More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.59

Awesome67.57%
Worth A Look: 29.73%
Average: 0%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 2.7%

2 reviews, 25 user ratings



Bringing Up Baby
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Carina Hoskisson

"A sparkling comedy"
4 stars

When you think classic Hollywood, Bringing Up Baby should be at the top of your list.

Susan Vance (Katherine Hepburn) is out to get her man, absent minded professor, David Huxley (Cary Grant.) Only problem, David is already promised to someone else. So Susan decides to plot & scheme her way into David's heart. However, since the tale is told from David's perspective, all we see is the constant reappearance of Susan from one situation into another, to the extreme frustration of David. And is she ever persistant, even bringing along a baby for the ride (in the form of a delicious leopard named "Baby".)
Bringing up Baby was remade into Who's That Girl, the 80's Madonna flick, but please don't let that stop you from renting this hysterical comedy.
I thoroughly recommend "Baby." Not only are the performances vintage but the storyline is as fresh today as when it was first released. Thanks to the perfect comic timing and on the money directing from Hawks, don't think yourself a film buff if you haven't seen this one.

A marvelously smart film, don't call yourself a film fan until you've seen "Baby."

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2031&reviewer=44
originally posted: 05/19/99 05:23:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/23/08 brian Everyone involved has made a better film, but not many! 4 stars
6/04/08 PAUL SHORTT TEXTBOOK SCREWBALL COMEDY WITH LOVABLY FRANTIC CHEMISTRY BETWEEN ITS GOLDEN AGE STARS 5 stars
12/15/07 Pamela White very funny slapstick comedy mishaps abound 4 stars
8/15/06 Anastasia Beaverhausen Contains some very funny moments, makes today's comedies look listless 4 stars
1/27/06 Ashlee all i can say is that it is so dum and boring it gets u mad! 1 stars
7/11/05 Cecil B.D. Hilarious. One of the funniest films ever. 5 stars
2/25/05 Gray good stuff 5 stars
8/07/04 ranger4e Classic and hysterical. 5 stars
12/27/03 I Would Grant being told he was making a spectacle of himself by an overexposed Hepburn.. priceless 5 stars
12/25/03 paul heslep Mrs. Hepburn is at her very best, Mr. Grant pays royal tribute to Harold Lloyd 5 stars
5/17/03 Andrew Carden Bad Screenplay, but Bravura Performances By Grant & Hepburn. 4 stars
5/05/03 Peter the Great Very, very funny! 5 stars
4/08/03 Shadaan Felfeli Hillarious. 5 stars
1/30/03 Silver Gordon A true highly entertaining Masterpiece 5 stars
9/12/02 lin zhao a perfect film! 5 stars
9/12/02 R.W. Welch Funny, fast-paced screwball comedy with Hepburn easily matching Grant's comedic flair. 5 stars
8/16/02 I Can't Swim The trio of Cary, Kate and Baby is nearly impossible to resist.. enjoy! 5 stars
8/13/02 christine quite nice 4 stars
3/31/02 Susan Brummett I thought that it was a well written film. I really enjoyed it! 5 stars
8/22/01 Tracy Dowdy Hilarious! A must see if you love to laugh! 5 stars
7/27/01 Elvisfan Riotous, magnificent and vital even if you think all B&W movies bite 5 stars
7/09/01 Carolina Wonderful movie! Great performances by Grant & Hepburn. 5 stars
11/30/00 Terrie Smith Grant and Hepburn were never better; they don't make them like this anymore. 5 stars
11/23/00 Ley Both Hepburn and Grant excel in this fantastic comedy that is not to be missed! 5 stars
9/05/00 Dan my favorite-how can i get the music score? 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Feb-1938 (PG)
  DVD: 01-Mar-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1938 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast