More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.35

Awesome74.03%
Worth A Look: 9.39%
Average: 2.76%
Pretty Bad: 4.97%
Total Crap: 8.84%

6 reviews, 145 user ratings



Dawn of the Dead (1979)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by the Grinch

"2nd Floor- Men's Wear, Lingerie, Flesh-eating Zombies"
5 stars

Whoa, where to begin? If there were an "Absotutely Unbelievably Brilliantly Fooking Awesome" rating I would award it to this film. Ole GrinchyPoo is wiping a nostalgic tear from his cigarette smoke irritated, cathode-ray irradiated eye thinking about this one. I was 13 or so the first time I saw it, and its aura of dread, violence, adventure, isolation, and humor made me a George Romero fan from then on.

Dawn of the Dead was, and still is, a brilliantly executed horror masterpiece. It's also a clever satire of American consumerism and the whole "More is Better" ethos we gluttonous Yanks tend to champion often. It points out how worked up we can get over material things that really don't matter in the long run.

DOTD takes place shortly after Night of the Living Dead. Telecommunications are breaking down, communication in general is breaking down, human cooperation is breaking down, there is utter chaos. Fearing that humanity is a sinking ship, four people come up with a scheme to steal a News helicoptor and head for the hills. Tired and low on fuel, they decide to set up shop in an abandoned chopping, ahem, shopping mall. It's great bargains and zombie target practice from there, folks!

The "living dead" of course, are US at a baser nature. They only think of one thing, their hunger for warm, living flesh...particularly human flesh. Maybe that's what made these movies so great, the antagonists aren't some hacker-in-a-mask or otherworld creature, they're hordes of lumbering, reanimated humans with primordial mindsets. Underestimate them, and you can quickly become the blue-plate special. Get surrounded by them, and you're as good as the guy in the Donner party that always tried to tell jokes and then messed up the punchlines.

This film was made in the late 70's on a budget of 1.5 million dollars. Given its scope and the way scenes and story are executed, the movie never once LOOKS low-budget...it really presents the horror as a global phenomenon and does it well, much in the same way that Night of the Living Dead did.

The actors all handle the material well...hell, most of them are even LIKEABLE! Scott Reiniger's Roger was my favorite. Ken Foree was very likeable, and I don't know why he hasn't gotten more work. Gaylen Ross is also good in her role as a strong female character (and not obnoxiously so, like we see so much in the 90's.) Romero was always good about disregarding the mores of the day...the heroes and characters in his movies could be of any sex, color, or walk of life.

Tom Savini is the ultimate renaissance man in this production. He's an actor, stunt coordinator, stunt man, and FX engineer. His special fx for this film are legendary, and he isn't too shabby as a machete wielding biker punk (similar to his Sex Machine role in "Dusk Till Dawn").

Last but not least is the soundtrack to the film by the Italian avante-garde band 'Goblin'. This soundtrack is excellent, I'm glad Dario Argento insisted Romero use them, the movie's aura just wouldn't be the same otherwise. Their synthheavy rock music runs the gamut from eerie to classical to energetic. You'll never find this stuff in Blockbuster music, that's for sure.

If you're in the business for a seriously thorough fan page of this movie, check out N. England's 'Zombie Farm'. He has set up an unbelievably extensive fan page over at http://www2.gol.com/users/noman/

If you haven't seen this film, shame shame shame on you, you should be flogged in public. Run to the Videoshack like you were being chased by a pack of hungry zombies and rent it. You'll never look at the Mall the same way again! (cue muzak)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2093&reviewer=156
originally posted: 09/18/99 18:06:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell good but night of the living dead is better the 68 version of course 4 stars
3/24/14 Justin R. Not just the best zombie movie, but one of the best movies ever created. 5 stars
10/07/13 Nick Truly a perfect film, great characters, Especially Scott Reiniger's Roger. This is tops. 5 stars
8/06/12 Jeff Wilder Brilliant mix of satire and horror. A masterpiece. 5 stars
3/17/12 Silkworm Crap acting but who cares it still rocks 4 stars
12/29/11 David Hollingsworth Romero's stellar zombie magnum opus 5 stars
11/16/11 Golden J. Williams Jr. Scary to think about, fun to watch. 4 stars
6/12/11 art white zombie and zombie are the only Zombie flick's i've seen, i want to keep it thatway. 1 stars
7/06/10 art 1932's WHITE ZOMBIE,and lucio fulci's 1980 ZOMBIE,makes you forget about ROMERO"S FILM"S! 1 stars
6/03/10 User Name George A. Romero created the zombie flick with Night; he topped himself with Dawn. 5 stars
1/11/10 excitement love art is right zombie is a better ultra gore film 2 stars
1/10/10 art THIS IS A SICK MOVIE ABOUT THE END OF TIME! 1 stars
12/26/09 Chad Dillon Cooper The Citizen Kane of horror films. Enuff said 5 stars
12/23/09 art ACTUALY LUCIO FULCI"S ZOMBIE IS THE ONLY TRUE MODERN ZOMBIE FLICK! 1 stars
11/01/09 art ONLY A SICKO WOULD LIKE THIS NONSENSE! 1 stars
10/22/09 PAUL SHORTT ABSURD AND INCOHERENT 2 stars
6/10/09 art said it before and i'll say it again,ONLY A ZOMBIE WOULD LOVE THIS JUNK! 1 stars
4/23/09 blah blah amazing zombie film 5 stars
4/02/09 action movie fan us against them-gorehound,s movie -silly more funny at times than scary 2 stars
12/19/08 Craig D. Lives up to its reputation as the best zombie movie ever made. 5 stars
1/09/08 art only for DEAD-HEAD"S 1 stars
11/04/07 Ivana Mann The Citizen Kane of horror films.Witty,scary & smart-they don't make em like this anymore! 5 stars
2/16/07 Joe Morris if i ever meet who stopped this guy from directing resident evil, i'll kick their ass 5 stars
1/08/07 Carlie and Katie OMG Great movie! we totally did a school project on the DEAD movies! AWESOME! 4 stars
12/05/06 Stanley Thai A very good film with scares and laughs. 4 stars
10/29/06 brandon This is by far the best zombie movie I have ever seen, remake sucked. 5 stars
10/25/06 Drew G Why does everyone say zombies shouldn't run... who said these are zombies? 5 stars
10/05/06 william c. none better 5 stars
10/01/06 Agent Sands Incredibly imaginative, spectacularly well-made epic sequel. 5 stars
9/23/06 David Pollastrini great make-up 4 stars
9/20/06 Pritchett The HOLY BIBLE of zombie films...and anyone who says otherwise is, simply, wrong. 5 stars
8/25/06 havthat There are so many layers to this movie, it's worth watching even if you're not into zombies 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Yet another horror classic to be owned!!!! 5 stars
8/02/06 dan one of the all time great horror films.must see 5 stars
7/17/06 mark claustrophic as hell-this movie stayed with me for months 5 stars
6/09/06 ELIDA TALLTREE WAYYYYY BETTER THAN THE REMAKE!!! 5 stars
3/24/06 Dethbyhashi Great movie with some small flaws 4 stars
2/20/06 chris f a tue classic 5 stars
12/14/05 Steven Lewis Great Romero Film. A Must have for any collection. 5 stars
10/30/05 K. Sear Spectacular. Nothing else needs to be said. 5 stars
10/20/05 Eden Big empty and dull. I dont why this is considered a classic. NOTLD is much better 2 stars
9/23/05 Jethro In cut scenes Peter was really a bad guy who stole the swat uniform then murdered wooley 4 stars
8/23/05 Eden Overrated 3 stars
8/20/05 T-100 crap 5 stars
8/18/05 ES The original paved the way for the remake, I've seen both, the updated version is better 3 stars
8/06/05 Pierre Classic! 5 stars
8/01/05 Martin brilliant satire and commentary. forever a classic.cheesy effects only increased the realis 5 stars
7/28/05 Cooper I'm sure most people agree that the best part of this movie's when Wooley goes apeshit! 5 stars
7/26/05 manuel This was his best! 4 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Said to be a classic, actually truly amateurish trash. 1 stars
7/04/05 Ice Queen masterpiece 5 stars
6/26/05 DennyRoss I loved this one - cops & robbers for adults...with zombies!! 5 stars
6/25/05 Kankasaur Loved the remake, the original's different but no less cool 5 stars
4/25/05 Indrid Cold The cheesy look and music are quite annoying and the story is actually fairly ponderous. 3 stars
3/28/05 William It doesn't get any better. Loved it so much, I bought the collectors edition. GREAT! 5 stars
3/22/05 Uncle Phucker Thank goodness we have DVD to watch. The new re make was a goof. 5 stars
1/21/05 das hilarious!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/19/05 Stefan Halka Shallow characters, overlong, dull and just plain overrated. 3 stars
1/10/05 Lucas Stenz Great film, best sequel I can think of 5 stars
11/14/04 Diana Popescu Waist of time, put me to sleep 1 stars
11/12/04 American Slasher Goddess One of the best zombie movies ever. 5 stars
11/07/04 J.D. No real fan could actually like this boring flick. A great idea that was wasted! 1 stars
11/04/04 Lord Durvok 2 One of the best horror films ever. This is not an opinion. 5 stars
10/31/04 asina almost perfect. 5 stars
10/28/04 fagabeefy cool flick , the make-up effects sucked hard though 2 stars
10/25/04 Ric A decent apocalyptic vision, but it's not scary, thrilling, or even particularly funny. 2 stars
10/21/04 Kevin it was ok, but not horror 2 stars
9/24/04 RiverRat Truly a great film - not for morons who only want "splatter-porn" crappola. A classic. 5 stars
9/15/04 yo amazing 5 stars
9/14/04 Shane snell this movie was grate i really like it 5 stars
9/03/04 me satire for the smart guts for the layman 5 stars
6/24/04 Neil Simple, Silly, Low Budget, Mediocre and Incredibly Magnificent 5 stars
5/24/04 sherone rose i loved dawn of the dead and its cast they were brilliant 5 stars
5/05/04 lewis hall all time classic. they dontmake flims like that no more iz romero got out new?????/ 5 stars
5/01/04 dead next door CLASSIC 4 stars
4/19/04 Josh are you people serious? this is so cheesy its unwatchable, worst zombies ever 1 stars
4/18/04 Father Merrin There is only 1 zombie movie & this is it! A true classic. A re-make is unnecessary! 5 stars
4/13/04 Adam D just seen this late night a few days ago and thot it was insanely good. 5 stars
4/10/04 American Slasher Goddess One of the best zombie movies ever. 5 stars
4/08/04 Eloise sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much better than the crappy 04 remake. 5 stars
4/06/04 glenn good movie, new one is better, also try phantasm!! 5 stars
4/01/04 tediboy this classic is still the BEST!!! 5 stars
3/29/04 true review - correct review everytime notld is masterpiece because it wasn't written by romero, his movies suck 1 stars
3/23/04 Morally Sound My second favorite movie of all time. The best in the Living Dead Trilogy! 5 stars
3/21/04 Samuel don't know if its better than Night of the Living Dead, but its still a damn good movie 5 stars
3/20/04 truth zombies are cheesy, movie is pretty boring, not scary, NOTLD is much better 2 stars
3/14/04 Jack Sommersby An innovative masterpiece. Nothing's ever come even close. 5 stars
3/13/04 Carl This movie KICKS ASS!! 5 stars
3/11/04 Robin Flores This was a disturbing movie along the lines of Edgar Allen Poe's Masque of the Red Death. 5 stars
2/13/04 Kai A total classic. 5 stars
1/24/04 Elena At least it's honest about being a cheesy zombie flick, and doesn't try to be smug... 1 stars
1/16/04 Kimberly Lynn Cole ROGER RULES!!!! I LOVE SCOTT REINIGER what a cutie pie!!!! 5 stars
1/15/04 Matt A great cult classic!! One of my favorites 5 stars
12/07/03 Richard Long Best Horror Movie Ever Made 5 stars
12/05/03 Makaveli greatest movie eva made - Hands down! 5 stars
11/29/03 chris k my fav movie of all time 5 stars
11/27/03 John well it's simply brilliant..one of the best horror movies ever made 5 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess The best zombie movie ever. 5 stars
10/20/03 zombie lover dude this movie is awsome!!!!!! love the spfx!!!!! 5 stars
10/06/03 Jack Sommersby Original and brilliant. Standout set piece after standout set piece. Grade A stuff. 5 stars
8/14/03 Johnny P Awesome zombie flick. You go George! 5 stars
8/03/03 bronson fantastic 5 stars
7/04/03 Dave Hopman Bring on the fourth Dead Movie, George!! 5 stars
6/18/03 Jim Myers I saw this Masterpiece when I was 14...I will be 37 in August, and I still think it is The 5 stars
5/25/03 Scott(first watched when 5) Night:67% - Day:45% & Dawn:93% "Complete Masterpeice" 5 stars
5/05/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik I saw the Director's Cut. Brilliant. 5 stars
4/12/03 William Stewart Has to be on my top 5 best horror films--Good Stuff George! 5 stars
1/17/03 mans0n i dont think i will ever be able to get the music played inside the mall out of my head! 5 stars
1/13/03 Stevo stunningly evocative and creates a unique picture. beyond horror 5 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby One of the best. Brilliantly realized and executed. 5 stars
11/21/02 murat THE GREATEST HORROR FİLM HAD EVER BEEN MADE!WATCH IT AND AVOID DAY 5 stars
10/26/02 Charles Tatum The sequels were better than the first one 5 stars
10/01/02 murat Good film but what was about that raid on apartment at the beginning huh? 5 stars
9/22/02 Morally Sound George Romero + Tom Savini = A+ Horror Movies 5 stars
8/14/02 palaboy101 George Romero, you're the best! 5 stars
7/12/02 .Choadushouse. This movie really just licked balls (maybe good for laughs)...and so does the original! 2 stars
4/25/02 Phoenix Not a classic at all. Horrible movie and terrible acting. Stick with the original. 1 stars
4/03/02 Edfink Lombardo A masterpiece of horror...Wonderfully atmospheric. Delivers the goods with consistency! 5 stars
2/09/02 Ebony One of the best...I heard that BeaconPictures is remaking this. Hope they don't ruin it. 5 stars
1/04/02 Jake Trashy, not funny or scary. All I got was gore and a hate for people. 1 stars
12/15/01 Peter Herman shocking... not because of the gore but because of the analogy made... 5 stars
12/09/01 Keith Up there with Evil Dead, The Shining and Dead Alive as greatest horror film 5 stars
11/03/01 Mike J I still haven't been brave enough to revisit the one movie that scared/scarred me as a kid! 5 stars
9/30/01 Mohammad J. Indeed fucking awesome 5 stars
8/07/01 palaboy THIS IS THE BEST HORROR MOVIE, PERIOD. 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk The only good mall is a 'dead' one. This movie kicks ass and takes names. Foree is the man. 5 stars
7/19/01 Ted Villavicencio This movie is the reason i loved the horror genre! One of the greatest zombie flicks ever! 5 stars
6/30/01 Zombie In the not too distant future. 5 stars
6/23/01 Ian Barr Brilliant. Satirical and Wild. 5 stars
6/20/01 Elvisfan Great frigging B-movie; if you didn't like it, keep it to yourselves 5 stars
6/19/01 Xx-Bull-xX Not only does the movie rock, but the soundtrack kicks ass! 5 stars
6/15/01 zombie one of the best horror films ever made 5 stars
6/05/01 Just like a Wop . . . Saw this last fall and was completely engaged. Wonderfully dreary. 5 stars
3/26/01 Atir 2,000 Zombies bite the dust,in a mall of all places!Horrible makeup job,wardrobe&acting 1 stars
10/16/00 The Bomb 69 campy and funny, i laughed throughout 5 stars
10/14/00 B.J. Charles This movie is one of the most interesting zombie films I have ever watched. 5 stars
7/03/00 DAVID This is truly the best horror film ever made!!!! 5 stars
5/03/00 PJ Even better than the first, absolutely scary, funny, smart, and brilliant, Romero's best 5 stars
4/12/00 Adrian Pickworth One of my all-time faves! 5 stars
11/14/99 J. Shopa Absolutely the best movie ever 5 stars
9/20/99 Travis D'Souza This is the best fucking movie I have ever seen. 5 stars
8/11/99 Japtalian One of the best zombie movies ever. Soundtrack is eerie. 5 stars
7/18/99 Eric Would be a lot better if the action scenes weren't so badly choreographed 3 stars
7/05/99 David Keech A complete gore-fest. Absolutely hilarious if you recognize the satire. 4 stars
6/28/99 Steve Bashakus This is the best horror film ever made - the yardstick by which all things are measured. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Apr-1979 (NR)
  DVD: 07-Sep-2004

UK
  02-Jul-1979 (18)

Australia
  02-Jul-1979 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast