More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.42

Awesome68.79%
Worth A Look: 18.09%
Average: 4.57%
Pretty Bad: 3.18%
Total Crap: 5.37%

17 reviews, 401 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Oculus by Jay Seaver

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

Amazing Spider-Man 2, The by Daniel Kelly

Hysteria by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Good-but-not-great adventure epic."
4 stars

As a child, Ang Lee devoured the popular, time-honored wuxia novels of China -- fiction combining themes of loyalty, honor, and chivalry with lots of page-turning swordplay and adventure.

Hong Kong action cinema has been decidedly wuxia-influenced, which may be why native or Western fans of Hong Kong "flying swordsmen" movies may walk away from Lee's Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon -- his tribute to the books and movies that fed his childhood imagination -- a little underwhelmed, as opposed to many American critics, who seem overwhelmed. The movie is good, sometimes very good, but I suspect it's a masterpiece only for those who haven't seen all the earlier masterpieces that equal or surpass it.

I'm glad Crouching Tiger is here, though. For one thing, it's going to introduce a lot of people who wouldn't have seen Hard Boiled or Supercop to the undeniable star power of Chow Yun-Fat and Michelle Yeoh (both of whom have been ill-served in their forays into Yankee films). And if you've seen these giants in other films, you can't help but get buzzed watching them act together for the first time, doing what they do best, and seeing it all on the massive wide screen, immaculately shot by Peter Pau, and not dubbed into hamfisted English. It's a good way to ease newbies into the charms of Chow and Yeoh, and the gravity-defying stuntwork of Yuen Wo-Ping (The Matrix) -- Hong Kong Cinema 101.

The story is simple and classical, based (by screenwriters Wang Hui-Ling, James Schamus, and Tsai Kuo Jung) on a wuxia novel by Wang Du Lu. Master Li Mu Bai (Chow), a retired warrior, pays a visit to a nobleman friend to give him a sword -- not just any sword, but a sword that can apparently cut through anything, and has earned itself the name "Green Destiny." Mu Bai wants to leave his sword behind along with his violent past. But then the sword is stolen, and Mu Bai joins forces with old friend and unrequited love Yu Shu Lien (Yeoh) to get it back. Western minds may see Freudian meaning in this quest, but the code of this movie holds that the sword simply belongs to the man to whom it was given. Further, Mu Bai believes the thief is the legendary Jade Fox (Cheng Pei-pei), who killed his master.

A seeming subplot character who takes center stage for a while is Jen Yu (Zhang Ziyi), a bored teenager due to be married to a (probably) boring nobleman. Jen looks at the exciting Shu Lien and wants the warrior woman's freedom of movement, the lethal skills that might set her equal to men (or superior to them). She flashes back to an intoxicating time spent with a "barbarian" known as Dark Cloud (Chang Chen) -- it's good to see that teenage girls' fantasies are so consistent as to cross cultural and temporal barriers.

The high-flying action sequences have gotten a lot of ink, but again, if you've seen earlier works like John Woo's Last Hurrah for Chivalry (1978) or Ronny Yu's The Bride with White Hair (1993), there's not a lot here to boggle your eyes or mind. If you haven't, well, have fun. Some of the soaring and jumping bits are impressive; some are a little too obviously wire work. At the very least, it's refreshing to sit in an American theater and watch action sequences that strive for lyrical beauty more than routine button-pushing excitement; and it is, as always, a deep pleasure when the camera simply stands back and lets Chow Yun-Fat and Michelle Yeoh show their stuff (capably matched by young Zhang Ziyi, who's already gotten nibbles from Hollywood).

Ang Lee has done a smooth and sincere job here, bringing a sample of Hong Kong magic to art-house patrons accustomed to the likes of 'Billy Elliot,' but don't go to 'Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon' expecting a cross between 'Gone with the Wind' and 'The Seven Samurai.' It's well-done, and I suppose that's going to have to be good enough.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1877&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/27/07 08:50:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/05/13 action movie fan boring dull worthless movie 1 stars
12/08/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Made me a Ziyi Zhang fan 5 stars
5/16/08 PAUL SHORTT A FIRST RATE CHINESE ACTION FILM THAT CAN STAND WITH THE BEST OF THEM 3 stars
2/25/08 SamanthaP the fight scenes were really cool, and it was very artistically done, loved it! 5 stars
6/28/07 gr117 Gorgeous! 4 stars
3/27/07 fools♫gold A second-rate martial arts movie; there's not much to it. 2 stars
2/18/07 Regina George didn't really survive the school bus accident Just saw 2nd time&still have no idea who did what to whom&why! But walking on bamboo's cool 2 stars
1/27/07 Tamara D. Leonard I didn't care for it. 2 stars
9/06/06 Eden Worth if for the fight scenes alone 5 stars
8/03/06 pimp i hate these type of movies 2 stars
6/08/06 Peggy Doty Boring went to sleep on this one 1 stars
1/09/06 Jim coruch in corner crappy movie 1 stars
1/03/06 Wiseman This Movie should be sent back East in A Nuclear missile along with HERO, Horrific Movie!!! 1 stars
10/16/05 Quigley this is a really overrated piece of crap. watch hero instead, let this film rot and die. 1 stars
10/12/05 ad not bad 4 stars
9/27/05 John J. One of the best movies. Chow simply too cool 5 stars
9/13/05 ray mero I don't know...sometimes briefly elegant, but so effortful, so artsy. 4 stars
9/11/05 Crap Hero was just as worse These movies sucked, not worth a look at all Its sooo boring 1 stars
9/08/05 paki_munda this is so so good 5 stars
8/23/05 Quigley Hero was better. the fights were too fake. the plot made no sense. ang lee has become crap 2 stars
8/09/05 jada hooked me into Asian movies, absolutely loved it 5 stars
7/29/05 E Am I the only one who DESPISED this pathetic excuse for a movie? 1 stars
7/11/05 KELLEN MATHERS Technically groundbreaking, plot is nothing special 4 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma One of the most overrated pieces of shit I've ever seen! 1 stars
5/18/05 Doug McC If your IQ's high enough to handle subtitles, you'll love this movie 5 stars
4/21/05 Colleen Goldrick definately worth a look 4 stars
3/03/05 HORAN THE MAN cud it b anymore shit? 1 stars
1/31/05 clinger26 Fighting for a stupid sword, I rather fight for one made out of my backyard fence! 1 stars
1/31/05 Carl Gorney This movie is more geared to those who aren't familiar with this type of movie. I liked it. 5 stars
1/04/05 t-1000 bullshit; bruce lee would be rolling with laughter in his grave! 1 stars
11/07/04 teresa desmarchelier As an avid cinema goer I would rate this as one of the very best films I've ever seen 5 stars
10/15/04 Pete I don't understand the hype. I hate this movie. 1 stars
9/06/04 DM I pity the retards that don't like this movie 5 stars
8/06/04 ELI What was up with the flying people?????? This movie was STOOOOOPID 1 stars
7/21/04 dropdead the love stories were amazing 5 stars
7/20/04 Northerly Boring 2 stars
4/15/04 Daniel Alando Garcia Excellent! Great final scene - what did it mean?? 5 stars
3/31/04 sansho Marvellous entertainment, with great female leads. 5 stars
3/14/04 hannah my favorite movie 5 stars
3/08/04 R.W. Welch Fancy footwork; otherwise unimpressive. 3 stars
2/23/04 Thomas Was alright. I wasn't able to find the subitled version. 4 stars
2/20/04 Daveman Although all critics praised it, Lee's style might alienate some viewers, but FUCK THEM!!!! 5 stars
2/19/04 MP Bartley Yet more chop-socky over-rated simply because it is chop-socky. Ultimate in elitisim 3 stars
12/20/03 Pigdaddy Truckdriver I love movies with thai boys! 5 stars
12/03/03 Mr. Hat (previously Joe Zappa) The action is strikingly done, & it's good to see Chow Yun-Fat again. Good directing. 4 stars
10/27/03 Trevor Great movie. One of Ang Lee's best films. So much better than hollywood crap. 5 stars
10/16/03 Carmelita Florine die Anus die--this movie rawked 5 stars
9/30/03 jimmy d chow yun fat is ok. this movie blows 2 stars
8/19/03 AD i loved it 5 stars
8/15/03 I Would The only reasons dumbasses will diss this film is becasue it isn't shoved in their face. 5 stars
8/08/03 The main man I slept through this. Twice 1 stars
8/02/03 DM K.B., you should be shot- this movie was made for people that actually have attention spans 5 stars
7/28/03 Boomer Great movie, great action! Chow Yun did his thing!! 5 stars
7/20/03 Nicole If you thought it sucked, the storyline was probably over your head. 5 stars
7/06/03 Paul S. I `transcended` the cinema stairs in 2 effortless leaps at the end of this film! 5 stars
6/21/03 Sebastian E. One of the best! 5 stars
5/24/03 PeachFuzz Terrible movie, no amount of cool fight scenes can make you overlook a missing plot. 1 stars
5/24/03 K.B I hated this film. It was so idiotic and stupid. How could the critics like this. 2 stars
5/22/03 Black Lotus great action filled fighting scenes. 5 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon Sorry folks, but you didn't fool me. This movie was STUPID. (though I'd bang the woman) 2 stars
5/10/03 Vena Epic saga, riveting sword fight in courtyard 5 stars
4/26/03 Mooky on par with best martial art choreography i've ever seen. complex story. sweet! 5 stars
3/29/03 Ionicera Ang Lee can do no wrong 5 stars
3/23/03 Dave Cool and interesting lead characters and some kick ass martial arts. Oh, and Jen rules! 5 stars
3/20/03 Andrew Carden Woah! Wicked Good Entertainment! 5 stars
3/01/03 y2mckay Strong cast and entertaining story, but WAY too much fucking wirework. 4 stars
2/15/03 Hi there Excellent. 5 stars
2/12/03 Aussie Film Maker This film moved martial arts back 30 years. Mockery of Hong Kong cinema. 2 stars
2/11/03 Ubu the Ripper This movie invented the "Sucks All Ass" rating. Lame. Awful. Disgraceful. Horrible. 1 stars
2/03/03 kz didn't care for it. 1 stars
2/01/03 croweater Overrated. 2 of the 3 leads mandarin is very wooden and unconvincing. 3 stars
1/18/03 Jonathan Walton Jen was taught by a dishonorable theif, and not an honorable martial artist 5 stars
1/14/03 elizaveta majestically done! 5 stars
1/08/03 Mitsaso Absolute poetry. 5 stars
1/06/03 Bob Dong if i could bite my testicles off i would have, to take my mind off this fucking crap film 1 stars
12/30/02 Tam Absolutely lush! Excellent stunts, convincing performances & beautiful scenery. 5 stars
12/28/02 The Talking Elbow I hope "Bulletproof Monk" doesn't ruin this movie, oh and MsAsh you are a shitty critic. 4 stars
11/21/02 K4SHFLOW I THOUGHT BROTHERHOOD OF THE WOLF WAS BETTER 3 stars
11/17/02 Jenna Loved the specialeffects, but it could have been a little more interesting!! 4 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted The fact that Gladiator won over this is proof that the Academy are idiots. 5 stars
10/30/02 Patrick sweeeeeet! 5 stars
10/09/02 Carl M. Zapffe The best! Should have won Best Picture Oscar! 5 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Magic. Top movie! 5 stars
9/07/02 Jesus If they can fly why do they need horses? 2 stars
8/19/02 Choz Bring on a second 1, just fantastic 5 stars
8/11/02 Michael Carruthers I flew after seeing this movie 5 stars
7/27/02 sdjfsdkjf Fighting was great. Who cares about the flying. Look out the window if you want reality. 5 stars
7/12/02 Punk_Ass A Awesome movie. DO NOT SEE IT DUBED, read the subtitles. Huge difference in translations 5 stars
6/19/02 Someone who paid attention. Visually beautiful and extremely well done. 5 stars
6/07/02 Interrog8 A few good scenes but overrated, what's with the flying??? 3 stars
4/26/02 Charles Tatum Perfect 5 stars
4/06/02 Junshi Um...it didn't really "scar" me that much but it has a very few good points 3 stars
3/03/02 Poofter peace to all the self-aware homies 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee Much more than just a simple martial arts film, this should be viewed by everyone. 5 stars
2/26/02 Obi Wan Beautifully done, Bravo Mr. Lee! You were robbed of your Oscar!! 5 stars
2/22/02 Jeff all around excellent movie 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver It was fun to watch. Yoyo's music is stupendous. 4 stars
2/14/02 zam lee Soaring, soulful, sensational! 5 stars
1/19/02 Rego Allegro Beautiful pictures - Great direction - Unoriginal script - Too much flying and floating 3 stars
1/17/02 David A. Weird movie. The floating bit was a little gay, but it was an original. 4 stars
1/09/02 the asm hero Adam (pool0030.cvx2-bradley.dialup.earthlink.net) is a moron. 5 stars
12/19/01 WMF Simply one of the best 9.5/10 5 stars
10/31/01 Sumixam It's different but in a good way, different to us westerners anyway 5 stars
10/31/01 MickJ One of my all time favourites 5 stars
10/20/01 Tam Scenery and stunts were breathtaking! Acting and storyline better than most action films. 5 stars
9/23/01 mleonard the most wonderful film of the year 5 stars
9/03/01 KCobain Way overrated. Too much filler. 2 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean I can't wait to see Zhang Ziyi in more action flicks! She made this movie worth seeing 4 stars
8/30/01 Paul Guimond The new standard for "thoughtful" action films 5 stars
8/27/01 voyant This was really two stories, and neither was done justice. 4 stars
8/17/01 Obi Wan I've seen this yet again on DVD dubbed. Just beautiful. Couldn't have been better 5 stars
8/14/01 unkle very nice. 5 stars
8/08/01 Keith Great movie! Definitely the best film of 2000! Please, don't compare this to Blair Witch 5 stars
8/04/01 DREDD The story is strange, ending was bad, and way over hyped 3 stars
8/04/01 sarah there was so much hype about this movie, but there was nothing to it 2 stars
7/08/01 Reini Urban The original 80's (tsui hark, ...) have better action, but a less twisted story. 3 stars
7/07/01 Indelusia Chicks kicking ass is always worth watching. Plus there's a plot (what a concept). 5 stars
7/06/01 Craig Blanchard The most over hyped pile of tripe I've seen since Blair Witch 1 stars
7/03/01 TLsmooth The only thing missing is the ever elusive Lesbian scene. 5 stars
6/29/01 master.node I've seen it twice, and it just stays with me. Visual *storytelling*! 5 stars
6/29/01 Genghiz awesome,fantastic fantasy flick,exquisite landscapes.Truly an epic of mystical proportion. 5 stars
6/28/01 WMF Excellent! 5 stars
6/26/01 Hugo Felix - Southern California saga, love, action & more 5 stars
6/22/01 fifu a good movie/ i didn't find anything wrong with it 4 stars
6/22/01 brentley Best girlfight I've seen in a long time! The flying around got on my nerves though. 4 stars
6/22/01 JesseL Grade B kung fu movie. Good one if you like them. 4 stars
6/21/01 Jim Renwick One of the best. 4 stars
6/18/01 Danielson best movie I've seen in a long time 5 stars
6/13/01 malcolm i been telling people for years: Hong Kong movies kick Hollywoods' ass 4 stars
6/11/01 Adam HOLY FUCKING SHIT THAT IS ONE HELLA GOOD MOVIE 5 stars
6/09/01 Turtle This is COMPLETELY overrated. Even The Frighteners was better. 4 stars
6/09/01 Shams Huque Cut out the half hour 'flashback' sequence, and this would be the best film of the year. 5 stars
5/24/01 bluebeena Wonderful film that has it all 5 stars
5/12/01 The Moorhen Crouching Tiger, Snoring Dragon 2 stars
5/07/01 Waddle Doo Just one of the best movies already done! ROX ROX ROX ROX ROX ROX ROX ROX! 5 stars
5/04/01 YOMILKY TO ANYONE THINKING THE EFFECTS WERE FAKE: This story is not based in reality. 5 stars
4/25/01 TigerDream Del R.- no shit einstein! It's supposed to defy physics.I thought this movie was awesome!! 5 stars
4/24/01 Mitja Podgajski I like it! 4 stars
4/23/01 TigerDream A masterpiece! This film was so amazing and extremely awesome! 5 stars
4/20/01 Tranzer great film using, espceially using the chinese conventions 5 stars
4/16/01 Del R All of the fight scenes were, well, SO FAKE and defied physics. What a crock of shit! 1 stars
4/13/01 Piz borderline story with great effects and beautiful scenery 4 stars
4/09/01 Michel Dominique Great action, boring dialogues, dim plot 3 stars
4/08/01 Seiji Yarishida Most Incredibly Enjoyable!!!!! 5 stars
4/08/01 Rongrong Great 5 stars
4/04/01 Happy Dog Michelle Yeoh is the Most Beautiful Woman Ever. Those eyes... 5 stars
4/03/01 Sue Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon was a BRILLIANT film, one of the best I have seen 5 stars
4/02/01 Johannes de Bruin Unbelieveble Good Piece of Work 5 stars
4/02/01 Steven Palmer Very Good, Typically Asian- (Strange) but definately awesome 4 stars
4/02/01 Kus pretty well done melodrama 3 stars
3/31/01 Gerald BIG WASTE OF MONEY!!! Chinese Western Kung Fu that is way over done. 1 stars
3/31/01 shelayla82 The best movie to come out in the last three years! It was excellent!! 5 stars
3/31/01 Stela Great film! The best film I've seen in quite a lot of time.BETTER than Gladiator!!! 5 stars
3/31/01 miss_lego Damn photogenic 5 stars
3/30/01 The Reviewer America should wake up and start making movies like this again. 5 stars
3/29/01 Mike Chow kicks ass!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/29/01 Santiago Duran It rules!. Much better than Gladiator 5 stars
3/28/01 Eugene Choe Very good film, great action , great romance, simple but intricate storyline, great acting 5 stars
3/28/01 Patti Extremely well done, understated plot 4 stars
3/27/01 AnDrEw McNaUgHTon THAT was the best martial arts movie, no, MOVIE i've seen, definitely best of the year! 5 stars
3/26/01 Kristen It was a wonderful movie, with some really great effects! I would pay to see it again! 5 stars
3/26/01 Alistair Mind blowing 5 stars
3/26/01 Stuart Brown INCREDIBLE 5 stars
3/25/01 ephraim i saw this fil many times now and i´m simply fascinated, it should be a lesson to all!!!!!! 5 stars
3/25/01 Verai This is the coolest movie since The Matrix 5 stars
3/25/01 Chow Yun-Fat This movie rules, GO SEE IT NOW. Best movie of the year. 5 stars
3/25/01 Jani Pulakka The best movie have ever made 5 stars
3/24/01 Ajla Bakalbasic i love it.film is great for so much reasons .I could not write all that in this colum. 5 stars
3/24/01 Big Brother Cliff That JEN in the movie, she can kick my ass anyday! 5 stars
3/23/01 andy Fuckin' incredible! Puts the ART in Martial Arts! 5 stars
3/23/01 Eat Drink Man Woman Most deserving of Best Picture. Gladiator is a joke. So is Brokavich and Traffic, and Choc. 4 stars
3/22/01 GOONIE ONE OF MY FAVORITE MOVIES OF ALLTIME!! I SAW IT TWICE!! 5 stars
3/21/01 Rebbi Stein The best film of the year, if not the decade 5 stars
3/21/01 Roger the Shrubber Fun, but a little too cartoonish to take seriously. Best of 2000? No way. 4 stars
3/21/01 JlynneD spectacular! this movie has a little bit of everything and a whole lot of KICkass effects! 5 stars
3/21/01 M.C.A Not 2000's best but close 4 stars
3/20/01 Jimmy Truong The movie was great, but the end could have been better. 5 stars
3/20/01 vpitman This is a beautiful, complex movie that happens to have stunning martial arts action 5 stars
3/20/01 jacob roberts its fuckin buzzin' 5 stars
3/19/01 carolyn this is the most beautifully made film I have ever seen. truly lingering. 4 stars
3/19/01 Kiwi Great all around 5 stars
3/19/01 Laura I thought it was great and beautifuly romantic 5 stars
3/19/01 J.Arcane Bloody good show 5 stars
3/19/01 Katy Loved it 5 stars
3/18/01 devang ved excellent story,great acting,mind boggling martial arts,stupendous flying-fight sequences. 5 stars
3/17/01 Kristin Fuckin Awesome! 5 stars
3/17/01 Malloc No body can fly as well as those found in this movie 5 stars
3/17/01 Ariel Amazing!!!!! 5 stars
3/17/01 nandini incredible, truely awesome, at the end folks in the theatre were moved to clapping 5 stars
3/16/01 JOHN NUMBER 1 IN THE WHOLE WORLD 5 stars
3/16/01 Dave Intricate plot, great action and scenery 5 stars
3/14/01 Chris L Holy Shit!!! 5 stars
3/14/01 mark5 Best Picture of the Year 5 stars
3/14/01 k.j.tomko Great cinematogr and music, the rest is good 5 stars
3/13/01 Jimmy Kurniawan Anyone dare to say it "Suck All Ass ?", that is a fucking stupid person I've ever seen. 5 stars
3/13/01 Michelle OOHH RRAAHHHH!!!! 5 stars
3/13/01 John Leiva Unreal action 5 stars
3/13/01 NG Different And Loved it. 5 stars
3/13/01 Masamune A breath of fresh air...its been a long time since I've been impressed with a movie.... 5 stars
3/12/01 james "bite me" womack WOW....what more to say.if only all chick flicks were like this 5 stars
3/12/01 Joshua Waninger Best movie I have seen in a long time. 5 stars
3/12/01 Mario Allain a welcome change of pace from traditional action flicks 5 stars
3/11/01 Bowser Best episode ever 5 stars
3/11/01 Little Davey Beyond fucking awsome.Wow! 5 stars
3/10/01 Peter Bickford Peter Pan meet The English Patient. Dull. 2 stars
3/09/01 Sergio Gonzalez A delightfull movie, well performed and poetically written. 5 stars
3/09/01 Sonztwin Just like musice, the greatness of a movie is in how good 5 stars
3/08/01 master.node Best film of the past several years. Think Hollywood will get a clue? 5 stars
3/07/01 Edward W. Hightower Magnificent, superb, needed sac-eye penetration shot. 5 stars
3/07/01 Robinia Kick-ass kung-fu is finally mainstream. Dark Cloud rivals Fabio! 5 stars
3/06/01 Dustin Very beautiful and action packed! Easily the best film I saw all year. 5 stars
3/05/01 David pround to be a Chinese 5 stars
3/04/01 Shams Huque Best film of the year. Stuff Cast Away! 5 stars
3/04/01 Rael A Hong Kong action film made with a Hollywood budget. Must be seen on the big screen! 5 stars
3/04/01 S K Anglin Beautiful, dreamy, unrequited love with incredible action and music, moved me totally!!! 5 stars
3/04/01 Suzz best picture of the year 5 stars
3/03/01 Greyjack Just saw for the third time---this film makes me weep. One of the best I've ever seen. 5 stars
3/03/01 Matt Incredible! Screw "Gladiator"!! 5 stars
3/03/01 r McF what movies should be 5 stars
3/03/01 micheal haislip fucking bad ass and zhang zi-li all i can say is DAMN 5 stars
3/03/01 Mitchell Great movie, had every aspect of a good story... 5 stars
3/02/01 Charlene definitely kickass. 5 stars
3/01/01 Mungg Stupid kid story in the same vein as the sitcom Webster!!! 1 stars
3/01/01 Jeremy Incredible. Greatest Kung Fu fight scenes ever made 5 stars
3/01/01 Cindy The ultimate girl power movie! Awesome story and fight scenes and a moving love story 5 stars
3/01/01 Edit Imaginative, breath taking, highly entertaining 5 stars
3/01/01 Alan Easily the best movie of the year! Possibly the most beautiful movie I've ever seen! 5 stars
3/01/01 Paul Williams Transcendant! 5 stars
2/28/01 The Bomb 69 kung fu and love story, what more could you ask for? 5 stars
2/27/01 Ash Tregay Indescribably brilliant. 5 stars
2/27/01 Herman Cheng beautiful 5 stars
2/27/01 Mona Breathtaking scenery and action and charismatic actors. The flying parts seemed realistic! 4 stars
2/27/01 Francis Nunziata Best movie I have ever seen in my life!!!! 5 stars
2/27/01 puckfreak Over-hyped movie of the year, redeeming quality=fight scenes 2 stars
2/26/01 Richard Bellon it wasawesome the fight scenes were beautiful and the story was amazing 5 stars
2/26/01 diane excellent movie 5 stars
2/26/01 isy_chan simply awesome 5 stars
2/25/01 Chad Smith This film is a masterpiece; the best movie in quite a while. 5 stars
2/25/01 clark Awesome... 5 stars
2/25/01 Greg Weber Fabulous, graceful, great characters, beautiful, and serious kick ass chick fu hi jinx 5 stars
2/25/01 orpy Fairly average; I can't understand all the hype about this one.. 3 stars
2/24/01 Jun Near Perfection, Ending sucked though!!! 5 stars
2/23/01 Jeff J Spectacular and exciting 5 stars
2/22/01 Eric W. Brown Oh god, please make the ridiculous wire suspension scenes stop! 1 stars
2/22/01 Trashstar Good, but not all that. Lack of charecter depth made it a little bland. 4 stars
2/22/01 Big P. One of the 10 best movies ever 5 stars
2/22/01 Fredy Just what The Last Emperor needed. Not worthy of an oscar. 4 stars
2/21/01 toni I just watched it on DVD just now!!! haha!!! str8 from Taiwan.. not mine though... 5 stars
2/21/01 T. Sharif Too Fucking Good 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Poetic 5 stars
2/21/01 Lihingmui Loved the kickass Chinese Woman Warriors! 5 stars
2/20/01 Bill Chai worth seeing at least twice!! 5 stars
2/20/01 Nick Berger shit, people think its "great" because they cant understand it and think its deep - its not 1 stars
2/20/01 Mark Tucker Beautiful Story in a Beautiful Setting with Colourful Characters. 5 stars
2/20/01 Greyjack Wow. I mean, seriously--WOW. (although I like the ronco slam below, hehheh) 5 stars
2/19/01 Dave Brauer This really is a must see! 5 stars
2/18/01 john d(THE DUDE) The only one that beats Titanic. Let's face it LOVE RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/18/01 Kathy Willson best movie ever! a must see! fantastic! 5 stars
2/17/01 Charlie Smith Awesome movie -- great romance and outstanding fight scenes. Best movie of the year? Yes!!! 5 stars
2/17/01 yoohoo ronco infomercials are better 1 stars
2/16/01 Joseph Roseberg Far and away,the strongest plot in any action/adventure film of any kind in several years. 5 stars
2/16/01 Indra truly an awesome movie 5 stars
2/16/01 INCUBATOR Damn it`s good..... 5 stars
2/16/01 The Evil Penguin THE best of martial arts 5 stars
2/16/01 LOOBER A Great movie. Even better then Matrix. 5 stars
2/16/01 JT Alderman Perfect!!!! 5 stars
2/16/01 Erik Aldrich Best Movie Ever 5 stars
2/15/01 Hoochie Yella How can anyone not rank this as Fucking Awsome. You have to see this one 5 stars
2/15/01 Karin GREAT MOVIE!! I loved it. 5 stars
2/15/01 Ox Absolutely stunning 5 stars
2/15/01 Steve Burstall This was worth an Oscar nomination? It doesn't make sense. 3 stars
2/15/01 katie Its friggin fantastic!! shame it took this long for HK movies to be appreciated 5 stars
2/15/01 Michael Nicholls Nice slice of kungfu flouting 5 stars
2/14/01 Anonymity Okay, not THAT good, if you want pure Kung Fu goodness, there are other places to look 4 stars
2/13/01 Spagno The cinematography, writing, acting, music... everything is perfect! 5 stars
2/11/01 peace above average 5 stars
2/11/01 pinoyziyifan KICKASS ZHANG ZIYI STOLE THE SCREEN TERRIFIC FIGHT SCENES AND GREAT CINEMATOGRAPHY 5 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Breathtaking. Oh my God... 5 stars
2/10/01 Tom Hartley Wow! 5 stars
2/09/01 joedogg my favorite movie ever. 5 stars
2/08/01 Jen Great Cinematic achievement 5 stars
2/08/01 jeff awesome film 5 stars
2/08/01 George Zee Great movie based on a 70 yr old story. 5 stars
2/08/01 Jen GREAT!!! LOVE IT!!! ONE OF THE BEST!!! 5 stars
2/08/01 ObiWan Absolutely incredible! See it immedialtely! Zhang Zi Yi is awesome! 5 stars
2/07/01 Obi Wan Wow!!! Stunning!!! A master-piece!!! Who was the choreographer?!?! Give'em a oscar!! 5 stars
2/07/01 Kirsten Best chick flick ever! 5 stars
2/06/01 costars2000 Fabulously beautiful, imaginative, interesting, funny & women as sheros & villans. WOW 5 stars
2/06/01 Bobby Fuckin' Awesome 5 stars
2/06/01 Mrhide *-=speechless=-* 5 stars
2/05/01 Mario Rodgers Intelligent movie not from Hollywood. Go fig. 5 stars
2/05/01 bluebeena Great movie that everyone really must see. 5 stars
2/04/01 Randy Nixa This Movie made me want to shoot my load. 5 stars
2/04/01 william hsiung love it 5 stars
2/03/01 Okidokee This is one incredible movie. 5 stars
2/02/01 Mr X Although the floating is cheesy , it doesn't hurt the film in the least. 5 stars
2/02/01 Elladan This movie is simply gorgeous. An amazing achievement. 5 stars
2/01/01 James Woop 5 stars
2/01/01 R Kramer You'll enjoy this Movie!! 4 stars
2/01/01 Johnny Figaro Amazing the first time, it only gets better on repeated viewing. Chow! Yeoh! Zhang! 5 stars
2/01/01 James BJ Ziyi Zhang kicks 5 stars
1/31/01 Joseph Langmuir Tis' the Shit 5 stars
1/31/01 Martin Käll The best film I have ever seen, se it, GOD DAMNIT!!! 5 stars
1/29/01 rubber magical-all films should be this beautiful 5 stars
1/28/01 skye wowie-zowie! 5 stars
1/27/01 Soggy Bottom Boy Beautiful movie, Zhang steals the show... Don't bother on video, this HAS to be seen big! 5 stars
1/27/01 Iggy See it on the big screen - not on video. 4 stars
1/26/01 Connie Lewin Lush and beautiful though a bit slow in places. 4 stars
1/25/01 Phoebe Jean *This* is what movies are about!--All-around quality. 5 stars
1/25/01 LGF Superb movie, touching in many ways, thought provoking 5 stars
1/24/01 Grenamier Gorgeous, simply gorgeous...Chow Yun Fat was great! 5 stars
1/24/01 ObiWab Awe-Inspiring Film 5 stars
1/24/01 r0gueb1t I don't think I will see a better film this year 5 stars
1/23/01 rue the whirl emotive and magical 5 stars
1/23/01 Brian A HK film that transcends the genre. Ziyi is a shooting star. Great choreography by Ping. 5 stars
1/23/01 your mom oscar worthy 5 stars
1/23/01 Ron Best movie all year 5 stars
1/23/01 Mrhide See Rating... 5 stars
1/22/01 Michael Grimm r u kidding? I took my girlfriend and she loved it as much as I did. No kung fu fan either 5 stars
1/22/01 asdf FUCKING AWESOME< ASS GOOD AS GLADIATOR 5 stars
1/22/01 Bruce Loved this movie 5 stars
1/22/01 peachick visual stunning, very entertaining, but not all that and a bag of chips 4 stars
1/22/01 Jules Total eye candy, great fight scenes...WOW! 5 stars
1/21/01 rob cool movie 5 stars
1/20/01 Ground Zero amazing movie 5 stars
1/19/01 Posse Kewl movie but the flying-scenes was just ridicalous! 3 stars
1/19/01 The Bomb 69 epic, masterpiece, women would even life the love story, i cried at the end!!! 5 stars
1/17/01 Jon T Brilliant... loved the wall chasing. The Matrix sucks! 5 stars
1/17/01 Zhaileshya definitely an epic film. 5 stars
1/17/01 pAkt3rada CT,HD was helluva good! if only it had mr. T 5 stars
1/16/01 Belinda Go girls! Top action - Oscar winner here 5 stars
1/16/01 Spankachu this movie fucking rocks!!! 5 stars
1/16/01 Purple Monster Grow up and get a life, Pmunee. This film is a billion times better than that Matrix Crap ! 5 stars
1/16/01 pmunee this sucked...the matrix was a million times better...the plot sucked and so did this film! 1 stars
1/15/01 ray good stuff, recommend it to all 5 stars
1/15/01 Louis SO GOOD! good action, acting, plot, etc. the young girl is hot! 5 stars
1/15/01 hex One of the best movies i've ever seen!!! 5 stars
1/15/01 Krystal Best movie I've seen in a very long time!!! 5 stars
1/15/01 Chris Drake Beautiful but derivative. Dumb feministic plot 3 stars
1/15/01 MUGWUMP "the Ice Storm" wasn't a "comedy" you fucking moron 5 stars
1/14/01 tmk you have to be damn american not to like this one... ;-) 5 stars
1/14/01 nicki! the best movie 5 stars
1/14/01 John Markham Absolutely loved it. 5 stars
1/13/01 YPNa It is a great film. 5 stars
1/13/01 Will seen it twice, not just for the fights - it's a good story, dammit 5 stars
1/12/01 Lord Raymos Really weird. Walking on water like Jesus. Somewhat weak plot. 3 stars
1/12/01 Fredmundo A truly allround fantastic movie!! 5 stars
1/11/01 dude1492 Matrix+English Patient+swords = best action movie in years. 5 stars
1/11/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble Loved this movie, but where were Willow and Xander? 5 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 Don't fuck with these bitches. 4 stars
1/11/01 Albert an amazing work of art. beautiful! 5 stars
1/10/01 dr bernie excellent the greatest movie in quite a while 5 stars
1/10/01 John Kidd Enjoyed it thoroughly - will see it again 5 stars
1/09/01 LOUISE-ANDREE beautiful, well-acted, elegant 5 stars
1/09/01 matthew smith a magnificent piece of cinema 5 stars
1/09/01 Quy Tran I loved it!!! 5 stars
1/09/01 pipeman Beautiful. Don't miss this wonderful fairy tale. 5 stars
1/08/01 tnt Beautifully filmed and acted..best fight sequences..plot a bit convoluted 4 stars
1/08/01 Girl 9 People will probably tell you how amazing the fight scenes are in this movie...Believe them 5 stars
1/07/01 Jenny-My-Fur this movie is more than just action, it is beautiful and totally amazing 5 stars
1/06/01 Kealoha Suspend your disbelief, relax & enjoy 4 stars
1/05/01 Paul it's...how do you say it? oh yeah ----------------------> 5 stars
1/05/01 Heather One of the best movies this year, Oscar for best picture??? 5 stars
1/05/01 Justin Powell Best martial arts movie I've seen 5 stars
1/03/01 Lyndon A Kung Fu movie with a post modern feminist plot? No, not an oxymoron--Crouching Tiger 5 stars
1/02/01 kenny Best movie of the year 5 stars
1/01/01 Johnny Figaro Truly excellent. Only improves with repeated viewing 5 stars
1/01/01 maria miller staggering movie, see it and drool 5 stars
1/01/01 Movie Freek No need to write a full review. Everything's been said :) SEE IT NOW! 5 stars
12/31/00 k0rtez Incredible blend of heartfelt drama and asskicking action! 5 stars
12/31/00 Emily an unbelievably well-made movie. 5 stars
12/30/00 Will infuckingcredible. 5 stars
12/29/00 swan Amazing. 5 stars
12/29/00 matthew smith a Magnificent piece of cinema. 5 stars
12/28/00 TimmyToday Kung fooey! All movies, in the end, are love stories... 4 stars
12/28/00 Darren Shea The beginning is slow, but the fight scenes and the love story in the middle do compensate. 4 stars
12/27/00 master.node Fucking Awesome. 5 stars
12/27/00 Jean-Philippe Pelletier A masterpiece of a fable... 5 stars
12/26/00 Doctor Collosus Never have I seen a martial arts film with so much heart and beauty 5 stars
12/26/00 JP Breathtaking action, good acting and simply one of the most beautiful film ever made 5 stars
12/26/00 davebo a movie of extraordinary magnitude (get that reference? :) 5 stars
12/25/00 mystify Best film of the year! One needs to know mandarin to appreciate the beauty of dialogue! 5 stars
12/24/00 RS Amazing, spectacular, etc. 5 stars
12/24/00 The Evil Penguin this time i agree with everyone here. 5 stars
12/23/00 viking The thinking man's "Enter the Dragon" 5 stars
12/22/00 jedi master the best action scenes ever put on celluloid 5 stars
12/18/00 Will great fights but that's irrelevant,the beauty of it lies in its depth of emotion 5 stars
12/15/00 Mic Awesome just about sums it up. Haven't seen this kind of quality in m-arts pics for a while 5 stars
12/15/00 Soenke Awesome, reality-bending fighting sequences embedded in solid story telling. 5 stars
12/14/00 Al Primon Stunning, incredible and ultimately very moving! 5 stars
12/13/00 rc i would see it again and again. 5 stars
12/12/00 BBQ artistic blend of vision and action,sad mood and fantastic photograghy 5 stars
12/11/00 Justin How can a fight choke you up? because it is beautiful.. 5 stars
12/09/00 Airchinapilot I never thought a kungfu film could make me cry 5 stars
12/09/00 Zod This movie is a work of art in its purest form. 5 stars
12/04/00 Steven Crenshaw Absolutely Astonishing 5 stars
12/03/00 Maestro Pure Shit 1 stars
12/01/00 Gary Shu Amazing. Better than the Matrix and a whole lot more heart. 5 stars
11/29/00 vitamin_D fights "fucking awesome", story "worth a look" asian epic/western 4 stars
11/13/00 neil bartlett what a combo. historic drama, martial arts & special effects in one romance! 4 stars
11/09/00 Keith Loh A magical movie. Excellent action and some heartfelt romance. A genre busting hit. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Dec-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 05-Jun-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Jan-2001 (M)


Directed by
  Ang Lee

Written by
  James Schamus
  Wang Hui-Ling
  Tasi Kuo Jung

Cast
  Chow Yun-Fat
  Michelle Yeoh
  Zhang Ziyi
  Chang Chen
  Cheng Peipei
  Li Fa Feng



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast