More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.42

Awesome: 11.11%
Worth A Look: 9.88%
Average: 13.58%
Pretty Bad40.74%
Total Crap: 24.69%

5 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Skulls, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Too typical and unoriginal all-around."
2 stars

“The Skulls” is a secret society that sounds somewhat, and unfortunately, related to “Fight Club”: the most major rule is not to acknowledge their existence.

Set at an unnamed Ivy League college, the secret society will benefit you by eventually shaping your life, placing you, and dictating what you do and how you do it (such as places of political power) –almost Communistically. The acceptance of a minor person (Joshua Jackson) into the institution as far as he’s concerned, is exactly what he wanted, but of course once he’s in and sees it is not what he wants, he tries to escape when trouble arrives. Naturally, he must find a way out when none is designated, and that leads to the typical “one man out versus everyone else.” It begins somewhat mildly suspenseful, but quickly becomes predictable and preposterous. And for such a sacred and prideful group (“We dot all the ‘i’s and cross all the ‘t’s” –that’s funny, the word “skulls” has neither, and the “The” doesn’t count), they sure seem easily dismantled and unorganized. Big screen newcomer Leslie Bibb (TV’s “Popular”) has a very attractive presence and sure knows how to run and scream, but that on itself does not even qualify as a fraction of a fraction of what is needed to pull this out of the sand it slipped it into. “The Hardy Boys” feels it gratuitously lends itself, is nothing more than plotting, overstated and anserous.

Final Verdict: D+.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1980&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/10/00 18:15:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/07/14 Albert Valentin It was okay. Followed by two unnecessary sequels. 3 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner This ones ok. 3 stars
10/11/06 Baldeadly Got it today for 4euro in HMV! GREAT! old skool but Good! 4 stars
6/28/05 Seamless Randy Edelman's opening score was good. The film itself was badly done & forgettable..Yuk! 1 stars
5/27/05 buddy horrible, josh and paul probably put it in each other. 1 stars
10/15/04 Vince Entertaining 4 stars
8/20/04 Hannah Joshua and Paul-very nice,I like it! 5 stars
7/29/04 DM Made by numbskulls 1 stars
1/15/04 Samuel i think this movie is very underrated i thought it was pretty decent 4 stars
1/08/04 A F It was very something or other! 2 stars
8/20/03 Monster W. Kung If you like this movie, you should be shot in the skull. 1 stars
5/21/03 Chewy This movie ROCKED! Paul Walker is so fucking hot! 5 stars
4/25/03 Jack Sommersby Initially involves but soon turns too darn silly. 2 stars
1/05/03 Sully well, movie was okay....nothing more than that.... 3 stars
11/12/02 Fonq35 The Skulls, the Snake and Skellingtons, the tosh and nonsense... 2 stars
6/28/02 Film Dude If anybody asks you to watch this, you break their nose. I'm serious. Fucking do it. 1 stars
6/13/02 Cat Great film, slightly lacking originality but still pretty enjoyable recommendable 4 stars
5/25/02 Film Guy Surprisingly good 4 stars
3/16/02 sarah z i loved it 4 stars
1/23/02 Andrew Carden I Guess It Depends If You're In The Mood For A Tasteless, But Suspenseful Movie. 3 stars
1/16/02 David A. It gets kind of preachy on the anti-elite schtick 3 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix Absolutly horrid. I couldn't believe what I was watching. 1 stars
9/04/01 Jagr Fricking Jones Awesome movie, see it now, do not wait. WE ARE WATCHING. 5 stars
8/19/01 Monster W. Kung Painfully stupid. The love scene, the rope and duel ones must be witnessed to be believed. 1 stars
6/25/01 Dean Ridiculous and lame-brained; the plot twists are some of the stupidest I've ever seen. 1 stars
6/03/01 Thrillhouse Bash my Lexus and I will punch you! 1 stars
5/11/01 nrh24 this was a very good movie 5 stars
5/03/01 JesseL This could have been a great movie but instead it.... 1 stars
5/01/01 Pete Zahut Who designed Skull Headquarters, Lex Luthor? What a waste of time 1 stars
4/25/01 MOVIE fuck but i´m fucker from SKULLS clan 4 stars
4/03/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble Break my car window and I'lll kill you too!!! 1 stars
3/23/01 TNT-6 Muahahahaha... People coming off the building with ropes... gimme a break. 2 stars
3/06/01 duke it was awesome 5 stars
2/05/01 Kate cute cast but nothing ever went below a superficial surface & the ending lacked any closure 2 stars
11/10/00 Andrei Raiu I liked the movie .......... maybe i'm just dumb. or maybe it's you??? :) 5 stars
11/09/00 Nicole I don't know who you "critics" think you are but I don't see any of you on the Big Screen. 5 stars
11/07/00 Matthew Bartley really really bad like a Scooby Doo movie gone wrong 1 stars
10/18/00 Monday Morning Not interesting, not intriguing, not frightening, not funny...NOT MUCH. 2 stars
7/09/00 Purple Monster A film for numbskulls !!! 2 stars
5/13/00 Kyle Broflovski I agree with Obi Wan & EMagGaRoni...to obvious to be sinister & too overhyped to deliver... 3 stars
4/29/00 caroline i loved it 5 stars
4/25/00 Obi Wan How secret can a society be...when it's mentioned every 3 minutes in the movie????? 3 stars
4/14/00 Des ahhh...entertaining... 3 stars
4/11/00 Nolan Wrage If the Skulls were a hush hush society, every one and their fucking brother knew about it 1 stars
4/09/00 EMagGaRony kind of pathetic... not scary at all... didn't live up to the hype.. 3 stars
4/07/00 Belac Drakeman Breezy entertainment; perfect way to spend a listless Wednesday afternoon, & Jackson rules 5 stars
4/06/00 "Persnickety" a good movie gone horribly wrong, nice way to screw it up! 3 stars
4/04/00 Mr. Kramitall what' with those Dawson's Creek and Party of Five casts? 2 stars
4/02/00 fb not a bad flick at all 4 stars
4/01/00 TimmyToday I couldn't stand to watch my club being slandered in such a stupid movie. 2 stars
3/31/00 Andi C. I thought it was good enough to see again 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Mar-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Jul-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast