More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.65

Awesome85.26%
Worth A Look: 6.32%
Average: 2.11%
Pretty Bad: 1.05%
Total Crap: 5.26%

1 review, 89 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Blazing Saddles
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"One of Mel's durn tootin' finest."
5 stars

Excuse me while I whip this out...

If only Mel Brooks could make a fiercely funny satire like Blazing Saddles again. After his late-seventies peak, the poor guy seems to be slumming these days, what with how Life Stinks, Robin Hood: Men In Tights and Dracula: Dead and Loving It all turned out to be box-office schmucks. And creativity-wise, only Men In Tights held up to Grandmaster Melle Mel's earlier work, and even that may be because it was basically "When Things Were Rotten: The Movie."

But I digress. Blazing Saddles is indeed a comic gem, made in 1974 when Mel's brand of comedy was still in vogue. Cleavon Little plays Bart, a black railroad worker in 1874 whose act of rebellion against his abusive boss dooms him to the hangman's noose, when all of a sudden a golden opportunity drops into his lap... to become sheriff of the small Colorado town of Rock Ridge.

That golden opportunity comes courtesy of Hedley Lamarr (Harvey Korman), a shady, conniving member of Governor LePetomane's administration (Le Petomane, French for "fart master", played by Mel himself). As the railroad is planned to cut through Rock Ridge, Hedley wants the land to himself, so he schemes with a rogue gang of bandits to terrorize the Rock Ridgers, so that they'll abandon their town and leave all that valuable land to himself. When the townsfolk petition their governor for a new sheriff, the job of appointing one falls to Hedley, who fumes, "But law and order is the LAST thing I need right now!"

So he builds a new scheme: Appoint a sheriff that will offend and divide the people and strike at them while they're weakened as a community. Thus Bart dons the tin star and reports for duty - much to the chagrin of the lily-white citizens of Rock Ridge. The goings are rough at first, but the new African-American sheriff slowly wins their trust and admiration with the help of veteran gunslinger the Waco Kid (Gene Wilder).

Hedley, seeing his brilliant plan backfire, tries other ways to bring down the sheriff and the town, one way by getting German burlesque performer Lily von Shtupp (Madeline Kahn) to seduce Bart. As the standoff reaches its climax, the film's action spills out of the movie itself and into various parts of the Warner Bros. Studios.

The humor is broad, scatological, and evenly distributed in terms of racial jokes. The N-word is used quite frequently here, but that is offset by the relatively dignified treatment that Mel gives the African-Americans. Besides, Mel is an equal opportunity jokester - Orientals, Irish, white supremacists and of course Jews are all targets for his parodying. And in Blazing Saddles the laughs are kept at a steady pace. This film will endure for ages to come as one of Mel's signature works.

All together now... "Hold out your hands, stick out your tush, hands on your hips, give them a push..."

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1866&reviewer=9
originally posted: 03/19/99 07:12:44
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/11/16 Tony Gold 5 stars out of 4. Will make you yearn for days b4 PC police outlawed the sense of humor 5 stars
4/13/15 jokerass lol 1 stars
3/13/14 SpyVito Saw this in a theatre in 74 and it was a riot. Nothing like it before. 5 stars
5/30/11 zenny Brilliantly stupid. Idiotically genius. A craptabulous classic. 5 stars
8/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Funny funny funny. 5 stars
5/20/10 PAUL SHORTT HILARIOUS WESTERN SPOOF 4 stars
2/08/10 art PETER BOYLES 'YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN'S MONSTER'' IS A RIP OFF OF MONGO! 1 1 stars
11/07/09 Jeff Wilder Brooks best and one of the best comedies ever. 5 stars
11/02/09 art ONLY FOR HALFWIT"S! 1 stars
2/04/09 Dale "No dagnabit dang varmits! I said the sheriff is a ni*BONG*!" 5 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White wilder at his best hilarious 5 stars
4/10/07 jared barton this film is comedy the way it should be done. Absolutely hilarious 5 stars
4/10/07 Howard Berkowitz The first two DVDs I bought were Blazing Saddles and Casablanca 5 stars
3/18/07 Seth My favorite movie. Ever. 5 stars
1/21/07 David A. One of the greatest comedies of all times--it never gets old! 5 stars
10/28/06 Joe They said you was HUNG!!! and they was RIGHT! 5 stars
8/15/06 allen thompson screw politically correct, this film is 110% funny 5 stars
7/18/06 David Cohen Warning, if you are uptight and full of yourself you will hate this movie, otherwise enjoy 5 stars
6/08/06 Peggy Doty LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT IT 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Hands down, the funniest movie ever! 5 stars
11/12/05 Mongo "Excuse me while I whip this out!" 5 stars
9/28/05 Landshark When Mel was the Twain of film. 5 stars
8/19/05 Daveeeee Still funny all these years later. Gleefully offensive and obnoxious. 5 stars
3/25/05 indrid cold Possibly the most overrated comedy of all time. 2 stars
1/26/05 Just a Girl Too racist and sexist to be considered funny in any era, or at any age!!! 1 stars
10/08/04 Salina Harrison One of the funniest movies of all time. 5 stars
10/07/04 mog absolute classic 5 stars
9/20/04 Heather Best Comedy/Parody of all time 5 stars
8/08/04 Stevo "We'll take the niggers and the chinks, but we won't take the Irish!" 5 stars
7/10/04 EricDSnider Hysterically, outrageously funny. 5 stars
6/26/04 cinkcool great flick 5 stars
5/01/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it Richard Pryor makes what would have been an OK Mel Brooks movie a classic 5 stars
4/28/04 X I nearly died laughing 5 stars
2/26/04 Kyle Oh Lord, this was great! 5 stars
8/19/03 AD Sheriff murdered, crops burned, stores looted, people stampeded, and cattle raped 5 stars
6/18/03 Andrew Callaway Known for being Mel's greatest.... and might be. 5 stars
6/08/03 earl hoffert yrp 5 stars
5/29/03 John Aster Habig classless satire at its best 5 stars
5/02/03 GOD thou shalt see this movie, and love it 5 stars
4/10/03 Shea funn 5 stars
4/09/03 JL Hilarious! I laugh outloud any time i remember watching it! 5 stars
3/04/03 felina it rocked 5 stars
2/26/03 matt kerr for those who truly love comedy, freaking hilarious. 5 stars
1/29/03 Pinkline Jones The world's longest fart joke and funny pht pht it certainly ain't! 1 stars
11/09/02 Stevo 'Never mind that shit... here comes Mungo!' 5 stars
6/29/02 NW Key One of the Greats 5 stars
6/10/02 Brian Jacobson One of Mel Brook's best! 5 stars
5/27/02 Charles Tatum Funny...but not THAT funny 4 stars
4/25/02 Milo Spleen Muy Groovey 5 stars
4/13/02 Brad I'm only 13 and I loved blazing saddles! One of the best movies of all time!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/02/02 lauren mccreight a bit dated but mel brooks is a legend 3 stars
3/05/02 Alan Smithee While Young Frankenstein is still my favorite, this one is a genuine classic. 5 stars
3/03/02 Butterbean I love the hell out of this movie! 5 stars
2/17/02 Clarance A genuine classic! 5 stars
1/25/02 murat funny vulgar but get lost at the chess scene the fight at the end rocks 4 stars
1/17/02 David A. I want to give Mel Brooks a laurel and hearty handshake for this one! SUPER COMEDY! 5 stars
1/15/02 MF 'scuse me while I whip this out! 5 stars
1/10/02 Mary Hartery Have loved Blazing Saddles since its debut--one of funniest + perverse movies ever made! 5 stars
12/17/01 Evil Bitchwoman Well, its the best western but the laughs are mostly los on non-western fanatics 4 stars
12/14/01 Mark The best western without a doubt, and it's funny too! 5 stars
12/07/01 Baron Pizza The sheriff's a nigger! what?! I think he said, the sheriff's near! 5 stars
11/28/01 surfimp It's ta-whooo...it's ta-whooo! 5 stars
11/26/01 Bill Gold The funniest damn movie that I've ever seen !!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/11/01 Jaimie Eh...it was ok 3 stars
10/25/01 shep_ramsay this one is a dozzy 5 stars
10/25/01 G-FRESH!! "thats that uppity nigger that hit me in the head with a shovel!!" 5 stars
10/02/01 Kirk This is such a funny movie. I love spoofs. . . especially Blazing Saddles. 5 stars
9/18/01 Butterbean Classic! Classic! Classic!!! You gotta love Korman in this one! 5 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg There are just so many great lines in this film . 5 stars
6/10/01 Graham Smith very funny film, Mel Brooks at his best,.( you must see it) 5 stars
3/22/01 K Hebron Loved it 5 stars
3/17/01 Borscht Svelte Fucking funniest movie ever made. Little & Wilder are the ultimate duo, & Harvey is perfect 5 stars
3/04/01 Croweater I love this movie its so silly! (belch)'Can we have some more beans mister taggart?' (parp) 5 stars
2/15/01 R.W. Welch First rate absurdist comedy, totally irreverent and incorrect, of course. 5 stars
11/02/00 Chris M. Funniest movie ever made. No matter how many times I see it I never get tired of it. 5 stars
10/27/00 TJ St John SCUSE ME WHILE I WHIP THIS OUT 5 stars
10/22/00 YOUR Movie Expert Baked Beans-Farting Stuff is great....This is THE BEST Mel Brooks! 5 stars
10/17/00 master.node Must be the funniest movie ever made, cuz I can't think of a funnier. 5 stars
10/01/00 Matt I'm sorry, but fifteen is my limit on schnitzingluben! 5 stars
10/01/00 Mrs. Jolene Lampson I thought that the movie was very contraversial for the 70's. but it was so funny!! 4 stars
9/12/00 Bryan Itzkowitz This movie is great! 5 stars
6/29/00 Gary One of the all time greatest comedies 5 stars
3/26/00 MICHAEL SKY-EAGLE SMITH Pickens steals the show 5 stars
3/07/00 J. Alán Blankenship One of the funniest movies of all time... 5 stars
3/06/00 Owen Broadhurst Brilliant Funny film 5 stars
1/14/00 halah i laughed my ass offt at 4yrs and i'm still laughing my ass off at 24yrs.... thanks dad! 5 stars
11/22/99 Weird Andy Insert gut laugh here 5 stars
11/18/99 lynn ancell one of the best ! 5 stars
5/13/99 ras_jose@yahoo.com one of funniest movies ever,remember "campfire &beans"scene?ending was a let-down, though. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Feb-1974 (R)
  DVD: 29-Jun-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast