More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.27

Awesome50.88%
Worth A Look: 34.5%
Average: 8.19%
Pretty Bad: 3.51%
Total Crap: 2.92%

11 reviews, 105 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Peter Sobczynski

Purge, The: Anarchy by Rob Gonsalves

Raid 2, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fault in Our Stars, The by Rob Gonsalves

Dumb and Dumber To by Brett Gallman

Space Mutiny by Jaycie

subscribe to this feed


Chicken Run
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Clay Chickens!"
4 stars

After years of ordering friends to search out Nick Park's 'Wallace and Grommet' trilogy, it was with extreme excitement that I anticipated seeing his first feature length film, Chicken Run. If it proves to be a little less 'magical' than the W & G shorts, it still easily stands on its own as a bright, clever and charming movie.

Once in a while, you can just sense the filmmakers' care and loving attention to detail. While people fall all over themselves to praise the animation in movies like Dinosaur and Titan A.E., it's also important to note the immense talent (and tedium) involved in producing a movie that showcases 90 minutes of 'stop-motion Claymation'. It's refreshing to see that in today's 'CGI' reliant Hollywood, some filmmakers still like some things done in an 'old-fashioned' style. While different artists indulge in various styles of animation, it's reassuring to see that the future of the craft doesn't rely totally on computers.

The chickens at Tweedy's Farm are hatching considerably more than eggs. They're constantly trying new (and progressively sillier) escape plans, to no avail. Their dreams of freedom are re-ignited with the sudden arrival of Rocky the Flying Rooster, who has recently escaped from his life as a circus performer. The hens offer to keep Rocky hidden, if he agrees to quickly teach them how to fly the coop.

What makes Chicken Run better than your typical family movie? There are liberal doses of clever humor (the none-too subtle references to Stalag 17 and The Great Escape were not lost on the adult audience members) and a sweetness that falls just short of cornball. A running gag involving Mr. Tweedy's fowl suspicions works especially well, and several actors offer some excellent voice work. As Rocky, Mel Gibson is as charming and cocksure as you'd expect, Miranda Richardson is the wonderfully evil Mrs. Tweedy, Julia Sawalha offers a great, sweet performance as Ginger, the coop's dreamer, and there's some rather funny stuff from Jane Horrocks as Babs.

Chicken Run offers solid laughs, a few exciting escape attempts, some truly stunning animation, a rousing finale, and even a few quiet messages. Unfortunately for parents, you may find your kids becoming militantly vegetarian after seeing what these chickens go through.

Fast-paced, sweet and funny, Chicken Run is an animated movie that accentuates all aspects of the project, and not solely the visual aspects. If you find yourself complaining that most animated movies are hollow 'CGI' showcases, check this one out. The fun you'll have is limited only by the poultry running time.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1904&reviewer=128
originally posted: 06/27/00 05:37:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Brisbane Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Brisbane Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

9/15/12 roscoe some fun, but i did not like any of the characters or the voice work. 3 stars
10/26/09 Mr.Carrot75 There is nothing wrong with brining the Taleban on the program, but I, too, wonder how fort 5 stars
10/26/09 Arnold61 Anything I choose to do instead of hanging out with my husband and four children better be 2 stars
10/25/09 Loy22 Made me realize that pretty much every generation thinks that when they were kids it was so 3 stars
10/23/09 GanjaBoy99 To answer the following question from Mr. , 3 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT THERE'S SELDOM A LULL IN THE ACTION. NOT BAD 3 stars
2/09/07 Soranos It was boring, I would rather watch "The great excape" which is like this, but more "mature 2 stars
2/08/07 Raph Branca A bit boring. 3 stars
1/31/07 chicken love, DONT HATE ME CAUSE I'M DIFFERENT! down with hollywood and all its cgi incarnations, little bitches! 4 stars
1/15/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
9/02/06 Chad Thomas Great, fun movie! 5 stars
5/20/06 Kcaj Yeahhhhhhhh it's getting there 3 stars
3/30/06 nasma distgusting 1 stars
12/21/05 Littlepurch An absolute classic! Loved it all my life. Need I say more?! 5 stars
10/28/05 Daveman Nick Park's worst film but still good for technical artistry. 3 stars
6/02/05 Chris Great!I've lost my taste for pot pies! 2 stars
5/29/05 susee chicks!!! amd more chicks!!! really entertaining 5 stars
3/23/05 clinger26 it's so beautiful 5 stars
1/20/05 Keaton the Black Jackal Clever, original, and has talking chickens. What more can you ask for? 5 stars
8/19/04 Anon this movie has a setting and is a must see for mostlittle kids I thought the moviewas great 5 stars
8/19/04 anonomous this movie was fucked in the head 3 stars
7/25/04 John Thepious Truly outstanding entertainment 5 stars
7/18/04 Nobody Great for kids 4 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva slow 3 stars
6/12/04 Raymond Lee very entertaining movie 5 stars
6/01/04 whatevr This movie makes me want to smack colonel sanders 4 stars
5/18/04 Jen Dreifort loved this adorable movie! gotta love the chickens! 4 stars
5/17/04 DM Made me want more stop-motion animation movies 5 stars
5/15/04 y2mckay The animation is fun, but the story is nowhere near as good as a Wallace & Grommit episode. 3 stars
4/07/04 Alex What can i say i like the farm 5 stars
11/03/03 samantha cool 4 stars
6/03/03 Virgil Anyone for chicken pot pie? This was great! 5 stars
4/01/03 Jack Sommersby Excrutiatingly awful. 1 stars
3/29/03 NYTRANSIT417 Kids Loved It! Would ReccomendA++ 5 stars
2/03/03 name 1 of the best animated movie 5 stars
10/23/02 Charles Tatum Any film that lampoons "The Great Escape" deserves a look 5 stars
10/17/02 P.Rodriguez Anything With chickens gets my full vote!!! 5 stars
7/15/02 ! Really funny story, nice graphics, just enjoyable! 5 stars
7/12/02 ralph Workman I wet the bed and i love chickens OHHH 1 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi pretty kewl, tho i like wallace and gromit betta 4 stars
6/01/02 Jiz Nick Park's best work to date, very enjoyable. 5 stars
3/11/02 Emilia A warm watch..need some flavour though..hmm how about some gravy? 4 stars
2/23/02 Beyonder A good lesson for walt disney 4 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz Nick Park is a certifiable genius! The chickens aren't quite as charismatic as W&G, though. 4 stars
11/01/01 Andrew Carden Makes You Yearn For An Episode Of Spongbob Squarepants. 1 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean Very enjoyable movie! 4 stars
8/30/01 Henry Ginsberg I love how the coops are set out like in a concentration camp. 4 stars
8/23/01 Babybelle Too good for the kids, keep in adult section for quick smile occasions 4 stars
8/14/01 Monday Morning Cluckin'-A, this is funny. 5 stars
7/28/01 Steve Quit comparing to W&G, it was good anyways! Fuck you if you didn't see it and 1-starred it! 4 stars
6/29/01 R.W. Welch Almost up to "The Great Escape" but not quite. 4 stars
4/14/01 I love movies sucked, man! how about making a full length 'Wallace & Gromit' cartoon? 2 stars
4/09/01 Gary Hilarious, cool animation, but really stupid! 4 stars
4/05/01 Hawkeye If you've ever seen The Great Escape, check this out- you'll laugh yourself silly. 5 stars
4/02/01 moviegoer humorous, and meaningful, ever notice how the tweedy's represent the government? 4 stars
2/25/01 The Evil Penguin Nice,but there's no plot. 3 stars
2/23/01 Mart Dawg ARE ALL YOU GUYS FUCKIN GAY, THIS MOVIE JUST LOOKS GAY. FUCK OFF SUPERFLY FUCKIN HOMO 1 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman Best of Y2K. Most grown-up movie of the year 5 stars
1/22/01 Josh Stevens the movie was good it is most definetly for children.l 4 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 Those chickens fucking rocked. highly entertaining. 4 stars
12/28/00 Turtle Movie magic! I had my doubts at first, but this movie's one of the best! 5 stars
12/28/00 Tom What can i say, Brits can do genuine comedy, Yanks can't. It was great 5 stars
12/21/00 Connoisseur Nick Park should have stuck with Wallace & Gromit 3 stars
12/20/00 Fr. Ron Meyer, OMI Fun, funny, relaxing, really enjoyable with stuff to mull over. 4 stars
12/19/00 Destruction Worker See this movie. You ain't CHICKEN, are ya?!? 5 stars
12/15/00 viking Beats Disney by a mile 5 stars
12/11/00 Mic EvilPenguin: ever heard of spoofs? If Indy was the only reference you noticed, I feel for U 4 stars
12/10/00 matthew smith Delightfully hilarious. 5 stars
12/03/00 Phil I hope its nominated for best picture 5 stars
11/28/00 moviegoer hilariously delightful 5 stars
11/25/00 The Evil Penguin nice movie; there's one scene that is a rip-off of Indiana Jones. 3 stars
10/21/00 Johnny Figaro Funny, touching, exceptional craftsmanship... and some of the best action scenes of 2000!! 5 stars
9/08/00 Richard Wright Clever and well-animated tale, though putting in Mel Gibson was just a sop for the Yanks.. 4 stars
7/25/00 Lord Raymos Great for kids and adults (but only if they've seen classics like The Great Escape). 5 stars
7/23/00 Digitalus it was fabulous! 5 stars
7/17/00 PJ Good one Mac, I loved loved this movie is was funny wonderful, and perfect 5 stars
7/15/00 Maclay01 Those chics had great breasts! 4 stars
7/10/00 Marc I loved this movie! Best animated feature ever made! 5 stars
7/08/00 skye chapman fun! certainly worth more than a look. 4 stars
7/06/00 Matthew Bartley Enormous fun 5 stars
7/06/00 Jason Kallelis Easily one of the most entertaining movies this summer 5 stars
7/02/00 Blubberbot Good for kids. Boring for adults. I'm rating this for Adults. 2 stars
7/01/00 Bueller What do you do after Wallace and Gromit? Two words, "Chicken Run." Nick Park is brilliant! 5 stars
6/30/00 Heather The animation is fabulous, one of the summer's best! 5 stars
6/28/00 PhilmPhreak Don't crawl, don't walk - FLY to see this one! 5 stars
6/28/00 AVFred What a Great piece of entertainment. Don't miss this picture, it is the summer's surprise. 5 stars
6/28/00 furtively IF you got kids, its a 5 star. That simple. 4 stars
6/27/00 Overserved Great combo of animation and story. "The Geat Escape" with chickens. 5 stars
6/27/00 Greyjack Hysterically funny. Everyone I know loved it. Will even recommend to Mom! 5 stars
6/27/00 Poppacorn Hens also go for Mel Gibson 4 stars
6/27/00 Heather Keith Surprisingly grim, well crafted 5 stars
6/26/00 Michael Grimm great to look at, the story could have been better 4 stars
6/26/00 Guy Excellent, funny, eye-candy 5 stars
6/26/00 Socky Tocky The claymation world is breathtakingly beautiful. Ginger is the best heroine in long a time 5 stars
6/26/00 Captain Highcrime Absolutely charming. I've never cared for characters more. 5 stars
6/26/00 BillDog Go when people don't bring all the kids! 4 stars
6/26/00 Bubby Take away the clay and your left with shit. Next! 2 stars
6/26/00 Clare Fun & entertaining... some of the best jokes will go over kids's heads. 4 stars
6/26/00 Darren Shea Terrific fun 5 stars
6/25/00 "Persnickety" it's cute, the whole family can get a kick out of this movie! 5 stars
6/23/00 Bevan An awesome flick in the true, grandiose style of Wallace and Grommit 5 stars
6/23/00 frank one of the funniest movies i've ever seen 5 stars
6/22/00 Mike Not as good as the W&G shorts, but better than most of the stuff in theathers at the moment 4 stars
6/20/00 Jack Littlefield Way cool, go with a friend, but re-see the Great Escape first! 5 stars
6/18/00 cinesuerte one of the years best 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jun-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Dec-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast