More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.7

Awesome: 6.52%
Worth A Look: 18.12%
Average: 28.99%
Pretty Bad31.88%
Total Crap: 14.49%

9 reviews, 84 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Northern Borders by Jay Seaver

Arbor, The by Charles Tatum

Oculus by Jay Seaver

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Hollow Man
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"or, How to Ruin a Great Idea with a Tired Script."
3 stars

Yet another Hollywood project that promises considerably more than it delivers. While there's enough onscreen to easily hold your attention, you'll constantly be distracted by how much better this movie could be. As it stands, Hollow Man is worth seeing, but it's a crime when a movie falls so short.

Director Paul Verhoeven doesn't shy away from the gory stuff. In movies like Starship Troopers, Robocop and Total Recall, the violence was joyously evident everywhere. Where Hollow Man differs is in its simply pedestrian script. With the special effects available today, the idea of a homicidal, invisible man could have been a lot more than a retread of Deep Blue Sea or even gasp The Haunting.

The scientific mumbo-jumbo all looks adequately impressive, so it's easy to buy the whole idea of turning Kevin Bacon transparent. There are lots of cool-looking computer terminals and steel everywhere, and a bunch of invisible dogs and apes. After his funding is threatened, scientific 'genius' Bacon straps himself down and goes invisible, knowing full well that the experiment may not be completely successful. (His rash motivations are overtly reminiscent of Jeff Goldblum in The Fly: He's jealous of some guy and wants to impress a girl.)

So far, so good: Arrogant scientist becomes invisible and starts playing tricks on his staff. He sneaks up behind them, and he even cops a boob-grab on the resident veterenarian! Hey, this invisible stuff is great! He even sneaks out a couple times and looks at some bare knockers! I'm loving this movie.

Then comes the copout. When Bacon's staff members decide to pull the plug on the whole shebang, he goes completely nuts and stalks them all in a final half-hour sequence that looks like any other horror movie ever made. The whole thing becomes a haunted house movie, and a pretty silly one at that. What a waste! Why not have him outside wreaking havoc and grabbing breasts? Why not let the audience live out some fantasies? Heck, I don't know about you, but if I became invisible, I don't think my first plan would be to kill all my friends. Well, maybe.

The supporting cast is adequately superfluous, including Elisabeth Shue, who again tries to emote and fails miserably. Josh Brolin does a brief he-man thing and also fails. Recognizable faces like William Devane, Kim Dickens and that odd-looking guy from The Single Guy show up for a bit, only to quickly be killed by a flying pipe or rock. (See, because the killer is invisible...never mind.)

It's not the director's fault, unless the director actually gets to read the script he's filming. In that case, then yeah; Verhoeven should have added a little subtext or even some darkness to the movie. The visual aspects alone earn a recommendation. There's nothing really awful about the movie, so it's easy to recommend it what with all the invisible monkeys and vanishing internal organs. But with the questions and cleverness that Hollow Man could have proposed, it's a shame it ends up as your typical ghost story.

Paul Verhoeven's movies usually work on more than just a visual level, so maybe it's his fault that I expected something smarter. As it stands, it's a movie you can have fun watching, but the script is just hollow, man.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1864&reviewer=128
originally posted: 08/11/00 12:00:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/19/14 Luis Paz Awful, awful movie. The scientists in this film have to be the stupidest people ever. 1 stars
8/16/10 PAUL SHORTT SILLY, VIOLENT AND PREDICTABLE 1 stars
7/11/10 art VINCENT PRICE WAS the BEST INVISIBLE MAN! 1 stars
10/23/09 Gangster21 Thank you for having the courage to resign, and to bring this scandalous behaviour to light 5 stars
9/21/09 www.itsallaboutbees.com Vrachah,avromView my complete profile This blog is dedicated to commentary on all aspects o 5 stars
8/30/08 Shaun Wallner Well Made! 4 stars
4/11/08 R.W. Welch Nifty F/X. Little else of interest. 3 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White suspense with no reason 2 stars
2/11/08 Mark Great movie, violance, nudity and a suspense, I loved it... 5 stars
1/27/07 action movie fan a phenomenon today as well! good invisible man update, one of the best of 2000 4 stars
12/27/06 William Goss An admittedly entertaining hunk of B-grade cheese with superb effects. 3 stars
7/20/06 faraz khan brilliant fiction 5 stars
12/28/05 Sugarfoot The perfect root for the bad guy movie, afterall Kevin Bacon is the only one who can act... 3 stars
8/11/05 ES it's good, its cool, oops it all falls apart, tsk, tsk 2 stars
6/10/05 Indrid Cold Something like this would have been a phenomenon 30 years ago, but it totally sucks now. 2 stars
1/31/05 New Jersey Rules One of the shittiest movies, ever. 1 stars
10/24/04 LUCAS awesome 5 stars
8/27/04 American Slasher Goddess It's decent with some good F/X 3 stars
1/15/04 Samuel Actuallt, a pretty good movie and some good effects 4 stars
1/07/04 John pointless - too bad 1 stars
11/25/03 homer J. Simpson It could have been great, what were you thinking people, elizabeth should have been naked 2 stars
11/04/03 jason Rhona Mitra's nude action was explosive 5 stars
10/01/03 Jinnvisible More like the invisible pervert,,man gains invisibility & turns knickersniffer 1 stars
9/16/03 Charles Tatum Great special effects in a big piece of sci-fi cheese 4 stars
8/04/03 Double G im watching it right now so far it sucks 1 stars
5/06/03 John Bale Great special Fx but pervy and nerdy script makes this teenage fodder. 2 stars
4/29/03 Jin Almost as shitty as Wild Things. Acting was atrocious. 2 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Vile stuff with nary a whisper of imagination. 1 stars
12/10/02 Garbo Yau Mun this film was great 5 stars
8/05/02 KMG HOLLOW HEAD 3 stars
5/15/02 Blake This movie was okay but it had too much profanity. 4 stars
3/01/02 Andrew Jarret It was crappy, it will be better if they make the raping scene longer and her naked 2 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee Starts out good, quickly turns unbelievably dumb. Ms. Shue doesn't get naked either...... 2 stars
2/27/02 Sklorsh Could have been much better - More boobs 2 stars
2/25/02 Jenny Tullwartz STIR OF ECHOES, WILD THINGS, now this - Will Kevin Bacon ever get out of purgatory? 1 stars
1/16/02 David A. Interesting. Also, I loved the joke about Superman and Wonder Woman. 4 stars
12/01/01 Scottish Kilt Starts well, then becomes too predictable, and turns into utter pish. 2 stars
11/14/01 Mike Good effects. Tired story. Crap out ending. 2 stars
10/31/01 Monster W. Kung Good effects, but the script blows. First part OK, the rest is trash. 2 stars
10/16/01 Mr. Hat An awesome gem for the first hour and 15 minutes, but the rest sort of weighs it down. 4 stars
5/05/01 The Moorhen I can't believe I bought this. Rhona Mitra (shower chick) is the only good bit. 2 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Starts Sci-Fi thriller, ends Slasher Flick. That concept usually works better in reverse. 3 stars
4/22/01 sequoia if you wnat an exciting movie with a great plot......see something else! 2 stars
4/11/01 Jesse L Only way to save it was to go for full nudity.. It was awful.. 1 stars
3/21/01 Thomas J. movie is about as useless as Tipper Gores ovaries! 1 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 Piece of shit, except when he bangs the hot bitch across the street 2 stars
1/06/01 I love movies no story. NO STORY! Just a stupid Superman joke! 1 stars
1/04/01 The Bomb 69 good throughout but the ending was a letdown 4 stars
10/31/00 joe if you go expecting a mad slasher movie with some spectacular effects , you'll like it. 4 stars
9/14/00 Ground Zero a rehash of the classic Invisible Man flick 3 stars
9/10/00 bullit17 Great special effects. Entertaining. Not much of a plot, but what is these days? 4 stars
9/10/00 MIKE AWFUL. NO PLOT. I WOULD RATHER KISS A WOMAN THEN SEE THIS AGAIN! 1 stars
9/07/00 Wafer This is my bottom 5 of all time. seriously 1 stars
8/28/00 coby de beer it,s very good 4 stars
8/25/00 matthew smith visually, very impressive 4 stars
8/16/00 PhilmPhreak Not as bad as everyone says it is. 4 stars
8/14/00 Truckgirl held my attention til the very end when it got a little crazy... 4 stars
8/13/00 Bueller Woulda, coulda, shoulda, mighta, oughta have made a better movie! Hollow plot and acting! 2 stars
8/12/00 Robert Sharp WAIT UNTIL IT COMES TO VIDEO 3 stars
8/12/00 Zaccone Truely horrible 1 stars
8/10/00 pipeman Watchable until the last 15 minutes when all hell breaks loose with the script and dialoge. 4 stars
8/10/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Even with the hella special FX and talented cast, the movie seems, well...hollow... 3 stars
8/09/00 Poetcdh Cliche, cliche, cliche--wait for it at the $1.00 movie 1 stars
8/09/00 Ilia Rogachev The freezer cooling fans had an on/off dial on them as plain as day. No hair circulation. 1 stars
8/09/00 PJ So So Bad! it's O.K. Campy crap done well 3 stars
8/09/00 Sarah Johnson If you are expecting a well thought out suspensful thriller this is not it. 2 stars
8/08/00 Captain Highcrime Great FX, Shitty dialogue/acting: about as scary as power failure in the daytime. 4 stars
8/08/00 KoHawk Great effects, but we're stuck in a science lab for 2 hrs. Tell me he wouldn't go to city. 3 stars
8/08/00 TheAngryMob Loads O Fun! 4 stars
8/08/00 JussMatt Plenty of T&A, and special effects, but with all that $$ you think they could find a plot!! 3 stars
8/07/00 Doctor Collosus Needs more T&A dammit. 3 stars
8/07/00 Gil Carlson Mindless and gratuitous 3 stars
8/07/00 Marv Albert...SUpa Pervert! give me T&A and i'll be a happy camper 4 stars
8/07/00 Barry Pretty damned good...best special effects yet and good storyline as well! 5 stars
8/06/00 mahone Hollywood: spend money on scripts!!! 3 stars
8/06/00 Georges'sThumbInMyBumb um, just another flick for kevin to try to flash his more then tiny dong 1 stars
8/06/00 Tony The Lurch I've lost my faith in "Erik the Movieman" this movie truly blew 1 stars
8/06/00 chuck Should have waited for the $1.00 movie theater 2 stars
8/06/00 ILuvADrugDealer Script&ending are kind of crappy, but special effects were *AWESOME*! 4 stars
8/05/00 **~**yeah and he was gay**~** interesting, but still lacking, the special fx saved this movie 3 stars
8/05/00 Dr. King Amazing fx and trashy fun. Plus Kevin Bacon needs an Honorary Oscar for his hard work 5 stars
8/03/00 Jokko Hilariously bad. I mean BAD. I had no idea they could put out Battlefield Earth II so fast. 1 stars
8/02/00 Rue the Whirl Pure Hollywood trash. 2 stars
8/02/00 Tim Ryan So bad, seeing it for free was still a rip off. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Aug-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Aug-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast