More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.83

Awesome: 26.13%
Worth A Look: 14.41%
Average: 7.21%
Pretty Bad: 20.72%
Total Crap31.53%

5 reviews, 81 user ratings



Joe Dirt
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Matt Mulcahey

"Spade sinks low-brow humor to disgusting new depths"
1 stars

I have never walked out of a movie. Never. And Iíve seen some all-time turkeys at the multiplex. I sat through Cabin Boy, Clifford, Almost Heroes and Double Team without skulking out. I didnít walk out of Joe Dirt, but I should have. I stayed until the end because thatís my job. I sit through terrible, boring, unbearable movies to tell you how horrendous they are so you donít have to find out for yourself.

Most people have better things to do with their time than suffer
through a bad movie. I, however, do not. So instead of just telling you ďFor the love of God donít see this movieĒ Iím actually going to write about the plot and throw out some clever diatribes for your entertainment.

Joe Dirt is the story of a quintessential redneckís search for his parents who abandoned him at the Grand Canyon when he was eight. Apparently, Dirt (David Spade) just kind of wandered the land for the duration of his childhood like some kind of Johnny Moron Seed.

The story unfolds in flashback as janitor Dirt recants his tale of woe on the air to a radio shock jock (the usually funny Dennis Miller going down in flames).

Being the film was executive produced by Adam Sandler, the brand of humor in store shouldnít come as any surprise. But no matter how idiotic and mindless Sandlerís films, they are usually funny.

Joe Dirt is not. The film basically consists of fart jokes (cow farts, no less), frozen airplane poop jokes, mobile home septic tank jokes and dog testicle jokes (think Jeff Danielís tongue from Dumb and Dumber).

Spadeís character, with his mullet wig (donít ask), acid-wash jeans and Def Leppard T-shirt, is more pathetic than humorous. Spade only plays one character well: the smart ass. The same character that worked in Tommy Boy and to a lesser extent in Black Sheep, Senseless and PCU. The same character he plays on ďJust Shoot Me.Ē The only character heís ever played with any success.

Since I had to sit through the entirety of this fiasco, I came up with some of my own little games to entertain myself.

I tried counting the excrement jokes, but just couldnít keep up.

For a while I tried to think of comedies that are worse than this one.Hot to Trot, the Police Academy sequels, Carrot Top in Chairman of the Board, Chevy Chase movies from the last decade, etc.

After that I tried to decide at exactly what point Fred Ward stopped being a respected actor (Short Cuts, The Player, Henry & June, The Right Stuff) and started appearing in movies like Road Trip and Joe Dirt.

At the end, I came up with some new movie laws.

One: No matter how god-awful a movie is, Christopher Walken is fun to watch.

Two: David Spade should stick to being a smart ass.

Three: Carson Daly and Kid Rock should never again be allowed to
appear in a movie.

Even the type of low-IQ rednecks that the film lampoons wonít find Joe Dirt funny. Theyíll find themselves scratching their mulleted heads on the way to their Trans Am thinking ďThere goes an hour and a half of my life and seven bucks I couldíve spent on Pabst Blue Ribbon.Ē

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1868&reviewer=255
originally posted: 04/18/01 15:32:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/11/14 PAUL SHORTT JUVENILE JUNK 1 stars
12/31/12 david stiefel best stupid movie of the year 5 stars
6/27/11 Jennifer Barr This is one of my all time favorite movies....extremely funny! 5 stars
5/08/09 art A MOVIE ABOUT SOME JACKASS! 1 stars
3/21/09 WiseGuy Stupid funny 5 stars
9/26/08 Shaun Wallner This film is hilarious!! 5 stars
3/29/08 Pamela White Spade is so sad 2 stars
4/03/07 amber George if is good 2 stars
1/01/07 johnnyfog baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad 1 stars
7/23/06 Bob Septic tank scene sums it up. You're Joe. The tank is the film, smothering you with crap. 1 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor I thought Spades career was over after SNL 1 stars
4/15/06 Peter You have to be retarded to think this is funny 1 stars
8/20/05 ES you could tell by the trailer 2 stars
11/09/04 Hahahahahahahahah ffffffffuuuuuuuuuunnnnnnnnnnyyyyyyyy shit 4 stars
10/10/04 Monster W. Kung Unfunny, pathetic rubbish. 1 stars
5/22/04 andy can your mother sew? 5 stars
5/21/04 zak it put the lotion on the skin! 5 stars
5/11/04 J.Peckerfoot I give every film a chance.i like some very dumb movies.this is not one of them. 2 stars
4/27/04 Mike Dude, dont take it so seriously and its actually pretty funny 4 stars
2/22/04 Geo78665 Starts out quite good, then goes down the drain, but the Walken and Pressley bits work. 3 stars
1/28/04 Spavid Dade I suck but Hollywood keeps paying me for having no discernible talent. I suck & I happy. 1 stars
1/15/04 J Hilarious!!!!! But David Spade is a little worm!!! *** 5 stars
12/25/03 kid rock this movie fucking rocks 5 stars
11/12/03 Mike so horrible it made me want to kill my family and mail them to david spade 1 stars
11/11/03 josh such an awesome movie, why dont you losers actually give it a chance LIFES A GARDEN DIG IT! 5 stars
10/01/03 Samuel Justus I got the POO on ME !!!!! Right on ! 5 stars
9/18/03 HUGH Brandy was worth it every thing else sucked 1 stars
5/01/03 Jim Louis This movie is a cult to me and my cousin and it is so pimp that i base 45% of my life toit 5 stars
4/01/03 Jack Sommersby For once, I hated a David Spade film. 1 stars
1/23/03 David Spade I wrote and starred in this movie, and even I thought it sucked! 1 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig it doesn't get any crappier 1 stars
12/14/02 spacecowboy for the mullet i'll give it > 2 stars
10/30/02 Jeremy This movie was awesome me and my friends cant figure out if that junky car is a Superbird o 5 stars
10/18/02 Rhi Great Movie 5 stars
9/27/02 knuckles baloneys Are you poeple kidding? 1 stars
9/09/02 James Kelsey Another funny stupid movie, but Brittney Daniels and Jamie Pressley make up for it. 4 stars
4/19/02 Monday Morning Compared to suckball Adam Sandler's movies, this is terrific. 4 stars
4/08/02 stoolie-bird for shitheads only! 1 stars
4/01/02 Joe Schulz Kid Rock Can eat my ass, and so can you 2 stars
2/09/02 U S Marcia as fartwarming as a harse - eh - heartwarming as a farse can be! 5 stars
1/16/02 David A. Has some funny parts. Is his car a Daytona or a Superbird? 4 stars
12/29/01 Dashteifel This site should be called JoeBitchSlap.com 5 stars
11/28/01 C.B rocked 5 stars
11/23/01 Joe dirt 2 who so ever hates this movie should stop watching it dumbasses 5 stars
10/16/01 Andrew Carden Totally Unfunny and Gross Movie That Has No Point To It Whatsoever. 1 stars
10/16/01 Mr. Hat "Joe Dirt" rocked! 4 stars
9/27/01 t.b. Ok, I know there was a lot of bathroom jokes but this movie was damn funny! 4 stars
9/25/01 Luke Ashley This movie was funny as fucking hell! 5 stars
9/24/01 matt Elliott Brittney You are really hot 5 stars
9/24/01 bob brandy is hot 5 stars
9/16/01 Bri Good, but needs to be r nice babes 4 stars
9/16/01 zack fucking awesome! 5 stars
9/10/01 Girl 9 Joe Dirt is Joe Fuckin Stupid! Is this a comedy or a look at lame white-trash cliches?! 1 stars
9/09/01 Ronnie the movie was funny as hell 4 stars
9/08/01 matt smith It's one to add to the collection 5 stars
9/05/01 josh brown fucking awesome 5 stars
8/24/01 Scott If you like SNL then you will like this movie 4 stars
8/07/01 Nicole Kaylor This would have to be the funnest movie I've ever seen 10 x. I love all the characters. 5 stars
7/01/01 chels overall it was a pretty good movie really funny and great acting by david spade 4 stars
6/25/01 malcolm a few funnies, but pretty dumb overall 2 stars
5/27/01 hum oh the pain! 1 stars
5/26/01 viking for undiscerning morons only 1 stars
5/24/01 TRACEY CAN'T REALLY DECIDE WETHER I LIKE IT OR NOT.... IT HAD IT'S MOMENTS THAT WERE VERY FUNNY , 2 stars
5/22/01 brad the only reason i watched the movie is because brittney daniel is FINE 2 stars
5/14/01 jasen i havent seen the movie yet cuz it an't out hey in new zealand but so want 2 c it 5 stars
5/13/01 Chris A Good Time 4 stars
5/13/01 y2mckay Makes Freddy got Fingered look Highbrow. Dennis Miller and Chris Walken only saving graces. 1 stars
5/07/01 Will I Fuckin' loved it..... take it for what it is ..... 5 stars
4/23/01 siro This movie should've been alot better, but it gets points for being so lowbrow... 3 stars
4/22/01 Todd Sauers This movie is very painful to look at. 1 stars
4/19/01 Greg Weak storyline but funny parts you'll be talking about for a long time. 5 stars
4/18/01 Jes very funny 4 stars
4/16/01 Rampage should have been called Joe Stupid 2 stars
4/15/01 Mike YALK INTO THE MICROPHONE>>I GOT ANOTHER ONE RIGHT HERE 5 stars
4/15/01 Mike Russell One Damn Good Movie.. a Must See !!! 5 stars
4/14/01 Happy Better than I thought 4 stars
4/14/01 Billy A little better than Deuce Biggelow Male Jilggelo 1 stars
4/13/01 Ben Ryan What a piece of shit. 1 stars
4/13/01 rogue pretty damn funny 4 stars
4/13/01 Blake "The Bitch" Ward Not great, but really fucking funny, I'll say that much. 4 stars
4/13/01 hawkman im a bigger redneck than spade. cast me with brittany next time. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-2001 (PG-13)
  DVD: 25-Jul-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-May-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast