More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.62

Awesome78.18%
Worth A Look: 12.73%
Average: 5.45%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 3.64%

2 reviews, 43 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Babe
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"I would've given this 1995's Best Picture over 'Braveheart.'"
5 stars

'Babe' is a charming and ingenious hit about Babe, a dedicated farm pig who aspires to become a 'sheep-pig.'

By talking kindly and respectfully to the sheep, Babe succeeds where the disdainful sheepdogs fail. Babe's talents attract the notice of Farmer Hoggett (James Cromwell), who enters Babe in the climactic sheepdog competition.

Seamless, subtle (and Oscar-winning) visual effects, along with terrific performances by a wide variety of farm animals (ducks, mice, horses, cows, cats), make this one of the very few outstanding movies for children (and adults can just as readily enjoy it).

1995 had a notoriously weak roster of Best Picture nominees (many films that deserved a nod in the category, like 'Seven' and 'The Usual Suspects,' didn't get one). So it came down to 'Apollo 13,' 'Braveheart,' 'Il Postino,' 'Sense and Sensibility' ... and 'Babe.' Though Emma Thompson and Ang Lee's adaptation of Jane Austen would run a close second, I'd rank the pig well above the remaining nominees and certainly above Mel Gibson's overlong barbaric yawp.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1941&reviewer=416
originally posted: 03/12/07 15:04:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.

User Comments

11/22/11 Bob Dog A masterpiece. 5 stars
4/25/10 gordon Purcell My son's favorite live action film-easy to rewatch and enjoy! 5 stars
12/01/09 Becky One of my favorite movies. In addition, the musical score is wonderful. 5 stars
7/20/09 AJ Muller Not just for kids, but everyone. A truly excellent movie. 5 stars
3/08/09 Linda Diaz Babe I'm leavin.. oops wrong gerne! Wonderful! 5 stars
1/09/09 Alexandra one of the best animal movies ever :] 5 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT CLEVER, WITTY, TOUCHING 4 stars
3/20/07 David Pollastrini Not great not terrible 3 stars
7/29/06 David Cohen Excellent on every level, shows what can happen when producers care about their movie 5 stars
10/18/05 Indrid Cold Fantastically well done for what it is, which isn't much. 4 stars
6/18/05 Joseph Lee This film, is one of the best yet, of a useless runt, becoming a champion sheep-dog. 5 stars
5/03/05 Gary More than just a children's movie. One of the best movies ever. 5 stars
1/08/05 The Mockingbird I had forgotten how incredibly sweet and delicate this movie is. Classic cinematography 5 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj Completely winning--a classic for years to come 5 stars
12/06/03 john will be discoverded by generations to come -a great surprise - a wonderful movie 5 stars
9/28/03 Alice I just LOVED this one ! 5 stars
8/15/03 marjorie Tecne nabus its uniquely done!!!!! execellent!!! 5 stars
8/02/03 DM Fuck you, S.A. 5 stars
7/22/03 lawrence nabus A must seen movie of all time,,, technically, the director made a great job!! 5 stars
3/08/03 Jack Sommersby An American classic. Heartwarming and ingratiating. A total Triumph. 5 stars
3/13/02 Betty Samson Jesus, Jusus, Jerked, a Beema-baima-bo, and I all enjoyed it! 5 stars
8/31/01 Henry Ginsberg I didn't like this film,but I guess it's good if you like animals. 4 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat It's okay if your REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY in the mood. 3 stars
4/10/01 Gary This is by far the most touching family film since "ET" 5 stars
4/05/01 Andrew Carden Get Babe for you're in the mood for a good cry. 5 stars
1/10/01 S.A PRO-MARXIST (PRO-COMMUNISM) 1 stars
1/07/01 R.W. Welch Innovative fantasy film, done with a fine touch. 4 stars
12/10/00 Jed Sorry E.P, D.R, B69 but this was a good family film. 4 stars
11/18/00 Chrissy This is one of the best movies I've ever seen. It has such a great message! 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin Don't watch this: This is a KID film 1 stars
11/03/00 Cristopher Revilla great, touching movie, a must see!!! 5 stars
10/01/00 Gray Seeing it a second time you realise the lack of substance in it. 3 stars
2/05/00 Richard Wright I love this film. A children's (and adults!) classic for all time. 5 stars
8/19/99 Matthew Bartley Heart warming,but Im still gonna eat ham 5 stars
7/15/99 GothamDK Real nice movie, but not in the realms of Best Pic quality. Good film 2 watch w/ the kids. 4 stars
7/15/99 J. Random Hacker Guaranteed to touch the heart of even the most cynical bastards :) 5 stars
7/11/99 Daria One of the most charming films I've ever seen. 5 stars
6/21/99 Angie an adorable movie!! i loved it 5 stars
6/17/99 matchbox20 Bacon anyone? 5 stars
4/21/99 Ah Dooey Teen Movie Critic's review said it all. 5 stars
4/21/99 lucas jackson it is a good family film,the talking sheep are interesting 5 stars
4/20/99 PodPerson I was skeptic BUT I loved it!!!!! Bacon anyone?? 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson A surprise for me, I thoroughly enjoyed it. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Aug-1995

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1996 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast