More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.28

Awesome26.16%
Worth A Look: 25%
Average: 19.19%
Pretty Bad: 9.88%
Total Crap: 19.77%

13 reviews, 94 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Me, Myself and Irene
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Ah, Jim. How odd you are."
4 stars

There are people who are tired of Jim Carrey. They find his mugging and cloying to be unfunny and self-centered, like a class clown who favors funny faces over humorous content, who uses energy and pratfalls to make up for his lack of actual talent.

I am one of those people. I have enjoyed Carrey in movies, and I have disenjoyed him in others. In the "Ace Ventura" films, it seemed like someone just told him, "Go out there and be Jim Carrey, and we'll film it!" It's times like that -- when he's not reined in, completely ad-libbing and throwing himself around -- that he's least funny. It's what Robin Williams does every time he's on a talk show, spewing a thousand jokes a minute, about three of which are actually good.

In "Me, Myself & Irene," though, Carrey is directed well (by the notorious Farrelly brothers, who also guided him in "Dumb & Dumber") and gives a performance that is nothing short of genius. Yes, he's full of manic energy, like always. But he's not just flailing his limbs around randomly: He's doing everything for a reason. And motivated comedy is always funnier than senseless shticking.

Carrey plays Charlie Baileygates, a milquetoast Rhode Island state policeman who is pushed around by everyone -- and gladly takes it. Seems that 18 years earlier, his soul-mate wife had an affair with a black man, resulting in three illegitimate black children, whom she left with Charlie when she dumped him. Charlie was devastated, but repressed all his anger. Since then, he has avoided all confrontation.

Until now. He's reached the breaking point, and his alter ego, who calls himself Hank Evans, emerges. Hank speaks in a Clint Eastwood tough-guy growl, says whatever he wants, does whatever he wants, and gets Charlie out of a number of scrapes.

Charlie is called upon to escort a possible criminal named Irene (Renee Zellweger) back to upstate New York. Along the way, both Charlie and Hank fall in love with her, and while she prefers the sweet-natured Charlie, she also appreciates Hank's ability to keep them from getting killed by some bad cops in cahoots with her no-good boyfriend.

As usual with the Farrellys, this one's hit-and-miss. (No matter how much its two or three really memorable scenes may have implanted themselves in your brain, "There's Something About Mary" was ultimately the same way.) Utterly hysterical moments -- Charlie trying to urinate after a night of sex, trying to put an injured cow out of its misery, misusing both a chicken and a breast-feeding mother (in separate scenes, don't worry) -- are intermingled with too much focus on the stupid "bad cops" plot, not to mention the worthless romance between Charlie and Irene, put there just so the Farrellys can claim underlying sweetness in their over-the-top crass movies. And 2 hours is far too long for a film of this nature to sustain its welcome. Many scenes drag on and simply aren't funny.

But it's more hit than miss, thanks to Carrey. Charlie and Hank, despite dressing the same and inhabiting the same body, walk, talk and look completely different. Carrey has played two roles in the same film before, but creating two totally different characters without benefit of costumes or wigs is amazing. The war between the two sides of Charlie is a tour-de-force of physical comedy.

There is also abundant humor in Charlie's three teen-age black sons, raised on Richard Pryor and possessed of filthy, gangsta-rapper mouths. The catch? They also have genius IQs and discuss physics and science, leading to absurdly juxtaposed statements like, "Enrico Fermi would roll over in his motherf------ grave." In fact, the boys' love and concern for their father is where the film's real sweetness is.

Zellweger does fine, but seems a bit overwhelmed by all the mayhem surrounding her. This is Carrey's film and no one else's, and he alone makes it a hilariously offensive gem.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1902&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/05/03 12:56:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/06/17 Louise Pants. I switched off after ten minutes. 1 stars
2/20/11 Durwood It was good and crude! 5 stars
12/21/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess A hit and miss comedy with a lot more misses 2 stars
3/04/10 PAUL SHORTT TASTELESS AND UNPLEASANT 1 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Flick!! 5 stars
3/09/07 cokehead awesome movie, hillarious. 4 stars
6/26/06 MP Bartley Damn funny stuff I have to say. 4 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer FUNNY ONCE. VULGAR EVERYTIME AFTERWARDS. 3 stars
4/13/05 Indrid Cold Quite a bit of it is unfunny, but not a disaster. 3 stars
12/27/04 fb not a bad comedy at all 3 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G fucking funny 5 stars
6/19/04 J That Jim Carrey is a funny Mothe &^@#$! 5 stars
6/02/04 Daveman In the film's best moments, the input of the Farrelys' talent is evident. 3 stars
12/07/03 Samuel Jim Carrey is probably the funniest man alive!!! 4 stars
10/26/03 Jiz The black kids made the movie, but Carrey seemed burned out. 3 stars
6/20/03 George Jung Sommersby is a queer. Super queer. 2 stars
5/23/03 Shadaan Felfeli The cow with the never say die attitude was hillarious 2 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Pissed Pants! "You'll end up at Stanford with tham Slang-Blade motherfuckers!" 5 stars
4/14/03 LIAM JACKSON this film is great.there should be more of us like hank. if people bug u, kick their ass!!! 5 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Note to filmmakers: A guy defecating on a lawn isn't funny. 1 stars
3/17/03 Peter This movie ROCKS! Carrey can do anything! You gotta be a fan of his to like this though... 5 stars
2/19/03 Berserker Carey calling the little girl "fuckface" is one of the greatest moments in movie history 4 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Farrellys and Jim took a dive with this one 1 stars
9/03/02 AshFan The Farrelly's strike back! Funny, but the nonstop profanity doesn't click. 3 stars
8/24/02 Sully those motherfucking black sons, make the motherfucking movie, you motherfucker.... 5 stars
8/14/02 palaboy101 Some people just don't get it... they diss a good movie and praise the awful ones! 5 stars
6/05/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi the cow scene.....fucking pisser, and his sons.....fucking awesome!! 5 stars
4/30/02 Jeremy its okay but its kinda gross 4 stars
3/25/02 Chris I hated dumb and dumber, but that movie was a brilliant cinematic work compared to this POS 1 stars
3/01/02 Butterbean Pretty damn funny until Rene' "Boring Ass" Zellwegger killed it, just like in Jerry Maguire 4 stars
2/25/02 Mark Lloyd Not Carrey's best, but plent of belly laughs here 4 stars
2/23/02 Jenny Tullwartz Jim Carrey can be so much better! And chicken up ass?? Geeeez! 2 stars
1/24/02 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is the best Jim carry movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/16/02 David A. WHo doesn't love to see a guy with a live chicken up his butt? 4 stars
12/27/01 Andrew Carden Unfunny and Lame Carrey Feature. 1 stars
12/15/01 Cracked head Ladies and gentlemen, here's Carrey's career flushing down the toilet. 1 stars
12/07/01 megan i read all of these crap reviews and no one metioned that the character is not a "schizo" 1 stars
12/03/01 Monster W. Kung Pathetic, tiresome, childish, lame, and REALLY, REALLY unfunny. 1 stars
11/29/01 KMG Pussy fart!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11 3 stars
11/26/01 Smoogles Yawn....Jim Carrey is played out, can we see him beat himself AGAIN? Yawn 1 stars
8/20/01 KCobain In very poor taste, the narrator sucked too. What a bomb! 2 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk My least favorite Farrelly Bros. movie, but that is far from sucking ass. 4 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa One of the funniest. Those who loath it should go circumsize yourselves w/ a chainsaw! 5 stars
6/29/01 King Jackass I suffer from advanced delusionary skitzo frany a with involuntary narscisitic rage. 5 stars
6/29/01 Geebo I thought it was funny, nothing to laugh out loud about though. 4 stars
6/25/01 Bront fucking funny 5 stars
5/20/01 kingjackass222 simply friggin hilarious 5 stars
3/15/01 Richard Wright With the talent behind this film, it was nowhere near as funny as it should have been. 2 stars
2/16/01 Del R A little sausage humor never hurt anyone- great gags 4 stars
2/15/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Eh... 3 stars
2/07/01 G Fargo Bad~to~Worse 1 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman This year's Fight Club 2 stars
1/29/01 Nic For the most part, I couldn't sit through this movie. I wouldn't rush out to see it. 2 stars
1/15/01 Yoshi Pissed myself, funny as. the poor cow! 5 stars
1/12/01 Matt69 the black sons steal the movie 3 stars
12/27/00 Andriessen Gianni it's very good 5 stars
12/25/00 mer by and large is very good one 4 stars
12/04/00 Izzy This movie is fucking hilarious! I love it! I dont see how its bad! it cant be! 5 stars
9/07/00 Brad Funniest gross-out movie of the year 5 stars
8/19/00 The Bomb 69 funny but should have been so much more 3 stars
7/22/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble I know I'm in the minority. But I don't find Jim Carrey funny at all. 1 stars
7/22/00 burton miller a couple of funny scenes - some good ideas - poorly put together 2 stars
7/18/00 jigga blooow!!! i blow my load all over this shitty pic 1 stars
7/18/00 Fenris Utter gutter trash. Jim Carrey should have stuck with drama. 1 stars
7/17/00 Highly overrated. Did have some bright spots though. Obi Wan 3 stars
7/14/00 Cooke No bitches after 11. 5 stars
7/11/00 JonnyA also funny, but...eh 3 stars
7/10/00 Mongo Jim Carrey needs to do fresh things with his talent, but it's still fucking hilarious 5 stars
7/10/00 Wolfmoon If you don't mind not knowing what the bad guys are bad guys for. see it just for carrey 4 stars
7/10/00 Marc It's not a classic like "Mary", but it is pretty fucking funny!! 5 stars
7/08/00 Kris Reilly A dumb-ass plot (or lack thereof), but definitely some funny shit. 4 stars
7/06/00 koHawk No Something...Mary, but I was entertained and mucho laughs 4 stars
7/05/00 PJ I laughed my ass off, Jim Carrey is a genius 5 stars
7/05/00 Blubberbot Another great Farrelly movie. 5 stars
6/30/00 Chartsy You know you're going to see it sooner or later, might as well get it over with... 4 stars
6/30/00 EWillieL Laughed so hard, our friends were embarrassed to be with us! 5 stars
6/30/00 PhilmPhreak Some really funny moments. Some weak ass moments. Check it out. 4 stars
6/30/00 Jokko Screw the plot, I laughed my ass off. 5 stars
6/27/00 DatherFrawdad yawn 3 stars
6/27/00 Greyjack They should've shaved off about 40 minutes early on; gets funnier at the end. 2 stars
6/27/00 tom rush sucks 1 stars
6/26/00 Bubby Carey rocked. Story blew. Kind of a waste. 3 stars
6/25/00 Purple Monster Political incorrectness has gone too far !!! 3 stars
6/25/00 Louis FUNNY! 5 stars
6/25/00 FilmStar Very funny...Jim Carey was great, movie kind of dragged sometimes 4 stars
6/24/00 Mr J M HARWOOD A bit long for a comedy 5 stars
6/24/00 Belinda Very slow. Narration is very Disney-like. 2 stars
6/24/00 "Persnickety" wow, a movie this funny was LONG over due, JIM rocks!!! 5 stars
6/24/00 Piz Worth the ticket stub for laughs, awesome soundtrack too! 4 stars
6/21/00 Movie Freek a truly brilliant piece of comedy. it's Fight Club revised by the genius Farrellys bros. 5 stars
6/20/00 PJ Holly Christ was this movie funny as all hell, Jim Carrey is just simply brilliant! 5 stars
6/20/00 Captain Highcrime Terrible script based on Carrey's rubberface abilities alone. A genuine piece of shit. 1 stars
6/18/00 cinesuerte American Pie & Road Trip are student films compared to this, FUNNY 5 stars
6/18/00 STEVE GLOMB FUNNY,VERY JIM CARREY FUNNY! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jun-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Jun-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast