More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.28

Awesome26.16%
Worth A Look: 25%
Average: 19.19%
Pretty Bad: 9.88%
Total Crap: 19.77%

13 reviews, 94 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Me, Myself and Irene
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Carrey does silly things. But with a different title."
3 stars

If truth in advertising were at all important to filmmakers, this movie would be called 'The Jim Carrey Show.' It's entirely his movie, beginning to end, top to bottom. While this certainly is not a terrible thing, one can't help wonder how much better it could have been if just one other character had something funny to do.

The Farrelly brothers have made themsleves into a cottage industry by becoming the modern kings of 'gross-out' comedy. As they so ably proved in the underrated Kingpin and the phenomenal There's Something About Mary, they know how to combine shock and disgust and end up with pure hilarity. Unfortunately for their latest movie, less may have been more. When your movie looks like simply a string on which to hang basically unrelated comedy scenes, it may still be funny, but that doesn't mean it's a good movie. If someone asked me to describe Me, Myself & Irene in one word, that word would be 'gross'. I was hoping that the word would be 'funny'.

Nice-guy policeman Charlie has been walked on his whole life. His young (white) wife leaves him for a genius (black) midget limo driver. I only mention the skin colors because soon Charlie is promptly dumped by his wife, leaving him with their three black sons. The fact that Charlie never notices that his sons are black makes for the best laughs in the movie. Unfortunately the Farrellys have too many more gags to get through, so this one is left behind after the first twenty minutes. Charlie suddenly develops an alter-ego named Hank, who is as crude and violent and Charlie is sweet and nice.

Through your typical chain of pointless plot contrivances, Charlie/Hank must accompany the beautiful Irene to a police station out of state, where she faces some pretty nasty charges. This sets off a string of plot turns that A) really have nothing at all to do with the plot and B) don't feature Carrey onscreen, and therefore apparently don't warrant any good gags. Seriously, is there any reason that a movie like this has to be so confusingly plot-heavy?

I'm a huge Jim Carrey fan. From even way back in things like Earth Girls are Easy or the prom sequence in Once Bitten, his comic skills are just painfully obvious. He gets complete freedom to do anything he wants here, and the filmmakers are all under the wrong assumption that 'gross' or 'outrageous' always equals 'funny'. I would easily recommend this movie to hardcore Carrey fanatics, as I enjoyed most of his antics here quite a lot. For fans of what are generally considered 'well-made comedies', I'd have to say look elsewhere.

Try to make sense of the scene in which Carrey finds a cow lying in the road. Did someone actually script this scene? "Carrey inserts fingers into cow's nostrils and then shoots him in the head 6 times." I'm not saying I was offended by it being such juvenille humor; I'm just saying it's not really funny. Throughout the final two-thirds of the movie, Carrey sports a large bandage on his chin. It's explained only in a cursory fashion, and the 'punchline' it eventually offers will just make you puzzled. For every sincerely funny scene of Carrey's bodily histrionics, there are easily three scenes that just go "thud".

The movie has a terrible running narration throughout that makes the weak editing and choppy plot seem even more evident. Consequently, the movie seems to run on forever, since everything basically grinds to a dead halt whenever Carrey isn't onscreen. And is a shot of a huge Great Dane steamily shitting on the lawn really THAT funny? If it is, I have a pet store near me that will let me film all the poop I want.

While I'm all for performers and filmmakers going nuts and pushing the envelope, maybe someone needs to help Jim perhaps 'channel' his immense talent instead of just pointing a camera at him and saying "Be Silly!" There are surely more than a handful of real laughs, and I can recommend the movie on those alone, but overall it seems like a pretty flimsy affair.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1902&reviewer=128
originally posted: 06/27/00 06:13:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/06/17 Louise Pants. I switched off after ten minutes. 1 stars
2/20/11 Durwood It was good and crude! 5 stars
12/21/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess A hit and miss comedy with a lot more misses 2 stars
3/04/10 PAUL SHORTT TASTELESS AND UNPLEASANT 1 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Flick!! 5 stars
3/09/07 cokehead awesome movie, hillarious. 4 stars
6/26/06 MP Bartley Damn funny stuff I have to say. 4 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer FUNNY ONCE. VULGAR EVERYTIME AFTERWARDS. 3 stars
4/13/05 Indrid Cold Quite a bit of it is unfunny, but not a disaster. 3 stars
12/27/04 fb not a bad comedy at all 3 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G fucking funny 5 stars
6/19/04 J That Jim Carrey is a funny Mothe &^@#$! 5 stars
6/02/04 Daveman In the film's best moments, the input of the Farrelys' talent is evident. 3 stars
12/07/03 Samuel Jim Carrey is probably the funniest man alive!!! 4 stars
10/26/03 Jiz The black kids made the movie, but Carrey seemed burned out. 3 stars
6/20/03 George Jung Sommersby is a queer. Super queer. 2 stars
5/23/03 Shadaan Felfeli The cow with the never say die attitude was hillarious 2 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Pissed Pants! "You'll end up at Stanford with tham Slang-Blade motherfuckers!" 5 stars
4/14/03 LIAM JACKSON this film is great.there should be more of us like hank. if people bug u, kick their ass!!! 5 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Note to filmmakers: A guy defecating on a lawn isn't funny. 1 stars
3/17/03 Peter This movie ROCKS! Carrey can do anything! You gotta be a fan of his to like this though... 5 stars
2/19/03 Berserker Carey calling the little girl "fuckface" is one of the greatest moments in movie history 4 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Farrellys and Jim took a dive with this one 1 stars
9/03/02 AshFan The Farrelly's strike back! Funny, but the nonstop profanity doesn't click. 3 stars
8/24/02 Sully those motherfucking black sons, make the motherfucking movie, you motherfucker.... 5 stars
8/14/02 palaboy101 Some people just don't get it... they diss a good movie and praise the awful ones! 5 stars
6/05/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi the cow scene.....fucking pisser, and his sons.....fucking awesome!! 5 stars
4/30/02 Jeremy its okay but its kinda gross 4 stars
3/25/02 Chris I hated dumb and dumber, but that movie was a brilliant cinematic work compared to this POS 1 stars
3/01/02 Butterbean Pretty damn funny until Rene' "Boring Ass" Zellwegger killed it, just like in Jerry Maguire 4 stars
2/25/02 Mark Lloyd Not Carrey's best, but plent of belly laughs here 4 stars
2/23/02 Jenny Tullwartz Jim Carrey can be so much better! And chicken up ass?? Geeeez! 2 stars
1/24/02 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is the best Jim carry movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/16/02 David A. WHo doesn't love to see a guy with a live chicken up his butt? 4 stars
12/27/01 Andrew Carden Unfunny and Lame Carrey Feature. 1 stars
12/15/01 Cracked head Ladies and gentlemen, here's Carrey's career flushing down the toilet. 1 stars
12/07/01 megan i read all of these crap reviews and no one metioned that the character is not a "schizo" 1 stars
12/03/01 Monster W. Kung Pathetic, tiresome, childish, lame, and REALLY, REALLY unfunny. 1 stars
11/29/01 KMG Pussy fart!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11 3 stars
11/26/01 Smoogles Yawn....Jim Carrey is played out, can we see him beat himself AGAIN? Yawn 1 stars
8/20/01 KCobain In very poor taste, the narrator sucked too. What a bomb! 2 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk My least favorite Farrelly Bros. movie, but that is far from sucking ass. 4 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa One of the funniest. Those who loath it should go circumsize yourselves w/ a chainsaw! 5 stars
6/29/01 King Jackass I suffer from advanced delusionary skitzo frany a with involuntary narscisitic rage. 5 stars
6/29/01 Geebo I thought it was funny, nothing to laugh out loud about though. 4 stars
6/25/01 Bront fucking funny 5 stars
5/20/01 kingjackass222 simply friggin hilarious 5 stars
3/15/01 Richard Wright With the talent behind this film, it was nowhere near as funny as it should have been. 2 stars
2/16/01 Del R A little sausage humor never hurt anyone- great gags 4 stars
2/15/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Eh... 3 stars
2/07/01 G Fargo Bad~to~Worse 1 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman This year's Fight Club 2 stars
1/29/01 Nic For the most part, I couldn't sit through this movie. I wouldn't rush out to see it. 2 stars
1/15/01 Yoshi Pissed myself, funny as. the poor cow! 5 stars
1/12/01 Matt69 the black sons steal the movie 3 stars
12/27/00 Andriessen Gianni it's very good 5 stars
12/25/00 mer by and large is very good one 4 stars
12/04/00 Izzy This movie is fucking hilarious! I love it! I dont see how its bad! it cant be! 5 stars
9/07/00 Brad Funniest gross-out movie of the year 5 stars
8/19/00 The Bomb 69 funny but should have been so much more 3 stars
7/22/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble I know I'm in the minority. But I don't find Jim Carrey funny at all. 1 stars
7/22/00 burton miller a couple of funny scenes - some good ideas - poorly put together 2 stars
7/18/00 jigga blooow!!! i blow my load all over this shitty pic 1 stars
7/18/00 Fenris Utter gutter trash. Jim Carrey should have stuck with drama. 1 stars
7/17/00 Highly overrated. Did have some bright spots though. Obi Wan 3 stars
7/14/00 Cooke No bitches after 11. 5 stars
7/11/00 JonnyA also funny, but...eh 3 stars
7/10/00 Mongo Jim Carrey needs to do fresh things with his talent, but it's still fucking hilarious 5 stars
7/10/00 Wolfmoon If you don't mind not knowing what the bad guys are bad guys for. see it just for carrey 4 stars
7/10/00 Marc It's not a classic like "Mary", but it is pretty fucking funny!! 5 stars
7/08/00 Kris Reilly A dumb-ass plot (or lack thereof), but definitely some funny shit. 4 stars
7/06/00 koHawk No Something...Mary, but I was entertained and mucho laughs 4 stars
7/05/00 PJ I laughed my ass off, Jim Carrey is a genius 5 stars
7/05/00 Blubberbot Another great Farrelly movie. 5 stars
6/30/00 Chartsy You know you're going to see it sooner or later, might as well get it over with... 4 stars
6/30/00 EWillieL Laughed so hard, our friends were embarrassed to be with us! 5 stars
6/30/00 PhilmPhreak Some really funny moments. Some weak ass moments. Check it out. 4 stars
6/30/00 Jokko Screw the plot, I laughed my ass off. 5 stars
6/27/00 DatherFrawdad yawn 3 stars
6/27/00 Greyjack They should've shaved off about 40 minutes early on; gets funnier at the end. 2 stars
6/27/00 tom rush sucks 1 stars
6/26/00 Bubby Carey rocked. Story blew. Kind of a waste. 3 stars
6/25/00 Purple Monster Political incorrectness has gone too far !!! 3 stars
6/25/00 Louis FUNNY! 5 stars
6/25/00 FilmStar Very funny...Jim Carey was great, movie kind of dragged sometimes 4 stars
6/24/00 Mr J M HARWOOD A bit long for a comedy 5 stars
6/24/00 Belinda Very slow. Narration is very Disney-like. 2 stars
6/24/00 "Persnickety" wow, a movie this funny was LONG over due, JIM rocks!!! 5 stars
6/24/00 Piz Worth the ticket stub for laughs, awesome soundtrack too! 4 stars
6/21/00 Movie Freek a truly brilliant piece of comedy. it's Fight Club revised by the genius Farrellys bros. 5 stars
6/20/00 PJ Holly Christ was this movie funny as all hell, Jim Carrey is just simply brilliant! 5 stars
6/20/00 Captain Highcrime Terrible script based on Carrey's rubberface abilities alone. A genuine piece of shit. 1 stars
6/18/00 cinesuerte American Pie & Road Trip are student films compared to this, FUNNY 5 stars
6/18/00 STEVE GLOMB FUNNY,VERY JIM CARREY FUNNY! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jun-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Jun-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast