More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.96

Awesome58.75%
Worth A Look: 8.75%
Average: 15%
Pretty Bad: 5%
Total Crap: 12.5%

3 reviews, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Annie Hall
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"Ha-Ha-Huh?"
3 stars

Yep, this is it. The film that beat "Star Wars" for the Best Picture Oscar for the year 1977. After seeing all five Best Picture nominees for that year, "Annie Hall" is the worst of them.

Alvy Singer (Woody Allen) lives in New York and falls in love with Annie Hall (Diane Keaton). Their romance affects his friendships, his life, and his career as a comedian. Alvy begins looking for parallels between Annie and his two ex-wives, waiting to see what will go wrong here, as well. The couple never seem right for each other, as Annie comes into her own.

While Allen can certainly write and direct a film, his screenplay here is a disappointment. Allen jumps back and forth in time, but without a reason. Maybe the flash and whistles were to cover the fact that the basic romance between Annie and Alvy is as compelling as watching paint dry. I did not care about these two people because Allen did not give me any reason to. The cast is certainly funny and charming, but that is a credit to the actors more than the material.

The film plays like a series of Allen's best ideas, full of gut wrenching laughs. Come on, his grandmother never gave him anything because she was too busy getting raped by the Cossacks? Annie's family's reaction to the Jewish Alvy is also classic. The film is full of "classic moments" that are wonderful when taken separately, but fail in the overall feel of the film (my identical reaction to "There's Something About Mary.") I kept getting this odd feeling that "Annie Hall" was trying to deceive me, like a bait and switch. You go in expecting at least a classic romantic comedy, instead you get the comedy and no desire to see these two people together in the end.

"Annie Hall" is one of the more average films in the Woody Allen filmography. You can spot themes that he will revisit time and time again. My two favorite films of his are "Manhattan" and "Radio Days." My two least favorite films of his are "September" and "Alice." "Annie Hall" falls right in the middle- simply average.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1935&reviewer=325
originally posted: 02/18/04 03:40:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/27/15 stanley welles a sickly uninteresting snore-fest 2 stars
11/05/14 meep Like a bunch of woody's films, but this aint one of them, tedious 2 stars
10/06/11 David Hollingsworth Superior Neurotic Comedy 5 stars
6/02/10 User Name Why do we ingage in nonsensical relationships? Because we need the eggs. 5 stars
1/28/10 PAUL SHORTT CLASSY COMEDY WITH WARMTH AND SHARP ONE-LINERS 5 stars
11/18/09 art ANIE HALL IS PATHETIC!,KEATON ACADEMY AWARD SHOULD HAVE BEEN FOR MR.GOODBAR! 1 stars
7/30/09 art ANNIE HALL SUCK"S!,KEATON SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN AN OSCAR FOR LOOKING FOR MR.GOODBAR! 1 stars
5/18/08 rOCKY Star Wars is infinty times better Woody Allen stinks 1 stars
4/24/08 art OVERRATED KEATON SHOULD HAVE WON AN OSCAR FOR LOOKING FOR MR>GOODBAR 1 stars
3/22/08 Pamela White Woody is small man syndrome 2 stars
3/07/08 SamanthaPayntr i've watched this movie many times, it's romantic without being mushy, woody=genius! 5 stars
2/12/08 MP Bartley Always amusing, but not sure why this gets venerated over other Allen fare 4 stars
12/17/07 SylviaP it's a romantic comedy that a guy could see, i LOVE it!!! 5 stars
6/10/06 Joe Welch Speaks a lot of truth; impressive that Woody Allen could observe himself so well 5 stars
11/22/05 Kurtis J. Beard One of Woody's best. Simply put, the funniest Woody film. Keaton is brilliant. 5 stars
10/27/05 chantal excellent 4 stars
10/03/05 CaDizzle THIS piece of crap beat STAR WARS at the oscars?!?!?! 1 stars
7/25/05 JFK woody allen is great 5 stars
6/25/05 Mr Fluffy This movie kicks ass. Woody rocks. 5 stars
3/25/05 indrid cold Especially for its time, very innovative/funny/intelligent. 4 stars
2/14/05 Trelkovsky Another Solo Boring Woody Conversation 1 stars
6/11/04 T. Maj See, kids? Woody Allen was talented, once. 5 stars
6/09/04 Brad Wells Masterful dialogue, great direction. Bittersweet doesn't get any better than this 5 stars
5/21/04 Elena Clearly one of the best films ever made 5 stars
5/17/04 Pinkline Jones Woody go to top of Egocentric Class 1 stars
4/03/04 john neurotic and romantic at the same time - great feeling for the city of NY 5 stars
3/21/04 Peter One of Woody's best 5 stars
3/09/04 Desperado Well Joyce Garza your an idiot you are not old not smart enough to get it, A+ great movie 5 stars
3/02/04 Michael Mungin Twice the movie Star Wars is. Definitely the best movie of that year. 5 stars
2/17/04 Sergeant Hartman overrated.NOT better than star wars 3 stars
6/23/03 Jack Sommersby Always entertaining, but not as clever or insightful as it purports to be. 3 stars
5/29/03 John Aster Habig romantic comedy for neurotics 5 stars
5/20/03 Ryan F. Not his best work, but good nonetheless 4 stars
5/19/03 George Jung One of the greatest movies ever made. 5 stars
5/16/03 mr. Pink Overrated. It has some great moments, but it's also tedious in parts. 3 stars
5/01/03 Joyce Garza The cover of the film said it was a romantic comedy and they lied. I would not recomend it 1 stars
1/20/03 Andrew Callaway The only good romanic comedy and the one of the best comedies ever. 5 stars
11/05/02 j feezy unbelievable 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Gimme "Manhattan" or "Radio Days" instead 3 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock NO NO NO 1 stars
9/29/02 Nikkie I really enjoyed this film.... 5 stars
8/29/02 H.A.G Simply brilliant! 5 stars
5/11/02 The Bomb 69 wanted to like it but Sleeper and Manhattan were much better 3 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden I Liked Kane's and Simon's Character, but Couldn't Like The Others. 3 stars
10/19/01 Tam The dialogue between Allen and Keaton is very original 4 stars
8/07/01 E-Funk I love this film. It's what introduced me to Woody and his genius. Don't miss this one. 5 stars
6/14/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe You speak shellfish! 5 stars
5/31/01 Sarah Woody Allen is annoying 2 stars
4/05/01 David Brown Great film, that is all there is to say. 5 stars
2/25/01 nick berger fuck you greenspan 5 stars
11/18/00 The Bill Head One of the best movies of all time. Allen's best! 5 stars
8/16/00 jonofoz Wonderful... Much like HUSBANDS AND WIVES, but with much broader comedy. Just great!!! 5 stars
7/07/00 Politicsman Woody at his best, poignant, and most hilarious. 5 stars
5/22/00 Jessica Bierman original and funny romantic comedy 4 stars
5/05/00 MEGAN IT WAS FUNNY 4 stars
3/27/00 Alan Greenspan This film SSSSSSSSSSUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCCKKKKKKKSSSSSS!!!!!!! 1 stars
2/14/00 littlebigman my all-time favorite movie 5 stars
1/02/00 Tyson Stewart Funny, smart, romantic, neurotic, entertaining, and excellent! Woody Allen is brilliant! 5 stars
7/17/99 Glenn My favorite all-time film 5 stars
5/03/99 davebo great movie, funny and smart :) 5 stars
4/20/99 bb Woody, Woody ya done good 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo (alc311@hotmail.com) Very good movie, and not woody allen's usual overly neurotic crap 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Apr-1977 (PG)
  DVD: 28-Apr-1998

UK
  19-Oct-2001 (15)
  DVD: 10-Jul-2000

Australia
  02-Jul-1977 (M)
  DVD: 29-Sep-1977


Directed by
  Woody Allen

Written by
  Woody Allen
  Marshall Brickman

Cast
  Woody Allen
  Diane Keaton
  Tony Roberts
  Carol Kane
  Paul Simon
  Shelley Duvall



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast