More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.95

Awesome: 14.58%
Worth A Look: 22.03%
Average23.39%
Pretty Bad23.39%
Total Crap: 16.61%

12 reviews, 223 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Planet of the Apes (2001)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Burton at his most unkempt"
3 stars

I have to stop prioritizing my anticipations. It is not as though I sit down and list one movie above or below the next (though in my earlier teens I used to), but when you hear all the Summer releases bandied about, you know who’s attached to what, and where they stand on your list. In addition to that, at least in my case, each time one of those smaller anticipations caves in and doesn’t ante up, the hope that you invested into it sort of transplants and transfers itself onto the next anticipation. Tim Burton is fairly high on my favorite list, and it happens that this portion of the year has served up a lot of garbage, so needless to say I had some high hopes riding on “Planet of the Apes.”

Burton is an imaginative, visionary filmmaker, so his interest in sci-fi doesn’t pose an unlikely unison. So for him to dig into the archives of classic sci-fi (at least that’s what I assume the original “Planet of the Apes” would be categorized as) and doctor his own reworking of that piece, isn’t a hard concept to follow. The hullabaloo, though, was not so much the choice of this particular film, but the fact that it wasn’t a remake.

It is to my own handicap that I admit I have never seen the original. When I heard about Burton’s plans, it would have been easy enough to rent the video. (Hell, MoPA even showed it during a retrospective.) Stubborn as I am, I preferred to experience Burton’s vision of it first. There are certainly things I know about Franklin J. Schaffner’s version, particularly the ending which has long been spoiled for me. So I figured that if this really was a reworking, it wouldn’t matter too much if I hadn’t seen the 1968 version.

In 2029, a spacecraft encounters a storm of some sort, and sends a chimp out in a pod to test it, only for it to get lost. Captain (of animal wrangling maybe?) Leo Davidson (Mark Wahlberg) defies orders and attempts to save the chimp, but he, too, is lost in the storm and crash lands on, well, a planet of apes. Humans are caged and viewed as the most disgusting form of life (“Get you filthy, damn hand off me!”) and the apes are evolved species (and more than one type of ape, too) that rule the land. The concept that most comes to mind is that humans are the equivalent of minorities, circa the middle twentieth century, and the apes represent the whites. Therefore, we have certain apes, like the Helena Bonham Carter chimp, who fights for an equality, a fairness for how humans should be treated. (“Can’t we all just get along?”) Think “White Man’s Burden,” but with apes!

The concept might appear to sound slightly louche, but there’s truth to their (the apes) actions and thoughts, and we — as a society, appear often just as foolish. It doesn’t take a brain surgeon to see the allusions, but they are placed in an unusual host. What I consistently found myself having trouble with, was within the flimsy examination that the writers took of the theorized conception. They (William Broyles, Jr., Lawrence Konner and Mark Rosenthal) flounder and fumble with the idea and hardly take the opportunity to apply it. In the first place, the writers here cease to measure up to Michael Wilson and Rod Serling, and that’s not only apparent in the weak plotting, but in the terrible dialogue (“Never send a monkey to do a man’s job” or with rampant emotions, “I’m going to get my chimp”) that reeks of insipidness, not camp. What humor is scripted is strained and out-of-place. It’s a given that sometimes you cannot exalt a quality that does not exist in the source of origin, and while that may be a valid argument, though I have never read Pierre Boulle’s novel, it is my thought that the book was more sophisticated. But the brunt of the weight cannot be placed on this source of material. Instead it belongs on the screenwriters; for example, although Washington Irving’s classic “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” is a small wonder, the screenplay elevated more than was there in the first place. So it is less my handicap of not knowing the material, as it is the screenwriters faults for their own lacking erudition.

I’m not trying to say that “Planet of the Apes” is without merit — as a matter of fact, I still think it is one of the more satisfying budget movies of the Summer — but it’s even less of a trademarked work by Burton. He took “Sleepy Hollow” and made it his own. He took the brandname face of “Mars Attacks!” and gave it a unique and autonomous body. Batman got a facelift, Ed Wood was actually envied and Peewee was praised. “Planet of the Apes” is not a veritable Burton. It has familiar dazzling visuals, a dark (though not muddy) feel, and some inventiveness, but it is not the full-throttle one has come to expect of him. I would go as far as to posit that some of the uncleanliness came from being rushed. When Fox sent our their preview kits for the year, they already had this pegged in for the 27th. Had Burton been allotted more time, I think there would have been a different result. But as it stands, this is by far his most unkempt film. Even though we recognize Burton’s style, it’s clunky here, and that’s most noticeable in his visuals, which are lackluster compared to his others. The make-up and gorilla effects by Rick Baker are pretty darn good, only I think the femme apes could have done without the ridiculous coif. It’s come to the day and age where sexuality is so prevalent that even animals must emulate some form of sexual appeal, and that’s delineated not only through the trendy dos, but in the unconventional romance-to-be. Allegorically speaking, it is also a suggestion of inter-racial relationships, but it isn’t subtle in that department whatsoever.

The apes are obviously far more interesting to watch than the humans. Kris Kristofferson is off-ed early on, and there is nothing remotely developed or interesting around Estella Warren’s character. Mark Wahlberg is semi-decent in his role, but his character is so thinly woven. Paul Giamatti, as a poltroonish slavekeeping orangutan is probably the single most mistake in the film, as an inept and utterly annoying comic relief. Carter, Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa, Michael Clarke Duncan and Tim Roth all fare much better, if not necessarily for their motivations, than their superb characterizations and ape-manifestations.

To address the ending, of which I am giving away (otherwise don’t read this paragraph), needless to say, it leaves you with something to chew on. The fact that we are not quite sure if we have gone into the past or future (even further), if we are on Earth, or some parallel universe, is inexplicable. We never knew in the first place if the ape planet was Earth, although I find it unlikely. From the point that Wahlberg is whisked away, aside from seeing the year-counter increase, there is no counsel that time has advanced, until his epiphany. But the morphed Abe Lincoln monument hints that he would be on Earth, and if it was the past, it doesn’t much make sense why ape-humans were present, because they wouldn’t have yet evolved. If it is the future, it means that either a) the apes on Earth evolved and came into acceptance with humans, or b) the traveled to Earth themselves. But that doesn’t explain why Abe is ape. Wahlberg’s actions would have only affected the future, not the past, so the dominance of apes on the planet, whatever it is, doesn’t make sense. In short, the end is convoluted and equivocal.

With David Warner, Lisa Marie (who I didn’t recognize or spot) and cameos by Rick Baker and a reflexively humorous Charlton Heston.

Final Verdict: B.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1897&reviewer=172
originally posted: 07/28/01 13:11:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/25/15 David Hollingsworth Complete waste of time and money! 1 stars
7/26/14 FireWithFire Tim Burton's Smug,Anti-White,Politically Correct,Preachy version.And badly made. 1 stars
11/27/11 AEB The music is good, the characters and story are disappointingly bland. 1 stars
8/03/11 Cliff Far behind the original in every way except visual appeal. And the ending made no sense. 2 stars
6/10/11 Silkworm Shit sandwich remake 1 stars
4/13/09 Dane Youssef A totally forgettable and unremarkable film. Not worth the time and effort. No blockbuster 2 stars
12/05/08 Shaun Wallner Great story! 3 stars
6/23/08 Ben Affleck Sweet...I've finally found an actor worse than me...Marky Mark Wahlberg...horray!!!! 1 stars
5/24/08 PAUL SHORTT UNIMAGINATIVE FARE, GENERIC AND HUMOURLESS HERO, BANAL VILLAIN 1 stars
6/15/07 Vincent Ebriega Inept and very average, compared to what Tim Burton can acheive with his hands. 2.5/5. 2 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega Good film, but Burton would have done a better ending for this. 3 stars
9/04/06 David Pollastrini Great Make-up. 5 stars
7/11/06 David Cohen The ape make-up was good. If they had only spent some $ on the script 2 stars
1/22/06 Quigley I loved it as a kid but now it seemed to lose its touch. tim roth was awesome, though 3 stars
12/03/05 cr a ok remake with cool visual effects and better story,but little bit overdone and a bad end 3 stars
8/13/05 ES Never have I seen the awesomness of a movie so utterly destroyed by its ending 2 stars
8/06/05 Zack More faithful to the original book. 5 stars
5/27/05 Jake enjoyable sometimes but the ending SUCKED! 3 stars
3/12/05 Alice Colwell stupid 2 stars
2/20/05 Alice Colwell :( 2 stars
2/05/05 Lucas Worst remake ever. Incomprehensible. 1 stars
10/28/04 Daveman Burton's visuals are dazzling, but the film never amounts to anything above mere competence 2 stars
9/04/04 T.B. It like the orignal 4 stars
8/20/04 DM Where's Charlton Heston when you need him? 2 stars
5/30/04 Frazier Terrible re-make with poor acting and lack of good storyline 2 stars
5/13/04 tatum Burton could not direct an action scene to save his life 2 stars
5/01/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it Damn you! Damn you all to hell!!! 1 stars
4/13/04 Vince Useless, crappy remake. A waste of Burton's talent. 1 stars
3/30/04 Whadisay? No subtley, no class, no reason to watch 2 stars
3/17/04 hep Bad remake, not a shade on the original 2 stars
2/02/04 I Would Even for the typically style-over-content Burton, this is a beautiful looking piece of shit 2 stars
1/11/04 Matt R i saw it when it came out and well this is one movie that dosent stand up to time,woo nickD 2 stars
12/27/03 Genius Not so dreadful...but waay behind the ORIGINAL! 4 stars
12/17/03 john great ape make up can't save this boring turkey - watch the oreiginal folks! 1 stars
12/09/03 Samuel Not even close to the origional, but still a decent film... 3 stars
6/09/03 The Chronic Does Hollywood need some friggin' ideas?! I need a job man! 2 stars
4/04/03 Jack Bourbon Tim Burton: on crack, maybe? *Sniffle* 2 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby Unimaginative and uninvolving. Poor direction, sodden star perf by Wahlberg. 1 stars
2/18/03 Pinkline Jones Bonham-Carter's best work since Barbarella 1 stars
2/08/03 Evil Bob FUCK THE PLANET!!! THIS MOVIE SUCKS DICK!!! 1 stars
12/11/02 Roddy fangirl Roddy is sorely missed, what crap! 1 stars
12/07/02 Kyle Not bad. But the only thing better than the original is the make-up :) 3 stars
8/19/02 jurassiraptor Way overhyped. Bad acting, bad characters, bad story, and plotholes galore. 2 stars
7/29/02 Piz unless you're like 80 years old, you'll like it better than the original 4 stars
7/12/02 Film Dude Shits all over the original. 2 stars
6/02/02 Chris You could rent the oringal or see this, it dones't really matter. 4 stars
4/01/02 KMG This movie could've been so much more...unfortunately it tanked big time 3 stars
3/28/02 NeuroManson Get your filthy hands off my movie, you damnned dirty human!!! 2 stars
2/25/02 Butterbean Burton never disappoints as a director. Brilliant costumes and makeup 4 stars
2/24/02 Kent Visually appealing but a disappointing story - too many coincidences and twists. 2 stars
2/23/02 Jenny Tullwartz Forgettable - better than MATRIX is best I can say of it 2 stars
2/23/02 Beyonder Mark Wahlberg did not finish its puberty, how could he save the humanity? coul 1 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Read the book. You'll be more entertained. 2 stars
2/02/02 Del When the native humans started talking, this movie started sucking 1 stars
1/21/02 Soap Lando Dull Humans, all of them - The APES had good reason to exterminate them ! 2 stars
1/09/02 Joe Good enough to keep me from getting up to go to the washroom a couple of times 4 stars
1/08/02 Spyguy2 Major disappointment ... from Burton just makes it worse- fails completely on all levels 1 stars
1/02/02 slipperyK andrew your a moron, thats why it's called a...remake 4 stars
1/02/02 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) It still sends a great message, but the new ending made NO sense! 2 stars
12/13/01 Chris K. OK film. Tries to ape (pun intended) the original 1968 film, but fails as average remake. 3 stars
12/10/01 Eric Planet of the Apes is exciting, fast-paced, and fun. Best summer film in years. 5 stars
12/05/01 Monday Morning I hated that touchy-feely girl ape who had a crush on Marky Mark. 4 stars
11/30/01 Andrew Carden Such A Rip-Off Of The Original, It Comes Off As Just Impossible 2 Watch. 1 stars
11/27/01 sdfr noisy, flashy and hollow remake of the beloved classic. Tim Roth rocks tho. 3 stars
11/09/01 Button Dark, violent, dull, and did I mention dark - literally? 1 stars
10/31/01 Sumixam Better than I expected, Apes seemed very real too 5 stars
10/18/01 I love movies solid remake, it's a lot of fun 5 stars
10/09/01 marzio arigoni@rtsi.ch good visual show, not the main male actor 4 stars
10/05/01 Mark Conway needed someone like george clooney in it to make it more appealing 3 stars
10/01/01 MoVeR what? it was the BEST film i swear except for the ending which was a bit cruel but still.. 5 stars
10/01/01 Phoenix The best plotted and acted blockbuster in a while. It exceeds the original at every turn. 5 stars
10/01/01 Evil Bitchwoman crap crap crap crap crap 1 stars
9/17/01 Bri It was okay, but needed Estella on all fours! 3 stars
9/17/01 Rebecca whalberg What a delightfull movie! Can't wait until the sequal! 5 stars
9/09/01 Stranded on the Island Burton's worst, this has a terrible script, huge plot holes. Don't wast $8.50, rent it! 2 stars
9/06/01 Jim Those damn dirty apes! Who let them write the screenplay? 1 stars
9/05/01 I love movies exciting, funny, intriguing, and smart! It actually had a story! 5 stars
9/03/01 the Grinch A movie that needed an update like Marky Mark needs another lead role... 3 stars
9/02/01 Steve The ending makes no sense, the acting was horrible. So bad it's almost funny. 1 stars
9/01/01 G-flat What the hell was that ending? Make any sense, no not at all. Look at the time dial. 1 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean Leave it to Tim Burton to give us outstanding visuals. 4 stars
8/29/01 viking Come on, it wasn't all that bad. At least it had more story than "Final Fantasy" 4 stars
8/29/01 Jim Renwick Not worth it. Definitely a Video rental 3 stars
8/29/01 Michael Flynn Not good, not bad. Stick with the original. 3 stars
8/28/01 Bueller Not bad. Except during that damn dirty Heston scene, I wanted to throw stuff at the screen. 3 stars
8/27/01 Al Not up to the original! 3 stars
8/27/01 spaceworm When he discovers the old ship, I murmured "ahhh, cool." Then it got shitty fast. 2 stars
8/27/01 Omniscient Genius Relentless grunting fiasco, pathetic dialog, no monkey sex 1 stars
8/26/01 Paul Westcott Pure fantasy trash; more entertainment can be gained by reading the side of a cereal box. 1 stars
8/26/01 kharisma campy, cliche, predictable, spend your money elsewhere... 2 stars
8/22/01 Matthew Bartley Enjoyable but not very Burton-esque 4 stars
8/21/01 P.Rodriguez I dunno what sum of U ppl r on. This movie was a fine modern adaptation of the classic. OK? 5 stars
8/19/01 saMas Estella Warren.....Yumm!! 3 stars
8/17/01 Dakamus Helana Bonham Carter makes one fugly monkey. 2 stars
8/16/01 Eric Pretty good story line. We know theres going to be a sequel because of the end. 4 stars
8/16/01 Erin are critics actually seeing this film one guy said the remake was better then the original 2 stars
8/16/01 ray thanks for explaining (sort of) the confusing ending that no one understood. 3 stars
8/15/01 Belinda Just forget it. Dont waste your money 1 stars
8/15/01 Bruce I enjoyed the film, but not the ending 4 stars
8/15/01 Alator Not what I expected but not saying it better than the original is wrong. 4 stars
8/15/01 Josef Goebbels the worst movie of the year. And what's with that angry ape gruntin' n' groanin' so much!!! 2 stars
8/15/01 onesmartcookie good movie 4 stars
8/15/01 AngryhippyXer I liked it. It's an action movie it's not suppose to have a lot of deep thinking dialogue 4 stars
8/14/01 Bueller Good movie. Now, can someone tell me why the hell that damn dirty Heston was in this flick? 4 stars
8/13/01 bullit17 A bit too predictable for Tim Burton, but still pretty cool 4 stars
8/13/01 Kevin C. Not enough action and story detail. Though the apes made for a spectacular showing. 3 stars
8/11/01 astrotart the visuals had me going but the story and muffled voices under ape masks were mostly lame. 3 stars
8/11/01 John Mallon Needs to be renamed Planet of the Inplausable. Saved only by the visuals. 2 stars
8/10/01 SJKelley Somehow it just doesn't work. Burton's fault, all Burton's fault. 2 stars
8/10/01 Girl 9 Walberg isn't great, but Burton's vision more than makes up for that. 4 stars
8/10/01 rich cirivilleri nice shots of monument valley. verry pretty. the movie? pure garbage on every level. 1 stars
8/09/01 clasina probably burton's worse film? this is frankenweinie poop! 2 stars
8/09/01 pinkbutterfly79 not bad, i thought it was entertaining 4 stars
8/09/01 C Rinehart Movie was good until the ending -stupid, stupid wrecked the movie for me 3 stars
8/08/01 Louise Wagner This movie was disgrace in the shadow of the original. It was totally tongue in cheek 1 stars
8/08/01 Randy Nicolosi Beautifully filmed crappy sci-fi action story! 2 stars
8/08/01 jOhn Morse Love Tim Burton's work visually, writers blew it. Very disappointed 2 stars
8/08/01 palaboy pretty decent effort from Tim Burton, the writers failed miserably though... 3 stars
8/07/01 Bobbie Pemberton Where did the horses come from? 3 stars
8/07/01 Steven M. Crabtree Definitely Tim Burton's worst effort. An empty shell without soul or substance 2 stars
8/07/01 Joe D. Surprisingly good, but 'over the top' in spots. 4 stars
8/07/01 ted v. the movie should have been good, but the very BAD ending mixed it all up! Lincoln, an APE?? 3 stars
8/07/01 garrick painful, trite, with the ending of a completely different movie. 1 stars
8/07/01 Piz plot holes but very well presented and pictured..fun movie but tough ending 4 stars
8/07/01 jan christopherson crap 1 stars
8/06/01 Barry Not Bad, But very slow to develop 2 stars
8/06/01 bobtesch@earthlink.net Better than expected 4 stars
8/06/01 Raiven Tim Roth and Rick Baker are geniuses. The writers should kneel at Rod Serlings grave. 4 stars
8/06/01 Movie Fan Started badly, got worse, then died. 2 stars
8/06/01 cheri worst movie since pulp fiction - waist of time and money 1 stars
8/06/01 Chris Rippel and Kathy Mitchum Dark ironic endings can be beautiful, but only when they make sense. 2 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Not Burton's finest outing, but those apes are so fucking fun to watch! 4 stars
8/06/01 Amy I loved the movie. Mark was Fantastic. He played the role given.The script sucked. 5 stars
8/06/01 Amy I loved the movie. Mark was Fantastic. He played the role given.The script sucked. 5 stars
8/06/01 rainyday Entertaining....and isn't that what it's all about folks? 3 stars
8/05/01 Can I have a refund? Marky Mark Suckie Sucks 1 stars
8/05/01 derek deems a bad action movie with a neat twist to the ending . . . marky mark had no character 2 stars
8/05/01 Roy Smith Really good! Estella inspired some damn dirty thoughts! 4 stars
8/05/01 Studmaster It was so bad that I crapped in my pants and barfed at the same time! 1 stars
8/05/01 Linda I enjoyed the movie. There was no chemistry with Wahlberg. Special effects super! 4 stars
8/04/01 Deborah Pike-Thomas Excuse me, where did the horses come from?? And the ending -- WTF?? 2 stars
8/04/01 Kevin goodmovieoverall,ididntgetbored...awesomeeffects.endingmakesnosenseifyouhaveabrain...rentit 4 stars
8/04/01 Mark M I liked it Ok, especially the part where herides on the beach, sees the statue of Liberty 5 stars
8/04/01 Cory Hey - it was FUN. It's a FUN movie... (key word - movie!) 4 stars
8/04/01 chaz1066 I think this is a great movie as it is not just a re-hash of the original. Loved it! 4 stars
8/04/01 Mortis I was caught like a monkey with its hand in the cookie jar! 4 stars
8/03/01 Joe D awesome 5 stars
8/03/01 Mr. X The effects were special but the ending was not. 4 stars
8/03/01 ntwrage not too good 3 stars
8/03/01 puckfreak Lame, totally formulaic(sp?), gaping plot holes 2 stars
8/02/01 Axe_Murderer At last after major dissapointments (tomb raide,FF,JP3,) there is something i can look upto 5 stars
8/02/01 Wendy e Tripp i loved it!!!!!! saw it yesterday and TODAY!!! 5 stars
8/02/01 Ricky The first one really sucked. And this one was better than the first, but not by much. 2 stars
8/02/01 Satogy I enjoyed it .. entertaining great movie, but if expecting an art flick.. dont go. :) 5 stars
8/01/01 hunticus imperius A cross between Project X and the Patriot. Complete Garbage. 1 stars
8/01/01 Tom Poulos Not since the Green Mile & Saving Private Ryan have I enjoyed a movie . Excellent! 5 stars
8/01/01 frosty Not the best, but definitely worth a look. 4 stars
8/01/01 Crunchy Frog Estella Warren in a fur bikini! 4 stars
8/01/01 rainyday This was an entertaining and visually impressive movie....the make-up was great! 4 stars
8/01/01 Kim Walton terrible...don't waste your time! 1 stars
8/01/01 Julia sensational fabulous action packed funny creative original 5 stars
8/01/01 wrob The story blew - tons of baffling inconsistencies. Typical Burton crap. 1 stars
8/01/01 SOMEONE WITH TASTE A PATHETIC LUMP OF ANAL EXCRETION. AS DUMB AS TOAST. INFINITLY INFERIOR TO ORIGINAL. IDIOTS 1 stars
8/01/01 Greg O'Neill Very interesting and captivating!! 5 stars
7/31/01 Joe D People forget about the original! Can't wait for the sequel! 5 stars
7/31/01 Joe D People forget about the original! Can't wait for the sequel! 5 stars
7/31/01 David Cool visuals, great quotes from the original film, Tim Roth is a god. 4 stars
7/31/01 Jaleh Very disappointing. Terrible script, acting, even timing. Missed the whole point of POA. 1 stars
7/31/01 Louis what the hell is with the ending? 1 stars
7/31/01 Third Ivan Brainless script,, but entertaining all the same. Think of it as a comic book. 4 stars
7/31/01 Tha JZA Why, Tim Burton, why?!? All FX and no plot... a lot like JP3! 2 stars
7/31/01 Dan A predictable. Shitty for a Tim Burton film. not horrible but not even remotely good though. 2 stars
7/31/01 Darren Shea Weak script, gawd-awful ending, and a wooden Marky Mark = weakest Tim Burton film ever 2 stars
7/31/01 kev The chimp was the best actor in the movie and shoulda given "thumbs down", not up 2 stars
7/31/01 The Jeffrey APErham Lincoln--gimme a break--no story--less plot--great FX--there are MUCH better movies 2 stars
7/31/01 Unanon Entertaining.. great makeup! 4 stars
7/31/01 Erin Mark walhberg people is no longer longer a pimpin' rapper 3 stars
7/31/01 Michelle Tim Roth rocks and Estella wields a mean club, man! Nice boobs. 5 stars
7/31/01 Corie Interesting, kind of creepy 4 stars
7/30/01 Jester219 VERY predictible, entertaining to an extent, ending was badass, marky mark didnt deliver 3 stars
7/30/01 Big Stupid The makeup was great - big deal. Go see JP3 instead - it was a lot more fun. 3 stars
7/30/01 Joel how did the apes travel to earth? 4 stars
7/30/01 Katherine Perry Walberg, Roth, Clarke and the make up and ape training make this movie a chest thumper! 4 stars
7/30/01 Dean151_ The ending was Lame!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
7/30/01 ntwrage Quit bitching about the ending, it was fine. 5 stars
7/30/01 shankster Predictable but entertaining. Charlton Heston unwittingly mocks himself! 4 stars
7/30/01 Krystal overall good- entertaining 4 stars
7/30/01 Harry Pearson Visually drab. A fascist racist ending. Aside from some hambone performances, not much 2 stars
7/30/01 Peggy Sue Soon guessed where the apes & people came from but what about the hourses? 5 stars
7/30/01 John Lyons Pretty good, but the ending sucked 4 stars
7/30/01 Will I would've liked it a lot but all I remember is the ending and now I'm mad. 3 stars
7/30/01 Koitus GREAT makeup and set design! The film could have ended 5 minutes earlier, though. . . 3 stars
7/30/01 Ei Really lame ending setting up a sequel; otherwise a decent flick. 3 stars
7/30/01 Bob jones It was okay, but the ending doesn't make sense. 4 stars
7/30/01 BRIAN ENJOYED THE SPECIAL EFFECTS 4 stars
7/29/01 Jumbolya Entertaining movie, but seriously - what the hell did that ending mean? 4 stars
7/29/01 Kate Not as legitimately socially conscious as the first ones, but great nonetheless!!!! 5 stars
7/29/01 Jennifer Gaissert Was this screenplay done during the writer's strike? 4 stars
7/29/01 brent young i agree; many people are missing the point. burton rules, monkeys are funny -a good flick 5 stars
7/29/01 Nyartholep many reviewers are missing the point entirely. It's a great flick. 5 stars
7/29/01 E pretty entertaining 4 stars
7/29/01 Frode! Absolutly terrible, tired formula and poorly acted. 1 stars
7/29/01 JFK Much different that original - not afraid to make fun of itself - Charlton Heston rules. 4 stars
7/29/01 sdfk I wanted more; I got less; Overall worth seeing. More Mark/Helena ape romance please. 4 stars
7/29/01 Artist Freak Burton's most formulaic plot to date. Terrible script,great visuals,funny jokes at times. 3 stars
7/29/01 malcolm i was unmoved. awesome music though. pretty cool stunts. 3 stars
7/29/01 Joe D awesome 5 stars
7/28/01 mahone A "Plotamatic" effort that doesn't live up to the hype 3 stars
7/28/01 glory entertaining 4 stars
7/28/01 MarkyMark Too Think I Made it Through Without Taking Off My Shirt! 1 stars
7/28/01 zeitgeist not your typical overblown summer blockbuster. confusing? yes. confusional intelligence 5 stars
7/28/01 da3dAlus Pretty good for a summer movie, but ending left a bad taste. 3 stars
7/28/01 othree Marky Mark was weak, the storyline sucked, the masks/costumes were awsome! 2 stars
7/28/01 Joe D Best movie of the summer! 5 stars
7/28/01 bdf20 Sweet, this film kicks ass 5 stars
7/28/01 paul Soooo dark,turn on some lights and find a sunny location. I am disappointed . 3 stars
7/28/01 Theodore L. Green Definately Awesome....Enough refences to original, while totally unexpected 5 stars
7/28/01 Connor Dueck very entertaining 5 stars
7/27/01 Brad Mantz Pretty crappy 1 stars
7/27/01 Perry Ferrel kicks much ass 5 stars
7/27/01 Sonny Anastos I Went Ape Shit Over This Movie...5 Bananas 5 stars
7/24/01 Bigtool4U das war gut 1 stars
7/23/01 michael nicholls its a amazing 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Jul-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Aug-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast