More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.83

Awesome: 26.13%
Worth A Look: 14.41%
Average: 7.21%
Pretty Bad: 20.72%
Total Crap31.53%

5 reviews, 81 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Joe Dirt
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Is it really praise to call this one of the 'better' SNL movies?"
3 stars

So I got ready to watch yet another SNL-refugee movie and guess what happened? I laughed. Yes, the movie is definitely on the low end of the cinematic food chain, but heck. If a movie makes me laugh at least 6 times, I can't be too hard on it. (If you dislike David Spade, avoid this movie like 5 plagues.)

As I've stated before, I'm not highbrow. I can get behind a good poop joke with the most hyperactive 14-year-olds out there. Fart noises can leave me with tears streaming down my cheeks, I often find myself embarrassed by the things that make me laugh. Now, before you dismiss me as a juvenile imbecile, please understand that I absolutely loathed The Animal and Freddy Got Fingered, so I'm not entirely insane.

I told you all that so I could tell you this:

Joe Dirt ain't half-bad. While it will most assuredly please the fans of David Spade (Saturday Night Live, Lost and Found), don't be surprised if those unfamiliar with Spade's shtick find a little low-rent comedy worth seeing.

Among the recent SNL flicks, Joe Dirt actually ranks pretty high. Yes, it's moronic and borderline insipid, but solid laughs go a long way. OK, "solid laughs" might be a little extreme, but I had a pretty good time with Joe Dirt. Hey, I was stunned by the realization as well!

The plot is your typical farce framework you've seen a dozen times before: Underdog hero navigates the country and meeting up with a host of goofy characters before coming a folk hero. If you look a bit closely, Joe Dirt intermittently comes off as a subtle satire of Forrest Gump. (Yes, I used the word 'subtle' to describe a David Spade movie. Weird, eh?)

Scatological humor is rather subjective, so I wouldn't be shocked if the average moviegoer dismissed Joe Dirt entirely. Perhaps this news sheds a bit too much light on my deranged psyche, but I laughed at most of the doody jokes. Straying a bit from his patented 'smarmy jerk' routine, Spade actually manages to create a character! Nobody's about to mistake Spade for Edward Norton, but give a little credit where it's due.

Sprinkled throughout Dirt's bizarre travels are a colorful collection of white-trash characters. As Joe searches the country for his estranged parents (who abandoned him in a Grand Canyon garbage can when he was a young boy), he meets up with a clueless fireworks salesman, a trailer-park harlot who may or may not be his sister, a creepy school janitor and an acerbic radio show host. Every time the film drags to a sloppy delay, a new face pops up and the resulting antics are generally entertaining.

(My favorite sequence involves Joe and a massive septic tank strapped to his back. As the feces cover his whole head, Joe is heard muttering "Oh...help me...how much doody is in there?" I had tears streaming down my face, Lord help me.)

Spade's fairly amusing throughout, but he's far from the whole show. Michael Beach (Smoke Signals) gains a few smiles as the near-sighted Indian, Christopher Walken (The Suicide Kings) is a non-stop trip as the mysterious janitor and the luminous Jaime Pressley (Ringmaster) is nothing short of delightful. Dennis Miller (Murder at 1600) adds some welcome nastiness as the sarcastic radio host, and newcomer Brittany Daniel (The Basketball Diaries) is simply wonderful to look at. Also keep an eye peeled for a mixed bad of cameo appearances, including Hamilton Camp, Rosanna Arquette, Kid Rock, Kevin Nealon and Joe Don Baker. (And yes, that's Erik Per Sullivan - Dewey from Malcolm in the Middle - as the young Joe Dirt.)

Oh well, I liked an entirely crappy movie. Sue me. The direction can best be described as "tripod-like" and the movie isn't likely to be remembered come Oscar time...but if you find yourself laughing at your own flatulence from time to time, you might find Joe Dirt to be a lot more entertaining than it looks.

With a fantastic 70's soundtrack, a quick pace and a surprisingly evident "soft side", Joe Dirt is a heck of a lot better than it looks. (Well, given the trailers, that's certainly no mean feat.) Bottom Line: If Joe Dirt is the kind of comedy you like to rent...you'll get your money's worth. This one is certainly more entertaining than anything starring that Rob Schneider.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1868&reviewer=128
originally posted: 11/16/01 11:28:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/11/14 PAUL SHORTT JUVENILE JUNK 1 stars
12/31/12 david stiefel best stupid movie of the year 5 stars
6/27/11 Jennifer Barr This is one of my all time favorite movies....extremely funny! 5 stars
5/08/09 art A MOVIE ABOUT SOME JACKASS! 1 stars
3/21/09 WiseGuy Stupid funny 5 stars
9/26/08 Shaun Wallner This film is hilarious!! 5 stars
3/29/08 Pamela White Spade is so sad 2 stars
4/03/07 amber George if is good 2 stars
1/01/07 johnnyfog baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad 1 stars
7/23/06 Bob Septic tank scene sums it up. You're Joe. The tank is the film, smothering you with crap. 1 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor I thought Spades career was over after SNL 1 stars
4/15/06 Peter You have to be retarded to think this is funny 1 stars
8/20/05 ES you could tell by the trailer 2 stars
11/09/04 Hahahahahahahahah ffffffffuuuuuuuuuunnnnnnnnnnyyyyyyyy shit 4 stars
10/10/04 Monster W. Kung Unfunny, pathetic rubbish. 1 stars
5/22/04 andy can your mother sew? 5 stars
5/21/04 zak it put the lotion on the skin! 5 stars
5/11/04 J.Peckerfoot I give every film a chance.i like some very dumb movies.this is not one of them. 2 stars
4/27/04 Mike Dude, dont take it so seriously and its actually pretty funny 4 stars
2/22/04 Geo78665 Starts out quite good, then goes down the drain, but the Walken and Pressley bits work. 3 stars
1/28/04 Spavid Dade I suck but Hollywood keeps paying me for having no discernible talent. I suck & I happy. 1 stars
1/15/04 J Hilarious!!!!! But David Spade is a little worm!!! *** 5 stars
12/25/03 kid rock this movie fucking rocks 5 stars
11/12/03 Mike so horrible it made me want to kill my family and mail them to david spade 1 stars
11/11/03 josh such an awesome movie, why dont you losers actually give it a chance LIFES A GARDEN DIG IT! 5 stars
10/01/03 Samuel Justus I got the POO on ME !!!!! Right on ! 5 stars
9/18/03 HUGH Brandy was worth it every thing else sucked 1 stars
5/01/03 Jim Louis This movie is a cult to me and my cousin and it is so pimp that i base 45% of my life toit 5 stars
4/01/03 Jack Sommersby For once, I hated a David Spade film. 1 stars
1/23/03 David Spade I wrote and starred in this movie, and even I thought it sucked! 1 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig it doesn't get any crappier 1 stars
12/14/02 spacecowboy for the mullet i'll give it > 2 stars
10/30/02 Jeremy This movie was awesome me and my friends cant figure out if that junky car is a Superbird o 5 stars
10/18/02 Rhi Great Movie 5 stars
9/27/02 knuckles baloneys Are you poeple kidding? 1 stars
9/09/02 James Kelsey Another funny stupid movie, but Brittney Daniels and Jamie Pressley make up for it. 4 stars
4/19/02 Monday Morning Compared to suckball Adam Sandler's movies, this is terrific. 4 stars
4/08/02 stoolie-bird for shitheads only! 1 stars
4/01/02 Joe Schulz Kid Rock Can eat my ass, and so can you 2 stars
2/09/02 U S Marcia as fartwarming as a harse - eh - heartwarming as a farse can be! 5 stars
1/16/02 David A. Has some funny parts. Is his car a Daytona or a Superbird? 4 stars
12/29/01 Dashteifel This site should be called JoeBitchSlap.com 5 stars
11/28/01 C.B rocked 5 stars
11/23/01 Joe dirt 2 who so ever hates this movie should stop watching it dumbasses 5 stars
10/16/01 Andrew Carden Totally Unfunny and Gross Movie That Has No Point To It Whatsoever. 1 stars
10/16/01 Mr. Hat "Joe Dirt" rocked! 4 stars
9/27/01 t.b. Ok, I know there was a lot of bathroom jokes but this movie was damn funny! 4 stars
9/25/01 Luke Ashley This movie was funny as fucking hell! 5 stars
9/24/01 matt Elliott Brittney You are really hot 5 stars
9/24/01 bob brandy is hot 5 stars
9/16/01 Bri Good, but needs to be r nice babes 4 stars
9/16/01 zack fucking awesome! 5 stars
9/10/01 Girl 9 Joe Dirt is Joe Fuckin Stupid! Is this a comedy or a look at lame white-trash cliches?! 1 stars
9/09/01 Ronnie the movie was funny as hell 4 stars
9/08/01 matt smith It's one to add to the collection 5 stars
9/05/01 josh brown fucking awesome 5 stars
8/24/01 Scott If you like SNL then you will like this movie 4 stars
8/07/01 Nicole Kaylor This would have to be the funnest movie I've ever seen 10 x. I love all the characters. 5 stars
7/01/01 chels overall it was a pretty good movie really funny and great acting by david spade 4 stars
6/25/01 malcolm a few funnies, but pretty dumb overall 2 stars
5/27/01 hum oh the pain! 1 stars
5/26/01 viking for undiscerning morons only 1 stars
5/24/01 TRACEY CAN'T REALLY DECIDE WETHER I LIKE IT OR NOT.... IT HAD IT'S MOMENTS THAT WERE VERY FUNNY , 2 stars
5/22/01 brad the only reason i watched the movie is because brittney daniel is FINE 2 stars
5/14/01 jasen i havent seen the movie yet cuz it an't out hey in new zealand but so want 2 c it 5 stars
5/13/01 Chris A Good Time 4 stars
5/13/01 y2mckay Makes Freddy got Fingered look Highbrow. Dennis Miller and Chris Walken only saving graces. 1 stars
5/07/01 Will I Fuckin' loved it..... take it for what it is ..... 5 stars
4/23/01 siro This movie should've been alot better, but it gets points for being so lowbrow... 3 stars
4/22/01 Todd Sauers This movie is very painful to look at. 1 stars
4/19/01 Greg Weak storyline but funny parts you'll be talking about for a long time. 5 stars
4/18/01 Jes very funny 4 stars
4/16/01 Rampage should have been called Joe Stupid 2 stars
4/15/01 Mike YALK INTO THE MICROPHONE>>I GOT ANOTHER ONE RIGHT HERE 5 stars
4/15/01 Mike Russell One Damn Good Movie.. a Must See !!! 5 stars
4/14/01 Happy Better than I thought 4 stars
4/14/01 Billy A little better than Deuce Biggelow Male Jilggelo 1 stars
4/13/01 Ben Ryan What a piece of shit. 1 stars
4/13/01 rogue pretty damn funny 4 stars
4/13/01 Blake "The Bitch" Ward Not great, but really fucking funny, I'll say that much. 4 stars
4/13/01 hawkman im a bigger redneck than spade. cast me with brittany next time. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-2001 (PG-13)
  DVD: 25-Jul-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-May-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast