More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.47

Awesome: 24.72%
Worth A Look: 23.6%
Average35.96%
Pretty Bad: 5.62%
Total Crap: 10.11%

5 reviews, 59 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood by Peter Sobczynski

Lion King, The (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Stare by Jay Seaver

DreadOut by Jay Seaver

S He by Jay Seaver

We Are Little Zombies by Jay Seaver

Lion King, The (2019) by alejandroariera

Darlin' by Jay Seaver

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Dead Man on Campus
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Walked the line between good and evil, but fell the wrong way."
3 stars

Man oh man, did I want to hate this movie. I was all prepared to give it a big ol' serve for being substandard, derivative, formulaic and generally a load of old shite. I wanted to hate this film even more than Urban Legend (which deserves undying hatred), but I just couldn't do it.

This MTV Production stars Mark-Paul Gosselaar (Zack from Saved By The Bell - there's reason enough to hate a project), Tom Everett Scott (who was involved in the worst sequel of 98 - American Werewolf In Paris), Lochlyn Munro (from Night At The Roxbury - ew), the English lesbian from Party Of Five, a chick from Buffy and another from Family Matters, and an Australian sitcom actor putting on the worst English accent ever heard in a Cineplex.

Looks pretty shitty thus far, right? When you add the story to the mix it looks worse. Two failing college pudwhackers decide the only way they can get a pass is to find a suicidal roommate, push him to suicide and then get automatic A's courtesy of an obscure college law called "The Deadman's Clause".

So okay, you've got a member of every bad sitcom on television, acting in what looks like the prequel to Weekend At Bernie's, produced by the worst TV network in the world today.

So how the hell did I actually enjoy the first half of this movie? It's improbable. It's impossible! It couldn't happen.

It did.

There's actually a fair amount of decent humor in the first half of this film. Nearly enough to carry it through. Zack is funny! Not guffaw funny, and not consistently funny, but funny enough to make you forget all about that annoying hack opposite him, Tom Everett Scott, a non-actor with a great agent. But Zack covers Tom's fluffs and has, surprisingly, very surprisingly, enough comedy timing to make it all work.

Work, that is, until the story just gets way too out of hand for even the best comedian to make it workable. The introduction of bizarre suicidals into the picture should and could have been an opportunity for things to get hilarious. What they got, instead, was cheap and loud and bad.

Suspension of disbelief always has to be a factor in college giggle films, but there comes a point where the line has been crossed and the director knows it, and instead of backtracking they get 'outrageous'... it never works and it ruins any chance you have of coming out of Dead Man On Campus with a smile on your dial.

What could have been fresh and fun turns out to be a festival of cheap sight gags and lost plots, but if only for the halfway-decent first half hour and Zack not completely shaming himself, this film gets three stars.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=21&reviewer=1
originally posted: 02/02/99 11:02:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/19/11 PAUL SHORTT ABYSMAL RIPOFF OF THE FORTUNE COOKIE 1 stars
4/05/07 bianca the best moive ever i never get tired of it ! 5 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson LOCHLYN MUNRO GIVES AN INSANE, HYSTERICALLY FUNNY PERFORMANCE IN THIS, THAT'S ABOUT IT!!!!! 3 stars
1/31/05 Samuel Pretty funny stuff. 4 stars
8/07/04 jmsynth Suprisingly funny. Munro a highlight as always 4 stars
3/05/04 javier araujo mark paul gosselar es uno de los mejores actores que han existido 5 stars
12/21/02 cheryl beatrice it's a nice moive 3 stars
9/04/02 Rachel Marsben It rocks!!!!I recommend watching it 5 stars
7/21/02 icq#161262580 funny 4 stars
7/06/02 Film Guy Could have been so much better 2 stars
5/10/02 Susie I thought Mark-Paul Gosselaar did a great job! 5 stars
3/18/02 Jennifer omg, this was total garbage. 1 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Not bad, but maybe seeing Zack after all these years still makes my heart a flutter. 3 stars
2/21/02 Paul Colligan a top film well worth viewing 5 stars
12/06/01 Andrew Carden Great Plot, Good Premise, Fair Screenplay...but It Comes Out Awful! 2 stars
11/25/01 Yu Jian Quite a brilliant show. The chemistry between Tom and Mark was worth the movie itself. 5 stars
11/11/01 Elke A very funny movie !!! And Mark Paul very cute again !!! 5 stars
11/11/01 Elke A very funny movie !!! And Mark Paul very cute again !!! 5 stars
11/11/01 Elke A very funny movie !!! And Mark Paul very cute again !!! 5 stars
10/30/01 BEA Muy buena 5 stars
10/17/01 Josh Candy Mark is so underrated in this movie. He does a fine job, and needs more good work 5 stars
9/26/01 Emma Stevens The best movie ever 5 stars
9/18/01 Sarah I think this is my favourite movie!!! I loved it - it was SOOOO funny! 5 stars
9/17/01 Lauren Elliott It's brilliant apart from all the swearing. And Mark Paul Gosselar is really cute. 4 stars
9/15/01 Sarah It is hilarious and extremeley entertaining!! I love it!! 5 stars
9/13/01 Audrey Tonihka Mark is to cute to be playing a role like that, and I didn't like the hair color. 4 stars
8/26/01 Gaby Korkowski García Mark-Paul actua super bien y además esta GUAPISIMO. 5 stars
8/19/01 Nathalie Pérez I don't have saw to Mark-Paul since saved by the bell and he looks great here!! 4 stars
8/02/01 Tania the coolest movie I've ever seen!!!! and Mark is really hot as!!!! :-) 5 stars
7/11/01 gemma brown really liked.Silly but actually laughed out loud.Nice 4 stars
6/14/01 Crystal Mark Paul Gosselar is SO HOT!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/15/01 Raica This movie...... is ok 4 stars
3/20/01 Milagros Scarlett Chavez Portocarrero Es exellente, Mark trabaja muy bien y es muy bello... 5 stars
3/17/01 alex the best college movie 5 stars
2/25/01 Mike Maiman Gotta love Mark Paul Gosselaar 4 stars
2/22/01 donna le MARK PAUL GOSSELAR IS FREAKIN HELLA HOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
2/04/01 Krista Nyegaard Funny! 5 stars
1/25/01 Michael HUNT (Call me Mike if you like) i heard mark-paul gosselar was dead! the stupid prick should be after this embarrassment. 1 stars
10/06/00 Bender A gulity pleasure. Cooper and the paranoid computer geek are the highlights for me. 4 stars
2/12/00 steve layne Very funny. In the top 3 of the best college comedies of all time. 4 stars
10/06/99 loz REALLY REALLY GOOD 4 stars
6/22/99 Matt Smith Haha,,,look - Zack's got a BONG! HaHaurrrghhh - ya, funny stuff kids. You Rule! 1 stars
5/02/99 Whitney MTV really improves from previous releases like Joe's Apt. Really Funny! 5 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn Zack, is that you?? wow.. you grew up...and have progressed into dumb movies.. congrats.. 2 stars
4/05/99 Cool Thing Tom Everrett Scott is a total and complete hack. 1 stars
3/16/99 the_machine fucking pathetic, anything mildly amusing was in the trailer 1 stars
3/12/99 Ah Dooey Gimme a body bag and hide the evidence. Somewhat ridiculous. 3 stars
3/08/99 Melinda Could have been sooo good but fell over half way 3 stars
1/29/99 Scott Stipe Eh. It was OK, didn't really want to see it, didn't come away with anything but a headache 2 stars
10/15/98 On the Sauce What a godawful movie. I couldn't wait for the damn ending. Waste of cash. 1 stars
10/01/98 Simple Pimple Good lord this was awful. What are you people THINKING?! Or *ARE* you thinking? 1 stars
9/29/98 Marty in St.Louis What'dya expect from MTV, CRAP. Its all about getting the fifteen yr.old $,see animal house 1 stars
9/25/98 Pat Flanagan As a soon to be incoming college freshman, I thought it was hilarious! 4 stars
9/20/98 katherine A little stupid, but fun 2 watch & funny. 4 stars
9/18/98 Christian Loved the pot humor, but not as funny as I hoped! (animal house rip off!) 3 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Pretty funny. Cliff's the best in the film. 3 stars
9/14/98 OREO I loved this movie. It was hilarious & I'd definately see it again! 5 stars
9/04/98 Harrison Not as funny as I had hoped 3 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Trailer is funnier than the film. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Aug-1998 (R)
  DVD: 24-Jun-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Mar-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast