More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.39

Awesome54.35%
Worth A Look: 36.96%
Average: 4.35%
Pretty Bad: 2.17%
Total Crap: 2.17%

1 review, 40 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Wrong Guy, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"Dave Foley is a funny, funny man. Too bad he's an asshole."
4 stars

Dave Foley refused to participate in the writing of "Kids in the Hall: Brain Candy" and played far too few roles in the movie itself. That pissed me off. But he redeemed himself by starring in this movie.

This was a completely unexpected treat, something that nobody was renting at the video store where I was working, even though it had Dave from "NewsRadio" and the fat guy from "Ellen" on the box. And the box claims that Jennifer Tilly is an Oscar-winning actress. She isn't, but it's a heck of a selling point. So I popped it in, expecting something along the level of other Kids' in the Hall projects (Hijacking Hollywood, National Lampoon's Senior Trip) and, to my surprise, it was brilliantly funny.

The plot is a loose takeoff of "The Fugitive", the twist being that nobody is really chasing after the guy. Dave walks in after his boss gets murdered, and picks up the knife and gets his fingerprints all over the crime scene. He becomes convinced that the authorities are after him, when in fact they saw the real murderer on the security camera and know that Dave is innocent. Dave doesn't know that. So he takes off.

The film has a terrifically offbeat sense of humor, particularily in the subplot about the evil farmer trying to close down the bank. I actually enjoyed Jennifer Tilly's performance as the narcoleptic love interest - the first time I enjoyed a Jennifer Tilly performance, EVER.

Rent this movie, or search it out in the discount bin. It's worth it. A lot of funny cameos, good lead performances, and Dave Foley not being quite so much of an asshole.

You might get a discount if you rent it from Blockbuster - nobody ever does, and they might feel sorry for it and let you have it for a long time.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1895&reviewer=27
originally posted: 05/19/99 15:55:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/21/15 enema bag jones Best comedy ever! 5 stars
8/15/11 brian And years later I still think this is one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. 5 stars
10/07/09 Dane Youssef A few laughs to be hard here and there. Nice spun-out little thing. 3 stars
4/04/09 Dane Youssef Directed so lifelessly as to be comatose. Few laughs here and there, but overall catatonic. 2 stars
3/16/09 CJ Funniest movie ever! Colm Feore is the hottest person in the whole thing though. DAMN! 5 stars
4/07/07 Jon D. Barrett "...my eyes are just sensetive to chemicals...and dirty dish towels." Classic comedy! 5 stars
12/31/06 Jeff Anderson Better & a lot funnier than I expected thanks to Foley & Tilly. It's dumb, but lots of fun! 4 stars
8/20/05 ES It was a good movie with bad promotion, tilly's sexy 4 stars
3/31/05 anton plenty of funny moments 4 stars
5/30/04 Teri Newman Hilarious 5 stars
4/26/04 Ellen very very funny!! 4 stars
7/26/03 carita haviland laughed till my throat hurt 4 stars
7/25/03 Scott Awesomely funny - went out and bought it 5 stars
7/02/03 A,A Dumb.dumb.dumb-ain't no Naked Gun, still a hell of a lot of fun 4 stars
1/27/03 drew hilarious 5 stars
1/18/03 Sasha Obad I haven't seen this film. what are we talking about? 5 stars
1/13/03 JS Very funny. Critics seem to miss that it's a comedy, not a piece of literature. 4 stars
12/11/02 Calum MacLeod Holy god, my absolute favourite movie of all time, bar noe. 5 stars
10/11/02 Alex The funniest movie i've ever seen. 5 stars
10/06/02 Joyce Total Crap is too good a rating for this . 1 stars
5/18/02 Chad (the doogey) Altomare dyno-mite 5 stars
3/02/02 Unagiboy Most overlooked movie. Way better than Brain Candy. Totally funny. I love his screaming. 5 stars
2/25/02 Amy Why didn't anyone notice this movie? 5 stars
2/17/02 Tim "my name's jones....enema bag jones"...with lines like that how could it NOT be funny? :) 4 stars
12/31/01 Sara It's a really funny movie. And also BNL and my uncle Mike are in it. 5 stars
7/25/01 Neil I caught this on TV last night and within five minutes was hooked for the duration. Superb. 5 stars
6/10/01 sdfasdfdsf funniest movie ever made hands down 5 stars
5/10/01 Mr. Honky average 3 stars
3/26/01 Rog This movie is great!!!...I have a hard time trying to find it though...sux 5 stars
3/22/01 Sol Dave Foley told me Disney WAS going to buy the movie but it bombed Dave's hometown,Toronto 5 stars
3/12/01 Kerry Giraldi One of the funniest movies I've ever seen 5 stars
3/12/01 Sara Anne Dawson Really funny and silly and smart. 5 stars
3/12/01 Dave Allan I loved this movie, I can't believe this movie was never shown anywhere! Hollywood sucks. 5 stars
3/12/01 Rob Carlson This movie is incredible 5 stars
9/09/00 Neal Kansy Speaking as a sketch comedian, one of the funniest movies I have ever seen 5 stars
4/17/00 john grove hilarious, love the Hitchcock touches, FUN 4 stars
3/22/00 Joel Harwood YEAH really good TILLY was good 5 stars
1/21/00 dale street A very funny film! 4 stars
1/11/00 Herb Schwarz Excellent, a wonderful surprise. Very funny 5 stars
7/08/99 Thom C. Ernst A film critics hated but renters will love. Very funny. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1998 (PG-13)

UK
  02-Jul-1998 (12)

Australia
  02-Jul-1998 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast