More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.42

Awesome: 11.11%
Worth A Look: 9.88%
Average: 13.58%
Pretty Bad40.74%
Total Crap: 24.69%

5 reviews, 51 user ratings



Skulls, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"This skull is empty."
2 stars

"The Skulls" stars pudgy-faced, non-leading-man Joshua Jackson as its leading man, a non-rich Ivy-Leaguer named Lucas McNamara who becomes part of an extremely non-secret secret organization called The Skulls.

But guess what? The Skulls do dark, bad things, and Lucas is bothered by this. Forgive me if the remainder of this review is nothing but questions, but I can't think of any other approach to take.

How secret can this group be when they have their own building, clearly labeled, in the middle of campus? Couldn't you figure out who the members are by just watching to see who goes in and comes out?

For that matter, couldn't you tell who the members are by observing which students suddenly acquire brand-new sports cars, or who suddenly start acting secretive, or who mysteriously quit spending time with all their friends?

And the other secret societies on campus (are ALL Ivy League schools crawling with them?), which also have their own buildings: Wouldn't they figure "pledge night" would be the night they should be MOST vigilant, to prevent would-be Skulls from sneaking into their building and stealing their stuff as an initiation? Apparently not, 'cause that's what Lucas and fellow pledge Caleb Mandrake (Paul Walker) do, and no one seems to notice.

What college student in America, besides Lucas, uses a typewriter?

If you're really serious about keeping the proceedings inside your top-secret club a secret, why would you have surveillance cameras all over the place? And then, when someone is accidentally purposely killed in the building, why wouldn't you dispose of the tape promptly, rather than storing it with all the other tapes in a non-secret secret location in the school library?

Near the end of the film, Lucas finally decides to challenge the Skulls in their evil doings and cover-ups, and he obeys Skull protocol by invoking Rule #119 (the Skulls have their own handy rule book, with the member's name embossed on it, and apparently no one's roommate has ever stumbled across one in the group's 200-year history). Rule #119 says that the two members who have a grievance with each other shall settle the matter by means of a pistol duel.

"A duel?!" says Caleb incredulously. "You have GOT to be kidding!"

My thoughts exactly. "The Skulls" is a movie populated entirely by stupid people doing stupid things, yet it somehow escapes being anything more than mildly irritating. In fact, for as dumb as it is, at least it's never boring. It's never thrilling, either, or logical. But for cheap diversion, it's passable. Just don't ask too many questions.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1980&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/06/03 19:54:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/07/14 Albert Valentin It was okay. Followed by two unnecessary sequels. 3 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner This ones ok. 3 stars
10/11/06 Baldeadly Got it today for 4euro in HMV! GREAT! old skool but Good! 4 stars
6/28/05 Seamless Randy Edelman's opening score was good. The film itself was badly done & forgettable..Yuk! 1 stars
5/27/05 buddy horrible, josh and paul probably put it in each other. 1 stars
10/15/04 Vince Entertaining 4 stars
8/20/04 Hannah Joshua and Paul-very nice,I like it! 5 stars
7/29/04 DM Made by numbskulls 1 stars
1/15/04 Samuel i think this movie is very underrated i thought it was pretty decent 4 stars
1/08/04 A F It was very something or other! 2 stars
8/20/03 Monster W. Kung If you like this movie, you should be shot in the skull. 1 stars
5/21/03 Chewy This movie ROCKED! Paul Walker is so fucking hot! 5 stars
4/25/03 Jack Sommersby Initially involves but soon turns too darn silly. 2 stars
1/05/03 Sully well, movie was okay....nothing more than that.... 3 stars
11/12/02 Fonq35 The Skulls, the Snake and Skellingtons, the tosh and nonsense... 2 stars
6/28/02 Film Dude If anybody asks you to watch this, you break their nose. I'm serious. Fucking do it. 1 stars
6/13/02 Cat Great film, slightly lacking originality but still pretty enjoyable recommendable 4 stars
5/25/02 Film Guy Surprisingly good 4 stars
3/16/02 sarah z i loved it 4 stars
1/23/02 Andrew Carden I Guess It Depends If You're In The Mood For A Tasteless, But Suspenseful Movie. 3 stars
1/16/02 David A. It gets kind of preachy on the anti-elite schtick 3 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix Absolutly horrid. I couldn't believe what I was watching. 1 stars
9/04/01 Jagr Fricking Jones Awesome movie, see it now, do not wait. WE ARE WATCHING. 5 stars
8/19/01 Monster W. Kung Painfully stupid. The love scene, the rope and duel ones must be witnessed to be believed. 1 stars
6/25/01 Dean Ridiculous and lame-brained; the plot twists are some of the stupidest I've ever seen. 1 stars
6/03/01 Thrillhouse Bash my Lexus and I will punch you! 1 stars
5/11/01 nrh24 this was a very good movie 5 stars
5/03/01 JesseL This could have been a great movie but instead it.... 1 stars
5/01/01 Pete Zahut Who designed Skull Headquarters, Lex Luthor? What a waste of time 1 stars
4/25/01 MOVIE fuck but im fucker from SKULLS clan 4 stars
4/03/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble Break my car window and I'lll kill you too!!! 1 stars
3/23/01 TNT-6 Muahahahaha... People coming off the building with ropes... gimme a break. 2 stars
3/06/01 duke it was awesome 5 stars
2/05/01 Kate cute cast but nothing ever went below a superficial surface & the ending lacked any closure 2 stars
11/10/00 Andrei Raiu I liked the movie .......... maybe i'm just dumb. or maybe it's you??? :) 5 stars
11/09/00 Nicole I don't know who you "critics" think you are but I don't see any of you on the Big Screen. 5 stars
11/07/00 Matthew Bartley really really bad like a Scooby Doo movie gone wrong 1 stars
10/18/00 Monday Morning Not interesting, not intriguing, not frightening, not funny...NOT MUCH. 2 stars
7/09/00 Purple Monster A film for numbskulls !!! 2 stars
5/13/00 Kyle Broflovski I agree with Obi Wan & EMagGaRoni...to obvious to be sinister & too overhyped to deliver... 3 stars
4/29/00 caroline i loved it 5 stars
4/25/00 Obi Wan How secret can a society be...when it's mentioned every 3 minutes in the movie????? 3 stars
4/14/00 Des ahhh...entertaining... 3 stars
4/11/00 Nolan Wrage If the Skulls were a hush hush society, every one and their fucking brother knew about it 1 stars
4/09/00 EMagGaRony kind of pathetic... not scary at all... didn't live up to the hype.. 3 stars
4/07/00 Belac Drakeman Breezy entertainment; perfect way to spend a listless Wednesday afternoon, & Jackson rules 5 stars
4/06/00 "Persnickety" a good movie gone horribly wrong, nice way to screw it up! 3 stars
4/04/00 Mr. Kramitall what' with those Dawson's Creek and Party of Five casts? 2 stars
4/02/00 fb not a bad flick at all 4 stars
4/01/00 TimmyToday I couldn't stand to watch my club being slandered in such a stupid movie. 2 stars
3/31/00 Andi C. I thought it was good enough to see again 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Mar-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Jul-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast