More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.25

Awesome: 23.68%
Worth A Look25%
Average: 17.11%
Pretty Bad: 21.05%
Total Crap: 13.16%

5 reviews, 46 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Peter Sobczynski

Purge, The: Anarchy by Rob Gonsalves

Raid 2, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fault in Our Stars, The by Rob Gonsalves

Dumb and Dumber To by Brett Gallman

Space Mutiny by Jaycie

subscribe to this feed


Replacements, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"Well, it don't have much else, but hey, it's got HEART"
2 stars

"What is it going to take to lead this team to victory?" the reporter asks Coach McGinty (Gene Hackman) during half-time. "HEART," the coach replies "Miles and Miles of Heart." "The Replacements" may have some heart, but unfortunately not the miles and miles it would take to save it.

"The Replacements" is an underdog's story of a bunch of has- beens or never-were's who get a chance to play for a pro football team when the NFL players go on strike. Led by coach Jimmy McGinty (Hackman) and once-promising quarterback Shane Falco (Keanu Reeves, also known as "Johnny Monotonic"), the team of misfits has but one goal - get the team into the playoffs by winning 3 out of the next four games.

Filling out the team are a wide reciever with butterfingers (Orlando Jones), a psychotic cop with anger management problems (A surprisingly ripped Jon Favreau), a soccer player with a huge kick and even bigger gambling debts (Rhys Ifans), a Sumo Wrestler, a deaf kid, a pair of HUGE brothers who are tired of bodyguarding for rap stars, and any other oddball characters the writers could think to throw in, in keeping with the "Major League" tradition.

The football action, while fun, is predictable, with the team losing horrendously the first game, then miraculously rising to the occasion in their last few games. There are also rivalries and bar fights with the Pros on strike, who regularly call our heroes "scabs" and tip over Falco's truck on a daily basis. And of course, there is the sexy head cheerleader played by Brooke Langton, who, while she looks good in a skimpy costume and a pair of pom-poms, doesn't bring much to this picture at all, except for a minor love-interest subplot with Falco.

Besides the weak script and average directing, the biggest problem with this film is that we've seen it all before in sooo many sports/comedy movies. Maybe the genre isn't completely dead, but films like this won't breathe much life into it. Keanu Reeves seems a likeable enough guy, but he's not much of an actor, and without a movie like "The Matrix" to back him up, he is pretty much a part of the scenery. Orlando Jones, while having some quite funny moments (the scene where he leads the rest of the team in an impromptu song-and-dance routine of "I will survive" is a keeper), is hampered by weak jokes and is not given the opportunity to strut his stuff like he does in his newest film, "Evolution". There are some genuinely funny moments in this film, but not nearly enough of them, and while the characters are likeable enough, they are just two-dimensional enough to not inspire any real caring.

I will keep this movie out of the "crappy" to "suck-ass" range because at least the ending doesn't cop out. There is no big happy ending where everyone gets a pro football gig or a big Nike ad campaign. As the camera shows the players saying their goodbyes, it is clear that they have only their lives and day jobs to go back to, with only the memory of their glorious moment to accompany them (Except for Keanu, who gets to boink a hot cheerleader).

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1962&reviewer=258
originally posted: 06/13/01 18:52:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/31/07 ravenmad Loved it, laughed my ass off. 4 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard Such a terrific movie. I really enjoy watching it. One of the few DVDs I actually bought. 5 stars
6/11/06 Jeff Anderson A "BEEN THERE, DONE THAT" kind of film, but it's fun. Langton however, is great EYE CANDY!! 3 stars
5/28/05 critic I usually hate these movies..especially Keanu Reeves movies, but I liked this one 4 stars
11/24/04 Hitman Best Movie I have ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!! Football Rules! 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot Its different and easy to watch,you cant complain about harmless fun like this! 4 stars
1/10/04 kaz a nice,funny movie 4 stars
4/17/03 Jack Bourbon Clip. Holding. Clip. Clip. Clip. 3 stars
3/26/03 Jack Sommersby Good fun. 4 stars
2/05/03 natasha_theobald I think it's funny and I don't care who knows it (shhh) 4 stars
2/28/02 Gracy Lionheart As a comedy, this is pretty funny. I love the tip-toeing vomit scene. 4 stars
2/01/02 Geo7654 Tired sports comedy about a much of has-beens and weirdos playing football. 2 stars
7/29/01 Jennifer Gaissert Funny, sweet 3 stars
7/26/01 Janet Griffin I loved it it was hillarious 5 stars
7/17/01 Piz One of the best funny football movies with a little heart to go with it. kick-ass soundtrck 4 stars
7/04/01 TLsmooth I love football, but football movies suck giraffe cocks. 2 stars
6/15/01 Katie Zayed AWESOME!! FRIGGIN AWESOME 5 stars
6/12/01 Bada Bing Crosby I think Moses and John the Baptist did the first version of this story 1 stars
5/04/01 roby lafon another keanu reeves great 5 stars
4/08/01 azizul fucking good movie 5 stars
4/02/01 moviegoer it was okay, acting was a little worse than it could have been, funny 4 stars
3/18/01 thomas noviello the movie was awesome. keanu is fuckin awesome as shit 5 stars
1/21/01 dog was a good film however would have like to see what happend in the playoffs. 4 stars
1/09/01 Keanuette I liked it! KEANU as a quaterback? Yes Please. Can't wait for the sequels!!! 5 stars
1/03/01 sandy Brett Cullen as the arrogant, yet sexy pro quarterback Martel rocked & Keanu didn't suck! 4 stars
12/05/00 Monday Morning Appealing characters but we've seen exact plot formula at least a million times. Ergo... 3 stars
12/05/00 The Bomb 69 very entertaining but had plot holes the size of Texas 3 stars
11/21/00 The Bill Head IT WAS LIKE WATCHING A BOWL OF DIARRHEA DRY 1 stars
11/20/00 Elin Farrington this movie totally kicked ass and keanu was a great quarter back 5 stars
11/19/00 chelsea ROCKED 5 stars
11/19/00 sandra the movie was great and Keanu looked good ,as always 5 stars
11/18/00 irene franco i liked it a lot! 5 stars
11/18/00 Jupiter Keanu is soo sexy but I hate the "F" word being used to describe it 5 stars
11/18/00 NATALIE I LOVE KEANU,I LOVE THE MOVIE!!!! 5 stars
11/18/00 Lida Was pretty good 4 stars
8/28/00 Captain Highcrime Keanu: pushing 40 and looking every bit of it. 3 stars
8/24/00 KAM This movie was so funny 5 stars
8/20/00 JonnyA the first movie where I actually fell asleep in the theater 1 stars
8/20/00 The Gipper Mega disappointing. So ordinary & crappy, but Brooke Langton is fine, and Keanu is cool 2 stars
8/15/00 Clarance If you are looking for some awesome laughs and a good time! A MUST SEE!!!!!!! 4 stars
8/15/00 Chickiepoo I was disapointed. Girls will hate this trashy film. 1 stars
8/14/00 TimmyToday Best flick this summer!! 5 stars
8/13/00 chuck Fun time, laughs and pretty women 5 stars
8/13/00 JonnyA poopie 2 stars
8/12/00 DatherFrawdad no stripper chearleaders in the mighty ducks, bitch! 5 stars
8/12/00 Justin it's mighty ducks playin football, sometimes funny, keanu stick to dodging bullets!!!! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Aug-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Nov-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Howard Deutch

Written by
  Vince McKewin

Cast
  Keanu Reeves
  Gene Hackman
  Jon Favreau
  Jack Warden
  Brooke Langton
  Orlando Jones



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast