More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.43

Awesome: 16.07%
Worth A Look: 3.57%
Average: 21.43%
Pretty Bad: 25%
Total Crap33.93%

3 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Here On Earth
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"There's more than immediately meets the eye."
3 stars

"Here on Earth" is an average-looking teen movie with some not-so-average teen (and twentisomething) actors: Leelee Sobieski, Chris Klein, and Josh Hartnett.

The story follows two youthful boys from different backgrounds, one affluent (Klein), and one not so (Hartnett), and upon some acts of delinquency, they must spend the summer together to mutually rebuild an establishment they destroyed. The catalyst for all this being, of course, the gracing presence of Sobieski, whom having grown up and been with Hartnett practically all her life, she is quite easily swayed to experience something new with the outsider. "Here on Earth" for the most part, presents itself to be normal, almost too normal, and for someone who admires and enjoys Sobieski as much as myself, I found it difficult to understand why she would do something so pat. But then, with the vicissitudes of the plot, something which the previews try to keep hidden, yet the posters slightly and ominously hint at, begins to take form. I won't spoil what it is, for as much of a downer and ploy as it may seem, it serves as the defining factor that ultimately makes or breaks it. Is this a string-puller, or is it trying to go beyond the barren bounds of typical teen movies? Ironically, "Here on Earth" at times seemed too mature for most teens to handle. I couldn't tell if the snickers were an uncomfortable reaction, or if they really thought certain developments were risible. Aside from the unnecessary pop songs on heavy rotation, "Here on Earth" consciously tried to avoid most clichés, and I felt that overall it is worthwhile.

Final Verdict: B-.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2005&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/09/00 06:47:44
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/06/12 SEAN DUTRA horrible 1 stars
3/13/12 May Q. Horney Wish such movies WERE'NT here on Earth. But no other planet deserves them either. 1 stars
8/30/09 Candace Troy Powers Anagrammatically speaking, NO HEART HERE! 1 stars
8/02/08 Samantha Perkins I liked it i dont like that she choose kliens character over hartnett but a good movie 4 stars
7/22/07 gr117 One of the worst movies I've ever had the displeasure of seeing. 1 stars
6/18/06 sunil good 2 stars
6/03/05 ATM Cardboard cut-outs of the actual actors would have worked just as well... or better! 1 stars
1/23/05 Leelee Sobieski fan in mourning They made sweet Leelee into a 24-carat brat. Shame on them! 1 stars
8/05/04 Michelle Allan what did she die from at the end of the movie? 5 stars
6/19/04 Julia Cox Leelee Sobieski, so sweet in supporting roles, as a lead thinks her poop don't stink! 1 stars
4/03/04 Richie Leelee's character just isn't real 2 stars
2/06/04 c.r a ok movie, with sexy scence leelee! 3 stars
1/30/04 jmsynth Not a great film, but it makes you WANT to like it 3 stars
1/03/03 rotten s. milk Not the worst ever. Just pretty crappy. 2 stars
9/10/02 I Can't Swim If you are a 9yr old girl, I hope you liked it..if not you, then who was this made for?? 2 stars
6/17/02 Renee Keener Kirstie, I'm afraid this whole thing is sad, not just the ENDONG. 1 stars
4/03/02 chelsea This movie was the best. I especially liked the sexy guy, Josh Harnett. 5 stars
3/31/02 Leelee Sobieski fan in mourning They made sweet Leelee into a 24-carat brat. Shame on them! 1 stars
2/27/02 Good God!!!!!!!! Why anyone finds Josh Hartnett or Chris Klein attractive is beyond me! 2 stars
1/29/02 Julia Cox Leelee Sobieski, so sweet in supporting roles, as a lead thinks her poop don't stink! 1 stars
10/26/01 James Horton Ok but other than Samantha you don't care for anyone else. 3 stars
7/19/01 Kirstie Williams` A great film with a sad endong 5 stars
7/15/01 Cat Here On Earth was touching and real,unlike so many people these days. Brilliant Movie! 5 stars
6/12/01 Rebecca (hartnett) Why the fuck did lee lee choose chris over JOSH HARTNETT?? Josh is so fucking hot!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
4/13/01 Gary Sad ending but overall it's a pretty good movie. 4 stars
9/12/00 Allison This is the best movie of the year, and has alot more meaning than any other popular movie! 5 stars
5/10/00 Robin This movie was by far more than wonderful. The ending was just beautiful. 5 stars
3/29/00 Jessica If only I could get back the two hours this movie sucked out of my life... 1 stars
3/27/00 Randall Harnett was great, film had some potential, wasted it 3 stars
3/26/00 Z dramatic, but a tad predictable 3 stars
3/26/00 ITCHYPINGY ok so lee lee is in heaven, but can someone put this movie in hell where it belongs please? 1 stars
3/26/00 Instead LEELEE DIED...IT WAS FUCKING AWESOME! 5 stars
3/26/00 "Persnickety "Jenn could have been great, too bad the ending killed it! way to ruin it! woo hoo! 2 stars
3/26/00 Malbert Predictable...Josh Harnett helped movie 2 stars
3/26/00 burdenit This movie sucks ass bigtime!Whoever made this movie sucks ass too! 1 stars
3/24/00 Amanda Vargus Tha shit yo 5 stars
3/19/00 Joel Harwood . 5 stars
3/18/00 b96rob "Destined to become the next Titanic" (?) 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Mar-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Jul-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast