More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.54

Awesome: 8.11%
Worth A Look: 24.32%
Average: 21.62%
Pretty Bad: 5.41%
Total Crap40.54%

1 review, 31 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Riding in Cars with Boys
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"...this is one monotonous and broken record..."
1 stars

Endlessly accompanied by music circa the settings are one of but of many traits that Penny Marshall’s new movie sloppily microwaves up.

Told in flashback with occasion interlards with the two main characters on a driving mission, it’s the story of Beverly D’onofrio (Drew Barrymore) as a 15-year-old who gets pregnant and has her life “ruined” and “dashed” (plans of college, plans of a suitable husband) as she must tend to her child. It plays as melodrama can only be portrayed in self-reflexive writing and memoirs, of which this is adapted from (D’onofrio-though I don’t know if the apostrophe is supposed to be there), meaning overdramatic, unctuous and egotistical. And Barrymore plays it on all of those notes, though less embarrassing as, say, Zahn or James Woods or the children counterparts. Riding in Cars with Boys has a couple tricks up its sleeve, like in the present-end of the story, Bev’s travelling companion is not her boyfriend as it is made to seem, but her son. However, from that point on, Marshall’s hand of cards is completely visible. There is little that is interesting or funny in Beverly’s crusade to get her book published (“Let me quote myself,” she says with hauteur while lecturing her son), and the high school flashbacks are painful and without the impact of Barrymore’s Never Been Kissed. Despite the fusillade setting of the tunes, this is one monotonous and broken record.

With Brittany Murphy and Maggie Gyllenhaal.

Final Verdict: D-.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2054&reviewer=172
originally posted: 11/17/01 12:25:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/08 PAUL SHORTT AN EPISODIC BUT COMPELLING ACCOUNT OF A DRIVEN WOMANS STOP-AND-GO JOURNEY 3 stars
3/31/08 beau review is rubbish, this was very entertaining and drew barrymore was great!! 4 stars
8/17/06 Mary Beth dead average 3 stars
8/21/04 Snickerdoodle OK, it's melodramatic and sad but it's nothing like,say,"Pay It Forward", I liked it a lot 5 stars
6/01/04 Nobody This movie sucks and it has a crappy title. 1 stars
12/16/02 Spanky It's not a chick flick you morons.. dumb title though 5 stars
10/09/02 Linda Binda A unique but tragically predictable story told by unlikeable, irredeemable characters. 3 stars
9/01/02 hum nothing special but ok 3 stars
7/30/02 soelsen its a good chick flick...some sad parts...kinda felt bad for ray! 5 stars
4/07/02 Raf Milis I was lauging because i was so stupid to pay for this crap 1 stars
3/31/02 b seay I liked the movie, it is more true to life than most movies will portray. G.M. is an idiot 4 stars
3/23/02 masin wolliams it only took 16 years for a film to beat ST. ELMO'S FIRE as the worst movie ever!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/02/02 Chowie I agree with Jane, but to a less extent 3 stars
11/26/01 Don B what a downer worthless waste of time and money! 1 stars
11/22/01 steve goldenbaum Drew should stick to anal gangbang sessions in a Rocco Porn film. 1 stars
11/20/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble I should have rode away from the theater! First Marshall film I've ever hated. 1 stars
11/20/01 Jane Thought it was entertaining. Certainly not award material but cute 4 stars
11/19/01 Jimmy Kentino Sometimes I like to lick my own navel! 3 stars
11/19/01 Erin depressing and total waste of my time 1 stars
11/18/01 Natalie I thought it was pretty good, but I must say that I didn't agree with the way it ended! 4 stars
11/11/01 Benjamin Lesbian ehhhhhhhh...... 3 stars
11/11/01 DJ Smurff All over the place. The humor is good and honest, the schmultz is way too over the top. 2 stars
11/10/01 Suzz Flawed but entertaining story with good acting 4 stars
10/31/01 lily hello? i do believe brittany murphy plays a crucial role in the "cast!" 4 stars
10/30/01 Greg Nixon Pure defication on celluloid, I'd rather watch maggots consume roadkill 1 stars
10/29/01 spaceworm Drew will get nominated. This is a prediction, not necessarily a recommendation. 4 stars
10/26/01 Uncathom Who ever wrote this movie didn't have much good to say about guys in general 3 stars
10/23/01 spaceworm We know what Drew looked like at eleven - NOT like the kid who played the part here. 4 stars
10/22/01 Boomshanka Just blah. Really wasn't much better than TV movie fare. 2 stars
10/22/01 Janitor61 They should of handed out prozac at the end of the show. This movie is intensly boring. 1 stars
10/21/01 Greyjack Way the heck better than the trailers suggested. Serious but funny movie. Steve Zahn rules. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Oct-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Mar-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast