More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.13

Awesome56.25%
Worth A Look: 23.75%
Average: 3.75%
Pretty Bad: 8.75%
Total Crap: 7.5%

3 reviews, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Close Encounters of the Third Kind
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"UFO phenomenon goes Hollywood"
5 stars

To dismiss this film as pure fantasy is like saying that God does exist. Based and inspired around several factual accounts, Close Encounters of the Third Kind is a one-of-a-kind movie; one that has to be seen to be believed, one that must be experienced to be felt. I still remember to this day seeing this film on TV when I was a mere 11 years old, and it completely blew me away, and still cherish to this very day.

I won’t bother too much with the plot except that it involves 3 characters: The first to being Roy Neary (Richard Dreyfuss) a married electric repairman, and Jillian Guiler (Melinda Dillon) a bored single mom with a 3 year old kid Barry (Cary Guffrey), whom have an experience that would change their lives forever, which was making contact with UFOS, and their obsession for finding the truth will drive them both to almost self-destruction. The third character is Claude Lacombe (Francois Truffaut), a French scientist sponsored by the US Government whom is trying to unravel the big mystery about these recent UFO sightings, all which lead into a climaxing meeting at Devil’s Tower, Wyoming.

This film pretty much fueled even more the frenzy of the UFO conspiracy movement which had started way back in the 40’s, and despite the fact that in previous films the Aliens were seen as invaders of planet Earth (and were awful pieces of shit), Spielberg goes the other way around and gives us a fable of goodwill and morality and hope unlike any other film before it or even after it.

Spielberg re-edited the film several times until 2001, when Spielberg finally released his final cut on DVD, and the film has never looked better. The FX are awesome for their time and still stand well to this day. The set designs are impressive considering that they’re mockups. The cinematography by the legendary Vilmos Zsigmond is excellent and does some impressive uses of shadows and light to hide the whole mystery of the UFOs. John Williams’s score, just like his earlier score in Jaws is simply the stuff of legends, and Spielberg’s direction is just top-notch as well as his screenplay, and his talent for directing especially when it came to work with 3-year old Carey is just impressive stuff

The acting is also great, with Richard Dreyfuss and Melinda Dillon both giving such understated performances which drive the film. Francois Truffaut is also great considering that it was one of his few appearances in front of the camera since he’s usually behind it and also because he wanted to know how was it to work for a director. Oh and that little kid, Cary Guffrey, man he’s just cute to watch. The rest of the cast is also great.

In the end, I don’t think there is much to be said about this film that it hasn’t been said, it fucking rules, and it will forever be a timeless document to be enjoyed by generations afterwards. 5-5

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2066&reviewer=235
originally posted: 03/27/04 07:26:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2007 Deep Focus Film Festival For more in the 2007 Deep Focus Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell generates sweetness & awe 4 stars
3/14/15 stanley welles a thrilling adventure story and an awesome example of the art and craft of movie making 5 stars
1/02/15 Catherine H great film, a true classic of imagination 5 stars
9/03/12 Beaner This movie was as good as a bag of shit on thanksgiving. 3/10 would bang 1 stars
1/02/12 ari-free Most boring, overhyped sci-fi movie ever. 1 stars
10/24/10 Jeff Wilder Easily one of Spielberg's best. I actually like this one more than ET. 5 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King The film is visually stunning but the film's pacing and length count against it. 3 stars
3/28/10 Shaun A This generates awe, like really being there, in a way MTV editing can't. 4 stars
3/04/10 PAUL SHORTT SUPERB SCI-FI WITH GREAT SPECIAL EFFECTS 4 stars
2/21/10 mike A boring boring boring movie with that annoying 19070s orchestra music...pointless plot... 1 stars
2/21/10 art IT WOULD HAVE BEEN MORE EXCITING IF the FLYING SAUCER folk's WERE DANGEROUS! 1 stars
2/20/10 Andrew Glencross A close encounter with film making greatness!. 5 stars
10/20/09 MP Bartley Transcendental and probably Spielberg's most underrated picture. 5 stars
9/28/09 RLan While visually appealing, the story wasn't that good. Very disappointing! 2 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner Well Made! 5 stars
1/30/08 Vineet Doshi Not the greatest, but it's still a well made movie. Non Sci-Fi fans won't appreciate it. 4 stars
1/08/08 action movie fan excellent ufo sci/fi the best film to deal with extra-terrestials 5 stars
6/15/07 Vincent Ebriega Spielberg's brainchild. Inspired him to create more masterpieces to come. 5/5. 5 stars
6/12/07 al smith amazing just as incredible now as when it was first released 5 stars
3/12/07 Jordan Very boring and pointless movie. The last sequence at Devil's Tower is so poor... 2 stars
12/19/06 David Pollastrini brilliant, great fx 5 stars
12/07/06 Azem it's still standing #1 on my top list!!! 5 stars
10/13/06 J Appleseed Big budget film making at its worst. Aliens that communicate by music? Horseshit. 2 stars
12/31/05 Ronin Just awesome, a bit creepy too. I was quite scared when I saw that movie as a kid. 5 stars
9/02/05 Eden Takes to long to do nothing 3 stars
8/11/05 ES I don't believe in aliens and this movie did not change that= boring 2 stars
8/02/05 Ric Still one my least favorite Spielberg films. 2 stars
4/15/05 Veronika Boyd A film that can be watched again and again and again and again and again and again 5 stars
3/18/05 indrid cold Awe-inspiring and eye-popping. The 2nd best sci fi movie ever after 2001. 5 stars
2/02/05 ralph a true movie expert 32 yrs old well done feel good alien film with terrific special effects 4 stars
4/14/04 slayathon This movie is just an all over great piece of film!!! 5 stars
12/07/03 john great cinema 5 stars
11/22/03 ross hendrick scary at times 5 stars
9/27/03 JJ This is my favorite Sci-Fi movie! Very well done with great acting! 5 stars
9/06/03 Dimitri Aubert Maybe I saw too many sci-fi movies to be amazed by this one. Still good though. 4 stars
4/16/03 JL Loved it 5 stars
3/12/03 GMan I would've ended with Dreyfuss transformed into a planet-destroying weapon by the aliens... 3 stars
1/21/03 Nevz Well, actually, it's not too bad for a seventies flick 4 stars
6/25/02 Charles Tatum Fantastic 5 stars
3/16/02 R.W. Welch The Ending is a little weak, otherwise a fascinating sci-fi fantasy. 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver A classic. I still love the music. 5 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz Usual Spielberg formula: assume the audience is stupid, then spoon-feed them a shitty story 2 stars
10/10/01 Andrew Carden Way Too Boring For Sci-Fi Fans, Barely Appealing. 2 stars
10/08/01 adam Spielbergs best.A marvellous movie.Has aged well.Good casting,lovely performances,BRILLIANT 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk An amazing science fiction film on every level...and that "means something" 5 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg The stuff of legends . 5 stars
6/11/01 I love movies hah! this sucked completely! shame on you Spielberg for this terrible movie! 1 stars
4/21/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) I was raised on this movie!!!!! 5 stars
1/06/01 paul watkins nearly 25 years old- a classic 5 stars
12/14/00 cory fowler it sucked ass 1 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla One of the best films ever made, nothing more or less 5 stars
11/15/00 salvo toscano his best film (the music's my mobile's one) 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin WWAAAAAAAYYYYYYY better than ET 5 stars
7/01/00 Jed Flawed but good "classic" film. 4 stars
4/14/00 yankee great movie, wish I could build a tower in my living room, special effects were awesome 5 stars
11/29/99 Mic The second of Spielberg's widely acclaimed six masterpieces. 5 stars
10/27/99 Ralf Behet A truly visionary film. Made by a master craftsman. A classic! 5 stars
7/20/99 Matthew Bartley A true hair raising film 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ***½ (out of ****) Category: "Very Good" 4 stars
7/02/99 Sleeper I still, to this day, cannot watch this movie alone. 4 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Great. 4 stars
5/21/99 J. Random Hacker Damn good special effects for its time. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Nov-1977 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1978 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast