excellent - touching, thought provoking, suspenseful, surprising. 5 stars
11/04/99 adm ran dsf 5 stars
11/04/99 Heather One of this year's best, original, the girl and the video tape scene was the best 5 stars
11/03/99 Lija Svalbe One of the best films I've seen for a while! 5 stars
11/02/99 Dave Excellent! It's scary and sad, but you will be thinking for days. I'm off to see it again. 5 stars
11/01/99 Ford I SHAT myself! Great thrills, but hearing so much about the twist ruins it, it spoils it 4 stars
11/01/99 Kurt Cotter The best movie i have ever seen 5 stars
10/28/99 Tina T Totally scarey but awesome 5 stars
10/27/99 Rachel I thought it was great. Not a scary film but a sad one. 5 stars
10/27/99 pipeman Very very very cool. Don't miss it. 5 stars
10/26/99 Peter Yorke Excellent horror film. 4 stars
10/25/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ***½ (out of ****) Category: "Great" 5 stars
10/22/99 hum this is a good film. worth seeing 5 stars
10/20/99 Nathaniel Maximillan Haley Joel Osment: Exceptional Performance ! 5 stars
10/20/99 Mark C Genius - but the trailer ruins it! 5 stars
10/20/99 Tony Daquano The ending is worth it 5 stars
10/20/99 SOZE TWO THUMBS WAY UP!!!!! and a bag of chips =) 5 stars
10/19/99 One-n-Only This movie totally fucked with my head! I totally didn't expect the ending. 5 stars
10/19/99 Alyssa As the wedding ring falls from her hand, I literally gasped. A truly amazing movie. 5 stars
10/19/99 Bueller Bruce who? Haley Joel Osment makes this movie! Haley, it's Oscar calling! 5 stars
10/17/99 Jim Ragsdale Best film of 1999 for me; incredible tension. 5 stars
10/15/99 Mark A bit incohesive in spots, but great over all 5 stars
10/15/99 Andrew Short The best film so far this year, Oscar's for sure 5 stars
10/15/99 Lame-Oh Chew on this, Goosebumps! 5 stars
10/13/99 Stewart HALLOWEEN was infamous for it's suspense without the gore. the SIXTH SENSE is it's equal 5 stars
10/13/99 Louis J. Barugel The best! 5 stars
10/12/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! Great suspenseful directing and solid actign from Toni Collete,but it missed some thing.... 4 stars
10/11/99 Eran (erancoo7@hotmail.com) Brilliant film you ought to see.Amazing. 5 stars
10/11/99 Alexander beautiful... read my review for further imput 5 stars
10/10/99 john grove totally involving. surprising and can that kid act! 5 stars
10/10/99 the Grinch It's subtle and psychologically intense, so ShortAttentionSpams-stay away!8 senses outta 10 5 stars
10/10/99 Rachel Brilliant, the best ghost story ever on screen 5 stars
10/10/99 Viral Messiah It was a really cool movie, so f**k off those who hate it 5 stars
10/09/99 Tiffany It scared the shit out of me. 5 stars
10/06/99 Sparky GREAT flick! The "surprise" ending isn't too hard to figure, but it's a GREAT premise! 5 stars
10/05/99 Joel Harwood Freaky yet one fo the most touching films of the year you will shit your self 5 stars
10/04/99 Suckit Freaky as hell, better than The Haunting 5 stars
10/03/99 Shiying too good to be true 5 stars
9/28/99 Thomas An unbeliveably awesome film! 5 stars
9/28/99 Ami the Wonderbread Fascinating. Luckily I caught on early, but I still will go back again and again!!!! 5 stars
9/27/99 Natalie Excellent, Stunned, Gave me chills 5 stars
9/24/99 James Buzzell Excellently written and acted 5 stars
9/24/99 D Shelton Best Movie I've seen in years! Why couldn't this kid have been in Star Wars? 5 stars
9/21/99 Tristynn great movie.. very touching.. Haley is fabulous... 5 stars
9/20/99 f*r*o*s*t*y Didn't think much going in, loved Bruce (again) and the kid on the way out. 5 stars
9/20/99 Powrhug Must see TWICE! Highly recommended. 5 stars
9/20/99 B.W.B Best flick I've seen in a long time,and I mean a long time. 5 stars
9/18/99 Melissa Bruce Willis' performance surprised me and the kid was great - excellent movie. 5 stars
9/17/99 Maya Imya Scrnplay written like a computer program. False clues, very Hitchcockian. 5 stars
9/17/99 girl this movie is the most amazing movie that I ever seen.And also, very freaky too. 5 stars
9/16/99 voyant Awesome despite being too scared to pee in the middle of the night. 5 stars
9/12/99 Gary Triestman Incredibly Good Film, virtually no holes in Plot. 5 stars
9/11/99 Timbo "I'll show you where my dad hides the gun" Guns rule and so does Twisted Sister 5 stars
9/10/99 ahmad male 5 stars
9/09/99 J. Gary Fox Guessed the ending, but was still wowed! 5 stars
9/09/99 azzad well acted and written 5 stars
9/09/99 Steven Fucking Awesome 5 stars
9/08/99 Ness Have to see it again. Twisted story & good acting. 5 stars
9/08/99 JORGE GALLARDO GOOD MOVIE, MUST SEE TWICE 5 stars
9/08/99 Susan very good 5 stars
9/07/99 Glitter Berry The kid should get Oscars. I sense a bright future. 5 stars
9/05/99 screaminggeneticist The last 20 minutes *might* have made a decent 'mysteries of the unknown'. 2 stars
9/05/99 brian devada An awesome ending that is set up perfectly. 5 stars
9/05/99 maddie the end is amazing, I wasn't expecting 5 stars
9/04/99 William Frightening without being gorey... you'll wish you'd paid closer attention by the end. 5 stars
9/03/99 godsdog Puts the pimpomatik bitchslap on the motion sickness inducing Blair Bitch! Subtle n SCARY! 5 stars
9/03/99 Kenya Quite overachieving for a Bruce Willis film. 4 stars
9/03/99 Haden This is the same plt device from The Frighteners, and it is also similar to The Shining 4 stars
9/02/99 DR Aney Still thinking about this movie 6 days after seeing it. Great flick! 5 stars
8/27/99 Ah Dooey Awesome movie, better than The Haunting. If you don't like it, then take a hike. 5 stars
8/27/99 Dennis Chilling and Incredible. 5 stars
8/26/99 Ami the Wonderbread The images and concepts still haunt me 5 days later 5 stars
8/26/99 Cory Clawson Great movie; well writen 5 stars
8/26/99 Azimat no.1 scary movie of the year. that bitch witch should go to no.2 4 stars
8/26/99 Old Mose Finally, a movie worth the price of admission! 100% more chilling than that dumb Witch! 5 stars
8/25/99 Jones Suspence, thriller, scary, good movie 4 stars
8/24/99 majawat Yippie kay yay, mother fucker! 4 stars
8/24/99 Alexis An Excellent movie with a suprise ending although not so suprising it was unbelievable 5 stars
8/24/99 Obi Wan One of Top Five Movies of the year...Bruces' best work ever!! Oscar Oscar Oscar!! 5 stars
8/23/99 Sid Wonderfully deep, emotional and touching. I found it exhilaringly depressing and suprising. 5 stars
8/22/99 John Pratt This was one of few movies you can watch a second time with a totally different perspective 5 stars
8/22/99 Freyja Brucey, Brucey, whatever happened to you? Surprisingly good! 5 stars
8/22/99 hrhpuffystuff Mindbending, captivating, illuminating, cathartic! 5 stars
8/22/99 shiraz i loved the movie even though i guessed the plot near the beginning. great performances! 4 stars
8/21/99 warren good piece of work w/ killer ending 4 stars
8/21/99 John Miller Finally, a movie worthy of my $7 this year. 5 stars
8/21/99 Cage Against The Machine Awesome!! Frightfully amazing. 5 stars
8/21/99 mara soooo good 5 stars
8/20/99 Dr. Worm The most unexpected wonder of '99, with an amazingly thought-provoking climactic revelation 4 stars
8/20/99 Hayley Olsen This movie totally kicked ass 5 stars
8/19/99 W. Carter very good suspense thriller with neat twist at the end... 4 stars
8/19/99 Patti Boone Fantastic 5 stars
8/19/99 Admiral Crunch Scary as hell! 5 stars
8/19/99 Geoff Go in blind or it's ruined! Excellent feature film. A needed boost for Hollywood. 5 stars
8/18/99 spaceman spiff hitchcock would be pround -- dont let anyone reveal the ending to you 5 stars
8/18/99 Matt Great Ending 5 stars
8/16/99 davebo decent movie, nothing spectacular 3 stars
8/16/99 Sarah excellent movie about life and death and what is real and what only seems real 5 stars
8/15/99 tigerlette few surprises nowadays-this movie had one!!! 4 stars
8/14/99 XenoWolf Slow at first but awesome in the middle and excellent at the end 4 stars
8/14/99 Vercingetorix An excellent movie.. 5 stars
8/14/99 Diana Dominguez I was really emotionally blown away by this movie. Best movie I've seen this summer! 5 stars
8/14/99 cybersyd A thoughtful, well executed flick. Don't read any reviews; see it with no prior knowledge. 5 stars
8/14/99 Chance WOW-A Brilliantly Plotted Ghost Story. 5 stars
8/14/99 borgan this movie kicks ass 5 stars
8/14/99 mard now i know what james van praagh's childhood was like 4 stars
8/13/99 Roman wow, one of the best endings I've ever seen 5 stars
8/13/99 cody not a real great movie, but has a good ending that makes you re-think the movie 3 stars
8/13/99 Robert Eisenstadt Excellent, original, great ending makes you rethink entire movie and want to see it again 5 stars
8/13/99 FC Freakin' Awesome 5 stars
8/13/99 Michael Bradshaw A terrific thriller--can you say Oscar consideration for the film and the kid? 5 stars
8/13/99 Mavraam AWESOME - Don't let anyone tell you the plot before you see it! 5 stars
8/12/99 Steve Kelley Great story, but a couple overlong and overdone scenes. 4 stars
8/12/99 PurityJustBegs Easily the best film of the summer, intimately creepy, mesmirizing, and deeply moving... 5 stars
8/12/99 KAL Excellent movie...superb storytelling...much better than Blair Witch. 5 stars
8/12/99 Derek DiCiccio A "Usual Suspects" type surprise ending 4 stars
8/12/99 Esme Mawksih, boring and I figured out the ending halfway through. 2 stars
8/11/99 Sanford Fairbrother Moved me... and stayed with me for days 5 stars
8/11/99 R.M.Walker Really really good! 5 stars
8/11/99 Enver Alam Awesome 5 stars
8/11/99 Vampyre9mm A little on the boring side, good twist at the end. Blair witch more creepy. 4 stars
8/11/99 Dane Jackson Great film, worth every minute I spent watching it. 5 stars
8/11/99 dub I loved this movie. Terrific acting, great ending. 5 stars
8/10/99 Aliaser Long, Boring--twist makes it worth it 4 stars
8/10/99 Bill Sorry, it blew 1 stars
8/10/99 Randall I cried 5 stars
8/10/99 scarrow Good throughout, GREAT at the end! 5 stars
8/10/99 grunter you can tell Bruce is ACTING, with a capital "A," whenever he whispers every single line 4 stars
8/10/99 Malbert Pretty creepy... a bit boring&hackneyed at times 4 stars
8/02/99 JTBOP Forget that you're watching Bruce Willis. Just see it and be AMAZED. That's right, AMAZED 5 stars
8/01/99 Ashley i love this movie and i loved Bruce i was on the edge of my seat the hole time Bruce is hot 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Aug-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Oct-1999 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast