More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.4

Awesome71.93%
Worth A Look: 14.04%
Average: 3.51%
Pretty Bad: 3.51%
Total Crap: 7.02%

3 reviews, 39 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


After Hours
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Darkly sparkling and hilariously bleak comedy of (monumental) errors."
5 stars

One of the most desperately uncomfortable and uncomfortably hilarious dark comedies ever conceived, Martin Scorsese’s After Hours is unlike any comedy you’ve ever seen and one you won’t soon forget.

Sadly overlooked upon its 1985 theatrical release, the film has since enjoyed a stunningly healthy life as a massively adored cult classic. (Mention this movie to a film freak between the ages of 25 and 40; watch their reaction.)

Griffin Dunne is your typical New York office drone, one whose lethargy is briefly interrupted by the sight of a pretty blonde in a diner. Paul and Marcy (Rosanna Arquette, at perhaps the cutest she’s ever been - which is saying something) share the same taste in reading materials (Henry Miller) and both seem lonely enough, so they make plans to meet at her massive studio apartment later that night.

Now, one wouldn’t think that a 15-mile trek could prove to be a chore of biblical proportions, but if you think that way - you’ve obviously never seen After Hours. Paul loses his money, indirectly causes Marcy to overdose on drugs, contends with two determined burglars, unwittingly romances a bizarre actress stuck in the sixties, nearly causes a late-night riot, finds himself encased in a papier-mache statue, and (above all else) simply CANNOT get home. Sounds funny, eh? Damn right.

Dunne delivers the best work of his career as Paul, a faceless (yet still sympathetic) everyman who learns - the hard way - that he’s not really ‘up’ for life in the big city. His nighttime insanity just keeps spiraling further out of control, while viewers will find themselves darkly tickled one moment and virtually incredulous the next. “What ELSE can go wrong for this guy?” is a thought that will cross your mind more than once.

The supporting cast is a who’s-who of colorful goofballs, including Verna Bloom, Teri Garr, Catherine O’ Hara, Linda Fiorentino, John Heard, Will Patton, Dick Miller, and Cheech and Chong - each of whom bring their own distinct brand of inspired lunacy to the movie. (Fiorentino and Garr stand with the best moments.)

It’s rare to find comedy this delicously painful to sit through, but I consider After Hours easily one of Scorsese’s best ‘little’ efforts, and a movie you should absolutely keep an eye out for. Be forewarned, though; this is not sitcom-style haw-haw comedy schtick. Some of the material is wonderfully dark and dicey, and those are the little touches that make the flick so damn great.

And WHERE is this DVD already?? Pauly Shore's entire ouevre is available on the digital medium, yet Scorsese's finest comedy isn't? HUH?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1919&reviewer=128
originally posted: 01/15/03 03:29:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/17/17 morris campbell boring imho 1 stars
5/23/15 stanley welles clever, imaginative and funny 5 stars
3/14/10 PAUL SHORTT WELL MADE BUT UNSETTLING 2 stars
1/12/10 TravisN One of my favorites. 5 stars
4/03/09 Dane Youssef One of a kind. A mixture of all genres which plays like a dream... a surrealist nightmare. 5 stars
12/28/06 Agent Sands It's a darker, longer, more violent episode of Curb Your Enthusiasm. 5 stars
12/05/05 Gene Carmean A fantasitic film.. great!!!!!! 5 stars
2/11/05 Jeff Anderson A brilliant & surreal comic nightmare from a great filmmaker! GRIFFIN DUNNE IS TERRIFIC! 5 stars
12/27/04 mjoc Great comedy from Scorsese. Dark and bizarre. 5 stars
9/13/04 JustcallmeRo i laughed outloud , while looking like this O.O Do not push pause; hold it in! 5 stars
7/31/04 Stan My favourite film of all time 5 stars
7/27/04 MyGreenBed One of the great comedies in movie history (with Raising Arizona + Take The Money And Run). 5 stars
5/17/04 Dingleburt HamsterPink Chanaka Doesn't Understand Film 5 stars
2/22/04 james chanaka Worst acting I have ever seen. Crappy movie as well. 1 stars
11/19/03 sadie the writing is brilliant 5 stars
10/28/03 Gary Hyatt Yes,,,When is the DVD being released??!!! 5 stars
9/19/03 Daysie222 I've watched this movie at least thirty times for the random one liners. Dazzling. 5 stars
7/17/03 MadMatt How can you NOT like this movie? 4 stars
4/18/03 William Yochum My all-time favorite dark comedy. *** WHEN GET I BUY THE DVD ??? 5 stars
4/11/03 Fredo Viola Script: Kafka homage; Film-making: Scorcese at his lyrical best! 5 stars
2/02/03 Mark Kenville Slow paced. Uninteresting, no matter what my brother-in-law says. 3 stars
2/01/03 irtlxub Most entertaining 94 minutes on film 5 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones Charles Tatum needs jumper leads! Brilliant film. 5 stars
1/15/03 Jack Sommersby Smooth but ultimately pointless. 2 stars
1/15/03 y2mckay Far from Scorsese's best, but not bad. The full body cast bit was amusing 3 stars
12/14/02 Zoe Trope I wrote my thesis on the neuroses that prevails. Fucking brilliant, the movie, that is. 5 stars
11/29/02 Charles Tatum I was bored to death, as funny as "Casino" 1 stars
11/07/02 Matti Nikander Absolutely funny story! 5 stars
7/15/02 Christopher Attrill The yuppie nightmare movie to end all yuppie nightmare movies 5 stars
6/29/02 Jim Camus meets "Assault on Precinct 13." I want it on DVD! 5 stars
9/16/01 R.W. Welch Improbable but often amusing black comedy with solid performances 4 stars
9/10/01 mattski not so much a story as a collection of experiences, v. good 5 stars
4/08/01 lil kim killa westside! 1 stars
4/06/01 Ray McCoy "If you're so drawn to it, why don't you force your way in" 5 stars
10/25/99 Danny Dean A humorously dark comedy, Dunne is perfectly cast and Scorsese is greater than ever! 5 stars
10/04/99 Dirty Bird Teri, Rosanna, Catherine & Co. make Scorsese's work look like a snapshot of the Apple. 5 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg I'm surprised to say this, but this is really a FUNNY FUCKIN' MOVIE. 5 stars
6/28/99 Ricardo Be in New York without buying a flight ticket 5 stars
4/09/99 James E. Laczkowski a comedic masterpiece that combines Marx Brothers with noir. Delightfully eccentric! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1986 (R)
  DVD: 17-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1986 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast