More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.21

Awesome48.75%
Worth A Look: 33.75%
Average: 11.25%
Pretty Bad: 2.5%
Total Crap: 3.75%

5 reviews, 50 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I Have a Date with Spring by Jay Seaver

Halloween (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

All About Nina by Jay Seaver

Lost, Found by Jay Seaver

Night of the Living Dead (1968) by Rob Gonsalves

Neomanila by Jay Seaver

First Man by Peter Sobczynski

Bad Times At The El Royale by Peter Sobczynski

Being Natural by Jay Seaver

Suspiria (1978) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Emperor's New Groove, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Filmnet

"The funniest animated feature since Aladdin."
5 stars

At 78 minutes, this is by far the shortest feature film I have sat in a cinema for in a long, long time, but it was none the less the most satisfying full animated film I have seen in just as long.

THE EMPERORíS NEW GROOVE has nothing to do with Hans Christian Anderson or clothes Ö just an odd choice of title. It is also not a musical, apart from bookend songs by Sting to attract possible Oscar nomination or airplay, I suppose.

It is just a very, very charming and extremely funny story set in a sort of time-warped Andes of the Incas. It could have just as easily been Egypt, Babylon or Camelot, though. The fact that all the art direction is Mayan and Aztec will probably only bother the absolutely anal. THE EMPERORíS NEW GROOVE is also extremely irreverent to the whole exercise, which makes it even more funny Ö how many films are ground to a halt by one of the characters to correct the writers and redirect the audienceís attention? Maybe it is all of this fun that made the end product better than Disney had expected.

I donít think I have laughed out loud this much at an animated feature since ALADDIN (Not counting CHICKEN RUN Ö stop frame is not the same). ALADDINís laughability, I believe, was entirely due to the performance of Robin Williams supported with great songs my Ashman and Menken.

Well, in the case of THE EMPERORíS NEW GROOVE, David Spade is a serious contender for the best transplant of comic timing to a cartoon. He is fantastic. John Goodman is an equally good foil to Spade, though he is no newcomer to the animation mic. Ertha Kitt is by far the best Disney villianess, visually and in voice, since the original Cruella DeVille and sheís an animation veteran, too. Patrick Warburton (Al the NASA guy in THE DISH, The M&M bloke, Puddy in SEINFELD) as the air headed muscle boy supporting Kitt is no newcomer to the animation gig, either, providing the voice for Buzz Lightyear in the TOY STORY spin-off. He is just great as Kittís one-foot-out-of-the-closet toy boy. Wendie Malick, Spadeís co-star as the leggy Nina in JUST SHOOT ME, is very funny as Goodmanís sharp tongued, heavily pregnant wife.

I have to hand a lot of the credit, Iím sure, to the script writers. The quick quips come thick and fast, delivered with unerring accuracy by the cast. There is also heaps of great slapstick comedy right up there in COYOTE & ROADRUNNER class. Goodmanís two kids snipe so well that I could swear they had been taping mine for research.

If your kids ask you to take them to this, donít say no. Youíll have just as good a time as they do. Donít wait for the video. It looks and sounds fantastic on the big screen.--Randall Berger

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1969&reviewer=169
originally posted: 03/31/01 12:44:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/05/13 KingNeutron Despite prod problems, Great for a laugh; very rewatchable. Spade/Warburton/Kitt nailed it. 5 stars
10/20/11 Magic A conflicted production results in one of Disney's funniest movies ever. Kronk alone, whoa. 4 stars
2/20/11 Ark Hilarious! Once in a while Disney screws up and gives us something good! 5 stars
2/14/11 Quigley The funniest movie ever made; no joke. This film is criminally underrated. Ten stars! 5 stars
8/30/09 CTT Warburton and Kitt steal the film; hilarious stuff 5 stars
12/11/08 Dominic YZMA looks like LADY TREMAINE,MALIFICENT and URSULA. 5 stars
11/01/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 5 stars
5/16/08 PAUL SHORTT A DELIGHTFUL AND BUBBLING MORALITY TALE 5 stars
9/02/06 Chad Thomas One of the funniest animated movies ever! 5 stars
8/19/06 Beau All-time fav disney movie, very comimcal and entertaining, not just for kids!!!! 5 stars
7/12/06 David Cohen This is what happens when commedies try to be hip instead of funny 3 stars
5/23/06 Ashley Hinz I hated it, just a waste of time. 1 stars
4/26/06 timoth1212 AWESOME COOL SWEET AND ALL THE OTHER NAMES MEANING REALLY GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer They turned their "Kingdom of the Sun" project into this... AND I LOVE IT! BOO-YAH!!!! 5 stars
8/30/05 ES Laughter but no redeeming qualities, not as bad as Mulan 3 stars
7/03/05 Quigley Totally funny. what do you people have against this anyway? disney got it right this time! 5 stars
1/28/05 Jack Scallops Worth the $3.50 5 stars
1/16/05 conor the great hilarious... why doesn't Disney do more like this? 4 stars
7/24/04 Sarah If only Disney would make them all like this! 5 stars
7/18/04 Nate It's good to see Disney trying something new 5 stars
5/20/04 John Disney has sunk to this?! 1 stars
5/13/04 Sean Scanlan close, but no Doug's First Movie 4 stars
5/11/04 J.Peckerfoot Great fun for all the fuckin family.Thankyou Kronk! 5 stars
4/29/04 merv someone needs to lay off the crack! 5 stars
11/28/03 Samuel A very funny cartoon, Spade is awesome!! 5 stars
8/30/02 Interrog8 KRONK! Need I say more? 5 stars
8/05/02 LessThanColleen Okay, I'm almost 15 and this was great! Love Kronk! (Reason #2, look what I can do) lol 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Loved it! How wonderful to hear Eartha's gravelly voice. 5 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden I Liked Land Before Time #6 Better Then This. 1 stars
12/16/01 Jeremy I laughed but I didnt piss my pants and it was funny (very) 5 stars
9/30/01 daniboy best disney movie in years. laughed my ass off 5 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat THE BEST ANIMATED MOVIE SINCE "SOUTH PARK: BIGGER LONGER & UNCUT"! 5 stars
7/01/01 ALEXIS Hey I'm also 15 and this is one of my favorite movies!! it kicks ass, so does David Spade! 5 stars
6/29/01 Geebo I'm also 15, and okay Kronk. Kronk ruled. He was awesome, Nothing can compare. 5 stars
6/01/01 Melody Gordon Ths movie is awsome!!! I'm 15 and I love to watc it all the time!!!! 5 stars
5/18/01 Wendy Gayle Walkup-Barry I loved it!!!! So did my daughter :) 5 stars
4/07/01 viking Well, at least it's an original idea free of schmaltz !!! 4 stars
1/29/01 Mario Rodgers What a bunch of grouches. This movie was brilliant! Stop saying the animation was weak. 5 stars
1/16/01 bats surprised by the sharp writing and humor 4 stars
1/12/01 Gariess A cartoon is a cartoon. Why do we expect effects and animation to entertain us? leave it fo 2 stars
1/12/01 McArthur Student Simply one of disneys best! 5 stars
1/11/01 Who? Great movie, better than all disney movies since "Lion King", or maybe even more 5 stars
1/03/01 FrayLo Not bad, sure as hell more entertaining than sitting through "Dude, Where's My Car?" 4 stars
1/03/01 The Bomb 69 animation was weak and the beginning was slow but the last 20 minutes made up for it 4 stars
1/02/01 Tonka Lightweight and hilarious, especially the last 20 minutes. Eartha Kitt is the best villain 5 stars
12/29/00 Dippy Better than you think! 5 stars
12/24/00 Reverend Krule i'm sick of sittin' through disney shit 2 stars
12/19/00 orpy I was prepared to hate it; it was not bad!! 4 stars
12/16/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble New Groove? I wonder how many blacks worked on this film? None I'll bet. 3 stars
12/16/00 Paul Putman It was such a homage to Chuck Jones that I missed the Disney magic. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Dec-2000 (G)
  DVD: 18-Oct-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Apr-2001 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast