More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.11

Awesome: 19.16%
Worth A Look26.35%
Average: 19.76%
Pretty Bad: 15.57%
Total Crap: 19.16%

11 reviews, 101 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Meet Joe Black
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"Ignore Brad Pitt, and the movie is wonderful."
4 stars

If only they hadn't marketed it as a Brad Pitt film, I would have enjoyed it more. Knowing that Pitt would be coming back on-screen at some point took away from my enjoyment of the good stuff.

Deep down, this film is about a man saying goodbye to his family. Anthony Hopkins is beautiful in this film, and all his scenes have a poignancy that make the scenes involving Brad Pitt and Clair Forlani all the more shallow in comparison. The marketers of this film tried to push it as a romance between the two, and indeed, that is a large part of the film, but it doesn't work as well as Hopkins' story.

Brad Pitt is Death, as you all know, who arrives at Bill Parrish's (Anthony Hopkins) doorstep, telling him that it's time for Bill to go into that great beyond. Bill manages to negotiate a few extra days to tie up the loose ends in his life, and in return, he will act as a sort of tour guide to Death.

The movie is 3 hours long, but it doesn't really drag. "Meet Joe Black" has a nice feel to it. It takes its time, yes, but just as Hopkins savors his last few days on earth, so does the movie. There are slow parts, but the supporting cast is excellent (the standout is Jeffrey Tambor as Hopkins' son-in-law, whose wounded dignity and innate goodness is deeply touching and sweet) The movie only really drags when it comes to Pitt.

I'm sure the majority of the audience went to see "Meet Joe Black" because of Brad Pitt. And as Death, he does aquit himself nicely. If he were the supporting character, it would have been much more palatable. But the film, knowing that it had a big hunk playing Death, devotes far too much time to Pitt's romance. How Clair Forlani falls for a guy who talks like Chance in "Being There" is beyond me. Just as Meg Ryan fell for an deeply creepy guy in "City of Angels", Forlani falls in love with Brad Pitt simply because he's Brad Pitt. The audience doesn't understand what she sees in him (OK, maybe the female half of the audience does) Brad Pitt may be the sexiest man alive, but a monosyllabic weirdo who doesn't know how to kiss only has so much appeal.

I can recommend this film without any doubt, because it is a powerful film about a man reaching the end of his life without regret. I just wish they had left it at that, and left Brad Pitt on the sidelines.

Does this mean that when old ladies die, Death looks like Cindy Crawford?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=189&reviewer=27
originally posted: 04/09/99 14:49:33
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/11/17 Annick One of my favorite films 5 stars
10/10/17 Louise I switched off after 20 mins. Utter tripe. 1 stars
10/10/17 Louise I switched off after 20 mins. Utter tripe. 1 stars
8/17/17 David Hopkins - excellent as always, Pitt - decent job, Forlani's acting style - annoying & bad. 4 stars
2/12/17 Margaret Love it.Keep watching it over and over. Music beautiful.Pitt and Hopkins are great! 5 stars
8/29/15 ms. maestra I love this movie. It is my favorite Anthony Hopki s and my favorite Brad Pitt movie 5 stars
6/16/15 Bill Poignant, engrossing film. Musical score is magnificent. 4 stars
1/19/15 Paula Did not like Susan's acting. The movie had some potential but she was painful to watch 2 stars
4/02/13 G. Zullo Emgaging, provavitive & highly entertaining, an all-time favorite! 5 stars
3/23/12 Doug McW Intelligent, refreshing movie. A thinking person's movie that can be watched over and over. 5 stars
1/27/12 Leslie Great film, but a tad long 5 stars
11/22/11 RIFMAN Favorite All Time Movie. 5 stars
10/13/11 Dr.Lao Boring and creepy, hardly traits I associate with a romance movie 1 stars
8/05/11 Quigley There is no excuse for the running time. Not to mention it absolutely refused to end. 2 stars
7/27/11 Mark Interesting most of the negative comments are that it's too long, says more about the view. 4 stars
9/19/10 Spencer T. Chang This is one of my favorite movies, ever. Beautiful acting, score. Absolute movie magic. 5 stars
9/10/10 Sandra Excellent story to express many life lessons in understanding process of life and death. 5 stars
8/25/10 Jeff Slow and pretentious 2 stars
6/05/10 sehoy Great acting--loved Brad Pitt, Hopkins always wonderful. Didn't notice length 5 stars
5/16/10 Don Lawrence Outstanding movie and love the musical score as well. 5 stars
4/27/10 PAUL SHORTT ODD AND CONTRIVED 1 stars
2/15/10 johnny the actors and the characters they play are beautiful. 5 stars
2/10/10 John Zito A sombre gem,reminiscient of On The Beach,(1959),theres even a sountrack riff thats similar 5 stars
1/24/10 Doug 5 times viewed. Parrish is at his end, Black is at his beginning. So much more than a movie 5 stars
12/04/08 Crabes This is such a waste of talent, I can barely believe it 1 stars
11/18/08 Eric Southern First rate in every way; only simpletons could find fault. 5 stars
8/30/08 Shaun Wallner Interesting storyline. 4 stars
6/25/08 S.Whelan Great slow moving film, with brilliant performances by both Hopkins & Pitt 5 stars
6/14/08 kdog My favorite movie of all time. I didn't want it to end. Funny, romantic, great dialogue. 5 stars
3/19/08 Leah I think the BEST MOVIE of its kind EVER 4 stars
11/02/07 Lord Skeletor Probably One of the Most Stirring Flicks I've Ever Seen. 5 stars
1/11/07 David Pollastrini Pitt getting hit by the car was done perfectly 3 stars
11/18/06 Brad Bourland It has a good story, and good production values, and about 55 too many minutes 3 stars
11/09/06 Chuck How can you fags bitch about watching Claire Forlani for 3 hours? 4 stars
9/25/06 DELORAS RUTLEDGE I LOVED THE MOVIE IT'S A GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
5/05/06 ES Where's all the goddam peanut butter?"- I love that, the movie not so much 2 stars
4/11/06 Marquita Stokes I thought the movie was amazing that lended an intelligent deep perspective on life and lov 4 stars
2/24/06 TB Need to get rid of romance and stay with the story 3 stars
11/14/05 Krisan Long.... but good story line, could have shortened it a bit 4 stars
4/22/05 klee mindless dribble, do urse;f a favour & have ur eyes ripped out before you see this crap 1 stars
3/28/05 ramez the best ive seen 3 stars
9/26/04 david really good , brad pitt was awesome 5 stars
5/31/04 Gray you know how chick flicks have a reputation as sucky? well this craptacual film proves it! 1 stars
4/06/04 Amber Interesting outlook on death 4 stars
4/01/04 john long winded but well made 4 stars
3/21/04 Tiffany Thunderhurst A transcontinental snail race would be faster paced than this movie! 1 stars
2/23/04 Joe *snore* Long and Booooooooooooooooring 1 stars
11/27/03 Sumit Goel A wonderful movie with extremely powerful performances. 5 stars
11/23/03 Kris Huge disappointment! Harden's talent completely wasted. A predictable bore. 1 stars
10/05/03 Jake At three hours long sitting all the way through this movie is like being tortured 1 stars
7/25/03 RazieR This is one of the greatest movies ive seen. mr.pink...you are totally ignorant 5 stars
5/09/03 The Talking Elbow Maybe a good premise, but the presentation was all WRONG and it SUCKED 1 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink Everybody's worst work. Pitt and Hopkins should've read the script one this one. 3 hours?!? 1 stars
4/07/03 Jack Sommersby Contrived and overlong but admittedly satisfying. Pitt could have used a lot more variety. 3 stars
10/30/02 Patrick this was very enjoyable. 4 stars
10/12/02 Natalia, Irina's friend agree 5 stars
10/12/02 Irina Best Death-theme interpretation ever seen 5 stars
8/14/02 MI I thorougly enjoyed the movie, despite the THREE hours it took to get to the end. 5 stars
8/12/02 R.W. Welch Leaden pacing and miscasting of Pitt just about sink this remake of Death Takes a Holiday. 3 stars
7/19/02 John Burkitt intriguing, engrossing 4 stars
3/05/02 Julia Cox Lightning-paced edge-of-your-seat thriller that ends all too soon! 1 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson Not bad. Brad Pitt acts like hes on illegal medication. 4 stars
8/01/01 Natalie Brad Pitt and Claire Forlani are AWESOME!!! 5 stars
7/17/01 Piz If you're not in a hurry it's a good love story, Pitt's acting is actually tolerable here 4 stars
5/20/01 hgfc sucks all ass 1 stars
5/08/01 Gracy Lionheart Ugh...the only good thing is watching Brad Pitt. 2 stars
4/29/01 The Jedi Droid I only saw this because the new star wars trailer was showing. man what a long flick 3 stars
4/04/01 PALUCH Soft kind of movie,"..what great movies are all about" 4 stars
1/24/01 terrie smith Like watching paint dry; Hopkins better than the script & Forlani is exquisite. to watch. 3 stars
9/18/00 Paul This movie is too fucking long. So boring I almost fell into a coma 1 stars
9/17/00 JB Great look at the slow process of dying. Loved it!!! 5 stars
4/19/00 seldom scene long, but well acted and the film is never in a hurry, gives you time to ponder or predict. 4 stars
4/01/00 Tino Slaut A shocking mess of a film! Watching it is like snooping around at an airplane crash site. 1 stars
3/31/00 Arnaldo Cruz Well directed,powerfull, and way overlook 5 stars
3/21/00 Sam This movie suked big donkey balls. If you rent this movie you will be pissed 1 stars
2/23/00 Neil Austin Yawn. Utter Bilge 1 stars
9/24/99 KK Pitt Sucks Big Time!!!! Hopkins, what the hell were you thinking working with this loser??? 1 stars
9/06/99 Weird Andy O,Bergman! What crimes are committed in thy name! 1 stars
8/01/99 hum ok, much to long. makes me think id like to see the original 3 stars
7/12/99 Mudbug So boring I turned it off halfway. 2 stars
7/03/99 ADAM (OREOADAM@AOL.COM) THIS MOVIE SUCKED BIG ASS 1 stars
6/03/99 lucasd jackson this movie was good until Brad Pitt came into the movie 1 stars
4/12/99 Randall What was with all the complaining about length, it went quickly for me, i loved it 5 stars
4/05/99 Cool Thing BAM! Three hours of my life GONE! Wasted! Utter shite. Wasted premise. 1 stars
3/03/99 john morton I saw it in Italy, but how can death not know how to eat? lame Brad Pitt vehicle, no brain 1 stars
1/14/99 Melissa Another film that has been heavily criticized, but I enjoyed it. Hopkins is fabulous. 4 stars
1/11/99 Jaime Other than the fact that death never looked so good, this film has nothing to offer. 2 stars
1/10/99 Diogenesnutz This was one of the most unbelievably boring movies I've ever seen. 1 stars
1/08/99 john r Movie was entertaining although Pitt was rather stiff. Anthony Hopkins was outstanding. 3 stars
1/04/99 jlgallardo The story was not quite convincing. See it in theaters don't rent it, you will hate it. 3 stars
1/01/99 Movie Geezer haaated it---looong and stupid 2 stars
12/09/98 AnnieBee Death can speak in Island tongue but has never tasted peanut butter? Come on! 3 stars
12/06/98 Mr Showbiz Protracted, overindulgent remake of "Death Takes A Holiday". May just bore you to.. 3 stars
12/02/98 16 in, of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls Great cinematography, great cast, but it was damn near 3 hrs.long, but it was good! 4 stars
12/01/98 Bluntman Anthony Hopkins is wonderful, clever lines, a fine story- all and all entertaining. 4 stars
11/25/98 Callie The original picture "Death Takes a Holiday" really can't be topped. But Brad is AOK !!!!!! 4 stars
11/23/98 Daniel A girlie flick...might as well see Point Break with a better script. 3 stars
11/23/98 Freyja 3 words. Brad Pitt naked. 5 stars
11/21/98 Zantwerp Absoluetely one of the best films of the year. The cinematography was incredible!!! 5 stars
11/11/98 Tina 3 hrs of pitt living vicariously through hopkins & a feeble atempt at acting by forlani 3 stars
10/19/98 Dark Horizons A really amazing film. Visually just stunning, some really excellent dialogue. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Nov-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 08-Feb-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Mar-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast