More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.15

Awesome55.08%
Worth A Look: 26.27%
Average: 4.24%
Pretty Bad: 7.63%
Total Crap: 6.78%

5 reviews, 88 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Lilo & Stitch
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"THIS is what Disney Animation has become?"
2 stars

I don’t know precisely when the wheels fell off of the unstoppable Disney machine, but it’s clear that this widely accepted King of Animation is now feeling the pressure from its newfound competition. There's certainly enough room at the multiplexes for CGI and 'traditional' animation to co-exist profitably. It's lackluster efforts like this one that may doom old-style animation to an unnecessary extinction.

There was a time (not very long ago) when each new Disney feature was met with bated breath; compare Disney’s three most recent efforts (The Emperor’s New Groove, Atlantis: The Lost Empire, and now Lilo & Stitch) with their early 90’s trio Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, and The Lion King (also released consecutively) and it may seem evident that Disney’s screenwriters have simply run out of ideas and are having a lot of trouble keeping up with the Joneses each year.

Basically, Lilo & Stitch is a direct-to-video quality feature that (much like this year’s Peter Pan sequel, Return to Never Land) somehow earned itself a big marketing push and a plum theatrical release. While even 'bad' Disney is better than most of what passes for modern ‘traditional’ animation, I can’t see any reason to shell out eight bucks for a piece of entertainment that would barely be worthy of a rental fee.

Seemingly culled together from the most memorable sections of Monsters Inc., E.T.: The Extra Terrestrial, and Gremlins, Lilo & Stitch offers the threadbare tale of a mischievous young girl and her new pet alien. Lilo lives in a quaint (seemingly 1965) Hawaiian village with her older sister Nani, both typically Disney-esque orphans. Stitch is a genetic experiment gone awry, one that escapes from an interstellar court martial and crash lands in Lilo’s island. Somehow mistaken as a dog, Stitch works his way into Lilo’s heart, since they’re both misunderstood outsiders and all that hoo-hah.

Also involved in the colorful yet still uninvolving tale is a pair of accident-prone bounty hunter aliens, a mysterious Family Services agent who repeatedly promises to plop Lilo into a foster home, and Nani’s surfboarding boyfriend David. The titular characters logically get the bulk of the attention, yet neither approach the 'lovability' of previous Disney creations. Lilo comes off as a mildly disturbed young girl, while the manic little alien creature is nothing more than a retching, grumbling collection of snot gags and pratfalls.

The voice cast is filled with interesting actors like Jason Scott Lee, Kevin McDonald, Ving Rhames, and Tia Carrere; unfortunately, every bit of dialogue is painfully familiar, and the comedy bits are a mixed bag at best. Things get predictably swampy towards the end, as the patented Disney Platitudes are marched out for Lilo and her feral friend to embrace an oft-repeated mantra about family always sticking together in that syrupy sweet way that you just KNOW is teaching your children everything they’ll ever need to know about morality for the rest of their lives. Ahem.

It's fairly evident that the powers-that-be governing the Disney empire have recently adopted an 'anything for a buck' attitude. With its non-stop outpouring of shoddy direct-to-video sequels (which essentially slap the original classics square in the face) and the less-than-inspired quality of their most recent theatrical releases, Disney Animation is far from the "beacon of quality" it once was. It's simply not enough to have a steady stream of product for the marketplace.

Sure, your kids will probably love Lilo & Stitch. To be completely honest, it’s not difficult to write something that will make a 5-year-old laugh out loud. I understand that not every animated film from Disney will become a classic, but after sitting through the phenomenal Beauty and the Beast and fantastic Tarzan (and many others from yesteryear too numerous to mention), forgive me if I’ve come to expect more from this studio than some 79-minute glorified after-school “cartoon”.

In today’s world of truly staggering animation technology, a movie has to be a heck of a lot more than just “colorfully realized” to be worthy of your family’s 30 bucks. Treat Lilo & Stitch as I’m certain it was originally intended – wait for the video.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1959&reviewer=128
originally posted: 06/21/02 10:25:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell cute film 4 stars
10/20/11 Magic One of the very best Disney 00's movies. Stitch is well-animated and the style is appealing 4 stars
11/24/08 2008Disney Disney's most overrated film. A weak story, despisable characters and a bad script. 2 stars
11/04/08 Dominic Lilo And Stitch is the best since SNOW WHITE,SLEEPING BEAUTY,PINOCCHIO and FANTASIA. 5 stars
10/12/08 PAUL SHORTT WITTY, TOUCHING, COLOURFUL AND WELL-PACED 4 stars
4/16/08 Stitch Wife Lilo & Stitch was the BEST movie of 2002 5 stars
4/25/07 lenique the only thing more exciting is EVERYTHING 1 stars
2/09/07 Soranos I thought this movie was pretty good actually, when compared to other movies I've seen. 4 stars
8/15/06 Gabrielle Mangan I've seen Lilo and stitch movie often 5 stars
8/06/06 Pawe³ Mikulski This is the best American film for child when i see,i want more please!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/11/06 David Cohen "Brattiness is cool!" What Dinsney meathead thought that was a good lesson for kids? 1 stars
6/20/06 Herculade Overly saccharine, but a winner for young families. 5 stars
12/07/05 daniel smith it was ok 5 stars
8/30/05 ES Liked the movie, should have loved it but couldn't help feeling something was missing 4 stars
7/09/05 Alexandra Trad it is great 5 stars
3/12/05 Alice Colwell funny 4 stars
3/12/05 crandall101 I loved it! 4 stars
3/10/05 Caen Lilo and Stitch was a great movie, one of the top new Disney Icons 5 stars
11/17/04 Gooey crap 1 stars
7/07/04 michaelb14 Great Movie! 5 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Too much elvis, but better than most of the crap disney puts out nowadays 4 stars
5/13/04 Yasu Disney's BEST! I LOVE IT! 5 stars
5/11/04 Sean Scanlan Okay 3 stars
4/08/04 LILO&STITCH FANATIC! THE BEST! The series is awesoeme to! 5 stars
3/11/04 Pirka The best ever! seen the sequel? 5 stars
2/27/04 Tiffany I luved this movie stitch is so cute 5 stars
1/26/04 HorrorScribbler Not your typical cartoon! 5 stars
11/28/03 Joseph Gay 1 stars
11/11/03 Nathan My fave Disney movie since Beaty and the Beast! 5 stars
10/11/03 Princess This movie was Excellent!!!:) 5 stars
10/07/03 Kitty This movie is so adorable! Lilo is such a cute kid. 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice Cute ! 4 stars
4/13/03 Mystique sweeeeeeet 5 stars
3/21/03 Mandy absolutely fantastic 5 stars
2/25/03 Ken That was Disney? But it was more funny than sappy! 4 stars
2/04/03 laura best disney cartoon ever 5 stars
2/01/03 Mike the best disney movie ever 5 stars
1/22/03 Timur BEST DISNEY's MOVIE - IT'S GREAT !!!! STITCH , I LOVE YOU :-) 5 stars
1/03/03 Caitlin It's an engaging, hilarious film with an original plot line. It's worth the money! 5 stars
12/18/02 Cuthbert H. Perez It was Hilarious,and very Creative, I love the mesage and the warmth 5 stars
11/23/02 Andrew kicks ass! even this is better than clones! 5 stars
11/02/02 daniel brisascall Brilliant 5 stars
10/19/02 Chance Lilo is too cute. Loved this movie. 5 stars
10/11/02 GABBY best iv ever seen of cartoons. i LOVE IT!! 5 stars
9/28/02 Sophie Williams Fantastic! you MUST see this! 5 stars
9/10/02 John McNew The funniest family movie since 'Shrek' 5 stars
9/02/02 Eryn Pluim This is a WONDERFUL movie! Don't believe anyone who would say different! 5 stars
8/21/02 faye one of the best films i've ever seen 5 stars
8/20/02 Marian Valdez It's Great! I have fun watching this movie 5 stars
8/08/02 effendy is good 1 stars
8/03/02 Sara Cross Excellent film, wonderful story and gorgeous colors in the animation, a sweet film. 5 stars
8/02/02 Stephanie Luong and Brent Cadavona The best animated Disney movie ever! 5 stars
7/26/02 Turtle Funny, sad, cute, and charming. Believe it or not, I've just described a Disney movie. 5 stars
7/25/02 J. Jones Hilarious, touching, and gorgeous. Hail to the King, baby! 5 stars
7/23/02 Bueller Right now, somewhere, Walt Disney is scratching his head, and asking "What the...?" 3 stars
7/20/02 ! Just 4 tha kids! 5 stars
7/09/02 zach you people who didn't like it are idiots. Great movie. 5 stars
7/09/02 orpy who dreams this shit up??!! 2 stars
7/09/02 iambubby Introducing... crap-mation! Sucked. Hard. 1 stars
7/02/02 J.J. Pearce Too weak for adults, too scary for kids. 2 stars
7/01/02 Robert Mr. Weinberg, get a clue. If you weren't entertained by Lilo and Stitch, check your pulse. 5 stars
7/01/02 J This film deserve's as much praise as it could possibly get. 5 stars
6/29/02 Freyja Cute and touching and genuinely funny. 5 stars
6/29/02 Rampage better than the crappy Hey Arnold! movie 4 stars
6/29/02 Cris Awesome--funniest disney movie I can remember, and one of the best animated in years. 5 stars
6/28/02 Stephen Smith Cool film 5 stars
6/28/02 Tracy I thought the movie was cute and funny. Another good job for Disney. 5 stars
6/27/02 Mario Cheap laughs? Hardly. So what DO you consider good Disney. 5 stars
6/27/02 Zman Bad. Another case of Disney trying to get a cheap laugh out of five year olds. 1 stars
6/25/02 Shark Cute and funny! The ending is satisfactory, but don't let that stop you! 5 stars
6/25/02 Brian Easily one of the best in years. See it for yourself, and you won't be disappointed. 5 stars
6/25/02 Adriana Collado Not like other Disney films 3 stars
6/25/02 bud Love it so much I cried. 5 stars
6/25/02 JesseL The kids will love it. Not too hard on the adults. 4 stars
6/24/02 Veronica Cute film, but not as outstanding as previous disney films. Sappy ending. 3 stars
6/24/02 Mario Disney employees my foot. You obviously have no heart or sense of wonder. 5 stars
6/24/02 PineappleClock look at all the IPs... these are disney employees reviewing the movie! CAUGHT LOL 1 stars
6/24/02 Reese first time i've laughed so hard at a disney film 5 stars
6/24/02 gene The best Disney movie I've ever seen 5 stars
6/24/02 Dean Best animated film, from anybody, since JUNGLE BOOK! Superb character animation. 5 stars
6/23/02 Bob Very entertaining with a solid message 5 stars
6/23/02 sfg this movie was plenny good fun 5 stars
6/23/02 Mario Get a life, you freaks. This movie rocked. 5 stars
6/22/02 The Bomb69 i laughed a lot, ending was kind of muddled though 4 stars
6/22/02 max zhang Fun -- but a porn flick with Snow White is better. 3 stars
6/22/02 Frank Sanders One of Disney's best animations ever. 5 stars
6/21/02 Stephanie A sweet and hilarious movie. 5 stars
6/21/02 Cool LAd THIS MOVIE IS DA BOMB 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Jun-2002 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  19-Sep-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast