More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.15

Awesome55.08%
Worth A Look: 26.27%
Average: 4.24%
Pretty Bad: 7.63%
Total Crap: 6.78%

5 reviews, 88 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Lilo & Stitch
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"More Looney Tunes than 'Little Mermaid.' And Looney Tunes are funny."
4 stars

The other studios are making progress, but I still say Disney has a lock on reliably entertaining animated features. They produce at least one a year -- "churning them out," you could say, except that implies an assembly-line mentality that is not accurate. These things are funny, joyous experiences, and not something the studio just slaps together to raise funds to keep Walt's corpse frozen.

"Lilo & Stitch" is not the instant classic "Beauty and the Beast" and "The Little Mermaid" were, and it may be time we stop comparing the modern films to those masterpieces. Frankly, without the songwriting team of Howard Ashman and Alan Menken, I doubt anything is going to come close to that level, and I'm glad Disney has given up the musical format in favor of more straightforward storytelling.

What "Lilo & Stitch" is, if not a masterpiece, is a highly watchable, giggly little story with a sweet edge to it.

We are introduced to two members of the standard old Disney category, the Misfits. One is Stitch (voice of writer/director Chris Sanders, when he speaks, which isn't often), a strange monster genetically engineered on another planet by an idiot scientist (he prefers the term "evil genius"). Stitch is designed to be destructive, super-strong, and highly intelligent. But mostly destructive. Imagine a combination of a gremlin, "Saturday Night Live's" Mr. Peepers, and any 2-year-old boy you've ever been acquainted with.

Meanwhile, in Hawaii, there is Lilo (Daveigh Chase), a precocious little girl who likes to take pictures of fat tourists and who lies on the floor lip-synching to "Heartbreak Hotel" when she's depressed. Her parents are not around; she lives with her older sister Nani (Tia Carrere), who's at her wit's end in dealing with the mischievous, troublemaking Lilo.

Stitch's home planet, appalled at his genetic freakitude, imprisons him, but he escapes and lands on Earth. His creator (David Ogden Stiers, making his fifth voice appearance in a Disney theatrical release) and a wormy sidekick (Kevin McDonald) are dispatched to retrieve him, but are instructed to avoid being seen by the humans. Stitch knows he's a fugitive, and gets himself mistaken for a dog in order to be adopted by Lilo, thus giving him a hiding place.

If you have seen the exemplary 1999 film "The Iron Giant," you will be reminded of it many times here. There's a touch of "Men in Black," too, with a man in black (Ving Rhames) who is a social worker, and of course the numerous other Disney films that have involved partial families and social outcasts.

Formulaic? Yes, indeed. The plot is simple, and since Stitch has no family to miss him, there's no suspense over whether he'll choose to stay with Lilo or return to his home planet. Is there a reason for Nani to have a surfer friend named David? Not really. Do the wacky bounty hunters amount to anything? Again, no.

Where "Lilo & Stitch" gets it right is not in the destination, but in the journey, particularly as it relates to the title characters. Lilo is a charming, original little moppet, and her relationship with the world and with Stitch is genuinely touching. The voice work by little Daveigh Chase is utterly delightful.

Again, this is not a classic. It is solid, and it would stand up to a few viewings before losing its flavor, but it would lose it eventually. But it made me laugh, and it made me feel honest emotions, and that makes it successful.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1959&reviewer=247
originally posted: 06/24/02 09:47:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell cute film 4 stars
10/20/11 Magic One of the very best Disney 00's movies. Stitch is well-animated and the style is appealing 4 stars
11/24/08 2008Disney Disney's most overrated film. A weak story, despisable characters and a bad script. 2 stars
11/04/08 Dominic Lilo And Stitch is the best since SNOW WHITE,SLEEPING BEAUTY,PINOCCHIO and FANTASIA. 5 stars
10/12/08 PAUL SHORTT WITTY, TOUCHING, COLOURFUL AND WELL-PACED 4 stars
4/16/08 Stitch Wife Lilo & Stitch was the BEST movie of 2002 5 stars
4/25/07 lenique the only thing more exciting is EVERYTHING 1 stars
2/09/07 Soranos I thought this movie was pretty good actually, when compared to other movies I've seen. 4 stars
8/15/06 Gabrielle Mangan I've seen Lilo and stitch movie often 5 stars
8/06/06 Paweł Mikulski This is the best American film for child when i see,i want more please!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/11/06 David Cohen "Brattiness is cool!" What Dinsney meathead thought that was a good lesson for kids? 1 stars
6/20/06 Herculade Overly saccharine, but a winner for young families. 5 stars
12/07/05 daniel smith it was ok 5 stars
8/30/05 ES Liked the movie, should have loved it but couldn't help feeling something was missing 4 stars
7/09/05 Alexandra Trad it is great 5 stars
3/12/05 Alice Colwell funny 4 stars
3/12/05 crandall101 I loved it! 4 stars
3/10/05 Caen Lilo and Stitch was a great movie, one of the top new Disney Icons 5 stars
11/17/04 Gooey crap 1 stars
7/07/04 michaelb14 Great Movie! 5 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Too much elvis, but better than most of the crap disney puts out nowadays 4 stars
5/13/04 Yasu Disney's BEST! I LOVE IT! 5 stars
5/11/04 Sean Scanlan Okay 3 stars
4/08/04 LILO&STITCH FANATIC! THE BEST! The series is awesoeme to! 5 stars
3/11/04 Pirka The best ever! seen the sequel? 5 stars
2/27/04 Tiffany I luved this movie stitch is so cute 5 stars
1/26/04 HorrorScribbler Not your typical cartoon! 5 stars
11/28/03 Joseph Gay 1 stars
11/11/03 Nathan My fave Disney movie since Beaty and the Beast! 5 stars
10/11/03 Princess This movie was Excellent!!!:) 5 stars
10/07/03 Kitty This movie is so adorable! Lilo is such a cute kid. 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice Cute ! 4 stars
4/13/03 Mystique sweeeeeeet 5 stars
3/21/03 Mandy absolutely fantastic 5 stars
2/25/03 Ken That was Disney? But it was more funny than sappy! 4 stars
2/04/03 laura best disney cartoon ever 5 stars
2/01/03 Mike the best disney movie ever 5 stars
1/22/03 Timur BEST DISNEY's MOVIE - IT'S GREAT !!!! STITCH , I LOVE YOU :-) 5 stars
1/03/03 Caitlin It's an engaging, hilarious film with an original plot line. It's worth the money! 5 stars
12/18/02 Cuthbert H. Perez It was Hilarious,and very Creative, I love the mesage and the warmth 5 stars
11/23/02 Andrew kicks ass! even this is better than clones! 5 stars
11/02/02 daniel brisascall Brilliant 5 stars
10/19/02 Chance Lilo is too cute. Loved this movie. 5 stars
10/11/02 GABBY best iv ever seen of cartoons. i LOVE IT!! 5 stars
9/28/02 Sophie Williams Fantastic! you MUST see this! 5 stars
9/10/02 John McNew The funniest family movie since 'Shrek' 5 stars
9/02/02 Eryn Pluim This is a WONDERFUL movie! Don't believe anyone who would say different! 5 stars
8/21/02 faye one of the best films i've ever seen 5 stars
8/20/02 Marian Valdez It's Great! I have fun watching this movie 5 stars
8/08/02 effendy is good 1 stars
8/03/02 Sara Cross Excellent film, wonderful story and gorgeous colors in the animation, a sweet film. 5 stars
8/02/02 Stephanie Luong and Brent Cadavona The best animated Disney movie ever! 5 stars
7/26/02 Turtle Funny, sad, cute, and charming. Believe it or not, I've just described a Disney movie. 5 stars
7/25/02 J. Jones Hilarious, touching, and gorgeous. Hail to the King, baby! 5 stars
7/23/02 Bueller Right now, somewhere, Walt Disney is scratching his head, and asking "What the...?" 3 stars
7/20/02 ! Just 4 tha kids! 5 stars
7/09/02 zach you people who didn't like it are idiots. Great movie. 5 stars
7/09/02 orpy who dreams this shit up??!! 2 stars
7/09/02 iambubby Introducing... crap-mation! Sucked. Hard. 1 stars
7/02/02 J.J. Pearce Too weak for adults, too scary for kids. 2 stars
7/01/02 Robert Mr. Weinberg, get a clue. If you weren't entertained by Lilo and Stitch, check your pulse. 5 stars
7/01/02 J This film deserve's as much praise as it could possibly get. 5 stars
6/29/02 Freyja Cute and touching and genuinely funny. 5 stars
6/29/02 Rampage better than the crappy Hey Arnold! movie 4 stars
6/29/02 Cris Awesome--funniest disney movie I can remember, and one of the best animated in years. 5 stars
6/28/02 Stephen Smith Cool film 5 stars
6/28/02 Tracy I thought the movie was cute and funny. Another good job for Disney. 5 stars
6/27/02 Mario Cheap laughs? Hardly. So what DO you consider good Disney. 5 stars
6/27/02 Zman Bad. Another case of Disney trying to get a cheap laugh out of five year olds. 1 stars
6/25/02 Shark Cute and funny! The ending is satisfactory, but don't let that stop you! 5 stars
6/25/02 Brian Easily one of the best in years. See it for yourself, and you won't be disappointed. 5 stars
6/25/02 Adriana Collado Not like other Disney films 3 stars
6/25/02 bud Love it so much I cried. 5 stars
6/25/02 JesseL The kids will love it. Not too hard on the adults. 4 stars
6/24/02 Veronica Cute film, but not as outstanding as previous disney films. Sappy ending. 3 stars
6/24/02 Mario Disney employees my foot. You obviously have no heart or sense of wonder. 5 stars
6/24/02 PineappleClock look at all the IPs... these are disney employees reviewing the movie! CAUGHT LOL 1 stars
6/24/02 Reese first time i've laughed so hard at a disney film 5 stars
6/24/02 gene The best Disney movie I've ever seen 5 stars
6/24/02 Dean Best animated film, from anybody, since JUNGLE BOOK! Superb character animation. 5 stars
6/23/02 Bob Very entertaining with a solid message 5 stars
6/23/02 sfg this movie was plenny good fun 5 stars
6/23/02 Mario Get a life, you freaks. This movie rocked. 5 stars
6/22/02 The Bomb69 i laughed a lot, ending was kind of muddled though 4 stars
6/22/02 max zhang Fun -- but a porn flick with Snow White is better. 3 stars
6/22/02 Frank Sanders One of Disney's best animations ever. 5 stars
6/21/02 Stephanie A sweet and hilarious movie. 5 stars
6/21/02 Cool LAd THIS MOVIE IS DA BOMB 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Jun-2002 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  19-Sep-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast