More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.01

Awesome: 11.63%
Worth A Look: 4.65%
Average: 15.12%
Pretty Bad: 10.47%
Total Crap58.14%

3 reviews, 68 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Pokemon
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Get over it, it's a kids movie!"
3 stars

You can tell when the critics are taking themselves too seriously, when they go on ranting for a page about a movie like "Pokémon" condemning it for being simplistic, asinine, and just a huge marketing ploy. Well duh! Isn't that pretty much the whole idea for all movies now? It works doesn't it, and in this case, it's very successful, and I think many of the critics are a little angry that they kids have gone zonkers over it and have to pay $5.18 for a pack of 11 cards. Now, it's between $4.50 and $8.50 for one card. I got Mewtwo. I love America! (And Japan, you're pretty cool too!)

The biggest disappointment for me had to be the fact that my favorite Pokémon was not in the movie; Ditto. I think Ditto is too cool, but maybe they didn't have him in the movie because if he was there he would have been able to beat Mewtwo's ass right away, and then it wouldn't have even lasted the 69 minutes that it actually ran.

Okay, I know that probably sounds weird or dumb that I have a favorite Pokémon, but the people I babysit, or child supervise, or whatever the PC term for it is, watch and collect Pokémon like there's no tomorrow. I don't mind these innocent Pocket Monsters --they're harmless and funny, and I'd even go as far as to call them cute. So I've had exposure prior to the movie, and likewise, the movie was harmless and perfectly organized to stomp out all other box-office business and bring the kids in, in masses.

Aside from a stupid short which plays for 20 minutes before the actual "Pokémon: The First Movie: Mewtwo Strikes Back" starts (it was called "Pikachu's Vacation") from a kid's point of view (which I'm really not that many years away from), I had fun with the movie, it even got a couple laughs from me. I referred to it as harmless before, and that's what it is. Surprisingly, it brought up some interesting ideas of predestination, fate, existentialism, etc.

Mewtwo is a bio-engeneered Pokémon, created by humans, to serve humans, and become the toughest and roughest one out there. It's DNA was extracted from Mew, the rarest PM (pocket monster) of all. But Mewtwo doesn't believe that fighting for humans should be his fate, so he sets out to take over the world and destroy all humans and PMs. Kinda sounds a little bit like "Jurassic Park" mixed with "Austin Powers" doesn't it? Well, not really. So anyway, Ash, one of the world's best trainers, sets out with 2 of his friends to find out what's going down, and the inevitable happens.

Another film this kinda, but kinda didn't remind me of was "Pleasantville." Both of these had that whole sunconscious message about how deep down we're all really the same despite how one might be in color or not, or whether they were born different, etc. It kind of surprised me all the questions Mewtwo asked about his purpose of being here, and what's his fate, or how he will change it into his own. Not something I was expecting from "Pokémon" or anything, but it's not as if it were deep or anything, don't mistake that for what I said.

True the movie was basically an extended version of the TV show. I think it would have been easier to extend the running time another 30 minutes and ditch the 20-minute short. However, the movie occasionally found itself bogged down by the amount of PMs (151 different Pokémon, gotta catch 'em all!). Obviously there will be sequels to follow, so they don't need to put all 151 on there just to have them cross the screen once, but of course MY favorite had to be left out. Ditto is the blob which can morph into any other PM, and also has the ability to use their special powers, so maybe the filmmakers were afriad that if they put Ditto in, he would have permanently taken care of Mewtwo. The creatures are fun and creative, and if there's one way to please your kids, it would be to take them to this; they'll appreciate it, and you'll see that it's not so bad itself, and that the values it promotes are better than that of most other movies out there.

It's okay parents, cave in, bring the kiddies. But you better do it fast because I'm sure they'll want one of the four new cards, and believe me, they'll be gone VERY fast!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1881&reviewer=172
originally posted: 11/11/99 19:50:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/30/14 Hi! Pokemon really was meaningless. 1 stars
5/14/13 Magenta Fantasies I liked it when I was 7; it still holds up at 19. 4 stars
3/13/12 Emon I never felt the least bit poked by it! 1 stars
2/08/10 John Shit review. One star for Mr. Reviewer. 1 stars
1/10/09 Shaun Wallner This movie was stupid! 1 stars
6/17/08 ilovepokemon I love it its a funny heart warming movie that shows a lot of compassion at the end. 5 stars
1/31/08 Wolfeyperson Dude I think Pokemon needs to die! This movie was WAY worst then the DIGIMON movie 1 stars
8/22/07 Dudette Pokemon is far too overated, I bet you taht the last episode is episode 100000000000000000 1 stars
8/19/07 little cody mew vs mewtwo is good little movie with great poke action 3 stars
6/12/07 shitface movie is averege but the show sucks 3 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK ooh, look! little mutants that beat the shit out of each other. PETA should get involved. 1 stars
2/09/07 PokemonSux I agree with gray. Pokemon is so shitty and refried. They should get this shit off the air. 1 stars
11/30/06 Poke-a-Man it was ok 5 stars
10/27/06 sean scanlon gaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay 1 stars
6/28/06 joe koski better than 2 and 3 4 stars
2/28/06 pokemon 4ever oi dont diss pokemon man 1 stars
1/17/06 cody the only good pokemon movie, good storyline, but more looking animation! 2 stars
12/20/05 Mark Radburn This movie is so awful. I don't want to see this crap movie again 1 stars
8/02/05 tatum Meh 3 stars
7/12/05 Eddie sux 1 stars
8/16/04 Gray the inventor of photography would kill himself if he saw this 1 stars
6/02/04 Sean Scanlan I like it when I saw it in 1999. 5 stars
5/27/04 DM Sean Scanlan, that doesn't say very much 1 stars
5/15/04 Sean Scanlan Better than the TV show 5 stars
5/04/04 Whatevr Kills brain cells faster than drinking rubbing alcohol 1 stars
4/29/04 nobody pokemon rules 1 stars
3/19/04 JJ I'd rather watch the Olson Twins than this garbage! 1 stars
2/18/04 Daveman Evil, spineless film making. Even those sad enouh to enjoy the TV series will hate this. 1 stars
11/17/03 pumpkin nigga this makes me want to lick a panda bear's huge hairy balls 5 stars
7/17/03 agent smith I'd rather take out my own appendix with a corkscrew than watch this shit 1 stars
6/24/03 Poka-balls Fucking gay ass Jap cartoon. Hate the stupid shit! 1 stars
4/19/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Crap. 1 stars
2/08/03 Chris Cannon Pokemon can go suck a big fat dick and sweatty dog balls. 1 stars
1/13/03 Timothy Dineen not as bad as The Country Bears, but still sucks! 1 stars
11/22/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Endurance test! Only movie to make me wish I were watching Ashley Judd instead! 1 stars
9/11/02 Zefram Mann The dub is too heavy-handed in its "fighting is bad" message. Otherwise a good time-waster. 4 stars
7/08/02 Henry Ginsberg STILL SUCKS ASS 1 stars
5/13/02 Dark Baron I can't believe I watched this. 1 stars
4/06/02 Junshi entertaining for -10 kids, but other than that, empty. 2 stars
3/13/02 guys form the parking lot i hate the movie and were goona kill u brent rosen!!! 1 stars
1/30/02 PogimonXP POKEMON KICKS ASS!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/16/02 Vincent Williams Anime: crap. Pokemon: total crap. !Note! The Pokemon movies (applies for all anime) are BS. 1 stars
11/14/01 Ass Wipe suck my cock and lick my balls you bitch 1 stars
8/08/01 the scarecrow it was like giving my great aunt a sponge bath while being beaten with a claw hammer. 1 stars
7/29/01 Henry Ginsberg I haven't even seen this film and I still stand by my rating . 1 stars
5/03/01 J.D Mc Gettigan It was useless it sucks all ass 1 stars
4/25/01 J Carden...*sigh* Do I really have to bother with this guy? Good movie. 5 stars
4/12/01 Andrew Carden It's amaing how terrible japanese animation is. 1 stars
11/14/00 The EVIL Penguin A disease for your intelligence. Watch some better anime, like DIGIMON. 1 stars
7/23/00 Digitalus it was worth watching 3 stars
4/29/00 Richard Wright Like 2 episodes of the lacklustre cartoon series glued together. Only worse. 2 stars
3/23/00 SupaHaP3 Fun yet harmless with a tiny helping of food for thought. 4 stars
2/12/00 Lame-Oh Oh, come now, it wasn't bad, but at least it's still a anime movie... 3 stars
12/19/99 James This film was awesome, apart from the ending.. 5 stars
11/29/99 Mike Hunt Pokemon: The first piece of crap! 1 stars
11/28/99 Physh Pokemon is taking away my anime space, my comic stores, card games, video games....BURN!! 1 stars
11/21/99 Mr. Invincible Great review, Lynchpyn! At least it was better than that Sailor Moon shit! 5 stars
11/19/99 bishopj@pumpkinsfan.com fuck this stupid ass shit. I hate it. I've not seen the movie by the way. 1 stars
11/17/99 RR I've watch lots of Pokemon TV shows with my 3-year-old daughter. She loved the movie but I 1 stars
11/15/99 Pokemon sucks Pokemon sucks and I have no idea why I even bothered to see the movie! 1 stars
11/14/99 george fuck u all that say pokemon sucks, this movie was BAD ASS 5 stars
11/14/99 every fan of animation across the world I'm a huge fan of animation, but this is the worst film of any kind I've seen all decade 1 stars
11/14/99 Lame-Oh screw the backlash, just see it. 3 stars
11/14/99 MrShowbiz Little more than an ad campaign masquerading as a matinee. 1 stars
11/13/99 Patsy Hawkins It sucked!! Total waste of time and money! 1 stars
11/11/99 merrip dont bother - if you want epilepsy, just flick the goddamn light switch!!! 1 stars
11/11/99 Buttman it was worth watching. Tell Yo! to suck it! 3 stars
11/06/99 Yo! Pokemom sucks ALL ass! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Nov-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-Dec-1999 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast