More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.18

Awesome29.54%
Worth A Look: 12.46%
Average: 23.84%
Pretty Bad: 14.95%
Total Crap: 19.22%

12 reviews, 209 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Patriot, The (2000)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by John Linton Roberson

"Laugh-Out-Loud Funny!"
1 stars

Mel Gibson is not known for his subtlety, nor imagination in parts he chooses. Apart, perhaps, from the LETHAL WEAPON films, each one is the same; MAD MAX is BRAVEHEART is RANSOM. But this film is so vaporous and boilerplate it makes the others look like sparkling epiphanies of originality. Are there any true screenwriters left in Arizona Bay? This movie is barely interesting enough to review, but let's take a stab...

By now we all know the basic elements of a typical Mel Gibson film: family man loses part or all of family, then is changed from reluctant to vengeful. One sees this formula repeated from film to film. Also a particularly sadistic main villain(often with a British accent), often coupled with one who is fey or even gay. (Effeminate people are always bad in Gibson films) Said revenge, as in ROAD WARRIOR or BRAVEHEART, is usually in the cause of helping some downtrodden folk, like the fairytale Scots of BRAVEHEART, who despite their numbers cannot possibly succeed without the much more manly Mel at their helm.

Each film he makes, it seems, is tailored to some fantasy world Gibson likes to see himself as inhabiting(a speculation based upon his famous baby ranch--uh, I mean wife & numerous children). One may assume the death of most women intimate with Mel in his films(MAD MAX, BRAVEHEART, HAMLET, and his wife dead before the start of THE PATRIOT) is a concession to the wife. But I approach the point. Allow me to digress.

A particular continued theme one can discern in Gibson's ouevre is the idea that nothing is worth fighting for except the most personal of causes, i.e. revenging a loved one, not the freedom of Scotland, say. (Though Wallace certainly codes the word "freedom" as "revenge" well, eh?) A defensible point, certainly, from some points of view; not mine, but some. (To me it just goes to show how self-involved and wallowingly petty we have become.) But, though I'm no fan of what some call "patriotism," the word, if it has any positive sense, means a commitment to an ideal higher than even family.

So what has this revenge fantasy to do with any possible definition of "patriotism?"

I'm going to leave aside most issues of historical inaccuracy, except to say that in that sense this movie is utter bullshit. No understanding of the times or the reasons for the revolution, nor of anything, really, involved with the subject beyond a first-grader's misunderstanding of it, perhaps, is present; do not watch this for a history lesson. This film makes BRAVEHEART look like a scholarly documentary. It's history as G.W. Bush probably understands it.

More than anything else, in tone throughout, this is history as told by a drunken football fan which assumes you're as stupid as it is; this is a riotously, insultingly lunkheaded film. It wastes the backdrop of the revolution as yet another chance for Mel Gibson to play the quasi-Wayneish devoted family man and murderous psychopath(why Mel isn't included in Joe Lieberman's condemnations of Hollywood I'd love to know; he revels in sadistic,cathartic violence the like of which I've not seen since some 80s slasher flicks). It's not a story; it's a carnival ride with the usual attractions, with a different visual motif.

It concerns a planter in South Carolina(loosely based on the considerably more vicious Francis Marion), in whose backyard the entire war ends up being waged. I am only slightly exaggerating; if you weren't paying careful attention you'd swear that was indeed the case. His eldest son, an earnest, handsome, and thoroughly annoying, self-righteous young fellow, joins the continental army against his fearful father(Gibson)'s wishes.

There appear to be slaves on the land, at first, but no; this being the poltically-correct Hollywood that has taken to rewriting history, they are somehow paid, free employees. Though it would have been wonderful if this had been so, no planter in South Carolina at the time, in reality, would have let him keep his land; they were paranoid of freedmen in Carolina and there were few if any. South Carolina was the center of white southern racism and the economic center of slavery. His neighbors would've been profoundly racist even if Gibson's character wasn't and an example of free blacks would not have been something his fellow planters would have wanted, not to mention that it was economically impossible to run plantations in the south then without the savings slavery brought the pecuinous planters, which is why the South was dirt-poor even after Reconstruction.

This lie, done only to make sure Gibson's character will seem completely saintly, is particularly cruel to, perhaps, a black child who might see this and then find out what really happened later. To play with history this way is not kindness, it's more a slap in the face. And a patronizing one. And an insult to those who suffered under slavery.

Back to da plot: Just to be mean(seriously), the British general marches onto Gibson's land and murders his younger son(complete with--I'm not kidding--a slow-motion "NOOOOOO!" from Gibson), and burns his home. Gibson rushes into the upstairs of the inferno the house now is, and takes out his weapons He Hasn't Touched Since The Awful Things He Did In The French And Indian War, and though he may have not wanted to participate in this war and risk his family, It's Personal Now.

Far from not risking his family, he distributes these weapons among his youngest sons (10 & 12) to save his eldest from being hanged. Let me emphasize this: He sends his youngest sons in ahead of him on a killing mission to save his eldest.

Not exactly family values.

Afterward is essentially a revenge mission disguised as war, where he gathers a Ragtag Army Of Regular Fellas(complete with funny/crazy guy that Mel can roll his eyes at, like the Irish fellow in BRAVEHEART or the Gyro Captain in ROAD WARRIOR) culminating in Gibson's army beating no less than General Cornwallis himself in a battle I must have missed when I was inundated with this crap as a kid during the bicentennial. That's right, Mel Gibson and his family win the revolutionary war.(they mention another battle afterward but it's presented as trivial, as a foregone afterthought, much like Bannockburn at the end of BRAVEHEART) At no point, by the way, does one see General Washington involved. Funny, that. (We see a brief postage-stamp image of his shadowy figure passing at Valley Forge, that's it)

The war appears to take place in 6 months, judging by how all the children at the start of the film(1776) are the same age at the end. At least the children that make it to the end; both Mel's son's have to die, you see(and not a bad thing; when the eldest blond one died, I have to say I was overjoyed the only time in the film), for him to have his moment of heroic vengeance. Which, despite his having been given vicious wounds in every part of his body, he walks away from, soon forgetting his woes in the laughing of victory. (All the middle-aged men live and the young men die; this part at least is true to life)

The villains are, as usual, made unbelievable monsters to justify their being killed as brutally as the rating system will allow; the British are treated, as usual, in a profoundly racist way by Gibson, who seems to believe them a nation of sadists and poufs. Or any combination thereof. They commit atrocities the British never, ever committed, including acts actually performed by the Gestapo. As though the Boston Massacre wasn't enough, for god's sake. Is anyone else besides me bothered at this trivialization of history? Probably not.

Gibson likes to posture about his characters feeling regret for violence, but unlike in, say Clint Eastwood, that doesn't make them hesitate from it. After their amazingly successful assassination mission,his youngest sons say how much they're glad they killed the British officers. Granted, the officers killed their brother, but the relish they get from it--even after seeing their father commit what appears to be meant as a pointlessly gratuitous act with a hatchet--is disturbing, almost seeming a romanticizing of Columbine. Compare the scene when the boy says "I'm glad we killed them; I'm glad," with the scene between Will Munny and the Scofield Kid after they kill the cowboys can UNFORGIVEN. At no point are you allowed to forget that, no matter what they've done, they're still people being killed and killing is usually rather ignominious. It's not till the end when Eastwood has a reason to commit a truly personally sadistic act and the weight of the violence becomes overwhelming; you're looking at necessity damning a man's soul, not this walk-away-from-it-with-a-laugh idiocy of Gibson's, who wants to have his gore and eat it too.

Speaking of which, this film has the most comical gore I've seen since the Tiger scene in MONTY PYTHON'S THE MEANING OF LIFE; that's exactly what the limbs severed by cannonballs look like when Emmerich shows them repeatedly. It's shown so slowly the fakery is obvious. I giggled.

The script isn't even worth mention, except just a little:

"How many times have I heard you speak of freedom at my father's table?"

That's the only original line in the film, and it sucks.

The rest is a half-made souffle of cliches, one after another, that makes one wonder if they even bothered to write a script(and if the untalented Robert Rodat really did write this, I'm sorry, he should be given lethal injection),or just filmed the outline.

All in all, Mel's revolutionary war re-creation society was well-filmed, but that's about the only nice thing I can say. It's not good or bad. There's not enough to it to have much of an opinion but aggressive indifference.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1999&reviewer=151
originally posted: 11/03/00 18:38:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/20/17 Danny Silly and pathetic propaganda. It would be a great comedy if it was intentionally funny. 1 stars
8/12/11 chris despite Mel Gibson's past history, still a good movie. 4 stars
7/23/11 art I LIKED 1985's REVOLUTION with AL PACINO A LOT better. 1 stars
7/16/09 blah blah historically inaccurate but bloody entertaining 5 stars
1/29/09 Libbylau I liked it, Col. Sexy is hot and mel gibsons..yea no, but it's decent 4 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. really entertaining war film. 4 stars
10/31/08 Shaun Wallner Gibson does it again! 5 stars
10/07/08 bob RAQWWWWWWWWWRRRRRRRR 1 stars
6/21/08 John Millheim Mel Gibson is great, he doesnt take any crap 5 stars
5/24/08 PAUL SHORTT HUGE, HANDSOME AND COMPELLING IN SCORE, BUT ALSO CONVOLUTED & HISTORICALLY INACURATE 3 stars
4/25/08 Don't worry about it FUCK Jake Baxter 5 stars
4/08/08 jake baxter americans are fuckin ignorant fuck americans 1 stars
3/15/08 Anthony Feor Too much talk, too much drama. Not enough war. 3 stars
12/25/07 Double M Liked it as a kid, now i'm ahamed of that. Typical Emmerich; LOAD of dumb obnoxious clichés 1 stars
12/06/07 Pamela White educational take heed it will happen again 5 stars
11/28/07 loz i thought the film was brill and heath ledger was great in it. 5 stars
11/14/07 lucy i thought that the movie was good 5 stars
9/22/07 chrissy vance it was kinda boring...i had to watch it for a history paper...i should've chosen a differen 3 stars
4/23/07 David Risser good drama. The British General asked for it. 4 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK Come on. We lost the war but the heros(on both sides)are disrespected. 2 stars
4/04/07 Dj I THOUGHT IT WAS A GREAT MOVIE AND ANY TRUE AMERICAN WOULD LIKE IT TOO. 5 stars
2/19/07 Uncle Sam Cry me a river! Nothing but whining Brits in here. 5 stars
2/12/07 Emmerfan American guys sucks , they even dont know their own history 5 stars
1/15/07 Gloria Dornin I liked it have watched it several times 4 stars
12/21/06 zac Typical american tosh does anyone over there not have access to history books or anything, 1 stars
11/07/06 dakota couch i thought the movie was verry good and bloody movies like that drag me in 5 stars
9/26/06 EMAN this movie is hella sweet. who cares about the inaccurate history. Sweet ass action! 5 stars
4/07/06 Edna i am a true american n i loved this film 5 stars
1/22/06 Cock Another Fag Gibson self-whoring movie. 1 stars
1/22/06 KingNeutron Awesome, but only problem I had was they way they acted after being "wounded" 4 stars
11/16/05 Adrian Relies on dramatic sequences rather than legitimate story and characters. 3 stars
10/07/05 Klondo has a couple cool scenes and Mel is awesome in it, but this movie really sucks 2 stars
8/18/05 ES tries hard to be 'last of the mohicans' comes up short, way to much British bashing 2 stars
8/14/05 Dan Great movie, although loosely-based, and dramatized, still captures the spirit of that time 5 stars
7/22/05 Cassander Ended up rooting for Cornwallis, but all in all a good movie 5 stars
7/14/05 Darth Skippy Insulting in every way. John Linton Roberson's review is right on the money. 1 stars
5/25/05 Casey Becher I LOVED it!!! 5 stars
5/24/05 danielc this movie is frikken stupid it didnt make any sense and it sucked 5 stars
4/23/05 Quigley a profound tear-jerker that manages to capture the power and effect of war. amazing film. 5 stars
4/04/05 Ric A few rousing action scenes and gorgeous cinematography, but the rest is silly fluff. 3 stars
2/27/05 Beverley Mooren Great movie everyone should watch. 5 stars
1/14/05 Adam Hughes I liked it alot 5 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams It's no Braveheart 4 stars
12/06/04 Devin McDavid I Loved it!. No one can depict the heart of a true Patriot like Mel Gibson! 5 stars
11/10/04 bob i need real life comparisons to characters in movie, ppl. 3 stars
9/28/04 Marc thomas It was a master piece / a emotion tugger 5 stars
9/01/04 Aaron Smith great costumes and scenery, Ledger is solid, Gibson always fun to watch, Isaacs is nasty 5 stars
5/30/04 Frazier A powerful and original movie, does not butcher history, teaches some history. Watch it. 5 stars
5/13/04 Dylan The best movie ever. 5 stars
5/03/04 Jim Typical and boring mel gibson film. Bucthers history to stroke American egos. Avoid! 2 stars
4/20/04 mike If only people were smart enough to know its movie, otherwise it is bad history! 3 stars
4/19/04 Mel Gibson I'm sorry I made this film but I need violence to hide my homosexual tendencies. 1 stars
4/15/04 J A the best WAR movies of 2000! **** 5 stars
3/13/04 Greg Watched it ten times or more 5 stars
3/10/04 LIAM JACKSON Colonel Tavington is one of the most beyond-evil men i've ever seen. 5 stars
3/07/04 reptilesni Subtle as a sledgehammer with plenty o' cheese. 1 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser What is civil war? Go and watch The Patriot! Excellent. 5 stars
1/22/04 jamie how can u ppl complain to a movie like this oh ya ur total MORONS ** It was AWSUM !!! 5 stars
12/05/03 j bryant typical hollwood blood & guts flick in which the hero always wins 1 stars
11/27/03 John directed by Roland Riefenstahl... oh sorry Emmerich 1 stars
11/23/03 Gig It's only a movie, people! Get over yourselves! I enjoyed every minute of it! 5 stars
11/11/03 Jod I don't think people were that clean in the 1700's, nice job Mel, Braveheart Part II 1 stars
10/29/03 Zach Kraus Excellent, Outstanding 5 stars
10/22/03 Huh? VERY historically inaccurate portrayel of the War for Independence 1 stars
9/28/03 JJ An excellent historical action-packed drama...one of my top 5 all-time great movies! 5 stars
9/15/03 stephanie just watched it tonite 5 stars
8/04/03 Sandy Smith it SUCKS!!! 1 stars
7/17/03 kick ya dont tell me they spent MONEY on this film? 1 stars
7/06/03 Jack Sommersby Simple revenge flick dressed by with big money and credentials. 1 stars
4/20/03 Dr. Robert Dangerously horrible movie, a mockery of history, and insultingly stupid. Read more, Mel! 1 stars
3/07/03 Glenn didnt even se it through, "stuntman said it all". Get real USA, wake up from Disney world 5 stars
2/22/03 Suzan it wz ssooo good man u have to see it 5 stars
2/18/03 stuntman god, how self absorbed can the US be, this proves it 2 stars
2/17/03 Dave I hate this movie 2 stars
2/01/03 scott A GREAT FILM 5 stars
1/27/03 T-man Good movie, historically inaccurate as hell. Sounds like some sore losers among you Brits! 5 stars
12/28/02 Monster W. Kung I'd rather use diarrohea as a mouth rinse than sit through this turd again. 1 stars
11/19/02 Nevz More bollocks from the Gibson stables... 1 stars
11/17/02 PsiSeeker Famous White Indian Killer Now Avenging Hero... Deluded American history at its finest! 2 stars
10/23/02 Charles Tatum Embarassing flag waving gigglefest 1 stars
10/09/02 Sean Davenport A historical blunder that demeans the British beyond any conceivable truth 2 stars
8/07/02 GREATEST MOVIE EVER! I LOVED THIS MOVIE! 5 stars
7/19/02 To retarded Americunt KMG Watch Braveheart, another British-bashing movie. British are portrayed as demonic scum. 1 stars
7/05/02 KMG MEL HATES THE BRITS? How the hell does one pull THAT from this film? The Brits sucked then 4 stars
6/12/02 Stephanie Throckmorton Awesome drama, inexplicably ignored at Oscar time (& what's premature ejaculation issue?)! 5 stars
5/30/02 Danielle Ophelia Emmerich recycling his ID4 formula. $20 says he's a premature ejaculator. Mel's okay. 3 stars
4/06/02 Caligula So moronic and brainless it is funny. History for idiots, to say the least. 1 stars
2/21/02 luda hoe could this movie be worse, the only reason mel gibson should be allowed to live: braveheart 1 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Not much of a plot, but fun and entertaining. 4 stars
2/13/02 Kat Stradfurd I love the patriot, full of action, romance, some comedy & kept me on the edge of my seat. 5 stars
1/30/02 Chris K. So it was Mel Gibson, not George Washington, who won the war! Amazing! 1 stars
1/17/02 Mel Gibson sucking up to USA Enjoyable only if you live in the south, support NRA and vote Ross Perot 2 stars
1/16/02 David A. A lot of historic value--makes a case against pacifism 5 stars
1/06/02 Magnum Craphole Idiotic, embarassing Mel Gibson vehicle. Emmerich? The Ed Wood of big-budget cinema. 1 stars
1/03/02 I love movies as an entertaining movie, not a historical lesson, this one succeeds 4 stars
12/06/01 KMG I think there was a tweaked message in this...oh well 3 stars
12/03/01 Cracked head If you like this fake, insulting drivel, you're an idiot. That's all I have to say. 1 stars
11/21/01 Chris K. Bad acting from Mel Gibson and BAD HISTORY! Hollywood NEVER PASSES HISTORY! Grade F- film! 1 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz History movie for hopeless morons. The most embarrassing thing Mel's ever done. Pure shit. 1 stars
10/24/01 Adam Dis good film. No Bravehar' but is good. Some pars no so good. 4 stars
10/22/01 Cookie Cutter Good sets wasted on horrible, brain-dead, idiotic script. 1 stars
10/11/01 Phoenix This was a extrordinary war picture. The performances and action sequences were great. 5 stars
10/06/01 Geebo Nothing compared to Gladiator, it was okay 4 stars
9/06/01 spaceworm Not Mel's best role, but maybe his best acting moments (loss of sons) 4 stars
8/23/01 Babybelle Mel earned his salary, the director didn't. 3 stars
8/10/01 Crisis Management The kind of dumb, lame-brained patriotism you'd expect from Hollywood and Emmerich/Rodat. 1 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Cmon people...This movie fucking sucks. It's like watching a murder spree in Disney World. 1 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat This movie kicks ass. Fuck you, Matt Bartley! 4 stars
7/27/01 Crisis Management After this movie came out, the world was suddenly a little bit dumber. 1 stars
7/27/01 Rolling Thunder Has to one of the most dumb and manipulative movies ever made. Shame on you, Emmerich. 1 stars
7/09/01 Caligula worst movie ever 1 stars
7/04/01 Piz Braveheart on sedatives. Stick in mediocre actors and this movie is a complete dump. 2 stars
6/15/01 zombie the only enjoyable part was when the church was burned down. heheh 2 stars
5/28/01 Dean Ken I agree, never seen so many cliches in one movie. Edge of your toilet seat fun! 1 stars
5/23/01 Ken I counted, and every movie cliche in history is in it. Check it yourself! 2 stars
5/15/01 Nayntara it's great! best film I've ever seen 5 stars
5/12/01 Chris Breathtaking! 5 stars
5/09/01 Katie This is the best movie 5 stars
4/25/01 Tim Clarke Wasted opportunity. Script rubbish. Music score weak. Editing weak. 3 stars
4/15/01 Fafafoey Unwatchable. Vomit Inducing. If you like this film, insert gun in mouth and pull trigger. 1 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is a great movie with great actors. Better than Braveheart! 5 stars
4/07/01 Hawkeye Say it with me, folks: Mel good, Emmerich bad. Good acting, so-so film. I liked it though. 4 stars
3/30/01 Casey Bunston I thought it was great, Iam total Mel Gibson fan great acting Mel 5 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung A diarrhea of a movie... starts up slow, but then a load of shit comes over like crazy. 1 stars
3/20/01 TNT-6 An awful, cheesy, laughable, idiotic distortion of history. Roland Emmerich you SUCK. 1 stars
3/06/01 you suck fuck you 5 stars
2/20/01 Mark Tucker Usual pretentious shite that we have come to expect from Hollywood 1 stars
2/15/01 Katchoo Bloody but Good. Maybe a little long tho. 4 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi A little too similar to Braveheart. Eye-candy points for Heath Ledger, my future husband. 3 stars
2/14/01 Gina Hart I thought it was a fantastic movie.. just because you cant act... 5 stars
2/13/01 Richard Wright I enjoyed it.Not quite BRAVEHEART, but Mel knows his stuff and it works. 4 stars
2/10/01 Michabo Beautiful filmwork, awesome actors. Has some flaws but overall I loved it. 5 stars
2/10/01 Bobby Morons, this was probably too deep and good for you 5 stars
1/29/01 Emma Stevens Man Hetah is a total babe, and the movie is absolutly great!! 5 stars
1/22/01 Adrian Billings exellent 5 stars
1/13/01 Bruce Who cares If this isn't historically accurate ? it ROCKS! 5 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 That british commander was one evil motherfucker. 3 stars
1/03/01 Fritz Utterly predictable; anachronisms abound. 3 stars
12/31/00 kevin THis film(sigh) is simply a cheap remake of Braveheart. C- 2 stars
12/28/00 Berna cool! bloody and all! i like it! gregory smith, heath ledger, mel gibson, etc. u rock!!!!!! 5 stars
12/02/00 The Evil Penguin tooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo long 3 stars
12/02/00 Phil Oh my god, people like this!?! Seagal's Patriot is better!!! 2 stars
12/01/00 King George III Utter rubbish, manipulative, contrived and totally over the top and unnecessary! 1 stars
11/21/00 The Bill Head Terrible movie..pathetic/stupid.Some okay battles, terrible ending...my head hurt for weeks 2 stars
11/14/00 Monday Morning Not the heaviest storyline but cinematog. and music are A-1. But 2.5 hours is way too long. 4 stars
11/03/00 Kevin Stites One of the worst films I have wasted three hours viewing. 1 stars
10/31/00 The Bomb 69 good movie 4 stars
10/31/00 Sasha Hays This film was so corney it made me laugh 2 stars
10/30/00 Bob Sagget All you idiots who say is not great are on crack 5 stars
10/27/00 JC23 Excellent 5 stars
10/24/00 Gremlin Shit, this movie's cool. Best work done with cannonballs I've ever seen. 5 stars
10/09/00 Arron Cotrel It was sweet 5 stars
10/08/00 The Rock Great Entertainment 5 stars
9/28/00 Andrew Ricci great movie:excellent reinactments and superb acting...a must see for eveyone 5 stars
9/19/00 White Rabbit My favorite movie from the past summer 5 stars
9/18/00 genie GO YOU AUSSIE ACTORS!!!! I only went to the cinema for a perve Love you Heath!!! 4 stars
8/21/00 Liz I love heath ledger! 5 stars
8/16/00 Robin Heath was a hottie! 5 stars
8/16/00 Jason Kallelis Enjoyable - not accurate but who cares, its just a movie, never claims to be anything else 4 stars
8/15/00 coffeecup Appalling from start to finish. Had I not had to wait for a bus, I would have walked out, 1 stars
8/14/00 Truckgirl Awesome, much more than I expected! Almost everyone cried...! 5 stars
8/08/00 Viking Not as half as good as "Braveheart" or "Gladiator" 3 stars
8/03/00 Piz way too long, no Braveheart magic here, gets laughable along the way. 3 stars
7/26/00 Travis doesn't take an expert to know the english were bruts and tyrants, heather 5 stars
7/26/00 Brad The best movie ever 5 stars
7/24/00 Heather Since when have the Yanks been experts on British history, NOT!! 1 stars
7/23/00 Tyler Peterson A good, historically accurate film. Better than that Bravehart bullshit! 4 stars
7/22/00 richard be honest Brits; Tarleton really was! 5 stars
7/21/00 Beau Despite what the english press tries to tell you, this movie is very accurate and true 5 stars
7/19/00 Eran "BraveHeart 2" - not even close ! 2 stars
7/18/00 Digitalus it was worth watching 4 stars
7/17/00 Natalia Very predictable. 3 stars
7/17/00 doug Good, but not great. 4 stars
7/15/00 Joe Liberalman Mel was supposed to be a "patriot" in this movie? (yawn) 2 stars
7/15/00 **~**Persnickety**~** it is funny to me to see that two australians are the hero's of america's freedom! 5 stars
7/15/00 molly smith critics are stupid, don't know what they're talking about 5 stars
7/14/00 Anonymous the film is not a documentary it was made to make money . critics need to understand that . 4 stars
7/14/00 Keith Loh Terrible terrible filmmaking and boring battle 2 stars
7/13/00 Gavin Moore William Wallace reincarnated; tense from start to finish 5 stars
7/12/00 Mantik0re Braveheart 2: The Revolutionary War... but entertaining none the less. 4 stars
7/11/00 J. Andrew Hefner Okay, not historically correct maybe, but a damn entertaining film. 5 stars
7/11/00 Arthur Sankey The only part that wasn't a cliche was the Columbine Renactment bit. Bloody sick. 1 stars
7/11/00 Rich Blume Gibson was good...the script, acting and plot were horrible. 2 stars
7/09/00 H. C. Reed We need more about this country's history and less about 'Political Correctness' 5 stars
7/08/00 AAD Pretty good movie, a tad long but still good. 4 stars
7/06/00 koHawk The reviews make me sick. This movie had emotion and ROCKED! Get a clue, folks 5 stars
7/06/00 Kyle This movie sucked. It is nothing but American propaganda. 1 stars
7/05/00 josh Could this movie be any more predictable? Replace dead wife with dead son and axe with gun 2 stars
7/05/00 "Persnickety" mel is still then man and able to give outstanding performances! loved it! 5 stars
7/04/00 Tony The Lurch decent movie, but ran a bit long 3 stars
7/03/00 Sean Horan Good movie, good theme. Battles were good, but not the strong point. A good watch, I think. 3 stars
7/03/00 Captain Highcrime The saviors of America...2 Australians? Didn't learn that in school. Thank you Hollywood. 3 stars
7/03/00 Lindsey It was an excellent movie! Sure it was kinda like Braveheart, but Brave. is also the best! 5 stars
7/02/00 lucas jackson hmm!it kind of reminded me of braveheart 3 stars
7/02/00 Bob I don't much care for reviews. It was a good movie! 5 stars
7/02/00 Politicsman Like fellow over-the-top director Schumacher, Emmerich is rewriting history. I smell Oscar! 3 stars
7/02/00 Metrazol Braveheart 2: Mel Gibson in America! 3 stars
7/02/00 John D Oh man. All it was missing was the cartoon dialogue bubbles over the "actors" heads. 2 stars
7/02/00 Kim Nohr Halfway through the movie I was slapping my head and muttering, "Hollywood Cheeze." 2 stars
7/02/00 bobbuttons What is this it? A drama? A comedy? Neither. Appeals to USA lovin hicks who hate foreigners 1 stars
7/01/00 cristina komeny very good!!! 5 stars
6/30/00 Pandora This was one of the most moving films that I have ever seen. The acting was commendable. 5 stars
6/30/00 Matt Erik the Movieman's review said it I all 3 stars
6/30/00 Coda Ugh. British bad. Killing OK. Blah blah blah. 2 stars
6/29/00 mahone The best pro gun movie of the summer 4 stars
6/29/00 PJ I fucking hate Emmerich, he comes second to the devil Schumacher, wretched piece of crap!!! 1 stars
6/29/00 "Persnickety" damn mel is hot! a great movie , the acting done by all is awesome!! 5 stars
6/29/00 *yeah baby* Historically: Bad Other than that, Heath Ledger is HOT as shit and makes the movie great 5 stars
6/29/00 DatherFrawdad one of the last scenes u can see that chick's heaving bosom.. or it would be just avg 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jun-2000 (R)
  DVD: 25-Apr-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Jul-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast