More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.95

Awesome: 14.58%
Worth A Look: 22.03%
Average23.39%
Pretty Bad23.39%
Total Crap: 16.61%

12 reviews, 223 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Planet of the Apes (2001)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Andrew Howe

"Burton sculpts his feet of clay."
2 stars

Most of us harbour a certain affection for the antics of the monkeys at the local zoo, but there’s always an unsettling intelligence nesting behind their eyes, and you get the impression that they’re thinking about how you wouldn’t be laughing so hard if they could get out of that cage and dig their teeth into your throat. Being consigned to the status of a rung on the evolutionary ladder can’t do much for your self-esteem, so we might imagine that Tim Burton’s CGI-assisted remake of Planet of the Apes would depict a grim battle for the survival of the human race. The reality, however, is considerably less inspiring, since the script is more concerned with poking fun at the concept than opening a conduit to our primal fears.

Set in the not-too-distant future, the credits fade to reveal a high-tech space station which exhibits the kind of technological prowess that it’s extremely unlikely mankind will be capable of developing within the next 30 years (we’ll call it a parallel universe and leave it at that). Following a gung-ho act of blatant and inexplicable stupidity, Leo Davidson (Mark Wahlberg) emerges from an electromagnetic storm to discover that he’s crash-landed on an uncharted planet several hundred years into the future (we’ll accept that the film has no intention of adhering to anything resembling scientific fact and leave it at that). He’s quickly rounded-up by the primate equivalent of the local goon squad, which opens the way for a pedestrian runaround that will have most viewers wondering how such a hackneyed script ever made it past quality control.

Wahlberg has several acceptable performances to his credit, but his talents are capped at the level of competent support. Never the most charismatic of performers, he’s yet to convince me that he’s capable of displaying realistic anger, steely resolve, genuine compassion, or any other bullet point on a leading man’s job description. It wouldn’t matter if he was the next Olivier, however, since the scriptwriters (William Broyles, Jr., Lawrence Konner and Mark Rosenthal) are hell-bent on jettisoning anything which might raise Davidson above the level of a character from a dime-store pulp novel (Cast Away’s success had more to do with Tom Hanks’s performance than Broyles Jr’s script, though I suspect his work on this film was undermined by the other two hacks who had a hand in it, given that their back catalogue includes such underrated gems as The Beverly Hillbillies and Desperate Hours).

Davidson exhibits surprisingly little shock at being confronted with walking, talking chimpanzees – you get the impression that this sort of thing happens to him every day, which denies us the pleasure of watching him come to terms with his situation and, more importantly, makes it difficult to identify with his plight. The man who would risk his life to save a monkey then proceeds to exhibit a profound lack of compassion for his fellow captives, and by the time he’s called upon to lapse into self-pity we’ve ceased to give a damn about his fate.

Then again, if your cellmates were as thinly-drawn as this motley crew you’d probably want to leave them choking on your dust as well. Estella Warren spends most of her time providing background scenery, Kris Kristofferson’s role amounts to little more than a cameo, and Luke Eberl plays an annoying little prat who is included for no better reason than to provide a predictable dose of “tension” late in the piece.

Over on the ape side of the street, things are a little better. Rick Baker’s make-up allows for a surprising degree of expressiveness, which opens the way for Tim Roth to turn in a memorable performance as Thade, the villain of the piece. Roth seems to be under the impression that he’s appearing in a film worthy of his talents, and he conspires to turn a character composed of 100% cardboard into a snarling, malevolent wellspring of pure evil. His note-perfect imitation of a chimpanzee’s gait is a sight to see (I hate to think about what it must have done to his posture), and at times he even manages to evoke a certain measure of pathos, making this a role which, against the odds, warrants prominent placement on his resume.

Thade's visions of indulging in a spot of genocide before supper are undermined by the fact that he is definitely surrounded by idiots, and the actors fare little better than the characters: Michael Clarke Duncan’s limited range sees him struggle with the role of Thade’s right-hand ape (the time is rapidly approaching when he’s going to have to accept that his fine performance in The Green Mile is likely to remain an anomaly, since characters that you’re born to play don’t come around every day), and Paul Giamatti is lumbered with an appallingly puerile character who drags the film down to the level of a farce whenever he shows his face.

It’s left to Helena Bonham Carter to balance the scales, and her endearing performance leaves even Roth in the shade. She’s allocated the Kim Hunter role from the original (i.e. the sympathetic human-rights activist), and provides the only character in the entire film whose continued survival is a cause for the slightest concern. Carter left her days as a Merchant Ivory pin-up girl behind with Fight Club, and her gratifying sensitivity (which is communicated primarily through her expressive eyes and outstanding vocal delivery) should silence even her harshest critics, especially when you consider that her character is as two-dimensional as Roth’s.

Unfortunately, a couple of fine performances are not enough to save the day. The sense of menace which underpinned the original film is absent without leave, and it’s been replaced by lowbrow humour and predictable action set pieces. This is not a film for adults, as an escape sequence which borders on slapstick attests, and the sanitised violence (which would not have been out of place in the television series) ensures that the infrequent blood-letting barely raises an eyebrow.

The narrative is depressingly formulaic, even for a summer blockbuster: there’s a capture, an escape, a drawn-out journey and a battle, only the latter of which is invested with even a modicum of tension. None of these events are burdened with the slightest trace of meaningful interaction between the characters, but if you’re looking for plot holes and popcorn science you’ll find them in abundance (I could spend a few hundred words cataloguing the script’s contempt for our intelligence, but since nobody’s under the impression that they’re watching a direct descendant of 2001 I’ll let it slide). I would also be remiss if I didn’t mention that the contrived resolution will have all but the most tolerant viewers checking the spelling of deus ex machina: when inept scriptwriters paint themselves into a corner, divine intervention is their only hope of salvation.

Anyone seeking a dose of vintage Burton surrealism will be disappointed – despite the presence of Sleepy Hollow’s production designer the ape city is a surprisingly ho-hum affair (and worse still, actually looks like a set), while there’s only so much you can do to liven up a desert. Burton works best when provided with the opportunity to create a consistent, enveloping atmosphere, but the locations specified by the script provide him with little opportunity to weave his magic.

Studio executives would likely dismiss my complaints on the grounds that the film was never meant to be anything more than mindless entertainment, but that only applies if the film in question is actually entertaining. Its slow pace disqualifies it from assuming the status of a high-octane rollercoaster ride, the flat characters and relatively light-hearted atmosphere ensure that it won’t have anyone on the edge of their seats whenever there’s a sniff of danger in the air, and the garden-variety visuals will leave effects junkies cold. We are therefore left to question what the film’s creators thought they were trying to achieve, and in the absence of malicious intent I can only assume that collecting a hefty paycheque was foremost in their minds.

Given the target audience for US summer flicks it was a foregone conclusion that Planet of the Apes would never live up to my expectations, but this lifeless exercise in mediocrity is the kind of two-finger salute you expect from the creators of Tomb Raider, not Broyles Jr. and Burton. This is unlikely to prevent it from raking in the requisite millions, however – Hollywood still rules supreme, but on the evidence at hand it appears that we may not be as far up the evolutionary ladder as we like to think.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1897&reviewer=193
originally posted: 08/03/01 13:49:44
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/25/15 David Hollingsworth Complete waste of time and money! 1 stars
7/26/14 FireWithFire Tim Burton's Smug,Anti-White,Politically Correct,Preachy version.And badly made. 1 stars
11/27/11 AEB The music is good, the characters and story are disappointingly bland. 1 stars
8/03/11 Cliff Far behind the original in every way except visual appeal. And the ending made no sense. 2 stars
6/10/11 Silkworm Shit sandwich remake 1 stars
4/13/09 Dane Youssef A totally forgettable and unremarkable film. Not worth the time and effort. No blockbuster 2 stars
12/05/08 Shaun Wallner Great story! 3 stars
6/23/08 Ben Affleck Sweet...I've finally found an actor worse than me...Marky Mark Wahlberg...horray!!!! 1 stars
5/24/08 PAUL SHORTT UNIMAGINATIVE FARE, GENERIC AND HUMOURLESS HERO, BANAL VILLAIN 1 stars
6/15/07 Vincent Ebriega Inept and very average, compared to what Tim Burton can acheive with his hands. 2.5/5. 2 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega Good film, but Burton would have done a better ending for this. 3 stars
9/04/06 David Pollastrini Great Make-up. 5 stars
7/11/06 David Cohen The ape make-up was good. If they had only spent some $ on the script 2 stars
1/22/06 Quigley I loved it as a kid but now it seemed to lose its touch. tim roth was awesome, though 3 stars
12/03/05 cr a ok remake with cool visual effects and better story,but little bit overdone and a bad end 3 stars
8/13/05 ES Never have I seen the awesomness of a movie so utterly destroyed by its ending 2 stars
8/06/05 Zack More faithful to the original book. 5 stars
5/27/05 Jake enjoyable sometimes but the ending SUCKED! 3 stars
3/12/05 Alice Colwell stupid 2 stars
2/20/05 Alice Colwell :( 2 stars
2/05/05 Lucas Worst remake ever. Incomprehensible. 1 stars
10/28/04 Daveman Burton's visuals are dazzling, but the film never amounts to anything above mere competence 2 stars
9/04/04 T.B. It like the orignal 4 stars
8/20/04 DM Where's Charlton Heston when you need him? 2 stars
5/30/04 Frazier Terrible re-make with poor acting and lack of good storyline 2 stars
5/13/04 tatum Burton could not direct an action scene to save his life 2 stars
5/01/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it Damn you! Damn you all to hell!!! 1 stars
4/13/04 Vince Useless, crappy remake. A waste of Burton's talent. 1 stars
3/30/04 Whadisay? No subtley, no class, no reason to watch 2 stars
3/17/04 hep Bad remake, not a shade on the original 2 stars
2/02/04 I Would Even for the typically style-over-content Burton, this is a beautiful looking piece of shit 2 stars
1/11/04 Matt R i saw it when it came out and well this is one movie that dosent stand up to time,woo nickD 2 stars
12/27/03 Genius Not so dreadful...but waay behind the ORIGINAL! 4 stars
12/17/03 john great ape make up can't save this boring turkey - watch the oreiginal folks! 1 stars
12/09/03 Samuel Not even close to the origional, but still a decent film... 3 stars
6/09/03 The Chronic Does Hollywood need some friggin' ideas?! I need a job man! 2 stars
4/04/03 Jack Bourbon Tim Burton: on crack, maybe? *Sniffle* 2 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby Unimaginative and uninvolving. Poor direction, sodden star perf by Wahlberg. 1 stars
2/18/03 Pinkline Jones Bonham-Carter's best work since Barbarella 1 stars
2/08/03 Evil Bob FUCK THE PLANET!!! THIS MOVIE SUCKS DICK!!! 1 stars
12/11/02 Roddy fangirl Roddy is sorely missed, what crap! 1 stars
12/07/02 Kyle Not bad. But the only thing better than the original is the make-up :) 3 stars
8/19/02 jurassiraptor Way overhyped. Bad acting, bad characters, bad story, and plotholes galore. 2 stars
7/29/02 Piz unless you're like 80 years old, you'll like it better than the original 4 stars
7/12/02 Film Dude Shits all over the original. 2 stars
6/02/02 Chris You could rent the oringal or see this, it dones't really matter. 4 stars
4/01/02 KMG This movie could've been so much more...unfortunately it tanked big time 3 stars
3/28/02 NeuroManson Get your filthy hands off my movie, you damnned dirty human!!! 2 stars
2/25/02 Butterbean Burton never disappoints as a director. Brilliant costumes and makeup 4 stars
2/24/02 Kent Visually appealing but a disappointing story - too many coincidences and twists. 2 stars
2/23/02 Jenny Tullwartz Forgettable - better than MATRIX is best I can say of it 2 stars
2/23/02 Beyonder Mark Wahlberg did not finish its puberty, how could he save the humanity? coul 1 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Read the book. You'll be more entertained. 2 stars
2/02/02 Del When the native humans started talking, this movie started sucking 1 stars
1/21/02 Soap Lando Dull Humans, all of them - The APES had good reason to exterminate them ! 2 stars
1/09/02 Joe Good enough to keep me from getting up to go to the washroom a couple of times 4 stars
1/08/02 Spyguy2 Major disappointment ... from Burton just makes it worse- fails completely on all levels 1 stars
1/02/02 slipperyK andrew your a moron, thats why it's called a...remake 4 stars
1/02/02 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) It still sends a great message, but the new ending made NO sense! 2 stars
12/13/01 Chris K. OK film. Tries to ape (pun intended) the original 1968 film, but fails as average remake. 3 stars
12/10/01 Eric Planet of the Apes is exciting, fast-paced, and fun. Best summer film in years. 5 stars
12/05/01 Monday Morning I hated that touchy-feely girl ape who had a crush on Marky Mark. 4 stars
11/30/01 Andrew Carden Such A Rip-Off Of The Original, It Comes Off As Just Impossible 2 Watch. 1 stars
11/27/01 sdfr noisy, flashy and hollow remake of the beloved classic. Tim Roth rocks tho. 3 stars
11/09/01 Button Dark, violent, dull, and did I mention dark - literally? 1 stars
10/31/01 Sumixam Better than I expected, Apes seemed very real too 5 stars
10/18/01 I love movies solid remake, it's a lot of fun 5 stars
10/09/01 marzio arigoni@rtsi.ch good visual show, not the main male actor 4 stars
10/05/01 Mark Conway needed someone like george clooney in it to make it more appealing 3 stars
10/01/01 MoVeR what? it was the BEST film i swear except for the ending which was a bit cruel but still.. 5 stars
10/01/01 Phoenix The best plotted and acted blockbuster in a while. It exceeds the original at every turn. 5 stars
10/01/01 Evil Bitchwoman crap crap crap crap crap 1 stars
9/17/01 Bri It was okay, but needed Estella on all fours! 3 stars
9/17/01 Rebecca whalberg What a delightfull movie! Can't wait until the sequal! 5 stars
9/09/01 Stranded on the Island Burton's worst, this has a terrible script, huge plot holes. Don't wast $8.50, rent it! 2 stars
9/06/01 Jim Those damn dirty apes! Who let them write the screenplay? 1 stars
9/05/01 I love movies exciting, funny, intriguing, and smart! It actually had a story! 5 stars
9/03/01 the Grinch A movie that needed an update like Marky Mark needs another lead role... 3 stars
9/02/01 Steve The ending makes no sense, the acting was horrible. So bad it's almost funny. 1 stars
9/01/01 G-flat What the hell was that ending? Make any sense, no not at all. Look at the time dial. 1 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean Leave it to Tim Burton to give us outstanding visuals. 4 stars
8/29/01 viking Come on, it wasn't all that bad. At least it had more story than "Final Fantasy" 4 stars
8/29/01 Jim Renwick Not worth it. Definitely a Video rental 3 stars
8/29/01 Michael Flynn Not good, not bad. Stick with the original. 3 stars
8/28/01 Bueller Not bad. Except during that damn dirty Heston scene, I wanted to throw stuff at the screen. 3 stars
8/27/01 Al Not up to the original! 3 stars
8/27/01 spaceworm When he discovers the old ship, I murmured "ahhh, cool." Then it got shitty fast. 2 stars
8/27/01 Omniscient Genius Relentless grunting fiasco, pathetic dialog, no monkey sex 1 stars
8/26/01 Paul Westcott Pure fantasy trash; more entertainment can be gained by reading the side of a cereal box. 1 stars
8/26/01 kharisma campy, cliche, predictable, spend your money elsewhere... 2 stars
8/22/01 Matthew Bartley Enjoyable but not very Burton-esque 4 stars
8/21/01 P.Rodriguez I dunno what sum of U ppl r on. This movie was a fine modern adaptation of the classic. OK? 5 stars
8/19/01 saMas Estella Warren.....Yumm!! 3 stars
8/17/01 Dakamus Helana Bonham Carter makes one fugly monkey. 2 stars
8/16/01 Eric Pretty good story line. We know theres going to be a sequel because of the end. 4 stars
8/16/01 Erin are critics actually seeing this film one guy said the remake was better then the original 2 stars
8/16/01 ray thanks for explaining (sort of) the confusing ending that no one understood. 3 stars
8/15/01 Belinda Just forget it. Dont waste your money 1 stars
8/15/01 Bruce I enjoyed the film, but not the ending 4 stars
8/15/01 Alator Not what I expected but not saying it better than the original is wrong. 4 stars
8/15/01 Josef Goebbels the worst movie of the year. And what's with that angry ape gruntin' n' groanin' so much!!! 2 stars
8/15/01 onesmartcookie good movie 4 stars
8/15/01 AngryhippyXer I liked it. It's an action movie it's not suppose to have a lot of deep thinking dialogue 4 stars
8/14/01 Bueller Good movie. Now, can someone tell me why the hell that damn dirty Heston was in this flick? 4 stars
8/13/01 bullit17 A bit too predictable for Tim Burton, but still pretty cool 4 stars
8/13/01 Kevin C. Not enough action and story detail. Though the apes made for a spectacular showing. 3 stars
8/11/01 astrotart the visuals had me going but the story and muffled voices under ape masks were mostly lame. 3 stars
8/11/01 John Mallon Needs to be renamed Planet of the Inplausable. Saved only by the visuals. 2 stars
8/10/01 SJKelley Somehow it just doesn't work. Burton's fault, all Burton's fault. 2 stars
8/10/01 Girl 9 Walberg isn't great, but Burton's vision more than makes up for that. 4 stars
8/10/01 rich cirivilleri nice shots of monument valley. verry pretty. the movie? pure garbage on every level. 1 stars
8/09/01 clasina probably burton's worse film? this is frankenweinie poop! 2 stars
8/09/01 pinkbutterfly79 not bad, i thought it was entertaining 4 stars
8/09/01 C Rinehart Movie was good until the ending -stupid, stupid wrecked the movie for me 3 stars
8/08/01 Louise Wagner This movie was disgrace in the shadow of the original. It was totally tongue in cheek 1 stars
8/08/01 Randy Nicolosi Beautifully filmed crappy sci-fi action story! 2 stars
8/08/01 jOhn Morse Love Tim Burton's work visually, writers blew it. Very disappointed 2 stars
8/08/01 palaboy pretty decent effort from Tim Burton, the writers failed miserably though... 3 stars
8/07/01 Bobbie Pemberton Where did the horses come from? 3 stars
8/07/01 Steven M. Crabtree Definitely Tim Burton's worst effort. An empty shell without soul or substance 2 stars
8/07/01 Joe D. Surprisingly good, but 'over the top' in spots. 4 stars
8/07/01 ted v. the movie should have been good, but the very BAD ending mixed it all up! Lincoln, an APE?? 3 stars
8/07/01 garrick painful, trite, with the ending of a completely different movie. 1 stars
8/07/01 Piz plot holes but very well presented and pictured..fun movie but tough ending 4 stars
8/07/01 jan christopherson crap 1 stars
8/06/01 Barry Not Bad, But very slow to develop 2 stars
8/06/01 bobtesch@earthlink.net Better than expected 4 stars
8/06/01 Raiven Tim Roth and Rick Baker are geniuses. The writers should kneel at Rod Serlings grave. 4 stars
8/06/01 Movie Fan Started badly, got worse, then died. 2 stars
8/06/01 cheri worst movie since pulp fiction - waist of time and money 1 stars
8/06/01 Chris Rippel and Kathy Mitchum Dark ironic endings can be beautiful, but only when they make sense. 2 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Not Burton's finest outing, but those apes are so fucking fun to watch! 4 stars
8/06/01 Amy I loved the movie. Mark was Fantastic. He played the role given.The script sucked. 5 stars
8/06/01 Amy I loved the movie. Mark was Fantastic. He played the role given.The script sucked. 5 stars
8/06/01 rainyday Entertaining....and isn't that what it's all about folks? 3 stars
8/05/01 Can I have a refund? Marky Mark Suckie Sucks 1 stars
8/05/01 derek deems a bad action movie with a neat twist to the ending . . . marky mark had no character 2 stars
8/05/01 Roy Smith Really good! Estella inspired some damn dirty thoughts! 4 stars
8/05/01 Studmaster It was so bad that I crapped in my pants and barfed at the same time! 1 stars
8/05/01 Linda I enjoyed the movie. There was no chemistry with Wahlberg. Special effects super! 4 stars
8/04/01 Deborah Pike-Thomas Excuse me, where did the horses come from?? And the ending -- WTF?? 2 stars
8/04/01 Kevin goodmovieoverall,ididntgetbored...awesomeeffects.endingmakesnosenseifyouhaveabrain...rentit 4 stars
8/04/01 Mark M I liked it Ok, especially the part where herides on the beach, sees the statue of Liberty 5 stars
8/04/01 Cory Hey - it was FUN. It's a FUN movie... (key word - movie!) 4 stars
8/04/01 chaz1066 I think this is a great movie as it is not just a re-hash of the original. Loved it! 4 stars
8/04/01 Mortis I was caught like a monkey with its hand in the cookie jar! 4 stars
8/03/01 Joe D awesome 5 stars
8/03/01 Mr. X The effects were special but the ending was not. 4 stars
8/03/01 ntwrage not too good 3 stars
8/03/01 puckfreak Lame, totally formulaic(sp?), gaping plot holes 2 stars
8/02/01 Axe_Murderer At last after major dissapointments (tomb raide,FF,JP3,) there is something i can look upto 5 stars
8/02/01 Wendy e Tripp i loved it!!!!!! saw it yesterday and TODAY!!! 5 stars
8/02/01 Ricky The first one really sucked. And this one was better than the first, but not by much. 2 stars
8/02/01 Satogy I enjoyed it .. entertaining great movie, but if expecting an art flick.. dont go. :) 5 stars
8/01/01 hunticus imperius A cross between Project X and the Patriot. Complete Garbage. 1 stars
8/01/01 Tom Poulos Not since the Green Mile & Saving Private Ryan have I enjoyed a movie . Excellent! 5 stars
8/01/01 frosty Not the best, but definitely worth a look. 4 stars
8/01/01 Crunchy Frog Estella Warren in a fur bikini! 4 stars
8/01/01 rainyday This was an entertaining and visually impressive movie....the make-up was great! 4 stars
8/01/01 Kim Walton terrible...don't waste your time! 1 stars
8/01/01 Julia sensational fabulous action packed funny creative original 5 stars
8/01/01 wrob The story blew - tons of baffling inconsistencies. Typical Burton crap. 1 stars
8/01/01 SOMEONE WITH TASTE A PATHETIC LUMP OF ANAL EXCRETION. AS DUMB AS TOAST. INFINITLY INFERIOR TO ORIGINAL. IDIOTS 1 stars
8/01/01 Greg O'Neill Very interesting and captivating!! 5 stars
7/31/01 Joe D People forget about the original! Can't wait for the sequel! 5 stars
7/31/01 Joe D People forget about the original! Can't wait for the sequel! 5 stars
7/31/01 David Cool visuals, great quotes from the original film, Tim Roth is a god. 4 stars
7/31/01 Jaleh Very disappointing. Terrible script, acting, even timing. Missed the whole point of POA. 1 stars
7/31/01 Louis what the hell is with the ending? 1 stars
7/31/01 Third Ivan Brainless script,, but entertaining all the same. Think of it as a comic book. 4 stars
7/31/01 Tha JZA Why, Tim Burton, why?!? All FX and no plot... a lot like JP3! 2 stars
7/31/01 Dan A predictable. Shitty for a Tim Burton film. not horrible but not even remotely good though. 2 stars
7/31/01 Darren Shea Weak script, gawd-awful ending, and a wooden Marky Mark = weakest Tim Burton film ever 2 stars
7/31/01 kev The chimp was the best actor in the movie and shoulda given "thumbs down", not up 2 stars
7/31/01 The Jeffrey APErham Lincoln--gimme a break--no story--less plot--great FX--there are MUCH better movies 2 stars
7/31/01 Unanon Entertaining.. great makeup! 4 stars
7/31/01 Erin Mark walhberg people is no longer longer a pimpin' rapper 3 stars
7/31/01 Michelle Tim Roth rocks and Estella wields a mean club, man! Nice boobs. 5 stars
7/31/01 Corie Interesting, kind of creepy 4 stars
7/30/01 Jester219 VERY predictible, entertaining to an extent, ending was badass, marky mark didnt deliver 3 stars
7/30/01 Big Stupid The makeup was great - big deal. Go see JP3 instead - it was a lot more fun. 3 stars
7/30/01 Joel how did the apes travel to earth? 4 stars
7/30/01 Katherine Perry Walberg, Roth, Clarke and the make up and ape training make this movie a chest thumper! 4 stars
7/30/01 Dean151_ The ending was Lame!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
7/30/01 ntwrage Quit bitching about the ending, it was fine. 5 stars
7/30/01 shankster Predictable but entertaining. Charlton Heston unwittingly mocks himself! 4 stars
7/30/01 Krystal overall good- entertaining 4 stars
7/30/01 Harry Pearson Visually drab. A fascist racist ending. Aside from some hambone performances, not much 2 stars
7/30/01 Peggy Sue Soon guessed where the apes & people came from but what about the hourses? 5 stars
7/30/01 John Lyons Pretty good, but the ending sucked 4 stars
7/30/01 Will I would've liked it a lot but all I remember is the ending and now I'm mad. 3 stars
7/30/01 Koitus GREAT makeup and set design! The film could have ended 5 minutes earlier, though. . . 3 stars
7/30/01 Ei Really lame ending setting up a sequel; otherwise a decent flick. 3 stars
7/30/01 Bob jones It was okay, but the ending doesn't make sense. 4 stars
7/30/01 BRIAN ENJOYED THE SPECIAL EFFECTS 4 stars
7/29/01 Jumbolya Entertaining movie, but seriously - what the hell did that ending mean? 4 stars
7/29/01 Kate Not as legitimately socially conscious as the first ones, but great nonetheless!!!! 5 stars
7/29/01 Jennifer Gaissert Was this screenplay done during the writer's strike? 4 stars
7/29/01 brent young i agree; many people are missing the point. burton rules, monkeys are funny -a good flick 5 stars
7/29/01 Nyartholep many reviewers are missing the point entirely. It's a great flick. 5 stars
7/29/01 E pretty entertaining 4 stars
7/29/01 Frode! Absolutly terrible, tired formula and poorly acted. 1 stars
7/29/01 JFK Much different that original - not afraid to make fun of itself - Charlton Heston rules. 4 stars
7/29/01 sdfk I wanted more; I got less; Overall worth seeing. More Mark/Helena ape romance please. 4 stars
7/29/01 Artist Freak Burton's most formulaic plot to date. Terrible script,great visuals,funny jokes at times. 3 stars
7/29/01 malcolm i was unmoved. awesome music though. pretty cool stunts. 3 stars
7/29/01 Joe D awesome 5 stars
7/28/01 mahone A "Plotamatic" effort that doesn't live up to the hype 3 stars
7/28/01 glory entertaining 4 stars
7/28/01 MarkyMark Too Think I Made it Through Without Taking Off My Shirt! 1 stars
7/28/01 zeitgeist not your typical overblown summer blockbuster. confusing? yes. confusional intelligence 5 stars
7/28/01 da3dAlus Pretty good for a summer movie, but ending left a bad taste. 3 stars
7/28/01 othree Marky Mark was weak, the storyline sucked, the masks/costumes were awsome! 2 stars
7/28/01 Joe D Best movie of the summer! 5 stars
7/28/01 bdf20 Sweet, this film kicks ass 5 stars
7/28/01 paul Soooo dark,turn on some lights and find a sunny location. I am disappointed . 3 stars
7/28/01 Theodore L. Green Definately Awesome....Enough refences to original, while totally unexpected 5 stars
7/28/01 Connor Dueck very entertaining 5 stars
7/27/01 Brad Mantz Pretty crappy 1 stars
7/27/01 Perry Ferrel kicks much ass 5 stars
7/27/01 Sonny Anastos I Went Ape Shit Over This Movie...5 Bananas 5 stars
7/24/01 Bigtool4U das war gut 1 stars
7/23/01 michael nicholls its a amazing 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Jul-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Aug-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast