More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.62

Awesome: 16.56%
Worth A Look: 17.2%
Average: 15.92%
Pretty Bad: 12.74%
Total Crap37.58%

12 reviews, 85 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Coyote Ugly
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Ah, the stupidity of this movie."
2 stars

"Coyote Ugly" is the story of a naive small-town girl who follows her dream to the Big City, where she is caught up in the violent, sexual world of bartending.

Doe-eyed Violet (Piper Perabo) leaves South Amboy, N.J., for New York City, hoping to become a songwriter. Plagued by chronic stage fright, though, she can't perform the songs herself, nor can she make any headway in the music industry in order to sell them to professional singers.

So she does what any girl would do: She gets a job at a bar called Coyote Ugly, a rowdy Parthenon of rampant sexism where the bosomy bartenders don't pour drinks nearly as often as they set fire to them and douse customers with them, taking time in between to dance on the counters, act sexually toward the clientele, and break any number of other health code and fire regulations.

The place is run by tough-as-nails Lil (Maria Bello), who keeps firing and re-hiring Violet, with Violet's co-workers being the blonde tramp Cammie (Izabella Miko) and brunette dominatrix Rachel (Bridget Moynahan). All four women, together, nearly have enough personality to fill a shot glass.

Her lucrative job at the trashy bar helps Violet come out of her shell, and soon she's up on the bar, shaking her potatoes and singing along to the jukebox. Unfortunately, she still can't muster the courage to sing under normal, non-alcoholic conditions, and it seems she's doomed to work forever in this hellish anti-Cheers.

Her savior is Kevin (Adam Garcia), an Australian transplant who is happy with his layabout life in New York, and who wants to help Violet become a success. The two fall in love. Violet's protective father (John Goodman) is also in the movie, worried about his daughter in this awful environment until he finds out how much money she's making. (This is a movie with a very strange code of ethics.)

First-time director David McNally makes this film every bit as stupid as you'd think, with ample help, one supposes, from producer Jerry Bruckheimer, the King of Big, Stupid Movies ("Con Air," "Armageddon," "Gone in 60 Seconds"). It's like a 90-minute beer commercial, with sopping-wet girls in tight clothes dancing on bars while male patrons hoot their approval, occasionally taking time out to have characters talk to each other, which is generally a bad idea, since the dialogue (by first-time film writer Gina Wendkos) is as amateurish and clunky as the plot.

You want to know how Violet discovers she can sing in public as long as it's at Coyote Ugly? Things get out of hand one night -- which inexplicably comes as a huge surprise to everyone -- and while the place erupts into anarchy, a Blondie song plays on the jukebox. Violet picks up a microphone and starts singing along -- and that gets everyone to calm down and pay attention to her. She saves the day with her super karaoke powers. If you can think of a dumber thing to happen in a movie, I'd like to shake your hand.

Even for a bad movie, this one isn't very good: When it's not hilariously lame, it's rather boring. (What do you expect from a film whose only conflict is that a woman has stage fright?) Piper Perabo, who already used "The Adventures of Rocky and Bullwinkle" to prove she can't act, solidifies it here. Adam Garcia, on the other hand, has some charm about him and does what he can to make things palatable. The always-likable John Goodman helps out, too. But no amount of charm from two supporting actors is going to outweigh the badness that sits at the center of this sophomoric, dim-witted slab of concrete.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1876&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/03/03 17:11:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/16/14 who well said. pathetic movie that insults both men and women, assuming everyone is too stupid 1 stars
4/05/10 art THIS film is PATHETIC!,JUST like new jersey! 1 stars
3/18/10 PAUL SHORTT ROUTINE FANTASY/FLUFF 2 stars
5/12/09 Cody Fantastic movie. 5 stars
5/01/09 hannah omg this reviewer is an idiot! adam garcia is AUSTRALIAN douche bag! get ur facts right!! 3 stars
10/05/08 leeyoonkyoung Nose bedspread reel writing ruth loop countlessly, it saw. It is a movie of true top! 5 stars
9/04/08 Rachel I should be saying this is terrible, but I can't help but kinda loving this one. 4 stars
8/02/08 conch tangco omg im addictive to it its the best 5 stars
4/04/07 David Pollastrini Piper Perabo is hot in this! 3 stars
1/27/07 Tamara Leonard I loved the movie to own it.. Have watched countless times. 5 stars
11/29/06 amanda FANTASTIC movie! by far one of my favorites. 5 stars
8/13/06 Ari Horrible Movie 1 stars
5/26/06 Michele fun 4 stars
8/27/05 ES Women act like sluts to sell booze and survive in a man's world and that's awesome? 2 stars
7/06/05 gothboy02 great i like the chick /main 4 stars
6/07/05 y2mckay Why is it that all the "Awesome" comments are from women? Are you really all that stupid? 1 stars
12/10/04 Jason Kaul Royal crap. Wearing a crown of shit and all. But it made a ton of money 1 stars
7/17/04 legend Had low expectations but was pleasantly surprised by such a decent film. 4 stars
7/06/04 Sammi Hella awesome movie...loved everything about it! 5 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva Fun 5 stars
5/28/04 cfdfsdfsd cool 5 stars
5/07/04 wylene Boring story line 1 stars
4/15/04 Veronica Ramirez It's a pretty good movie 5 stars
4/10/04 Michelle Good songs, good story, good actors, the movie was gr8! 5 stars
3/03/04 Blondy i loved it!! wanna move 2 new york now + become a coyote :) 5 stars
2/14/04 I Would Go and get some real porn you wimps 1 stars
1/20/04 michel Will be remembered as a cult classic in the "so bad it's hilarious" category 4 stars
10/21/03 Hayley M IT is the best film i have ever seen. ITs wicked.And jack whoever you are it is COOOOOOL! 5 stars
6/23/03 Gemma kavanagh I thought it was wicked 5 stars
4/29/03 jeffrey amon this movie is great!!!! 5 stars
4/04/03 Jack Bourbon May I have your attention: WHERE WERE THE TITS? 2 stars
3/05/03 Robert Cooley if you miss this, you will live 3 stars
1/28/03 Pinkline Jones Don't watch this film if you're contemplating suicide 1 stars
7/25/02 palaboy101 I was expecting this to be UGLY but it AIN'T! 4 stars
5/23/02 Janx Besides Goodman, nobody in this movie can act worth a damn! No nudity either. Pure Shit 1 stars
5/15/02 Blake This movie deserves a 10 out of 10, it was so great. 5 stars
4/03/02 toya movie was great had a message tellin that u can do ne thing when u achive n go for it. 5 stars
4/02/02 Vitality1 Whoa! This movie has more bad acting than a Dawson's Creek episode!! 1 stars
3/25/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) This movies only objective: make teen boys hard; con teen girls out of $ w/ B.S. storyline 1 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee Nothing but a wanna-be T&A film for teenage boys. Hot chicks though......... 1 stars
2/14/02 Bob Marley never seen it 5 stars
2/02/02 trtrrt rtertrt 5 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent I thought it was going to be dumb but it was pretty good. 4 stars
12/04/01 Andrew Carden My IQ Dropped 50 Points After Watching This Mindless Crap. 1 stars
12/01/01 Mr Math I'm dumber for having seen it. 1 stars
11/25/01 the Grinch "..both ways. Which is I'm sure what they made the original screenwriter "Ha! Oz, u r KING! 1 stars
11/25/01 Senor Pescolido Really really generic and bad. At least if you're going to tease, show some skin. 2 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson A textbook example of why american women suck 1 stars
8/13/01 Ken Like a really shitty TV movie, but rated R. 1 stars
8/03/01 Chris K. Sex films are dead! And COYOTE UGLY is one of those "bad sex films" 1 stars
7/29/01 Jennifer Gaissert It's not Shakespeare, but it's cute 3 stars
7/29/01 yop l 5 stars
7/17/01 Elvisfan All plot points are in the form of brick walls falling on innocent viewers 1 stars
5/12/01 Chris The DVD has a montage of the best scenes - it lasts a little over a minute! 1 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) I'm a bartender, and if I were to pull some of these hijinks I'd be SO out on my arse... 3 stars
4/20/01 i love movies SHOWGIRLS without the jiggly! how bad can it get? 1 stars
4/16/01 Tam Cute, entertaining film with amazing bar scenes but a predictable plot. Kevin is sooo sexy! 4 stars
4/03/01 AgentDS It's entertaining and the soundtrack rocks! It's a really long video. 4 stars
3/09/01 Jake Yeah, a gem of a film. Not! 1 stars
2/15/01 Kasha I've already seen it twelve times and still love it. 5 stars
1/29/01 Nic Overall, just a great movie. I'd watch it again and again! 5 stars
1/22/01 The Bomb 69 mildly entertaining, except when she sang, ewwww!!!! 3 stars
1/03/01 RAINBOW LOVED THE FLICK' WAS FUNNY AND ENTERTAINING 4 stars
12/08/00 Jon Wendt It's terrible 1 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla want tits and ass, get a porno, want musical, get west side story, but don't get this shit 1 stars
11/21/00 Kim I loved this movie, it was cute and innocent and definately worth buying 5 stars
9/06/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Saw this flick with a chick. She hated it. 2 stars
8/23/00 Jon Wendt Possibly the worst movie I've ever seen 1 stars
8/14/00 TimmyToday PG-13! Not enough, 1 stars
8/10/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi If you're simply looking to kill a couple of hours, this is the way to do it... 3 stars
8/09/00 Poetcdh Good music, good looking stars-what's not to like 5 stars
8/09/00 PJ I volunteer this as the worst film of 2000, even worse than Battlefield Earth, suckarama!!! 1 stars
8/09/00 Manda The entire theatre was clapping and laughing with the movie. I'm going to buy this one. 5 stars
8/08/00 ibspoof As a guy I enjoyed it. 4 stars
8/08/00 Heather Keith script is rough, but very well acted 4 stars
8/07/00 **~**Persnickety**~** ok pretty lame, you can call every shot in this one 2 stars
8/07/00 bobbuttons goodman good, piper hot, tyra not. better than expected 4 stars
8/07/00 Cam A bar and hot as hell chicks wearing tighter than hell clothing. Mushy subplot for the g/f 5 stars
8/06/00 The Rock Better than the other releases...a real surprise 4 stars
8/06/00 silas without seeing this movie you'll notice that its unoriginal and proprietary(sp?) bullshit 1 stars
8/06/00 bullit17 Formulaic and not very original. But still entertaining and VERY easy on the eyes 4 stars
8/06/00 clark move over Natalie, here comes PIPER! 5 stars
8/04/00 Pub Crawler Total shallow boring poorly-made poorly-acted not even any nudity. soft core bullshit 1 stars
8/04/00 TimmyToday And I quote: "Less artsy more fartsy." 2 stars
8/03/00 Jokko Coyote Stupid. Tyra has 2 mins. of screen time, BTW. John Goodman is quite good. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Aug-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 07-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Jan-2001 (M)


Directed by
  David McNally

Written by
  Gina Wendkos
  Kevin Smith

Cast
  Piper Perabo
  Adam Alexi-Malle
  Tyra Banks
  Maria Bello
  Adam Garcia



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast