More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.28

Awesome26.16%
Worth A Look: 25%
Average: 19.19%
Pretty Bad: 9.88%
Total Crap: 19.77%

13 reviews, 94 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Me, Myself and Irene
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"It's simply a compilation of images that should be, but are not funny."
1 stars

Being funny and raunchy is one thing. Being raunchy just to be raunchy, is rarely passable. Because when "artists" like Peter and Bobby Farrelly turn on the gross-o-meter, they don't have heart the way John Waters filled up his vile works of trash. Yes, of course, Divine eating dog defacation was intended to make people talk about it for years to come, but at least there was edge --there was a sense of dare. The Farrelly Brothers come across in "Me, Myself & Irene" as silly schoolboys writing dirty scenarios in their notebooks.

The concept, and that is, the broad concept of "Me, Myself & Irene's" storyline seems fair game enough. If Todd Solondz can poke fun a gay pedophiles in "Happiness," and what the Farrelly Brothers already got away with in "There's Something About Mary," why resist tempation?

Jim Carrey starts off simply enough as Charlie, a down on luck for life, stepping stone of a cop. He's deflects confrontation (runs away from a little girl who screams at the top of her lungs) and has no self-assertion. As the story has it (according to the narrator in a parody, though not a funny one, of "The Big Lebowski") his soul-mate left him with her African-American Mensa-Midget lover, who was once the limo driver on their honeymoon, and then to become the purveyour of their children. Of course Charlie realizes the three black babies aren't his, but he takes them in anyway. Eventually his wife leaves him with the kids years later have become gargantuan rolly-pollies, to be with her midget-man ("I'm sorry Charlie, he's my soul-mate"). They've grown up on Richard Pryor and Chris Rock, and "motherfucker" has been malapropped into their dialogue like anyother word such as "like." They're geniuses, yes, but the litering of profanity knows no bounds.

One day after being stepped on too many times, Charlie snaps and additionally becomes inhabited by Hank, his split personality. Hank avoids nothing, nearly drowns the girl who screamed at him, sucks the lactating breast of a mother, and drives a wrongly parked car threw a barber shop. However, Hank is not necessarily the toughest guy around, and more often than not receives a pounding (the set-up for countless gags).

When Irene (Renée Zellweger) is sought after for knowing something she shouldn't, which she really doesn't, the bad guy has everyone including a bunch of cops in on it. She gets stuck with Charlie/Hank and nothing much happens. Just a lot of running and mishaps. Hank says "Let's buy supplies so we can hide out." Charlie returns to find out that the only supplies purchased were alcohol and a giant dildo. Everytime Hank gets into trouble and is pounded, Charlie is left to suffer the pain and consequnces. It's nothing more than a cat-and-mouse chase.

The story is very mundane, very unimaginative, and very dull. It's more like a compliation of images which are supposed to be funny, but are not. The Farrelly's have used their three prior movies as stepping-stones to tastlessness, starting with "Dumb and Dumber," which I didn't find particularly funny; "Kingpin," more ghastly and more funny than expected, and of course "There's Something About Mary," which pushed and shoved the envelope. But with "Mary," they didn't leave much to top. Some gross-out is funny, but mostly it's just insipid and inept. Falling back on the old John Waters shock treatment is what they're doing, but they aren't doing it right. Recalling another scene from "Pink Flamingos" had "Cookie" and "Crackers" copulating, but also by placing a (real, live) chicken between them. Here, we see a chicken, from the neck down, dangling from a derrier. Aside from it being horrifically obvious that it was animatronic, it ceased to be funny.

Of course the audience is going to have a laugh-reaction when they find out the giant rubber dildo was bought for Hank to use on himself, but the pervertedness has little lasting effect. I would have expected that the serious lack of laughs-per-scene ratio would have been in relation to the development of the screenplay, but it wasn't. It was because it simply was not funny. Only random outbursts of laughter reside within the poor advancement of anything new or remotely funny.

There were some occasionally funny selections, such as the whistling in Carrey's broken nose, which would increase in volume and rapidity as he moved faster and faster, or his inability to pee straight after unknowingly having sex. But there is very little to laugh at, smile at, smirk at, or even mentally note.

The Farrlleys' have a good lead, and Jim Carrey is quite the capable man pulling off the dual roles. I wouldn't say it was even a smideon as difficult as Patricia Arquette's femme fatal in "Lost Highway," or the total role recreations Nicholas Cage and John Travolta took on in "Face/Off," but Carrey slugs along and works smoothly. Zellweger is a good actress, as shown with "Jerry Maguire" and "A Price Above Rubies," but she is worthless to this movie except to create a link for Charlie/Hank to have to go out on this 'adventure.' It comes down to coming off as preposterous and pretentious. Another waste was Chris Cooper in a nowhere role as a bad cop. The really only other stand outs were the three "motherfucking" actors --Anthony Anderson, Mongo Brownlee, and Jerod Mixon-- who play the inheirited genius kids. Their deliveries, gestures, and lines were admittantly funny. The profanity, however, quickly became the opposite.

From the page to the screen, from the mise-en-scène to the mise-en-shot, there is nothing that comes off very well about "Me, Myself & Irene." No style as far as the important art of storytelling is provided. Everything is just a cheap excuse to get something they believe outrageous smeared across the screen. The movie is quite a shame. They are now an exploit; everything is so overdone, and it came similarly across like that in the script the Farrellys did for "Outside Providence." Something maybe funny the first few times, but repetition becomes old and fast, and at all times "Me, Myself & Irene" is either repetitious, or it explotative. Very worn out, very unhappy results. I predict, the crowning outrageousness and silliness will be won by a much more clever, funny, original, and unworn source, as that of "Scary Movie's." For the meantime, I am going to put the Farrellys on my backburner for a while.

Final Verdict: D-

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1902&reviewer=172
originally posted: 07/21/00 20:32:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/06/17 Louise Pants. I switched off after ten minutes. 1 stars
2/20/11 Durwood It was good and crude! 5 stars
12/21/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess A hit and miss comedy with a lot more misses 2 stars
3/04/10 PAUL SHORTT TASTELESS AND UNPLEASANT 1 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Flick!! 5 stars
3/09/07 cokehead awesome movie, hillarious. 4 stars
6/26/06 MP Bartley Damn funny stuff I have to say. 4 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer FUNNY ONCE. VULGAR EVERYTIME AFTERWARDS. 3 stars
4/13/05 Indrid Cold Quite a bit of it is unfunny, but not a disaster. 3 stars
12/27/04 fb not a bad comedy at all 3 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G fucking funny 5 stars
6/19/04 J That Jim Carrey is a funny Mothe &^@#$! 5 stars
6/02/04 Daveman In the film's best moments, the input of the Farrelys' talent is evident. 3 stars
12/07/03 Samuel Jim Carrey is probably the funniest man alive!!! 4 stars
10/26/03 Jiz The black kids made the movie, but Carrey seemed burned out. 3 stars
6/20/03 George Jung Sommersby is a queer. Super queer. 2 stars
5/23/03 Shadaan Felfeli The cow with the never say die attitude was hillarious 2 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Pissed Pants! "You'll end up at Stanford with tham Slang-Blade motherfuckers!" 5 stars
4/14/03 LIAM JACKSON this film is great.there should be more of us like hank. if people bug u, kick their ass!!! 5 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Note to filmmakers: A guy defecating on a lawn isn't funny. 1 stars
3/17/03 Peter This movie ROCKS! Carrey can do anything! You gotta be a fan of his to like this though... 5 stars
2/19/03 Berserker Carey calling the little girl "fuckface" is one of the greatest moments in movie history 4 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Farrellys and Jim took a dive with this one 1 stars
9/03/02 AshFan The Farrelly's strike back! Funny, but the nonstop profanity doesn't click. 3 stars
8/24/02 Sully those motherfucking black sons, make the motherfucking movie, you motherfucker.... 5 stars
8/14/02 palaboy101 Some people just don't get it... they diss a good movie and praise the awful ones! 5 stars
6/05/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi the cow scene.....fucking pisser, and his sons.....fucking awesome!! 5 stars
4/30/02 Jeremy its okay but its kinda gross 4 stars
3/25/02 Chris I hated dumb and dumber, but that movie was a brilliant cinematic work compared to this POS 1 stars
3/01/02 Butterbean Pretty damn funny until Rene' "Boring Ass" Zellwegger killed it, just like in Jerry Maguire 4 stars
2/25/02 Mark Lloyd Not Carrey's best, but plent of belly laughs here 4 stars
2/23/02 Jenny Tullwartz Jim Carrey can be so much better! And chicken up ass?? Geeeez! 2 stars
1/24/02 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is the best Jim carry movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/16/02 David A. WHo doesn't love to see a guy with a live chicken up his butt? 4 stars
12/27/01 Andrew Carden Unfunny and Lame Carrey Feature. 1 stars
12/15/01 Cracked head Ladies and gentlemen, here's Carrey's career flushing down the toilet. 1 stars
12/07/01 megan i read all of these crap reviews and no one metioned that the character is not a "schizo" 1 stars
12/03/01 Monster W. Kung Pathetic, tiresome, childish, lame, and REALLY, REALLY unfunny. 1 stars
11/29/01 KMG Pussy fart!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11 3 stars
11/26/01 Smoogles Yawn....Jim Carrey is played out, can we see him beat himself AGAIN? Yawn 1 stars
8/20/01 KCobain In very poor taste, the narrator sucked too. What a bomb! 2 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk My least favorite Farrelly Bros. movie, but that is far from sucking ass. 4 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa One of the funniest. Those who loath it should go circumsize yourselves w/ a chainsaw! 5 stars
6/29/01 King Jackass I suffer from advanced delusionary skitzo frany a with involuntary narscisitic rage. 5 stars
6/29/01 Geebo I thought it was funny, nothing to laugh out loud about though. 4 stars
6/25/01 Bront fucking funny 5 stars
5/20/01 kingjackass222 simply friggin hilarious 5 stars
3/15/01 Richard Wright With the talent behind this film, it was nowhere near as funny as it should have been. 2 stars
2/16/01 Del R A little sausage humor never hurt anyone- great gags 4 stars
2/15/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Eh... 3 stars
2/07/01 G Fargo Bad~to~Worse 1 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman This year's Fight Club 2 stars
1/29/01 Nic For the most part, I couldn't sit through this movie. I wouldn't rush out to see it. 2 stars
1/15/01 Yoshi Pissed myself, funny as. the poor cow! 5 stars
1/12/01 Matt69 the black sons steal the movie 3 stars
12/27/00 Andriessen Gianni it's very good 5 stars
12/25/00 mer by and large is very good one 4 stars
12/04/00 Izzy This movie is fucking hilarious! I love it! I dont see how its bad! it cant be! 5 stars
9/07/00 Brad Funniest gross-out movie of the year 5 stars
8/19/00 The Bomb 69 funny but should have been so much more 3 stars
7/22/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble I know I'm in the minority. But I don't find Jim Carrey funny at all. 1 stars
7/22/00 burton miller a couple of funny scenes - some good ideas - poorly put together 2 stars
7/18/00 jigga blooow!!! i blow my load all over this shitty pic 1 stars
7/18/00 Fenris Utter gutter trash. Jim Carrey should have stuck with drama. 1 stars
7/17/00 Highly overrated. Did have some bright spots though. Obi Wan 3 stars
7/14/00 Cooke No bitches after 11. 5 stars
7/11/00 JonnyA also funny, but...eh 3 stars
7/10/00 Mongo Jim Carrey needs to do fresh things with his talent, but it's still fucking hilarious 5 stars
7/10/00 Wolfmoon If you don't mind not knowing what the bad guys are bad guys for. see it just for carrey 4 stars
7/10/00 Marc It's not a classic like "Mary", but it is pretty fucking funny!! 5 stars
7/08/00 Kris Reilly A dumb-ass plot (or lack thereof), but definitely some funny shit. 4 stars
7/06/00 koHawk No Something...Mary, but I was entertained and mucho laughs 4 stars
7/05/00 PJ I laughed my ass off, Jim Carrey is a genius 5 stars
7/05/00 Blubberbot Another great Farrelly movie. 5 stars
6/30/00 Chartsy You know you're going to see it sooner or later, might as well get it over with... 4 stars
6/30/00 EWillieL Laughed so hard, our friends were embarrassed to be with us! 5 stars
6/30/00 PhilmPhreak Some really funny moments. Some weak ass moments. Check it out. 4 stars
6/30/00 Jokko Screw the plot, I laughed my ass off. 5 stars
6/27/00 DatherFrawdad yawn 3 stars
6/27/00 Greyjack They should've shaved off about 40 minutes early on; gets funnier at the end. 2 stars
6/27/00 tom rush sucks 1 stars
6/26/00 Bubby Carey rocked. Story blew. Kind of a waste. 3 stars
6/25/00 Purple Monster Political incorrectness has gone too far !!! 3 stars
6/25/00 Louis FUNNY! 5 stars
6/25/00 FilmStar Very funny...Jim Carey was great, movie kind of dragged sometimes 4 stars
6/24/00 Mr J M HARWOOD A bit long for a comedy 5 stars
6/24/00 Belinda Very slow. Narration is very Disney-like. 2 stars
6/24/00 "Persnickety" wow, a movie this funny was LONG over due, JIM rocks!!! 5 stars
6/24/00 Piz Worth the ticket stub for laughs, awesome soundtrack too! 4 stars
6/21/00 Movie Freek a truly brilliant piece of comedy. it's Fight Club revised by the genius Farrellys bros. 5 stars
6/20/00 PJ Holly Christ was this movie funny as all hell, Jim Carrey is just simply brilliant! 5 stars
6/20/00 Captain Highcrime Terrible script based on Carrey's rubberface abilities alone. A genuine piece of shit. 1 stars
6/18/00 cinesuerte American Pie & Road Trip are student films compared to this, FUNNY 5 stars
6/18/00 STEVE GLOMB FUNNY,VERY JIM CARREY FUNNY! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jun-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Jun-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast