More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.83

Awesome: 26.13%
Worth A Look: 14.41%
Average: 7.21%
Pretty Bad: 20.72%
Total Crap31.53%

5 reviews, 81 user ratings



Joe Dirt
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Down and Dirt-y, just like you'd expect."
2 stars

It's come to a day and age where reviewing something like "Joe Dirt" should be as simple as something along the lines of: It comes from Adam Sandler's Happy Madison productions, it stars David Spade --yes, it's that type of humor, so in others words, follow the drill accordingly.

But then where's the challenge? "Joe Dirt" is the saga of Joe Dirt (Spade) --sometimes Joe Dirte for accented flair, who has been trying to find his parents that left him in a trash can at the Grand Canon decades ago. Some might call him indomitable and plucky, while I'd settle for blind and naive. Since the dereliction, he has made his way to Hollywood, California and lives between his rusty car and the janitor's closet at KXLA where he cleans. By chance, the mullet wearing, white-trash dweeb interests radio-talk show host Zander Kelly (Dennis Miller), more of a Howard Stern than a Jeff and Jer, into giving us the inside-story of his unappealing presence and provenance. All of his accounts, range from a degree of wildness: from his cecity to the love of gorgeous, tan country gal Brandy (Brittney Daniel), to the partnership with a fireworks-selling Indian, all the way to working for a Mafioso in the Witness Protection Program (Christopher Walken) and a run-in with Buffalo Bob in a side-story "Silence of the Lambs" decided to omit.

The interaction between Joe and Zander in the radio station, and Zander's scathing, mean-spirited comments are actually pretty funny, running along the lines you would expect from a haughty radio-show host. The scripting is more clever there than anywhere else in the movie, and its copacetic integration into the movie is quite surprising. The other highlight is with Walken, a very talented actor who always seems to choose the wrong comedies to unleash his funny side. (Remember "Blast from the Past?") However, he brightens up the some of "Joe Dirt" where you would least expect it.

Otherwise, everything else in "Joe Dirt" is the low-gear humor you would expect; everything from trash jokes to white-trash jokes to erections, dog's testicles frozen to the floor outside, incest gags, lots of turd gags (in the form of meteors or toxic A-bombs), etc., etc., etc. Everything you've come to expect from Adam Sandler, David Spade, Rob Schneider, or other SNL alumni.

Spade has proved he is quite talented on the TV show "Just Shoot Me," which when I have the time to watch, think he's hilarious as Finch. But that's strictly as a performer of someone else's material, and not his, like here. He doesn't even look as though the toil his Joe Dirt faces in this is any fun, and similar to his days on SNL, he looks like he's reading off of cue cards during the majority of the movie. Daniel, virtually an unknown, is an enjoyable method-like type. She's pretty and she has an appeal that smoothly fits her (senseless) character.

There's little I can do to deter any interest people of the aforementioned comedians/actors may have, and if this has their attention, it will most likely please them. And those who don't, will doubtfully find there way to watching this.

With Adam Beach, Jaime Pressly, Erik Per Sullivan, Kid Rock, Brian Thompson, and a cameo by Carson Daly via TRL, just like that in "Josie and the Pussycats."

Final Verdict: D+.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1868&reviewer=172
originally posted: 04/14/01 10:33:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/11/14 PAUL SHORTT JUVENILE JUNK 1 stars
12/31/12 david stiefel best stupid movie of the year 5 stars
6/27/11 Jennifer Barr This is one of my all time favorite movies....extremely funny! 5 stars
5/08/09 art A MOVIE ABOUT SOME JACKASS! 1 stars
3/21/09 WiseGuy Stupid funny 5 stars
9/26/08 Shaun Wallner This film is hilarious!! 5 stars
3/29/08 Pamela White Spade is so sad 2 stars
4/03/07 amber George if is good 2 stars
1/01/07 johnnyfog baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad 1 stars
7/23/06 Bob Septic tank scene sums it up. You're Joe. The tank is the film, smothering you with crap. 1 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor I thought Spades career was over after SNL 1 stars
4/15/06 Peter You have to be retarded to think this is funny 1 stars
8/20/05 ES you could tell by the trailer 2 stars
11/09/04 Hahahahahahahahah ffffffffuuuuuuuuuunnnnnnnnnnyyyyyyyy shit 4 stars
10/10/04 Monster W. Kung Unfunny, pathetic rubbish. 1 stars
5/22/04 andy can your mother sew? 5 stars
5/21/04 zak it put the lotion on the skin! 5 stars
5/11/04 J.Peckerfoot I give every film a chance.i like some very dumb movies.this is not one of them. 2 stars
4/27/04 Mike Dude, dont take it so seriously and its actually pretty funny 4 stars
2/22/04 Geo78665 Starts out quite good, then goes down the drain, but the Walken and Pressley bits work. 3 stars
1/28/04 Spavid Dade I suck but Hollywood keeps paying me for having no discernible talent. I suck & I happy. 1 stars
1/15/04 J Hilarious!!!!! But David Spade is a little worm!!! *** 5 stars
12/25/03 kid rock this movie fucking rocks 5 stars
11/12/03 Mike so horrible it made me want to kill my family and mail them to david spade 1 stars
11/11/03 josh such an awesome movie, why dont you losers actually give it a chance LIFES A GARDEN DIG IT! 5 stars
10/01/03 Samuel Justus I got the POO on ME !!!!! Right on ! 5 stars
9/18/03 HUGH Brandy was worth it every thing else sucked 1 stars
5/01/03 Jim Louis This movie is a cult to me and my cousin and it is so pimp that i base 45% of my life toit 5 stars
4/01/03 Jack Sommersby For once, I hated a David Spade film. 1 stars
1/23/03 David Spade I wrote and starred in this movie, and even I thought it sucked! 1 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig it doesn't get any crappier 1 stars
12/14/02 spacecowboy for the mullet i'll give it > 2 stars
10/30/02 Jeremy This movie was awesome me and my friends cant figure out if that junky car is a Superbird o 5 stars
10/18/02 Rhi Great Movie 5 stars
9/27/02 knuckles baloneys Are you poeple kidding? 1 stars
9/09/02 James Kelsey Another funny stupid movie, but Brittney Daniels and Jamie Pressley make up for it. 4 stars
4/19/02 Monday Morning Compared to suckball Adam Sandler's movies, this is terrific. 4 stars
4/08/02 stoolie-bird for shitheads only! 1 stars
4/01/02 Joe Schulz Kid Rock Can eat my ass, and so can you 2 stars
2/09/02 U S Marcia as fartwarming as a harse - eh - heartwarming as a farse can be! 5 stars
1/16/02 David A. Has some funny parts. Is his car a Daytona or a Superbird? 4 stars
12/29/01 Dashteifel This site should be called JoeBitchSlap.com 5 stars
11/28/01 C.B rocked 5 stars
11/23/01 Joe dirt 2 who so ever hates this movie should stop watching it dumbasses 5 stars
10/16/01 Andrew Carden Totally Unfunny and Gross Movie That Has No Point To It Whatsoever. 1 stars
10/16/01 Mr. Hat "Joe Dirt" rocked! 4 stars
9/27/01 t.b. Ok, I know there was a lot of bathroom jokes but this movie was damn funny! 4 stars
9/25/01 Luke Ashley This movie was funny as fucking hell! 5 stars
9/24/01 matt Elliott Brittney You are really hot 5 stars
9/24/01 bob brandy is hot 5 stars
9/16/01 Bri Good, but needs to be r nice babes 4 stars
9/16/01 zack fucking awesome! 5 stars
9/10/01 Girl 9 Joe Dirt is Joe Fuckin Stupid! Is this a comedy or a look at lame white-trash cliches?! 1 stars
9/09/01 Ronnie the movie was funny as hell 4 stars
9/08/01 matt smith It's one to add to the collection 5 stars
9/05/01 josh brown fucking awesome 5 stars
8/24/01 Scott If you like SNL then you will like this movie 4 stars
8/07/01 Nicole Kaylor This would have to be the funnest movie I've ever seen 10 x. I love all the characters. 5 stars
7/01/01 chels overall it was a pretty good movie really funny and great acting by david spade 4 stars
6/25/01 malcolm a few funnies, but pretty dumb overall 2 stars
5/27/01 hum oh the pain! 1 stars
5/26/01 viking for undiscerning morons only 1 stars
5/24/01 TRACEY CAN'T REALLY DECIDE WETHER I LIKE IT OR NOT.... IT HAD IT'S MOMENTS THAT WERE VERY FUNNY , 2 stars
5/22/01 brad the only reason i watched the movie is because brittney daniel is FINE 2 stars
5/14/01 jasen i havent seen the movie yet cuz it an't out hey in new zealand but so want 2 c it 5 stars
5/13/01 Chris A Good Time 4 stars
5/13/01 y2mckay Makes Freddy got Fingered look Highbrow. Dennis Miller and Chris Walken only saving graces. 1 stars
5/07/01 Will I Fuckin' loved it..... take it for what it is ..... 5 stars
4/23/01 siro This movie should've been alot better, but it gets points for being so lowbrow... 3 stars
4/22/01 Todd Sauers This movie is very painful to look at. 1 stars
4/19/01 Greg Weak storyline but funny parts you'll be talking about for a long time. 5 stars
4/18/01 Jes very funny 4 stars
4/16/01 Rampage should have been called Joe Stupid 2 stars
4/15/01 Mike YALK INTO THE MICROPHONE>>I GOT ANOTHER ONE RIGHT HERE 5 stars
4/15/01 Mike Russell One Damn Good Movie.. a Must See !!! 5 stars
4/14/01 Happy Better than I thought 4 stars
4/14/01 Billy A little better than Deuce Biggelow Male Jilggelo 1 stars
4/13/01 Ben Ryan What a piece of shit. 1 stars
4/13/01 rogue pretty damn funny 4 stars
4/13/01 Blake "The Bitch" Ward Not great, but really fucking funny, I'll say that much. 4 stars
4/13/01 hawkman im a bigger redneck than spade. cast me with brittany next time. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-2001 (PG-13)
  DVD: 25-Jul-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-May-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast