More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.93

Awesome51.4%
Worth A Look: 17.76%
Average: 14.95%
Pretty Bad: 4.67%
Total Crap: 11.21%

2 reviews, 95 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"Bring the kids, grab some Reese's Pieces and enjoy."
4 stars

This TV show should have gone off the air a long time ago. My GOD, John Tesh is so vapid and... oops, sorry ... wrong E.T.

I was 10 years old when Ol' Golf Club Head first landed in theaters. I left the General Cinema Galvez 3 almost in tears. (And that's definitely something you keep to yourself when you're a 10-year-old boy.) Does E.T. (the Extra-Terrestrial) still pack an emotional wallop today? Well, yeah... sort of.

Just imagine this: You're on a touring bus in the backwoods of Mexico. You get off the bus to walk around a bit, and you find out the bus has left you behind. You're stuck in the middle of nowhere, you don't know a damn thing in Spanish, and the village you come to doesn't even have a single phone.

Well, on a galactic scale, that's the predicament E.T. found himself in. He's stuck on a strange planet, the locals are terrified (though some are curious about this half-pint big-eyed feller), and he's got to learn the local language to get any cooperation from anyone. Fortunately, he runs into the right person... a little kid named Elliott (Henry Thomas). Elliott takes the alien into his home, where his mother (Dee Wallace Stone) isn't too thrilled about the creature, and his little sister (Drew Barrymore, before the alcoholism, nude pool parties and starring opposite Adam Sandler) is downright horrified.

However, E.T. has many things going for him: the ability to levitate objects, the power to heal small cuts and wounds, and the technological know-how to make an intergalactic phone from a Speak-n-Spell and an umbrella. (He must have worked at a Radio Shack-like place on his home planet.) Now, if only he can signal his buddies to return to Earth and pick him up without the Feds and the dissect-crazy scientists getting to him first, he'll be home free.

E.T. is one of the first examples of product placement. As soon as everyone saw Elliott luring E.T. to his house with a trail of Reese's Pieces, Hershey's reported a jump in sales of their M&M knockoffs. Steven Spielberg and everyone else involved did an excellent job in this film. Special tip of the hat to the Animatronics folks for making a realistic (enough) alien being. After a decade and a half, E.T. is still a cool family film that won't disappoint.

Not a bad video game, either (if you can remember the E.T. cartridge for the Atari 2600).

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=208&reviewer=9
originally posted: 08/26/98 05:46:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/06/17 Ken Well done, Spielberg! 5 stars
10/30/16 morris campbell a classic nuff said 5 stars
6/06/12 keith miron ET was watching Tom and Jerry on tv :) 4 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King When you watch this movie as an adult, most of its magic seems to have disappeared. 3 stars
1/31/10 Reality of Films Very good movie. If you, hate it, you need to go see a therapist NOW. 5 stars
11/07/09 James Wonderful Spielberg movie. Fun and touching. Amazing soundtrack by John Williams. 5 stars
3/08/09 SandySue An oldie but goody - good for whole family! 4 stars
1/13/09 JustinMorgan Spielburg ruined his best movie. Let's make the Mona Lisa better while we're at it! 1 stars
6/05/08 PAUL SHORTT A DEEPLY MOVING AND ENTERTAINING SCI-FI CLASSIC 5 stars
11/14/07 Kyle L This movie still packs the emotional punch it did in '82, no one has ever topped it! 5 stars
10/09/07 BasketCase Great movie. You're lieing if you think it "sucks". You're in denial! 5 stars
10/03/07 wall love it so much 5 stars
9/14/07 dude true classic 5 stars
6/16/07 al smith timeless.sad,uplifting makes you feel like a child 5 stars
6/15/07 Vincent Ebriega In any version, you'll still get the same great movie. Be it any version, buy it. 5/5. 5 stars
5/26/07 ebert best movie ever made 5 stars
5/24/07 bichard simpson it sucked huge dick 1 stars
4/07/07 movieman best movie ever made 5 stars
3/07/07 man Best movie ever 5 stars
2/04/07 douglas This is not a good kids movie, with words like Douche bag and penis breath and shit" 1 stars
1/19/07 movieman best movie ever 5 stars
12/29/06 David Pollastrini brilliant, great fx 5 stars
11/28/06 DJ classic 5 stars
11/10/06 Austin Wertman FORGET SAVING PRIVATE RYAN OR SCHINDLER'S LIST, THIS IS SPIELBERG'S MASTERPIECE 5 stars
9/26/06 Erin Amidon Much better than 2006 remake with Paul Giamatti & Bryce Dallas Howard 3 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Sappy& kid-friendly, but one of the best childhood classics I grew up with! 5 stars
12/18/05 Quigley it was scary 3 stars
12/03/05 cr a classic story of boy and a alien = great adventure movie 4 stars
9/02/05 Zack i have mixed feelings about this film 3 stars
8/03/05 ALDO Has the best film score ever, so enjoyable at moments, it's embarrassing 5 stars
5/26/05 www.iloveET.com great movie that gets better everytime I watch it. 5 stars
4/26/05 Dr. Lecter Utter sap 1 stars
1/14/05 Nick Boyd A great family film 5 stars
12/26/04 elliott forget disney! this is the best children's movie ever! 5 stars
12/20/04 movie fan excellent piece of artistry 5 stars
11/09/04 Homer Boring 2 stars
9/24/04 RJ968 Manipulative garbage 1 stars
7/03/04 American Slasher Goddess One word: Classic 5 stars
5/18/04 Jen Dreifort as a child too long. as an adult wonderful 4 stars
5/01/04 susan lee classic! drew barrymore! 4 stars
11/27/03 John well directed and well scored but a classic? certainly not 3 stars
9/06/03 Dimitri Aubert Did I miss the magic? Certainly! 3 stars
8/08/03 Liz I hate it. Who cares about a stupid, homely alien 1 stars
6/19/03 John Aster Habig E.T.'s fame belongs to Henry Thomas who brought sincere emotion to it 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice The cutest Alien ever !!! Get me those tissues ! 5 stars
4/01/03 Luke Skywalker funny film. E.T. is like a small fallus. 4 stars
3/12/03 GMan HUH HUH HUH ALIEN HUH HUH HUH... 5 stars
2/12/03 Drew Barrymore Steven, you cocksucker! You promised me 15% of the gross! 1 stars
2/10/03 Steven Spielberg I know, I know... but I'm a fuckin' business man. 1 stars
1/10/03 Chiendog A cute, cuddly, 2-hour puke-inducing infomercial. Steven Speilberg eats shit. 1 stars
11/01/02 chris how can you not like this movie? best score ever 5 stars
10/26/02 Josh If you don't like E.T., you don't have heart. A classic. 5 stars
9/24/02 I Can't Swim For once, Steve-o hits all the right notes-material is perfect for his limited talents 5 stars
6/04/02 David A. This movie goes to the bathroom in its pants! Stink, Stank, Stunk! 1 stars
5/15/02 R.W. Welch Quite original work though a bit cutsey in spots. 4 stars
5/13/02 Dark Baron So overrated I wet my pants with blood. What a load of shit. 1 stars
3/31/02 DEAN WALKER SPIELBERG'S FINEST HOUR 5 stars
3/25/02 Dave MacDougall If you don't love this movie then movies just aren't your thing. 5 stars
3/07/02 travis r. sorensen i cried like a bitch 5 stars
2/26/02 kendall the most emotional, perfect, magical movie in the world. 5 stars
10/15/01 ElephantShoes BARRRRRRFF!! Thanks for Drew Barrymore though! 3 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk I saw this in theatres when I was a baby...scard the shit out of me. 5 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg One of the fondest memories of my childhood . 5 stars
6/23/01 erik the movieman I Challenge Anyone With a Heart Not To Cry At the End of the Flick! 5 stars
5/29/01 joe its a good movie and has lots to offer 5 stars
5/29/01 Shannon This movie is the best movie in the world! 5 stars
4/28/01 I love movies this movie makes no sense! why did E.T. get sick? far from Spielberg's best 3 stars
4/16/01 Del R A movie of the rater's childhood, of course I do love it 5 stars
2/28/01 The Evil Penguin You call this a movie?!!! Close Encounters is much better 2 stars
2/17/01 rachel good 5 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi A personal favorite. If you have a heart (not just a precardium) this one's for you. 5 stars
1/22/01 Stewart Ball What's wrong with you bad-asses? This movie is one of Spielberg's best. 5 stars
12/28/00 Turtle Kind of dumb. Why is this a classic? 3 stars
12/02/00 The Evil Penguin never trust The Triangle Man 2 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla classic movie, one to enjoy with the family 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin The worst SCI-FI film I've ever saw; Watch Close Encounters instead 2 stars
11/12/00 Prashanth You do not want to miss out on this ... that is if you did !! 4 stars
6/15/00 dennis its a classic, will always love it 5 stars
3/12/00 Richard Wright O. A nice film but it does have its dull and sappy spots.Its popularity is unfathomable... 3 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy I thought it sucked when I was 8, I still hate it at 24. 1 stars
10/10/99 gil barket-paz good 4 stars
9/04/99 lindsey i'm doing E.T. for a project in school,and i think it's one of the all best time movies! 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan I was expecting to be moved to tears but I was bored to fucking tears. Visually amazing. 3 stars
2/18/99 Piz ET was for kids of my day the best movie hero..i still watch it 4 stars
11/25/98 DrEvil Filmmaking is manipulation, and E.T. is wonderfully manipulative. 5 stars
11/16/98 Jules Even as a kid I was bothered by the obviousness of this movie. 3 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob An early peek at the manipulativeness, that is Speilberg. 3 stars
9/08/98 MikeF This is one of the movies my gay uncle gave me for christmas. I loved it, it's ok now. 4 stars
9/08/98 Swan I'm sorry, but I could FEEL Spielberg's hands tug my strings! Manipulative, pure & simple! 3 stars
9/06/98 Badass Excellent. 5 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy first movie that made me cry. I was 3. 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball D-d-d-d-don't believe the hype! 3 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet It's very 80's, but great for the kids. 4 stars
8/16/98 Johny I think I'm the only one who thinks this film sucks 2 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Perfect for it's time, not so great nowadays. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Jun-1982 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Aug-1982




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast