More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.83

Awesome49.33%
Worth A Look: 22.67%
Average: 4%
Pretty Bad: 9.33%
Total Crap: 14.67%

2 reviews, 63 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Empire Records
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"What's with today today?"
4 stars

Uneven but funny.

Empire Records is locally owned and operated, inhabited by the usual gang of losers that teens are porttrayed as. There's Lucas (Rory Cochrane), who's the intellectual of the group. He talks intelligently, anyway. He's got sort of a beatnik vibe going. There's Debra (Robin Tunney), the angsty one. She shaves her head. There's Gina (Renee Zellweger), the shallow hottie. Corey (Liv Tyler) is headed to Harvard. She's the girl next door type. A.J. (Johnny Whitworth) is in love with Corey. He's the guy next door type. Mark (Ethan Embry) is the goofy headbanger doofus. Their boss is the beleagured Joe (Anthony LaPaglia).

Joe lets Lucas close one night. Lucas finds plans to turn Empire Records into a MusicTown, sort of a generic Musicland/Sam Goody hybrid (as if they could be any more generic). Lucas, thinking he can win enough money to buy the store from it's owner, promptly heads to Atlantic City with $9,000 in cash from the store, and loses it all.

The rest of the movie deals with attempts to cover the missing cash and getting enough back to make up for it being gone. Sort of.

The cash thing isn't really dealt with until the film's final reel in an implausible conclusion. The rest of the film is just another of the small-budgeted talkers, where there are little vignettes of action with snappy dialogue, but nothing really moves the plot along or resolves a story.

That's not to say it's a bad film.

I liked Empire Records, because I'm a fan of low-budget talkies. Some of the jokes were lame, but the dialogue was usually quite funny. Fine performances from the cast, with Cochrane standing out the most.

A decent rental.

Attention Rex Manning fans, to your left you will notice a shoplifter being chased by our night manager Lucas. This young man will be caught, dipped in a vat of hot oil and served to our first one hundred customers. Just another tasty treat from the gang here at Empire Records!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1900&reviewer=7
originally posted: 03/30/99 06:01:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/31/11 Fatman Walksalone My favourite film! 5 stars
1/23/11 PAUL SHORTT DULL, SILLY COMEDY 1 stars
2/22/10 Kevon favorite movie ever 5 stars
10/10/09 Jeff Wilder Acting weak. But the characters and dialogue are great. 4 stars
1/28/09 leoleake01 Empire Records was the best movie ever 5 stars
3/08/07 Stames Haha, I liked this. I really didn't think it hobbled along like most terrible movies do. 4 stars
12/24/06 Brad Champion Bought the DVD for 5 bucks at Walmart. Solid though, if you're stoned. 3 stars
2/08/06 JM Synth Bottom 10 stuff 1 stars
9/16/05 babs AMAZING!!!! 5 stars
9/02/05 ES Good movie, makes you want to work at a record store, makes Renée Zellweger actually hot 4 stars
6/19/05 Sean Lane Anyone who likes this one bit shouldn't breath. Thanks for ruining life. 1 stars
4/14/05 dr. forrester abysmal beyond ALL comprehension! 1 stars
1/28/05 Jeff Anderson HELLO! THIS FILM TOTALLY SUCKS! PUMP UP THE VOLUME IS WAY, WAY BETTER THAN THIS!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/13/04 Richard W The film is all about the soundtrack, which is sharp and well matched to the tone. 4 stars
11/10/04 brianna i love this movie. it makes me feel like m not alone in the world. deb reminds me of myself 5 stars
10/30/04 just_anotherguy this movie is realy kool.whoever wrote that review man.dumb ass. 5 stars
10/14/04 chelsea i love this movie!! u losers who wrote those reviews can kiss my ass!! 5 stars
5/29/04 Franziska I loved this film! I rented it, and bought it soon afterwards. Gwaaar! 5 stars
2/16/04 EL indio mayta cool 5 stars
12/30/03 A Guy very good, quite funny 4 stars
11/27/03 lyssa i think this is a great ass movie...it rocks reakky hard.... 5 stars
11/20/03 madelin Has a great soundtrack and a good plot.give it a break - its STYLISHLY flaky!nic 5 stars
9/24/03 jackie the BEST movie 5 stars
6/20/03 George Jung Better than most movies in the genre. Good film. 3 stars
6/08/03 Hottie I thought this was a GREAT movie and the actors did great also! 5 stars
4/06/03 Film Dude Go ahead, hate me. It's my guiltiest pleasure. 4 stars
3/28/03 arwen oddstar this was an amazing movie, is that really Renee Zelweger's voice?? 5 stars
2/24/03 Anna This is the best movie ever! lucas is so sexy! 5 stars
1/14/03 .bob mob awsome movie 5 stars
12/22/02 Rebecca This movie rocks! I love Mark! 5 stars
12/12/02 Russell smith this critic obviously didnt even watch the fuckin movie, it rocks my world 5 stars
10/21/02 A smart movie watcher IT WAS AMAZING:) 5 stars
10/03/02 Jason OH REXY YOU'RE SO SEXY! 5 stars
5/22/02 Caseyann Damn the critics! Love the Empire!!! "SHOPLIFTER!" 5 stars
4/05/02 avie this movie ROCKS! and so does mark! HAHAHA! DAMN THE MAN! SAVE THE EMPIRE! 5 stars
1/06/02 Andrew Carden Confusing and Unlikeable 90's Teen-Rock Flick. 2 stars
12/16/01 rosie empire records is my favourite movie ever and i love it! 5 stars
9/25/01 Lindsey This is such a quality flick. This is one of my all time favs 5 stars
8/30/01 EDGAR AREVALO EXCELENTE 5 stars
8/24/01 Greg Willson needs more nudity or something 3 stars
8/15/01 Dusty Laid-back, enthralling, funny. Not for the intellectually or emotionallly challenged. 5 stars
7/01/01 K8 DAMN THE MAN! SAVE THE EMPIRE! i am completely in love with Ethan Embry(Randall), Mark rox! 5 stars
5/30/01 George Beast This movie ROCKS! Ignore the movie snobs (looking for some deep meaning in EVERY movie). 5 stars
4/18/01 cuntphucer highly over rated 2 stars
2/06/01 Phil M. Afficiando Silly sitcom. Dysfunctional wannabes rally for enlightened mgr. See High Fidelity instead. 2 stars
11/01/00 Tasha Newman totally awesome 5 stars
10/16/00 TIM FUNNY... BAD ATTEMPT TO PORTRAY "GENERATION X" 4 stars
5/19/00 Elvisfan Fun but not for repeated viewings; liked Ethan & Sexton the most 4 stars
4/09/00 EMagGaRony kicks all ass... it is one of the best movies with the best soundtrack... 5 stars
12/20/99 Lisette Typical teen flick with some good laughs... 4 stars
11/30/99 Reverie SO funny! One of my favorite movies! 5 stars
10/14/99 Hannah Foster I loved this movie! It was witty and I found it funny and entertaining! 5 stars
10/06/99 Sean Yoong Fun, fun, fun!!! 5 stars
9/23/99 Megan A must see for all teens 5 stars
9/15/99 alan l charles predictable, melodramatic, the ususal don't forget your dreams crap 2 stars
8/10/99 meadow FUCKING AWESOME!!! i loved it the first one hundred and twenty seven times i saw it 5 stars
7/30/99 Matthew Bartley Passes the time in a funny kinda way 4 stars
7/30/99 jessica Styles really good 5 stars
6/07/99 Elizaveta Lucas was cool. 2 stars
4/07/99 Maniaq It was good, but WILL become dated in a few years and either a cult classic or embarrassing 4 stars
4/02/99 Cool Thing Never understand what people see in it. Patchy in the extreme. 2 stars
4/02/99 MAD Makes me get so excited I want to glue quarters to the floor! 5 stars
3/30/99 jvt . 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Oct-1995 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast