More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.15

Awesome27.87%
Worth A Look: 22.95%
Average: 11.48%
Pretty Bad: 11.48%
Total Crap: 26.23%

6 reviews, 25 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

Knife+Heart by Jay Seaver

Booksmart by Jay Seaver

Dark Phoenix by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Topsy-Turvy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Bob, Lord of Evil

"Sweet fucking Christ do the British suck."
1 stars

This was a movie about playwrites I don't like. They spoke in heavy British accents making it had to understand anything they say. They randomly start speaking french. There in nudity for no reason. At all

On most occasions I wouldn't hate this movie as much as I did... no... wait... The Full Monty sucked balls as well.... And so did some more British peices of shit... Howards End... Ugh...

But this was so much worse. So unbelievably bad it blew my mind. My friend and I started laughing at how bad it was. It was just... so awful....

And...

Christ i hated it...

We left 30 minutes into it.

British people and French people deserve each other.

Oh... How this sucked.Oh how this sucked.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1987&reviewer=150
originally posted: 02/14/00 16:19:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2008 San Francisco International Film Festival For more in the 2008 San Francisco International Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

4/06/07 Ezzthetic How on earth this moron got himself registered on Rotten Tomatoes is beyond me. 5 stars
11/19/06 Ionicera a little too drawn out 4 stars
8/16/06 anthonyuk if this film was a heart monitor it would have flatlined! boredom has never been so painful 1 stars
8/19/05 Jeanne I loved this, and I don't even like G&S. Shirley Henderson is awesome! 4 stars
2/05/05 axe at turns fun and dull--Leigh gives each a whirl. 3 stars
11/10/04 Steve Denney Who the fuck are these wankers rating this movie as crap? Don't you understand pathos, iron 4 stars
7/07/03 Jack Sommersby Damn, how I hate this studied, overly deliberate bore. 1 stars
12/10/01 Andrew Carden Pittifully Boring and Dull Rehash Of Gilbert and Sullivan Songs. 1 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Not bad .Slightly to long . 4 stars
6/14/01 Poxont Perfectly and accurately researched, directed, acted! 5 stars
3/25/01 jim Director nailed the personal lives of these people. Really did his reaearch 5 stars
2/11/01 R.W. Welch Remarkable historic re-creation, but needed tighter editing and better continuity. 4 stars
8/08/00 Mic Cut it a bit (from performance of Mikado) and it would be even better. 4 stars
6/27/00 Purple Monster Only an illiterate twerp would bag this movie !!!! 5 stars
2/27/00 connie thompson Loved it. A truly wonderful film - Best of the Year 5 stars
2/16/00 Gjoko Ruzio-Saban Gilbert & Sullivan OK 5 stars
2/13/00 "Persnickety "Jenn cute, very well played, a must see for anyone looking for a good film! 5 stars
2/12/00 Skye Chapman a great movie. lots of fun. and i hate gilbert and sullivan 5 stars
2/08/00 Ron If they would let me cut about 50 minutes of shit I think it would then be a great film. 4 stars
1/31/00 F RICHARDS I LIKED IT 5 stars
1/21/00 Heather Loved it, although it could have done with some humor 5 stars
1/21/00 Spetters A wonderful surprise! 4 stars
12/25/99 Tha Obsequious Bad Janatah A huge bore, and unrelentlessly pointless, lacking a backbone. Overlong too! 1 stars
12/19/99 cinemel Long and mostly boring. 2 stars
12/19/99 Mr Showbiz Leigh's historical drama is cause for celebration amongst Gilbert & Sullivan fans. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Dec-1999 (R)
  DVD: 12-Apr-2011

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Apr-2000


Directed by
  Mike Leigh

Written by
  Mike Leigh

Cast
  Alison Steadman
  Jim Broadbent
  Lesley Manville
  Allan Corduner



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast