More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.77

Awesome37.58%
Worth A Look: 33.76%
Average: 7.64%
Pretty Bad: 10.19%
Total Crap: 10.83%

9 reviews, 103 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


What Dreams May Come
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"A True Triumph"
4 stars

What Dreams May Come (*** ˝) - This is the film that contains so much color it looks like Gone with the Wind on acid. This is a beautiful film in many aspects though beside the colors. This is a film full of imagination and heart and it makes the audience work and think a little.

The screenplay seems very simple and straightforward but going back to think over it - you realize exactly how complex it is. Robin Williams turns in another impressive dramatic performance in a film that doesn't contain much in the matter of comic relief, which left a lot of audience members uneasy I thought. Not me. I was enthralled but every single shot in this film and I also got really involved in the two lovelorn characters whom we follow through this story. Williams and Annabella Sciorra (in her best performance) really create a couple whose heartbreaks we understand and feel through the course of the film. We want these two people to get together and be together...forever. This film could have gone on forever too. There's imagination to spare and you get so involved with the images that you can't wait to see the next one. The heavenly images are being sprayed across television screens - but the ones in hell are a real nightmare. Why not 4 stars then? Because I was more emotionally involved during the course of the story then I was at the film's conclusion - which is not to say I hated the ending. It's somewhat appropriate for the film. But the last minute or two of the film will have you asking yourself questions when you walk out of the theater.

But I still believe it to be one of the year's best films. A true triumph of art direction, cinematography, and special effects.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=193&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/17/00 05:19:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/07/17 Ed Riddick I found it moving. Sets a very high bar and almost makes it. 4 stars
8/31/11 courtlove beautiful film with straight forward plot. what would you do for love. 5 stars
9/14/10 david too sentimental, and plot doesn't make any sense 2 stars
5/22/10 Eddie Not a movie for those who can´t stand the weight of their cynism and never felt real love 4 stars
10/06/09 hu100 sucks this movie was total crap! why would anyone watch this?!?!?!!? 1 stars
10/25/08 brian I agree with JM Synth 100% 2 stars
10/09/08 ninis to all the ppl that hated this movie they know nothing this movie has many lit. references 5 stars
9/18/08 PAUL SHORTT GREATLY SUFFERS FROM A LACK OF ANY SUBSTANTIAL PLOT 1 stars
7/18/08 STEVE THIS SUCKS, WORST CRAPP I'VE EVER SEEN 1 stars
3/27/08 JM Synth Visuallly impressive but sappy and completely unengaging 2 stars
3/03/08 ladavies thought provoking, beautiful , emotional ...maybe not for everyone 4 stars
9/14/07 DC i actually watched this only for werner herzog's cameo. not worth it by a long shot. sorry 1 stars
7/17/07 fools♫gold Very nicely metaphorical; I wish there was more. Well, onto another film... 4 stars
6/12/07 Danielle Ophelia Check your cynicism and let the movie have the floor. 4 stars
3/13/07 lupe with love anything is possible!! 5 stars
12/04/06 Emily This movie is beautiful, I loved it 5 stars
11/22/06 Rai I loved it, one of the first movies i really cried on 5 stars
8/14/06 Patrick Casanova Despite some theological disagreements, I found this movie to be beautiful and entertaining 5 stars
12/21/05 Indrid Cold Hope the afterlife is more logical than this, but if it looks half this nice, I'd be happy. 4 stars
11/21/05 Paul I didn't know what to expect, but this movie amazed me! 4 stars
10/09/05 Rhonabel Jalipa The movie is so wonderful and awesome! 5 stars
6/24/05 love Robin Williams was not right for this movie and the end has no logical meaning!! 3 stars
4/24/05 Quigley its philosophy is totally twisted, but it has incredible colorful digital landscapes. 4 stars
10/27/04 Erika I think this movie is beautifully made and thought provoking. 4 stars
7/24/04 Christina fabulous 5 stars
7/23/04 ~*Alicia*~ i loved this movie..it was very emotional...and great perfomances by all the charaters 5 stars
5/16/04 Lily Schneider It was a kick-ass movie; very emotional with a lingering sense of hope about death. 5 stars
5/16/04 Daveman Horribley overblown and pretentious. Williams is superb as ever though. 2 stars
2/19/04 R.W. Welch Pretty slow in heaven but it picks up nicely when they get to hell. Awesome visuals. 4 stars
2/13/04 Bryand Gabriel Rasco A film with deeper meaning, beautiful if you will take a closer look. 4 stars
1/24/04 Lorelei This film is my cathdreal of adoration! Beautiful. 5 stars
11/05/03 Sharel VonSeggern I really enjoyed this film. It was brilliant, and inspiring. It really made you think! 5 stars
10/11/03 tintle one of the greatest movies ever 5 stars
5/14/03 vicki lee romanitc,curious,kind if film,loved it! 5 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink Awful tripe! Even the visuals started to irritate me immensely after 5 minutes. 1 stars
12/29/02 MissBroadway2001 One of my favorites, brilliant performances, brilliant visuals, a must see for movie fans! 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Kinda spooky, kinda sad 4 stars
10/07/02 TheOthersFan Only movie I've ever seen that actually pulled the heartstrings. 5 stars
9/23/02 .Choadushouse. An absolutely beautiful film. It's so warm. Don't usually like Robin Williams, but DO here. 5 stars
6/10/02 Jermaine Couldn't be better 5 stars
4/21/02 officer 412/l I CANT BELIEVE PEOPLE ACTUALY LIKE THIS BULLCRAP. ITS THE WORST FILM I'VE EVER SEEN 1 stars
3/02/02 Adrienne Stowe Life force?!? Has big tobacco got movies over the barrel or what? 1 stars
2/06/02 RAISTLIN MAJERE THE BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
1/10/02 danny as someone who lost my soulmate, it gave me great peace 5 stars
12/21/01 Corky It was the best movie I have ever seen and my love life has changed because of it! 5 stars
12/11/01 Rey Mendoza Jr This movie is so cool and I have it on VHS and on DVD 5 stars
11/29/01 Amy Fabulous...could watch it twice a week. 5 stars
9/17/01 korakot jai beautiful pics 4 stars
9/13/01 Zoe Fitzgibbon I thought this movie was really stupid the first time i saw it but it was good the 2nd time 4 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson Trite maudlin new age view of heaven. Dante did it better. 1 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat The premise was real nice.....but damn..... 2 stars
7/08/01 officer 412/l the worst film I ve ever seen. some one pass the bucket 1 stars
6/05/01 I love movies beautiful crap 1 stars
2/19/01 INCUBATOR When you die, it doesn`t mean your love dies too 5 stars
6/16/00 Bender Overlong, but pretty good, and stunning effects 4 stars
5/12/00 Girl9 Beautiful and unique with a touching message, but certainly not for everyone. 5 stars
3/17/00 Dr Fardook very pretty to look at but shite as a movie 2 stars
2/17/00 Kyle Broflovski So it's sappy, syrupy, and sentimental. Why is that always a BAD thing, hmmmm???? 4 stars
1/18/00 Foxdvd I would rather spend the day picking up soap for Richard Simons 1 stars
12/19/99 Jennifer Hunter Beautiful effects, very emotional, a great experience. 5 stars
12/08/99 dog i think it sucked so bad,it made gandhi look good 1 stars
11/06/99 hum very pretty but not a good movie 3 stars
9/16/99 mr. pink my idea of hell is seeing this movie again 1 stars
7/08/99 Ann Wonderful-really makes you think about what happens when loved ones pass on 5 stars
6/25/99 David Keech Sappy? I would argue honest. Great effects & great script = great movie. 5 stars
4/07/99 unstrung without the SE's:decent film?with the SE's... HOLY SH1T IN YOUR PANTS BATMAN!!!!!! 5 stars
3/20/99 davebo good sets & cg, dialogue needed help and story got too weird 4 stars
3/11/99 Bats Innovative visuals; wish the tone was closer to the book 3 stars
3/09/99 Go Swans This film was so sugary, horrible, soppy, sentimental, manipulative, poxy, sad, confusing. 1 stars
1/16/99 Melissa Visually pleasing. Robin and Cuba were excellent. See it at a theater for the full effect. 4 stars
1/12/99 Miss Scarlett Wow, one of the best movies of the year, very innovative 5 stars
1/10/99 twisted barbie great until the ending...why leave utopia? the book was fabulous, though 4 stars
12/29/98 thEnd Take your serious girlfriend to this one, guaranteed hit! 5 stars
12/22/98 Jim Niles dreary--unwatchable 2 stars
12/19/98 PirateGirl Dogmatic objections aside, visually stunning but NEEDED character development. Felt long. 4 stars
12/12/98 Dave Parrish Slow to start, rushed to end, but that middle part rocked! 4 stars
12/10/98 George Morgan Somehow I can't picture Heaven as a wet oil painting canvas that we slide on. 2 stars
11/28/98 ShadowStar© You wanna know what my dream was watching this movie? THE ROLLING OF THE END CREDITS!!! 1 stars
11/19/98 Scott von Berg brilliant visually. 4 stars
11/07/98 Negative Creep Happiness is your family being dead? But at least you're together for eternity! FUCK THAT! 3 stars
11/07/98 Jayson Lauden Robin Williams delivers another brilliant performance. If you think otherwise you're dumb. 5 stars
11/04/98 Jamoch Stunning visuals, no spark between Williams and Sciorra 4 stars
10/31/98 Specter ok, not great. 3 stars
10/27/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! inspirational direction!,tear-jrker of a plot,Robin/Sciorra MAKE this movie,Cuba's boring!. 4 stars
10/26/98 me saw it with spork-girl and i agree 5 stars
10/23/98 Christ Monkey Decent. Visually stunning, and touching, but a cop-out ending. 4 stars
10/23/98 Josee Best movie ever! Oscar for Williams! 5 stars
10/20/98 Milhouse Faqw Crap. Boring, predictable and lame. One of the worst of the year. 1 stars
10/20/98 Craig Friggin A! It rocked! 5 stars
10/19/98 Aint-It-Cool It is a romantic adventure epic unlike anything we've ever seen. 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo It should have been better. Maybe a little too directed at romantics. 4 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz Dripping with visual aplomb and sugar-coated mysticism, Ward’s film is a staunch romance. 4 stars
10/13/98 Sixteen" of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls I laughed. I cried. I loved it. Robin may get himself a new oscar. Cuba was good too. 5 stars
10/13/98 grunter Like the Sex Pistols . . . Pretty, but vacant. Lush imagery, braid-dead plot. 2 stars
10/07/98 Korny Island Loved it. People who have no romance will hate it. Date movie in the extreme. 5 stars
10/05/98 cheryl_ann it reminded me of an acid flashback combined with dante's inferno. 3 stars
10/04/98 Joe thats not the afterlife damnit, but some nice visuals! 2 stars
10/04/98 Jason Very thought provoking 4 stars
10/04/98 Chris I really enjoyed watching it. 5 stars
10/01/98 Simple Pimple Phenomonal. Fucking incredible. 5 stars
10/01/98 {{{OZ}}} Great movie. If you're cynical about romance, don't bother, but otherwise this movie rules. 5 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Stick to comedy, Robin. 1 stars
8/27/98 Mister Whoopee Robin Williams, superb effects and the question of death. Will hit a chord with many. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Oct-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 04-Mar-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Oct-1998




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast